白皮書

哪種圖表類型適合您?

作者
Tracy Rodgers, 產品行銷經理

您擁有資料,也有一些問題,那麼您該如何用最佳方法視覺化資料來取得所需的答案?將資料轉變為有效率的視覺化或儀表板是讓資料發揮影響力的第一步。

如元素週期表發明者 Henry D. Hubbard 所說:「圖表具有魔力。曲線的形狀能瞬間顯露出整體情況:流行疫情或恐慌的歷程,或一個時代的繁榮歷程。曲線能傳達意義、激發想像力並且說服人心。」


圖表的類型

長條圖

長條圖是最常見的資料視覺化之一。您可以使用它來快速比較各類別間的資料、強調差異、顯示趨勢與異常值,以及一眼看出歷史高點與低點。長條圖在您的資料可拆分為多個類型時特別有效。

折線圖

折線圖會連接數個不同的資料點,將其呈現為一個連續的流程圖。折線圖通常會用來檢視一段時間內的資料趨勢 (例如五年內的股價變化,或每月的網頁瀏覽數)。這樣簡單明瞭方式可用來視覺化單值彼此的相對變化。

圓餅圖

圓餅圖是為其他視覺化加上細節的強大方法。單獨使用時,圓餅圖無法為使用者提供快速且準確的比較資訊。由於檢閱者必須自行建立背景資訊,因此來自您資料的關鍵重點會遭到遺漏。與其將圓餅圖做為儀表板的焦點,不如將其與其他圖表搭配來下鑽查詢資料。

地圖

地圖是視覺化任何一種地點資訊最容易想到的方式,無論是郵遞區號、州/省縮寫、國家/地區名稱,或您自己自訂的地理編碼。若您的資料與地理資訊相關,地圖這個簡易又引人注目的方式就能顯示出地點與資料趨勢的關聯性。

密度圖

密度圖可能會揭露出以其他方式難以發現的模式或相對密集情況,造成此情況試音院地圖上標記重疊的緣故,這能協助您找出有更多或更少資料點數量的地點。處理在小型地理區域含許多資料點的資料集時,密度圖是最有效率的方式。

散點圖

散點圖是調查不同變數間關係的高效率方式,它能顯示出一個變數是否能準確預測另一個變數,或兩個變數傾向獨立變化。散點圖能在單一圖表上呈現許多獨特的資料點。之後,您可使用分析來強化圖表,例如叢集分析或趨勢線。

甘特圖

甘特圖會顯示專案排程或顯示活動在一段時間內的變化。相較於其他圖表,甘特圖能先顯示需要完成的步驟,以及資源的分配。

氣泡圖

嚴格上來說,雖然氣泡不是能自成一格的視覺化類型,但可將其做為技巧來為散點圖或地圖加入詳細資料,以顯示三個或更多量值的關係。變化圓圈大小和顏色能建立引人注目的圖表,一次呈現大量的資料。

樹狀圖

樹狀圖會將您不同的資料區段與整體關聯在一起。您可以從圖表名稱聯想到,每個樹狀圖中的長方形都會根據其佔據整體的比例,再分為小型的長方形或子分支。它們能有效運用空間來顯示各類別的總比率。

如要瞭解更多圖表類型、視覺範例、秘訣與資訊,請下載我們的白皮書。從長條圖、密度圖到盒鬚圖,您將在此白皮書中學到不同的圖表類型。您也會學到如何從兩個適用圖表中做取捨的時機,以及運用這些圖表類型來發揮最高影響力的秘訣。

繼續閱讀...

填寫只需 15 秒。如果您已註冊,登入

長條圖

長條圖是最常見的資料視覺化之一。您可以使用它來快速比較 各類別間的資料、強調差異、顯示趨勢與異常值,以及一眼看出歷史高點 與低點。長條圖在您的資料可拆分 為多個類型時特別有效。例如,不同尺寸的襯衫數量、 依參照網址區分的網路流量,或依部門區分的支出比率。

