您的查询是否包含“特殊字符”?

这可以是以下任意字符:

@ + # - _ / \ ., : = * ? ( ) [ ] $

我们的搜索引擎有时会将这些字符解释为“逻辑运算符”,而不是文本字符串。例如,您可能想在查询中使用 : 字符来表示冒号。然而,搜索引擎可能会将该字符及其两侧的文本解释为字段查询。这会改变查询对于搜索引擎的含义,进而可能影响结果。

为了避免这种情况,请执行以下任一操作:

  1. 为查询添加引号,例如将 query 变为“query”
  2. 为查询添加“非语法块”注释,例如将 query 变为 <@- query -@>。(请注意,注释与查询之间有空格。)

将错误消息或日志文件条目直接粘贴到搜索栏中时,您常常需要使用这种方法。

您的查询是否包含“个性化”信息?

这可以是您本地计算机特有的路径名称、您的环境特有的服务器名称,或者您的组织特有的用户名。错误消息有时会包含此类个性化信息,例如:

Errors occurred while trying to load the workbook “c:\users\mikeb\mike’s files\reports\sales\april2017\US_sales.twbx” …

这样的查询不可能返回相关文章或社区帖文。因为我们的作者无法预知您的路径名称、服务器名称或用户名。

解决方法是从错误消息中选取可能会返回相关文档的最长字符串。对于以上示例,可以尝试搜索“Errors occurred while trying to load the workbook”。这比仅仅使用“Errors occurred”更加具体,往往可以让您能够更快地从搜索结果中找到需要的资料。同时,这种方法还排除了造成搜索失败的个性化信息。

Does your query contain “special characters”?

That’s any of the following:

@ + # - _ / \ . , : = * ? ( ) [ ] $

Our search engine sometimes interprets these characters as “logical operators” rather than literal strings. For example, you might intend a : character in your query to be a colon. However, search may be interpreting it and the text around it as a field query. That will change what your query means to the search engine, and may affect the results.

In order to avoid this, do one of the following:

  1. Enclose your query in quotes, such that query becomes “query”.
  2. Enclose your query in the “no syntax block” notation, such that query becomes <@- query -@>. (Please note the spaces separating the notation from the query.)

This technique is often necessary when you’ve pasted an error message or log file entry straight into search.

Does your query contain “personal” information?

That could be a pathname that’s unique to your local computer, a server name that’s unique to your environment, or a user name that’s unique to your organization. Error messages sometimes contain such personalized information, such as:

Errors occurred while trying to load the workbook “c:\users\mikeb\mike’s files\reports\sales\april2017\US_sales.twbx” …

A query like this will never return a relevant article or community post. That’s because our writers cannot know what your pathname, server name or user name will be.

The solution is to pick the longest string from the error message likely to return a relevant document. In the case above, try searching on “Errors occurred while trying to load the workbook”. This is more specific than just “Errors occurred”, and is likely to save you time when scanning the search returns for the material you need. At the same time, it excludes the personalized information that will cause the search to fail.