数据医生

实施指南

如果您已在 Tableau 全球用户大会上见识到了“Tableau 医生”的功能,您便了解它有多么强大。现在我们希望您能够轻松开展自己的实践。我们吸取了多年来运行“Tableau 医生”的经验和教训,并将它们打包成一个资源工具包,供您使用。下文将介绍该程序的概要和指南。

如果组织试图扫清 Tableau 使用障碍,扩大 Tableau 在组织中的使用,从而培养同事间相互支持的数据文化,那么这类组织都可使用“数据医生”。我们的客户通常将“数据医生”用于以下几个方面:识别组织中个人、部门或组织存在的知识差距;开发卓越中心以实现 Tableau 自助式服务并为用户提供“常见问题”解决方案;以及提供同事相互培训的机会。

设计您的实践

业务需求

在明确愿景和收集证明成功所需的数据时,至关重要的第一步就是要确定开展“数据医生”实践的原因。如果您组织中有许多人可以使用 Tableau,但并未使用;或者用户虽然积极使用 Tableau,但当遇到困难时常产生挫败感,这些都可成为您的业务需求。

确定业务需求之后,则需明确要做出的更改(目标)以及期望的成果(指标)。




“数据医生”体验

您可以修改“数据医生”体验,使其与您的组织完美契合。某些客户会选择以下某一模式:仅预约、仅免预约的临时会话或这两者相结合。此外,其他一些客户会围绕某个主题组织他们的“数据医生”实践,以便提高在可视化最佳做法、性能优化方面的组织能力或计算能力等;或者为“患者”提供一个开放型论坛,以便其提出疑问或问题。


组织文化:与“患者”的经验水平类似,您的组织文化将影响“数据医生”实践提供的问诊安排类型。如果组织文化的繁荣依赖于秩序与组织,那么预约问诊可能是您的理想之选。如果您的组织文化更具流动性,那么开放式答疑时间可能效果最佳。

问诊安排:“患者”使用 Tableau 的经验水平是您选择提供预约问诊还是开放式答疑时间的影响因素。例如,如果 Tableau 社区中大多数人都属于 Tableau 新手,则可能不需要预约,因为您的“医生”不需要具备专业知识。开放式答疑时间策略可能更有利于鼓励所有人积极提问。

或者,如果 Tableau 社区中大多数人是经验丰富的用户,那么预约问诊可以让您更好地为“患者”配对具备所需专业知识的医生,为其提供帮助。

如果组织“患者”社区内各成员的技能水平参差不齐,那么将预约问诊与开放式答疑时间相结合的方案能让这类组织受益匪浅。同时提供这两种类型的问诊可能需要大量资源,通常最适用于要建立定期实践(每季度、每月、每周)以促进社区和“医生”同步发展的组织。
问诊主题类型也可能影响您选择提供哪种类型的问诊安排。

问诊主题:“数据医生”实践可以提供自由式问诊主题,以便讨论任何疑问或问题,还可设定具体的问诊主题。

对于自由式“数据医生”,任何“患者”均可对您的实践提出任何疑问或问题。此方法有利于了解组织内出现的各种不同类型的问题并收集数据,以便日后识别知识差距。目前,这也意味着您需要找到一种有效的方法,为“患者”配置有能力帮其解决问题的“医生”。虽然采用开放式答疑时间形式也可实现这一目标,但预约安排能让此过程更加简单。

通过设置“数据医生”主题,您能处理“患者”社区中的热门主题,或围绕某一特定主题提供有针对性的技能培训。组织针对工作簿性能优化、映射或可视化最佳做法精心安排了不同的“数据医生”主题日。您可以通过研讨会的形式开展该实践,即在研讨会上使用特定的工作簿,并由“医生”向小组成员讲解如何解决该问题;或者以互动答疑形式让“患者”就其对该主题存在的问题提问或使用工作簿演示。借助主题式“数据医生”,您可能不需要预约,因为所有问题都将围绕同一主题。

本指南附录中的“‘数据医生’设计表”可帮助您在设计“数据医生”实践时整理自己的想法。

规划您的实践规范:技术

除了 Tableau 之外,您还需要一些其他技术解决方案,才能安排“患者”预约问诊,收集“医生”诊治的问题数据,评估团队技能水平以及选择最适合此工作的员工。



问诊

市场上有许多不同的问诊安排工具。选择工具时,请考虑以下几点:希望从“患者”处收集的数据、“数据医生”实践提供的问诊安排类型,以及匹配“患者”和具备相应技能的医生所需的粒度级别。