在此範例中,長條圖會快速顯示出銷售總量在公司過去時期中,不同 季度的變化。
秘訣:
  • 為長條上色以發揮更多影響力。顏色可以帶來更快速的視覺辨識度,讓比較變得輕鬆簡單。
  • 請使用堆疊條或並排條。堆疊型或並排型長條圖可讓您進一步細分資料,讓您的分析更具深度。
  • 將長條圖與地圖合併。地圖是強大且直覺的視覺化資料方式。使用地圖做為篩選器可讓檢閱者下鑽查詢與找到詳盡答案。
  • 將長條放在軸的兩側。規劃正負資料點都在同軸上,突顯趨勢與異常值。

折線圖

折線圖會連接數個不同的資料點,將其呈現為一個連續的流程圖。折線圖通常會用來檢視一段時間內的資料趨勢 (例如五年內的股價變化,或每月的網頁瀏覽數)。這樣簡單明瞭方式可用來視覺化單值彼此的相對變化。但折線圖並非不受時間限制。任何維度 (如資料類型、時段與其他序數資料) 都能用來做為水平軸。

該折線圖顯示三間大型公司一段時間的股價年度報酬率。
秘訣:
  • 將折線圖與長條圖合併。長條圖與折線圖適合一起搭配使用。在同軸上同時顯示兩種資訊會為您的資料加上強大的背景資訊。
  • 將折線下的區域加上陰影。在折線圖下為地區加上陰影能提供即時的數量視覺線索,同時改善圖表的外觀與風格。當您的圖表包含多條折線時,請使用多種顏色告訴檢閱者每條件與整體相對的關係。

圓餅圖

圓餅圖是為其他視覺化加上細節的強大方法。單獨使用時,圓餅圖無法為使用者提供快速且準確的比較資訊。由於檢閱者必須自行建立背景資訊,因此來自您資料的關鍵重點會遭到遺漏。與其將圓餅圖做為儀表板的焦點,不如將其與其他圖表搭配來下鑽查詢資料。此做法會使用圓餅圖的簡易性來加入資訊,而不受因圖表太大而模糊焦點。

此視覺化由阿姆斯特丹大學應用科學製作,它們使用圓餅圖來顯示外國零售公司跨邊界銷售的佔比。加上地圖能提供進一步的背景資訊。
秘訣:
  • 限制圓餅楔形的數量。若您有要比較的比例太多,檢閱者可能會難以瞭解圖表要表達的意義。同樣地,請限制儀表板上的圓餅圖總數,數量不要太多。
  • 在地圖上重疊圓餅圖。圓餅圖可進一步細分您資料中的地理趨勢,建立引人注目的視覺效果。
  • 地圖

    地圖是視覺化任何一種地點資訊最容易想到的方式,無論是郵遞區號、州/省縮寫、國家/地區名稱,或您自己自訂的地理編碼。若您的資料與地理資訊相關,地圖這個簡易又引人注目的方式能顯示出地點與資料趨勢的關聯性。例如,依州/省區分的保險索賠、依國家或地區區分的出口目的地、依郵遞區號區分的車輛事故,以及自訂的銷售邊界。

    此地圖依州/省顯示獲利率。透過在工具提示中分層,您可深入探索城市層級的資料而無須離開檢視。 在這種情況下,我們會看到蒙大拿有 32.8% 的整體獲利率,這一點我們可以使用顏色來與其他州/省進行視覺比較。
    秘訣:
    • 使用地圖做為其他圖表類型和表格的篩選器。 地圖是您下鑽查詢資料的直覺方式。檢閱者可以一眼看出大趨勢,甚至可以使用篩選動作進一步快速調查。
    • 在地圖上方分層資料點。標記可在地圖上重疊,以更精準的方式顯示個別資料點。請嘗試變化其大小來加入更多視覺細節至分析中。

    密度圖

    密度圖可能會揭露出其他方式難以發現的模式或相對密集情況,造成此情況是因為地圖上標記重疊的緣故,這能協助您找出有更多或更少資料點數量的地點。處理在小型地理區域含許多資料點的資料集時,密度圖是最有效率的方式。


    這個由 Matt Chambers 製作的密度圖顯示出龍捲風在美國發生的密度。暗色背景強調這些區域更容易出現龍捲風。
    秘訣:
    • 使用頁面來瞭解空間模式。透過 Tableau 的頁面架位,您可以在年份、月份或日期之間移動,以便在將資料製成動畫時查看相對比較。
    • 使用背景圖片來提供背景資訊。若您使用的是非傳統地圖 (例如網球場地圖),請確保您使用相關背景圖片來建立資料的背景資訊。

