数据文化:
找到缺失环节,在数据时代蓬勃发展

企业都想提高自己的数据驱动力,该领域的投资总额高达数万亿。但仅有 8% 的企业能够成功地扩展分析,从自己的数据中获取价值。与普通企业相比,那些最成功的企业有何不同之处?

不仅仅是技术

要成为真正的数据驱动型企业,就必须改变观念、态度和习惯,让数据成为组织的标志性特征。每个人都要有使用数据的意愿并鼓励其他人使用数据。

在数据时代,领导者有了新的使命

只有 8%

的公司实现了大规模分析。

成功源自文化

在数据文化中,人们会提出复杂的问题并挑战想法。他们肩负着共同的使命,致力于使用数据改善组织和自身。领导者身体力行,根据数据进行决策,而不依赖直觉。

信任

领导者为相关人员和数据奠定信任基础

强盛的数据文化必须根植于信任。领导信任员工,员工信任数据,所有人彼此信任。

了解业务的人可以利用数据自信地决策。有效的数据管控模型可以实现安全的大范围访问,为这些人员提供支持。这样便可以形成单一事实来源,消除团队之间的数据孤岛,建立高度信任的协作关系。因此,数据见解不会被限制在某一个部门内。整个组织都可以使用这些数据见解来找出卓有成效的解决方案。

在人与数据之间建立高度信任的关系

各团队倡导数据访问和数据透明

数据管控让数据获得可信度

组织设定明确的预期,让人们知道如何负责任地使用数据

BI 团队首先为数据管控奠定坚实的基础,确保每个人都能查询到最重要的指标。

承诺

人们将数据视为战略资产

如果一个组织有成功的数据文化,那么该组织对数据和分析的重视就不会仅限于口号。这样的组织会不遗余力地实现数据资产价值 — 不但会存储和收集数据,还会帮助其人员使用数据提高决策质量。

从组织结构到日常流程,这种重视会在所有层面得到充分体现。他们会指定一位高管来负责数据使用,确保分析项目与关键业务工作挂钩。

高管们不仅支持数据驱动的行为,还会为此类行为建模

组织结构反映了数据的价值

分析目标会影响数据收集和流程

需要有活跃的高管支持来为数据转型背书。在 CEO 的支持下,Tableau 已经从一种实用功能延展成为企业级解决方案。对于拥有最高分析采用率的业务领域,总监级管理人员往往会与团队一起参加 Tableau 的培训。

人才

组织在招聘、培养和保留人才方面优先考虑数据技能

归根结底,数据文化由数据人员构成。即使拥有最好的技术和流程,如果人们不了解如何使用数据,数据驱动就无从谈起。

高管必须在人才战略(包括招聘和培训)中优先考虑数据技能,在职位描述和雇用流程中明确说明和确定数据技能。组织中的每个人都应该有信心找到正确的数据,将分析概念应用于他们的工作,并传达自己的发现。

职位描述清楚地说明了所有职位需要的数据技能

团队针对所有角色和级别定制能力提升计划

领导者鼓励和奖励数据使用

“当我们宣布培训计划时,我们在不到 72 小时内收到了 120 多个回复。新老用户都非常渴望提高 Tableau 技能并通过自助功能满足自己的数据需求,这对整个组织都大有裨益。

共享

人们互相支持并形成一种归属感

适合使用数据来解决的问题往往不是仅限于一个团队,或一条业务线的问题。它们需要来自多个系统的数据以及多个团队之间的协作。在数据文化中,人们有一个共同的目标 — 使用数据来改善组织。他们共同努力,使用数据来加强自己的影响力。

这种共享精神会形成一种持续的动力使其不断发扬光大,营造集体归属感,体现在聚会、消息群组和门户中。然后将这些活动规范化,使其成为以数据和分析为中心的活跃内部社区活动。

人们在整个组织中积极分享最佳做法

各团队以跨职能的方式分享数据,为业务目标的实现提供支持

领导者为人们创造参与社区活动的时间和空间

人们希望看到彼此成功。在社区页面上,人们会提出 Tableau 问题,而且您可以看到某个经验更加丰富的用户立刻回答问题。

观念

数据成为整个组织实现改进的催化剂

建立“数据为先”的观念与开发数据技能同样重要。在数据文化中,人们认为数据比直觉、传言和职位高低更重要。当每个人都树立这种观念时,大家就可以畅所欲言,让想法转化为探索和创新。

数据被视为个人成长和职业发展的源动力。人们想知道更多并且愿意用数据挑战自己的假设,并且乐意接受其他人的挑战。当所有这些数据驱动做法成为习惯,人们的观念就会改变,开始将数据与改进、成功和增长联系起来。

人们鼓励试验和创新

组织关注结果,而不是虚荣指标

人们愿意使用数据挑战想法

最开始使用 Tableau 时,我们考虑的只是仪表板和报告。我们从未想到 Tableau 会让整个组织脱胎换骨。

Data Culture:
Your missing link to thriving in the data era

Organizations are investing trillions of dollars to become more data-driven, but only 8% successfully scale analytics to get value out of their data. What separates the top performers from the rest?