所选的“数据医生”实践问诊安排类型以及“患者”的产品使用经验,都会影响所需问诊安排工具的复杂程度。例如,如果您要提供主题式“数据医生”,那么主要工作便是收集“患者”数据以及“患者”所遇问题类型的基本信息,因此所需的问诊安排工具将像 Excel 工作簿或 Google 表格一样简单。

如果“数据医生”实践提供开放式答疑时间或预约问诊,那么问诊安排工具可能会稍微复杂一些。您需要收集与所遇问题相关的基本信息,包括产品(Tableau Desktop、Tableau Server、Tableau Prep 等)及其功能级别(Creator、Explorer、Viewer),以便为“患者”配置相应的“医生”。

然而,如果您提供预约问诊并且/或者您的“患者”社区有着更丰富的 Tableau 使用经验,那么您所需的问诊解决方案必须能够提供更高级的匹配功能,包括筛选特定主题(调查分析、共享与协作、通过移动设备访问)、特殊技能(数据库架构或结构、R、API)或语言。

问诊期间收集的“患者”数据有助于您将“患者”与“医生”匹配,并对“数据医生”实践的使用和成功情况进行评估。问诊安排期间您可能要考虑收集的数据包括:姓名、电子邮件地址、部门、问题类型和问题详细信息。虽然不受 HIPPA 要求的约束,但您可能需要与组织的人力资源部门确认,确保认真负责地处理这些数据。

附录中提供了 Tableau 以及部分客户所用的一些问诊安排解决方案。此列表并不详尽,但可为您评估适用选项提供帮助。

问题收集(处方)

在“数据医生”实践中,“医生”治疗“患者”时收集的信息可帮助您评估组织的健康状况、向“患者”提供自行解决复发问题所需的工具,以及跟踪目标完成的进展情况。选择解决方案时,请考虑以下几点:医生在问诊期间记录“患者”问题相关信息的容易程度;您要向“患者”提供的信息;评估“数据医生”实践所需跟踪的数据。

我们建议开始时先使用易学易用的工具。这将减少“医生”的培训时间,并确保始终如一地准确收集所有必要信息。这对于跟踪所需数据来评估“数据医生”实践尤为重要。收集与“医生”姓名、其诊治的问题以及问题解决情况相关的数据,有助于您了解哪些“医生”的绩效最佳以及组织内哪些地方存在实用技能差距。

我们建议在每次会话结束时向每位“患者”提供问诊记录(处方)。虽然“患者”通常对他们的问题解决方案最感兴趣,但上下文也很重要。“医生”需要能够记录所处理的问题、执行的故障排除措施和查询参考的任何可用文档,这一点同样重要;若“患者”再次面临相同或相似的问题,便能自行处理。

技能评估

技能评估有两种用途。它最基本的用途是了解“医生”的知识和技能掌握情况,以便更准确地进行“医患”匹配。如果用于大型群组(团队、部门或组织),它还有助于了解“患者”群体中存在的知识差距。

识别知识差距可帮助您确定是否提供主题式“数据医生”日,定期实践是否是实现组织成功使用 Tableau 的最有效解决方案,或者可为您在组织内倡导培训提供所需数据。

附录中提供了技能调查示例、数据收集电子表格示例以及 Tableau 工作簿示例。

规划您的实践规范:位置和经验

在进行这一选择时,组织文化和可用资源将对此产生很大影响。我们从自己的经验中提取了一些最佳做法并已囊括在此工具包中。



角色和员工

您的“数据医生”团队由组织内的自愿者组成。找到适合此工作的人非常重要。一些角色是“数据医生”实践(无论规模大小)成功与否的重要决定因素,另一些角色则仅在您开始在整个组织中扩展该实践时才需要。无论什么角色,都要寻找组织能力和自我管理能力强、工作努力且拥有履行职责所需的技能和知识面的人。

下文将对每项工作进行详细介绍。根据“数据医生”实践的规模,我们已明确了哪些是必要角色,哪些是可选角色。此外,在该工具包的示例技能评估中,我们还根据员工的技能评估情况,指出了满足角色要求的示例员工。请您在评估潜在员工时,参考该示例技能评估工作簿,找到符合条件的人员。


负责人:此人是“数据医生”实践的主要组织者。对于任何规模的实践而言,该角色都至关重要。“负责人”的工作包括定义“数据医生”实践的概念、选择并实施技术、协调后勤工作(房间、日期、时间和推广)、选择并安排员工、开展当天的实践、报告活动并利用该数据促进实践发展以满足组织需求,并且/或者向组织领导团队报告从收集的数据中获取的见解。