    散點圖

    散點圖是調查不同變數間關係的高效率方式,它能顯示出一個變數是否能準確預測另一個變數,或兩個變數傾向獨立變化。散點圖能在單一圖表上呈現許多獨特的資料點。之後,您可使用分析強化圖表,例如叢集分析或趨勢線。例如,您可以使用此圖表來將技術早期採用者和落後者的購買模式加以視覺化,或是將不同產品類別運送至不同地區的運費成本也加以視覺化。

    此散點圖會顯示依客戶區分的銷售與獲利,每個標記象徵一名客戶。
    秘訣:
    • 使用叢集分析來找出區段。 叢集分析會根據您選的變數將資料點分組成獨特的區段。
    • 使用突出顯示動作。透過加入突出顯示動作至您的散點圖,您可以快速看見哪些點有共同的屬性,並且不會失去對剩餘資料集的檢視。
    • 使用自訂標記類型。自訂標記會將快速視覺線索加入您的圖表,清楚區分不同組的資料點。

    甘特圖

    甘特圖會顯示專案排程或顯示活動在一段時間內的變化。相較於其他圖表,甘特圖能先顯示需要完成的步驟,以及資源的分配。但甘特圖不會受到專案的限制。您可利用此圖表類型表示與時間序列相關的任何資料,例如機器使用的時間長度或球隊球員的空閒時間。

    此散點圖會顯示依客戶區分的銷售與獲利,每個標記象徵一名客戶。
    秘訣
    • 加入顏色。在甘特圖中變更長條顏色能快速讓檢閱者知道重要層面的變數。
    • 透過甘特圖合併地圖與其他圖表類型。在儀表板中包含甘特圖與其他圖表類型,有助於建立與其他無關資料的關聯。

    氣泡圖

    嚴格上來說,雖然氣泡不是能自成一格的視覺化類型,但可將其做為技巧來為散點圖或地圖加入詳細資料,以顯示三個或更多量值的關係。變化圓圈大小和顏色能建立引人注目的圖表,一次呈現大量的資料。

    在此範例中,氣泡圖會顯示各值間的關係;產品類別、銷售與獲利。有最多銷售的產品類別會以深藍色突出顯示,而氣泡的大小會反映出產品產生的獲利程度。
    秘訣
    • 加入顏色。顏色能為氣泡圖加入更多維度,同時建立吸引人的視覺「亮點」。
    • 在地圖上重疊氣泡。檢閱者可從氣泡中快速得知資料的相對密集程度。將這些氣泡重疊,即可為檢閱者提供地理相關資料的背景資訊。

    直方圖

    直方圖會顯示您的資料如何跨越不同群組分佈。直方圖會將您的資料分組成特定的類別 (又稱為「資料桶」),之後分配依照各類別中記錄數比例的長條。您可使用此圖表類型視覺化,例如依公司大小區分的客戶數量、學生的考試表現,或產品缺陷的頻率。

    流式細胞術是「用來偵測與測量細胞群或粒子物理與化學屬性的技術」。此直方圖顯示根據「Pe-H」(蛋白質家族) 加以資料桶化的細胞群。
    秘訣
    • 測試不同資料分組。建立數種直方圖可協助判定有用的資料分組。
    • 加入顏色以細分資料桶。為長條加上顏色代表各群組,以在相同圖表上顯示次要的類別集合。

    子彈圖

    透過子彈圖,您可以快速地根據目標比較進度。基本上,子彈圖是長條圖的變體。子彈圖是用來取代儀表板量規、儀表以及溫度計的設計,可顯示更多資訊並提供更多比較點,同時使用更少空間。由於此圖表不會顯示歷程記錄,因此最適合用於快速概覽「目前情況」的儀表板,而非深度分析。

    在此子彈圖中,我們可以一覽整體銷售表現,確定企業產品區段未達到其十月或十二月的目標,以及居家辦公室在 11 月也落後目標。
    秘訣
    • 使用顏色圖解成就閾值。加上顏色做為背景能提供檢閱者其他參考資料,以進一步瞭解績效與目標的對比情況。
    • 將子彈加入儀表板以取得總結見解。在儀表板中將子彈圖合併其他圖表類型,可以讓相關人員針對要專注將心力放在何處以達成目標這部分進行有意義的討論。

