博伊西州立大学在咨询课上使用 Tableau 进行快速数据分析和演示



咨询课学生得到的任务是分析一家数据驱动型公司的运营数据,并通过 Tableau 让自己具备取得成功所需要的手段。

在将项目交给客户的最终客户检查点会议上,有大约 18 人出席,其中包括 3 位副总裁。这对他们来说非常重要。他们希望获得学生创建的运营状况 Tableau 仪表板,并在稍作调整后发给经理们。

博伊西州立大学信息技术管理计划为学生提供在毕业后,可应用到实际工作角色中的相关经验。ITM490 是由 Rob Anson 教授讲授的总结性咨询课程。这类创新课程是让学生为其未来职场生涯作好准备的核心因素。

参加该课程的学生分小组工作,他们使用 Scrum 项目管理方法,为大博伊西地区的四家公司提供咨询服务。一个咨询小组开始与一家全国性的分销公司一起工作,这家公司有一个极大的运营和供应链数据存储库。

Anson 通过 Tableau 教学版计划为其学生申请了许可证。不久之后,学生很快就开始使用 Tableau 来理解这些数据,并用 Tableau 创建了一组 KPI 和业绩仪表板,用以跟踪地区分销中心的业绩。学生开始与运营人员和 IT 人员面谈,了解自己将要处理的数据,以及客户希望看到什么类型的指标。

在他们开始探索客户提供的数据时,咨询团队遇到了来自数据本身的难题。

“整个数据集有几百万行数据 – 比如,包装成本、差错、订单数、销售额、货运成本等等,诸如此类。聚合数据和原始交易数据最初都是匆忙拼凑的。很不凑巧的是,在学生正努力处理数据的同时,IT 部门也在设计和重建数据仓库和数据集市。所以数据结构一直在变,”Anson 说。

这个团队艰难地处理不断变化的数据结构,但针对管理运营的关键方面,他们仍然克服困难,制定出了可视化指标。

在学期过半的时候情况出现了转折,因为某些部分的数据和指标开始稳定下来。团队能够用 Tableau 向其他项目的同学展示初步成果。“他们展示的几个度量绝对精彩 – 全班都惊叹不已。我们看到并感受到了产品如何从每个仓库运出,运输量如何随着销量水涨船高。”Anson 说。“其他未使用 Tableau 的小组开始认识到使用 Tableau 可带来的影响。”这个团队发现 Tableau 直观的拖放式界面很容易学习。其中有个学生指出,“尽管我以前没用过 Tableau,但是我仍可以在 Tableau 中高效工作。我能够很快创建 Tableau 视图。”

随着学生不断处理客户的数据,他们还感受到了 Tableau 的速度。“他们会说,你要怎么样呈现数据?他们会从不同的角度看待数据,考虑呈现数据的最佳方式,并且能够快速重做比例、图例和标签。他们的大部分分析都是围绕仓库,所以他们要么调查全部 15 个仓库来发现反常情况,要么只调查一个特定仓库及其趋势。可视化操作起来异常轻松。”Anson 说。

“在将项目交给客户的最终客户检查点会议上,有大约 18 人出席,其中包括 3 位副总裁。这对他们来说非常重要。他们希望获得学生创建的运营状况 Tableau 仪表板,并在稍作调整后发给经理们。他们还聘用了另一名数据分析师,这名分析师将开始为其他部门,比如市场营销部,编辑这个仪表板。”

检查点会议之后,客户将公司的后续计划告诉了 Anson。“我们正在重新调整仪表板,使它能够直接连接到内部数据源。仪表板将在 Tableau Server 上发布,并在以后由企业使用。我们计划继续添加更多下钻视图,还有可能给项目增加更多指标。”

除了受到客户的热情接待外,学生还发现在学期结束时,还有更多好事在等着他们:其中一个小组成员已经得到了这家客户提供的全职工作。

“有个小组已经得到了这家客户的全职工作。”Anson。“我想在看过这些学生用 Tableau 制作的作品后,客户会希望全部聘用这些学生的!”



您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Boise State University Uses Tableau in Consulting Class for Rapid-Fire Data Analysis and Presentation


Boise State University’s Information Technology Management program offers relevant experiences that students can apply to real-world roles following graduation. Innovative courses such as ITM490, a capstone consulting course taught by Professor Rob Anson, are a core factor in preparing students for their future careers.

Working in small teams, students taking the course provide consulting services to four organizations in the greater Boise area, using Scrum project management methodology.
One consulting group began working with a nationwide distribution organization, which had a vast repository of operation and supply chain data.

Anson requested licenses for his students through the Tableau for Teaching program. Soon after, students soon began working with Tableau as a way to make sense of that data and create a set of KPIs and performance dashboards tracking the performance of regional distribution centers. The students began by interviewing people in operations and IT to get an idea of the data they’d be working with, and what types of metrics their clients wanted to see.

As they started to explore the data the client provided, the consulting team ran into challenges with the data itself.

“The overall dataset had millions of rows of data – things like packing costs, errors, numbers of orders, sales, cost of freight, things like that. Aggregates and raw transaction data were initially all thrown together. Unfortunately, at the same time my students were trying to work with the data, the IT department was designing and recreating the data warehouse and data marts. So the data structure kept changing,” says Anson.

For the final client checkpoint meeting to turn the project over to the client, there were about 18 people, including three VPs. It was huge for them. They wanted to take the student-created Tableau dashboard for operations and release it to managers after a few tweaks.

The team struggled to work with the changing data structures, but continued to push through the development of visual metrics to manage key aspects of the operations.

The turning point came about halfway through the semester, as some parts of the data and metrics started to stabilize. The team was able to present initial results with Tableau to their classmates on the other projects. “There were a couple of measures they showed that were absolutely brilliant – the entire class just went ‘whoa.’ We could see and feel how products were shipping out of each warehouse, and how sales were driving them,” says Anson. “The other groups not using Tableau started seeing the implications of what using Tableau could lead to.”

The team found Tableau’s intuitive, drag-and-drop interface easy to learn. One of the students noted that he was “able to be productive in Tableau even though I hadn’t worked in it before. I was able to create a Tableau view quickly.”

As the students continued working with the client’s data, they also realized the speed of Tableau. “They’d say, how do you want this data to look? They looked at the data from all the different angles and the best way to represent it, and were able to quickly redo the scales and legends and labels. Most of their analysis was around warehouses, so they’re looking at either all 15 warehouses for anomalies, or one particular warehouse and trends within it. It was so easy to manipulate the visualizations,” says Anson.

“For the final client checkpoint meeting to turn the project over to the client, there were about 18 people, including three VPs. It was huge for them. They wanted to take the student-created Tableau dashboard for operations and release it to managers after a few tweaks. They had also just hired another data analyst who would start editing it for other departments like marketing.”

Following the checkpoint, the client shared with Anson the next steps for the organization. “We are in the process of realigning the dashboard to connect directly to our internal data source. The dashboard will be published on Tableau Server and used by the business going forward. We plan to continue adding additional drilldown views and potentially additional metrics to the project.”

In addition to the warm client reception, the students found additional positive reception awaiting them at the end of the semester: one of the group members was offered a full-time job working with the client.

“One of the group was offered a full-time job working with the client,” says Anson. “I think they would have hired any of the students after the work that they did with Tableau!”

You might also be interested in...