在大型“数据医生”实践中,可由一些“负责人”分担此领导角色,以减轻单人工作负担,并培养协作领导精神。

前台:对于任何规模的“数据医生”实践而言,该角色都至关重要。在小型“数据医生”诊所中,此人通常负责管理“数据医生”的流程和操作。在大型诊所中,“前台”负责与“单位协调员”和“护理员”协作,确保操作流程顺畅。“前台”可能执行的一些任务包括:协助“患者”安排、重新安排或取消预约;带领“患者”找到医生。虽然拥有 Tableau 产品使用经验对该角色有所帮助,但通常不需要。示例员工:Cynthia Hooper 或 Jerry Markovic。

医生:对于任何规模的“数据医生”实践而言,该角色都至关重要。通常会根据“医生”的综合技能以及“患者”的病症为特定“患者”分配医生(提前或问诊开始前分配)。医生负责倾听“患者”的症状,研究或测试解决方案,并记录其调查或诊断情况以供“患者”查看和进行“数据医生”实践报告。该角色必须熟练使用 Tableau 软件并有相关故障排除经验。大多数“医生”都有着 1-2 年 Tableau 使用体验,如此才能胜任该角色。示例员工:Maggie Doyle 或 Robert Romano。

参加者:对于小型“数据医生”实践,此为可选角色;但对于 10-15 名“医生”同时开展的实践,则强烈建议设置该角色。“主治医生”不会指派给任何特定“患者”,但负责在实践场地来回走动,为“医生”提供额外的帮助或咨询。他们通常是特定 Tableau 功能或技能(如可视化最佳做法、详细级别计算或权限管理)方面的主题专家。在您的组织中,他们也可能是内部数据源、数据结构、组织结构、品牌标准等方面的专家。示例员工:Kerry Weaver 或 Don Anspaugh。

单位协调员:小型“数据医生”实践无需设置该角色,但对于 10-15 名医生同时开展的实践,则强烈建议设置该角色。“单位协调员”是沟通者和现场管理员,负责确保“医生”拥有成功解决问题所需的一切,并帮助按时问诊。他们的工作包括将“主治医生”引导至需要帮助的“医生”处、向“负责人”报告技术和其他问题,以及提供时间提示(例如发出 5 分钟警告和宣布“时间到”)。在大型实践或不使用预约问诊的“数据医生”实践中,“单位协调员”可能会与“前台”及“护理员”密切合作,沟通掌握哪些“医生”当前未看诊以及这些“医生”可以解决哪些类型的问题。示例员工:Peter Benton 或 Cleo Finch。

护理员:小型“数据医生”实践无需设置该角色,但对于 10-15 名医生同时开展的实践或在多个会议室开展的实践,则强烈建议设置该角色。示例员工:Sam Taggart。

位置要求

使用可容纳 10 人以上的标准会议室即可轻松开展小型“数据医生”实践(“医生”人数为 5 名或以下)。前台可设在会议桌前端,也可设在房间外的小桌子处,每位“医生”都可舒适地围坐在会议桌旁,而“患者”(一名)坐于“医生”身旁。

对于大型“数据医生”实践,应寻找适合大型团体会议的场地;最好能在该场地为每位“医生”单独设置一张桌子。在这种情况下,您需要一张足够放置 1–2 台笔记本计算机的桌子以及至少 2 把椅子。如果“数据医生”实践拥有 10 多位“医生”,或前台可能不认识所有“医生”,则需要考虑在桌面上设置标示,确保“患者”顺利找到自己的“医生”。

如果租用办公室外的场地,请务必考虑“医生”、“患者”和前台笔记本计算机的电源和 Internet 连接情况;任何不在云中的技术工具的网络连接问题;以及从租用场地入口到“数据医生”实践位置的实际路线和“患者”流,尤其是导向标识。稍后,我们将在介绍“开展您的实践”时,进一步说明如何管理“患者”流。



推广并实施您的实践规范

要确保成功进行“数据医生”实践,推广是第一步。推广方式包括口头通知、Intranet、电子邮件及内部标牌;您的目标是提高关注度、激发热情,并与您的“患者”社区建立联系。

附录中提供了推广电子邮件和标牌示例。

您已成功推广“数据医生”实践,“患者”和“医生”都非常期待,问诊也已安排妥当,现在即可“开门营业”。为您的团队提供关于所需工具或流程的培训,让他们能够准确记录数据并为“患者”提供有效治疗,确保当天活动圆满成功。