    醒目提示表格

    突出顯示表會進一步呈現熱度圖。突出顯示表會使用顏色來吸引檢閱者的注意,同時持續呈現精確的數字。例如,目標市場的區段分析、跨區的產品採用度,以及依個別代表區分的銷售線索等。

    突出顯示表會使用顏色來吸引目光,讓您一眼就看出具有最高銷售的類別與月份。
    秘訣
    • 將突出顯示表合併其他圖表類型。例如,透過突出顯示表來支援折線圖,可讓檢閱者記住整體資料趨勢、同時下鑽查詢跨不同感興趣的特定資料。

    樹狀圖

    樹狀圖會將您不同的資料區段與整體關聯在一起。您可以從圖表名稱聯想到,每個樹狀圖中的長方形都會根據其佔據整體的比例,再分為小型的長方形或子分支。它們能有效運用空間來顯示各類別的總比率。

    樹狀圖會使用大小,顯示相對於其他國家/地區的地區中,最多觀光客來訪的地區。使用不同顏色來區分各個地區。
    秘訣
    • 依類別為長方形上色。由於熱度圖是一種密度圖,顏色可讓檢閱者更容易分辨各類別間的不同。
    • 將樹狀圖與長條圖合併。長條圖可讓檢閱者透過長條的長度快速比較項目,同時在各長條內顯示的類型明細。

    盒鬚圖

    盒鬚圖或盒狀圖是顯示資料分佈的常用方式。該名稱指的是圖表的兩個部分:盒形部分,內含連同第一個和第三個四分位數 (比中位數大或小 25% 的數值) 的資料中位數;而鬚線部分,通常會代表四分位距 1.5 倍內的資料 (第一個四分位數與第三個四分位數的差距)。鬚線也可以用來顯示資料內最大與最小資料點。

    這個盒鬚圖顯示在兩週時間內,五大城市房屋銷售的成交價格分佈。下方的長條提供加入的背景資訊,說明各城市售出房屋的總數
    秘訣
    • 在盒中隱藏資料點。這有助於檢閱者專注在異常值上。
    • 跨類別圍度比較盒狀圖。盒狀圖十分適合用來快速比較資料集間的分佈。

    K 線圖

    雖然 K 線圖可能會讓您想到盒鬚圖,但它們是兩種不同的圖表。K 線圖通常是用於金融分析,顯示一段時間內的金融工具指標。此類型圖表會以簡單易懂的形式,顯示金融工具一段時間的開盤、收盤、高點與低點。


    這個由 Laura Scavino 製作的範例,使用 K 線圖顯示 Apple 股價在一段時間內開盤與收盤價格的百分比差異。
    秘訣
    • 分開呈現多個不同的 K 線圖。嘗試在單一圖表上分層許多資料點可能會讓人混淆並且難以瀏覽。建立清楚的區別有助於檢閱者個別分析圖表。
    • 使用突出顯示動作來關聯資料。時間序列資料可能難以追蹤。突出顯示動作可讓使用者專住在單一日期,同時仍可查看剩餘圖表的歷史資訊。

    作者簡介

    image

    Tracy Rodgers

    產品行銷經理

    Tracy Rodgers 是產品行銷經理,她的工作是專注處理所有事物的資料。2011 年她開始在 Tableau 工作,並且擔任許多職務,包括從支援到管理 Tableau 社群以及產品行銷。她熱愛與客戶建立關係、學習關於 Tableau 產品的新秘訣與技巧,並且向更多人介紹資料的世界。

Whitepaper

Which Type of Chart or Graph is Right for You?

Authors: 

You’ve got data and you’ve got questions, but what's the best way to visualize that data to get the answers you need? Transforming data into an effective visualization or dashboard is the first step towards making your data make an impact.

As Henry D. Hubbard, Creator of the Periodic Table of Elements said, “There is magic in graphs. The profile of a curve reveals in a flash a whole situation — the life history of an epidemic, a panic, or an era of prosperity. The curve informs the mind, awakens the imagination, convinces.”


Types of Charts and Graphs

Bar Chart

Bar charts are one of the most common data visualizations. You can use them to quickly compare data across categories, highlight differences, show trends and outliers, and reveal historical highs and lows at a glance. Bar charts are especially effective when you have data that can be split into multiple categories.