It takes more than just technology

Becoming truly data-driven requires changing mindsets, attitudes, and habits—embedding data into the identity of the organization. People have to want to use data and encourage others to do the same.

In the data era, leaders have a new calling

Only 8%

of companies achieve analytics at scale.

Success comes down to culture

In a Data Culture, people ask the hard questions and challenge ideas. They come together with a shared mission, to improve the organization and themselves with data. Leaders inspire through action, basing decisions on data, not intuition.

Data Cultures share five common elements

Trust

Leaders create a foundation of trust—in people and data

Trust is at the root of a strong Data Culture. Leaders trust their people, people trust the data, and people trust each other.

People who know the business are armed with data to make confident decisions. They are backed by the right data governance model that supports secure, widespread access. This creates a single source of truth that breaks down silos across teams to build high-trust, collaborative relationships. As a result, data insights aren’t limited to one single department. They are shared across the organization to find impactful solutions.

People build high-trust relationships with data

Teams encourage data access and transparency

Data governance instills confidence in data

Organizations set clear expectations for responsible data use

The BI team put a solid foundation of data governance in place first to make sure they got the most important metrics in everybody’s hands.

Commitment

People treat data as a strategic asset

Organizations with successful Data Cultures don’t just pay lip service to the importance of data and analytics. They fully commit to realizing the value of their data assets—not just storing and collecting data, but helping people use data to make better decisions.

This commitment is evident in all aspects of the organization—from organizational structure to day-to-day processes. There is an assigned executive that is accountable for the organization’s data use, ensuring that analytics projects tie back to critical business efforts.

Executives don't just sponsor data-driven behavior; they model it

The organizational structure reflects the value of data

Analytics goals influence data collection and processes

The CEO insisted that all board reporting had to happen in Tableau. Nine months later, we have touch screens in our boardroom and seven of ten business areas have their board reporting in Tableau.

Talent

Organizations prioritize data skills in recruiting, developing, and retaining talent

At the end of the day, a Data Culture is made up of data people. Even with the best technology and processes, if people don’t understand how to work with data, they can’t be data-driven.

Executives must prioritize data skills as part of talent strategy, including recruitment and training—clearly outlined in job descriptions and identified in the hiring process. Everyone in the organization should feel confident finding the right data, applying analytical concepts to their work, and communicating their findings.

Job descriptions clearly outline data skills for all roles

Teams tailor enablement programs to all roles and levels

Leaders encourage and reward data use

When we announced our training, we had over 120 responses in less than 72 hours. There’s a real appetite amongst current and new users alike to grow their Tableau skills and self-serve their own data needs, which greatly benefits the organization as a whole.

Sharing

People support each other and develop a sense of belonging

Most problems worth solving with data aren’t limited to a single team or line of business. They require data from multiple systems and collaboration across many teams. In a Data Culture, people have a shared purpose—using data to better the organization. Together, people amplify the impact they can have with data.

This spirit of sharing creates a contagious energy to “pay it forward,” developing a sense of community, displayed through meetups, messaging groups, and portals. These activities are then formalized into active internal communities around data and analytics.

People actively share best practices across the organization

Teams share data cross-functionally to support business objectives

Leaders create time and space for people to participate in communities

People want to see each other succeed. On the community page, people will ask Tableau questions, and you'll immediately see one of the other more experienced users answering.

Mindset

Data becomes a catalyst for organization-wide improvement

Developing a data-first mindset is just as important as developing data skills. In a Data Culture, people prioritize data over intuition, anecdotes, or rank. When this mindset is shared by everyone, it creates open discussion, where ideas lead to exploration and innovation.

Data is viewed as a source of personal growth and career development. People are curious and willing to challenge their own assumptions with data—and they’re open to being challenged by others. As all of these data-driven practices become habits, perceptions change, and people start to associate data with improvement, success, and growth.

People encourage experimentation and innovation

Organizations focus on outcomes, rather than vanity metrics

People feel comfortable challenging ideas with data

When we first started with Tableau, we were just thinking about dashboarding and reporting. We never thought Tableau would fundamentally change the DNA of the organization.