鼓励团队成员在开展“数据医生”实践当天早点到达现场,抓住一分一秒的时间回答任何问题,提供实践培训并坚持至最后一刻,让所有人都对这个活动充满激情!最好经常在会议室内走动,以确保您的员工和“患者”拥有获取成功所需的一切,无论是钢笔、草稿纸、水还是休息时间。

社区工具包

查看适用于您的 Tableau 社区的其他工具包

了解更多信息

Data Doctor

Implementation Guide

">

If you’ve seen the power of Tableau Doctor at Tableau Conferences worldwide – you’ll know how powerful it can be. Now we want to make it easy for you to launch a practice of your own. We have taken our years of experience and lessons learned in running Tableau Doctor and packaged them up into a toolkit of resources for you. Below you will find an outline and guide to the program.

Data Doctor is for any organization seeking to foster a peer driven Data Culture by removing roadblocks while using Tableau and expanding the use of Tableau within their organization. Our customers have used Data Doctor to identify individual, departmental, or organizational knowledge gaps within their organization; develop centers of excellence to self-service Tableau and provide “frequently asked question” solutions to their users; and provide peer-to-peer training opportunities.

Design your practice

Business needs

Identifying why you need to launch a Data Doctor practice is an essential first step in clarifying your vision and collecting the data necessary to show success. Examples of business needs include many individuals at your organization having access to Tableau, but not using it or users who are actively using Tableau yet, feel frustrated when they get stuck.

After identifying the business needs, determine the change you want to make (goal) and what success looks like (metric).




Data Doctor experience

Data Doctor allows you to modify the experience to best fit your organization. Some customers choose to offer only pre-scheduled appointments, some only ad-hoc, drop-in sessions, and some a combination of both. Other customers organize their Data Doctor practice around a theme in order to raise organizational competency around visualization best practices, performance optimization, or calculations competency, for example; or provide an open forum for patients to come with any question or issue they have.



Organizational culture: Similar to the experience level of your patients, your organizational culture will influence the type of appointment scheduling your Data Doctor practice offers. If your organizational culture thrives on order and organization, pre-scheduled appointment scheduling may be the most successful choice for you. If your organizational culture is more fluid, then open office hours may work best.

Appointment scheduling: The level of experience your patients have with Tableau should influence your choice to offer scheduled appointments or open office hours. For example, if the majority of your Tableau community is just beginning their journey with Tableau, you may not need to pre-schedule appointments because specialized knowledge is not required of your Doctors. Open office hours may be a better strategy to encourage anyone to ask a question.

Alternatively, if the majority of your Tableau community are experienced users, pre-scheduling appointments allows you to better match the patient with the Doctor who has the specialized knowledge needed to help them.

Organizations with patient communities of varying skills may benefit from offering a combination of pre-scheduled and open office hours. Offering both types of appointments can be resource intensive and often works best for organizations that establish recurring practices (quarterly, monthly, weekly) that encourage both community and Doctor development.
The type of appointment scheduling you choose to provide may also be influenced by the type of appointment topics.

Appointment topics: Your Data Doctor practice can offer free form appointment topics, where any question or issue can be discussed, or can be themed to a specific appointment topic.

Free form Data Doctor allows any patient to bring any question or issue they have to your practice. This method is a great way to get a pulse for all the different types of issues that are occurring within your organization and collect data that can be used to identify knowledge gaps later on. In the present, it will also mean you need to find a way to match patients with Doctors who have the skills to help them. Though you can do this in an office hours format, pre-scheduling can make the process easier.

A themed Data Doctor allows you to address hot topics among your patient community or provide targeted skills training around a particular topic. Organizations have structured Data Doctor theme days around workbook performance optimization, mapping, or visual best practices. You can run this as a workshop, where a specific workbook is used and the Doctor explains how to address that issue to a group; or hold office hours and ask patients to bring in their questions or workbooks where they are having issues around that topic. With a themed Data Doctor, you may not need to pre-schedule appointments because all questions will be around the same topic.

The “Data Doctor design worksheet”, in the Appendix of this guide, can help you organize your thoughts as you design your Data Doctor practice.

Plan your practice: technology

Aside from Tableau, you will need a couple of different technology solutions to allow your patients to schedule appointments, to collect data on the ailments your Doctors treat, and to assess the skills of your team and select the best staff for the job.