Line Chart

The line chart, or line graph, connects several distinct data points, presenting them as one continuous evolution. Use line charts to view trends in data, usually over time (like stock price changes over five years or website page views for the month). The result is a simple, straightforward way to visualize changes in one value relative to another.

Pie Chart

Pie charts are powerful for adding detail to other visualizations. Alone, a pie chart doesn’t give the viewer a way to quickly and accurately compare information. Since the viewer has to create context on their own, key points from your data are missed. Instead of making a pie chart the focus of your dashboard, try using them to drill down on other visualizations.

Maps

Maps are a no-brainer for visualizing any kind of location information, whether it’s postal codes, state abbreviations, country names, or your own custom geocoding. If you have geographic information associated with your data, maps are a simple and compelling way to show how location correlates with trends in your data.

Density Maps

Density maps reveal patterns or relative concentrations that might otherwise be hidden due to an overlapping mark on a map—helping you identify locations with greater or fewer numbers of data points. Density maps are most effective when working with a data set containing many data points in a small geographic area.

Scatter Plot

Scatter plots are an effective way to investigate the relationship between different variables, showing if one variable is a good predictor of another, or if they tend to change independently. A scatter plot presents lots of distinct data points on a single chart. The chart can then be enhanced with analytics like cluster analysis or trend lines.

Gantt Chart

Gantt charts display a project schedule or show changes in activity over time. A Gantt chart shows steps that need to be completed before others can begin, along with resource allocation.

Bubble Chart

Although bubbles aren’t technically their own type of visualization, using them as a technique adds detail to scatter plots or maps to show the relationship between three or more measures. Varying the size and color of circles creates visually compelling charts that present large volumes of data at once.

Treemap

Treemaps relate different segments of your data to the whole. As the name of the chart suggests, each rectangle in a treemap is subdivided into smaller rectangles, or sub-branches, based on its proportion to the whole. They make efficient use of space to show percent total for each category.

For more types of charts, visual examples, tips, and information, download our whitepaper. In this paper, you’ll learn about different chart (and graph) types—from bar charts to density maps to box-and-whisker plots. You'll also learn when to use one chart over another, along with tips on how to leverage these chart types for maximum impact.

Bar Chart

Bar charts are one of the most common data visualizations. You can use them to quickly compare data across categories, highlight differences, show trends and outliers, and reveal historical highs and lows at a glance. Bar charts are especially effective when you have data that can be split into multiple categories. For example, volume of shirts in different sizes, website traffic by referrer, or percent of spending by department.

In this example, the bar chart quickly shows how the sum of sales has changed over the course of different quarters in the company’s history.
Tips:
  • Add color to bars for more impact. Color adds a quick, visual identifier that makes comparisons easy.
  • Use stacked bars or side-by-side bars. Stacked and side-by-side bar charts let you break down your data even further, giving more depth to your analysis.
  • Combine bar charts with maps. Maps are a powerful and intuitive way to visualize data. Using a map as a filter lets viewers drill down and find detailed answers.
  • Put bars on both sides of an axis. Plotting positive and negative data points along the same axis makes trends and outliers stand out.

Line Chart

The line chart, or line graph, connects several distinct data points, presenting them as one continuous evolution. Use line charts to view trends in data, usually over time (like stock price changes over five years or website page views for the month). The result is a simple, straightforward way to visualize changes in one value relative to another. But line charts aren’t limited to time. Any dimension—like date types, time intervals, and other ordinal data—can be used as the horizontal axis.

The line chart shows the annual return of stock prices for three large companies over time.
Tips:
  • Combine a line graph with bar charts. Bar and line charts go well together. Showing two kinds of information on the same axis adds powerful context to your data.
  • Shade the area under lines. Shading the area under line charts provides an immediate visual cue of quantity, and can improve the look and feel of your graph. When your graph includes multiple lines, use multiple colors to inform the viewer of each line’s relative contribution to the whole.

Pie Chart

Pie charts are powerful for adding detail to other visualizations. Alone, a pie chart doesn’t give the viewer a way to quickly and accurately compare information. Since the viewer has to create context on their own, key points from your data are missed. Instead of making a pie chart the focus of your dashboard, try using them to drill down on other visualizations. This approach uses the pie chart’s simplicity to add information, without distracting from the larger picture.

This visualization by the Amsterdam University of Applied Sciences uses pie charts to show the share of foreign retail companies selling cross border. The addition of the map provides further context.
Tips:
  • Limit the number of pie wedges. If you have too many proportions to compare, the viewer may have trouble getting meaning from the chart. Similarly, limit dashboards to a small total number of pie charts.
  • Overlay pies on maps. Pie charts can further break down geographical trends in your data, creating a compelling visualization.
  • Maps

    Maps are a no-brainer for visualizing any kind of location information, whether it’s postal codes, state abbreviations, country names, or your own custom geocoding. If you have geographic information associated with your data, maps are a simple and compelling way to show how location correlates with trends in your data. For example, insurance claims by state, product export destinations by country, car accidents by zip code, and custom sales territories.

    This map shows profit ratio by state. By layering in a tooltip, you can dig into the city level without leaving the view. In this case, we see that Montana has a 32.8% profit ratio overall, which we can visually compare to other states through the use of color.
    Tips:
    • Use a map as a filter for other types of charts, graphs, and tables. A map provides an intuitive way to drill down into your data. Viewers can see large trends at a glance, and use filter actions to quickly investigate even further.
    • Layer data points on top of maps. Marks can be overlaid on a map to show individual data points with more precision. Try varying their size to add more visual detail to your analysis.

    Density Maps

    Density maps reveal patterns or relative concentrations that might otherwise be hidden due to an
    overlapping mark on a map—helping you identify locations with greater or fewer numbers of data
    points. Density maps are most effective when working with a data set containing many data points
    in a small geographic area.




    This density map by Matt Chambers shows the density of tornado occurrences in the United States. The dark background emphasizes the areas that are more prone to tornadoes.

    Tips:
    • Use Pages to understand spatial patterns.. With the Pages shelf in Tableau, you can move
      through the years, months, or days to see how the data changes over time and you can see
      relative comparisons as you animate the data.
    • Use a background image to provide context. If you’re using a non-traditional map (like a map of a tennis
      court
      , for example), make sure you use a relevant background image to ground the data in context.

    Scatter Plot

    Scatter plots are an effective way to investigate the relationship between different variables, showing if one variable is a good predictor of another, or if they tend to change independently. A scatter plot presents lots of distinct data points on a single chart. The chart can then be enhanced with analytics like cluster analysis or trend lines. For example, you could use this chart to visualize technology early-adopters’ and laggards’ purchase patterns or shipping costs of different product categories to different regions.

    This scatterplot shows sales and profit by customer, with each mark symbolizing a customer.
    Tips:
    • Use cluster analysis to identify segments. Cluster analysis groups data points into distinct segments, based on the variables you select.
    • Use highlight actions. By adding a highlight action to your scatter plots, quickly see which points have attributes in common, without losing sight of the rest of the dataset.
    • Use custom mark types. Custom marks add a quick visual cue to your chart, clearly distinguishing different groups of points.

    Gantt Chart

    Gantt charts display a project schedule or show changes in activity over time. A Gantt chart shows steps that need to be completed before others can begin, along with resource allocation. But Gantt charts aren’t limited to projects. You can represent any data related to a time series with this chart type, like the duration of a machine’s use or availability of players on a team, for example.

    This scatterplot shows sales and profit by customer, with each mark symbolizing a customer.
    Tips
    • Add color. Changing the color of the bars within the Gantt chart quickly informs viewers about key aspects of the variable.
    • Combine maps and other chart types with Gantt charts. Including Gantt charts in a dashboard with other chart types can help correlate otherwise disconnected data.

    Bubble Chart

    Although bubbles aren’t technically their own type of visualization, using them as a technique adds detail to scatter plots or maps to show the relationship between three or more measures. Varying the size and color of circles creates visually compelling charts that present large volumes of data at once.

    In this example, the bubble chart displays the relationship between values—in this case, product category, sales, and profit. The product categories with the most sales instantly stand out in dark blue, while the size of the bubble reflects the amount of profit that product has generated.
    Tips
    • Add color. Color can add more dimension to a bubble chart, while creating an attractive visual “pop.”
    • Overlay bubbles on maps. Bubbles quickly inform a viewer about relative concentration of data. Using these as an overlay puts geographically-related data in context for the viewer.