Appointments

There are many different appointment scheduling tools on the market. When selecting a tool, keep in mind the, data that you want to collect from your patients, type of appointments scheduling your Data Doctor practice is offering, and the level of granularity needed to match your patients to a Doctor with the skillset to help them.

The combination of your Data Doctor practice’s appointment scheduling options and patient product experience may influence the level of sophistication needed from your appointment scheduling tool. For example, if you are offering a themed Data Doctor, your appointment scheduling tool may be as simple as an Excel workbook or Google sheet as you are primarily collecting patient data and basic information about the type of issue they are experiencing.

If your Data Doctor practice is offering open office hours or pre-scheduled appointments, your appointment scheduling tool may be slightly more sophisticated. You may need to collect basic information about the issue being experienced, including the product (Tableau Desktop, Tableau Server, Tableau Prep, etc.) and their capability level (Creator, Explorer, Viewer) in order to match the patient with the right Doctor.

However, if you are offering pre-scheduled appointments and/or your patient community is more experienced with Tableau, you will need an appointment solution that offers more advanced matching capabilities, including filters on specific topics (survey analysis, sharing & collaborating, accessing via mobile devices), special skills (database architecture or structure, R, APIs), or languages.

Patient data collected during the appointment will help you match patients to Doctors and evaluate the use and success of your Data Doctor practice. Some data that you may want to consider collecting during appointment scheduling may include: name, email, department, type of issue, and issue details. Although not governed by HIPPA requirements, you may want to check in with your organization’s HR department to ensure you handle this data responsibly.

A few of the solutions that Tableau and some of our customers have used for appointment scheduling is available in the Appendix. This is not an exhaustive list but should be helpful as you begin evaluating your options.

Issue collection (Prescription)

The information your Doctors collect as they treat patients within your Data Doctor practice helps you to evaluate the heath of your organization, provides the patient with the tools they need to self-treat if the issue reoccurs, and track success toward your goals. When selecting a solution, consider the ease of Doctor’s recording information about the issues during the appointment, the information you would like to provide to your patients, and the data you need to track for Data Doctor practice evaluation.

We recommend starting with a tool that is simple to learn and easy to use. This will reduce training time for your Doctors and ensure all necessary information is consistently and accurately collected. This is especially important for data you want to track to evaluate your Data Doctor practice. Collecting data on the Doctor’s name, the issue(s) they treated, and whether the issue was resolved or not will help you to understand who your most effective Doctors are and where functional skills gaps exist within your organization.

We recommend providing each patient with a record of their appointment (a Prescription) at the end of each session. Your patients will be most interested in the solution to their issue, but context is also important. The ability for your Doctor to also record what the issue was, the troubleshooting they performed, and any available documentation they consulted are equally important for the patient to become self-sufficient if they face the same or similar issue again.

Skills assessment

The skills assessment can be used in two ways. Its most basic use is to understand what your Doctors know in order to match them more accurately with your patients. If provided to a larger (team, department, or organizational) group of individuals, it can also help you to understand where knowledge gaps exist within your patient population.

Identifying knowledge gaps can help you to determine whether offering a themed Data Doctor day or recurring practice would be the most impactful solution for your organization’s success with Tableau or could provide you with the data needed to advocate for training within your organization.

An example skills survey, example data collection spreadsheet and example Tableau workbook are included in the Appendix.

Plan your practice: location and experience

Your organization’s culture and available resources will largely influence your choices here. We have included some best practices from our experience.


Roles and staff

Your Data Doctor team is comprised of volunteers from your organization. It is important you find the right people for the job. Some roles are essential to successful Data Doctor practices regardless of size and some are only needed when you start to expand and scale across your organization. No matter what the role, search for individuals who are organized, self-managing, hard workers, and have both the skills and bandwidth to fulfill their role.

Below you will find descriptions of what each job entails. We’ve been sure to note which roles are essential and which are optional based on the size of your Data Doctor practice. We have also noted an example employee, from the example Skills Assessment in this toolkit, who fits the requirements of the role based on their skills assessment. Use the example Skills Assessment workbook for an example of what to look for when evaluating your potential staff.



Chief of Staff: This person is the lead organizer for the Data Doctor practice. They are essential to practices of all sizes. Their job is to define the Data Doctor practice concept, select and implement technology, coordinate logistics (rooms, dates, times, and promotion), select and schedule staff, run the day-of practice, report on activity and use that data to develop the practice to the organization’s needs and/or report insight gained from the data collected to organizational leadership.

In larger Data Doctor practices, some Chief of Staff share this leadership role in order to reduce the workload on a single person and foster a spirit of collaborative leadership.

Front desk: This person is essential to Data Doctor practices of all sizes. In smaller Data Doctor clinics, this individual generally manages the flow and operation of Data Doctor. In larger clinics, the Front Desk will work together with the Unit Coordinator(s) and Orderlies to ensure a smooth operational flow. Some examples of tasks that the Front Desk may perform include: assisting patients in scheduling, rescheduling, or canceling appointments; escorting patients to their Doctor. Though experience with Tableau products can be helpful in this role, it is typically not required. Example employee: Cynthia Hooper or Jerry Markovic.

Doctor: This person is essential to Data Doctor practices of all sizes. Doctors are assigned to a specific patient, either in advance or just before the appointment begins, based on their skillset and the patient’s ailment. They listen to the patient’s symptoms, research or test for solutions, and record their investigation or diagnosis for the patient and for Data Doctor practice reporting. Experience using and troubleshooting Tableau software is required for this role. Most Doctors have 1 – 2 year’s of experience with Tableau before they are prepared to be a Doctor. Example employee: Maggie Doyle or Robert Romano.

Attending: This person is optional for smaller Data Doctor practices and highly recommended for practices operating with more than 10 – 15 Doctors at the same time. The Attending is not assigned to any specific patient but makes rounds to provide additional assistance or consultation to Doctors. They are often subject matter experts in a particular Tableau feature or skillset such as visualization best practices, Level of Detail calculations, or permissions administration. In your organization, they may also be experts on your internal data sources, data structure, organizational structure, branding standards, etc. Example employee: Kerry Weaver or Don Anspaugh.

Unit Coordinator: This person is not required for smaller Data Doctor practices and recommended for practices operating with more than 10 – 15 Doctors at the same time. The Unit Coordinator is a communicator and floor manager who is responsible for ensuring that Doctors have everything they need to be successful and helping to keep appointments on time. They direct Attendings to Doctors needing aid, report technology and other issues to the Chief of Staff and provide time cues such as 5-minute warnings and Time is Up announcements. In larger practices or Data Doctor practices that are not using pre-scheduled appointments, the Unit Coordinator may work closely with the Front Desk and Orderlies to communicate which Doctors are not currently seeing patients and what types of issues they can address. Example employees: Peter Benton or Cleo Finch.

Orderly: This person is not required for smaller Data Doctor practices and recommended for practices operating with more than 10 – 15 Doctors at the same time or for practices operating in more than one conference room. Example employee: Sam Taggart.

Location requirements

Smaller Data Doctor practices (5 or fewer Doctors), can easily operate out of a standard conference room that fits 10+ people. Your Front Desk can be located at the head of the conference table or a small table just outside of the room and each Doctor can comfortably fit around the conference table with a patient beside them.

For larger Data Doctor practices, you should seek spaces that accommodate large group meetings; especially spaces that can be set up with separate tables for each Doctor. In these settings, you will need a desk large enough for 1 – 2 laptops and at least 2 chairs. For Data Doctor practices with more than 10 Doctors, or where your Front Desk may not know all the Doctor’s faces, you may want to consider table top identifiers to ensure the right patient gets to the right Doctor.

If renting a space outside of your office, be sure to consider power and internet connectivity for the for the Doctor’s, patient’s, and Front Desk laptops; network connectivity issues for any technology tools not located in the cloud; and physical access and patient flow from the entry of the rented facility to your Data Doctor practice – especially directional signage. We will talk a little more about managing patient flow later on when discussing Running your Practice.





Promote and run your practice

Promotion is the first step in ensuring success for your Data Doctor practice. Whether that is by word of mouth, intranet, email, or internal signage; your goal is to raise awareness, generate excitement, and connect with your patient community.

Templates for promotional e-mails and signage are included in the Appendix.

You have promoted your Data Doctor practice, patients and Doctors are excited, appointments are scheduled, and you are ready to open your doors. Make sure the day is successful by providing training to your team on the tools or processes they need to record data accurately and treat patients effectively.

Encouraging your team to arrive early the day your Data Doctor practice opens to answer any last minute questions, provide any final hands-on training, and get everyone excited about the event! It is best practice to circulate through the room frequently to ensure that your staff and your patients have everything they need to succeed – whether that’s pens & scratch paper, water, or restroom breaks.

Community Toolkit

Check out the other toolkits for your Tableau community

Learn more