    Histogram Chart

    Histograms show how your data is distributed across distinct groups. Histograms group your data into specific categories (also known as “bins”), then assign a bar that is proportional to the number of records in each category. You could use this chart type to visualize things like number of customers by company size, student performance on an exam, or frequency of a product defect.

    Flow cytometry is a “technique used to detect and measure physical and chemical characteristics of a population of cells or particles.” This histogram shows cell populations, binned by “Pe-H” (protein family).
    Tips
    • Test different groupings of data. Creating a variety of histograms can help to determine useful groupings of data.
    • Add color to break bins down. Apply color to bars representing each group to show a second set of categories on the same chart.

    Bullet Chart

    With bullet charts, quickly compare progress against a goal. At its core, a bullet graph is a variation of a bar chart. Designed to replace dashboard gauges, meters, and thermometers, a bullet chart shows more information and provides more points of comparison, while using less space. Because it doesn’t display history, this chart is best suited for quick “how are we doing” dashboards, rather than deep analysis.

    In this bullet chart, we can see overall sales performance at a glance to determine that the Corporate product segment did not hit its target in October or December, and Home Office was also lagging behind in November.
    Tips
    • Use color to illustrate achievement thresholds. Including color as a backdrop gives the viewer another reference to better understand how performance is measured against goals.
    • Add bullets to dashboards for summary insights. Combining bullets with other chart types into a dashboard supports productive discussions around where to focus efforts to accomplish objectives.

    Highlight Table

    Highlight tables take heat maps one step further. A highlight table uses color to grab the viewer’s attention, while still presenting precise figures. For example, segmentation analysis of target market, product adoption across regions, and sales leads by individual representative.

    The highlight table uses color to draw the eye to see the categories and months with the highest sales.
    Tips
    • Combine highlight tables with other chart types. Buttressing a line chart with a highlight table, for example, lets a viewer keep overall data trends in mind while drilling down into specific cross sections of interest.

    Treemap

    Treemaps relate different segments of your data to the whole. As the name of the chart suggests, each rectangle in a treemap is subdivided into smaller rectangles, or sub-branches, based on its proportion to the whole. They make efficient use of space to show percent total for each category.

    The treemap uses size to show the regions with the highest inbound tourism incomes compared to other countries in their region. The use of color differentiates between the regions.
    Tips
    • Color the rectangles by category. Because treemaps are such a dense chart type, color makes it easier for the viewer to distinguish one category from another.
    • Combine treemaps with bar charts. The bar chart lets the viewer quickly compare items through the bar’s length, while also showing the breakdown of categories within each bar.

    Box-and-Whisker Plot

    Box-and-whisker plots, or boxplots, are a common way to show distributions of data. The name refers to the two parts of the diagram: the box, which contains the median of the data along with the 1st and 3rd quartiles (25% greater and less than the median), and the whiskers, which typically represent data within 1.5 times the interquartile range (the difference between the 1st and 3rd quartiles). The whiskers can also be used to show the maximum and minimum points within the data.

    This box-and-whisker plot shows the distribution of closing prices for homes in five large cities over the course of a two-week time frame. The bar below provides added context with the total number of homes sold for each city
    Tips
    • Hide the points within the box. This helps the viewer focus on the outliers.
    • Compare box plots across categorical dimensions. Box plots are great for quickly comparing distributions between datasets.

    Candlestick Chart

    Though candlestick charts may remind you of box-and-whisker plots, they mean different things. Candlestick charts are commonly used for financial analysis to show metrics about a financial instrument over a period of time. This chart type shows the open, close, high, and low values of an instrument over time, in an easy to understand format.




    This example by Laura Scavino uses a candlestick chart to show the percentage difference between Apple’s open and close share prices over time.

    Tips
    • Present multiple separate candlestick charts. Trying to layer too many data points on a single chart can be confusing and difficult to navigate. Creating clear distinctions helps the viewer to analyze the charts separately.
    • Use highlight actions to correlate data. Time-series data can be difficult to keep track of. Highlight actions allow a user to focus on a single date, while still seeing the historical information in the rest of the chart.

    About the authors: 

    Tracy Rodgers

    Product Marketing Manager