世界粮食计划署使用 Tableau Blueprint 在 24 个月内实现 12 倍扩展


联合国世界粮食计划署 (WFP) 是一个举足轻重的人道主义组织,该组织通过与社区合作来改善营养状况、增强抵御能力,并在紧急情况下帮助提供粮食援助。去年,WFP 向 83 个国家/地区的 9140 万人提供了援助。

WFP 对 Tableau 的使用始于 Tableau 基金会通过双方的合作伙伴关系为其提供的资源。这款工具在早期被用于支持脆弱性分析与制图 (VAM) 部门的工作。这个部门由位于全球各地的 250 位分析师组成,他们收集、管理和分析各种来源的数据,与各国政府、联合国合作伙伴和非政府组织密切合作。借助 Tableau,分析师可以找出缺乏粮食安全的人群,从而采取措施减少饥饿。随着越来越多的人对这种合作关系和数据分析产生兴趣,WFP 内部的 Tableau 社区不断发展壮大,用户人数超过了 3000 名。

WFP 的数据团队意识到,要支持和促进未来的发展,他们需要为各团队制定有利于他们获得成功的正式管控策略。世界粮食计划署的首席数据和分析官 Prianka Nandy 说,“鉴于自然增长情况良好,我们想引入一些管控。但对于这样的结构需要哪些不同的组成部分,我们并没有一个清晰的纲领。”

为了拓宽、加深和扩展数据使用,世界粮食计划署借助 Tableau Blueprint 提供的指导来完成了功能构建流程,这些功能帮助他们在整个组织营造出了蓬勃发展的数据文化

通过数据策略和内容治理提高敏捷性

WFP 的分析团队从他们所称的“服务器再引导”开始,专注于其 Tableau Server 环境中的内容管理。由于增长迅速(在 24 个月内规模增至最初的 12 倍),Tableau Server 上发布了大量仪表板,但这些仪表板缺乏组织,可发现性因此受到影响。这还导致了不必要的工作,因为人们会重新创建已经用于特定目的的仪表板和数据源。

Prianka 说,“我们发现有些人在发布同一数据源的多个版本,因此我们想进行整合并通过建立秩序来消除混乱状况。”

该团队着手创建一个沙盒环境,让管理员能够监视 Server 内容,并且使最终用户更清楚地了解哪些产品可以直接使用。这意味着跟踪高关注度内容,然后通过认证流程让这些内容得到广泛使用,或者(如果内容陈旧)将其标记为可以删除的内容。

Tableau Blueprint 帮助该团队整理了员工提出的一些关于数据访问的问题,例如“我需要的数据在哪里?”或“为什么我无法访问这个数据源?”Blueprint 的治理框架帮助他们发现了数据战略中的缺陷,尤其是在数据质量和内容管理方面。现在,他们知道自己需要采取哪些步骤才能确保数据是最新版本、受到信任,并且整个组织都以负责任的方式使用这些数据。这也是一个好时机,因为世界粮食计划署将于今年 11 月启动一项新的数据战略,这项战略将使该组织增加可用于分析的数据量。

Prianka 说,“目前,我们正在使数据成为组织内作用更大的资产,在内部将我们的数据提升到新的水平。”“以前,我们以一种线性思维来考虑每个途径,但是 Blueprint 改变了我们的观念 — 它们应该并行不悖。”

在进行这些战略讨论的过程中,他们厘清了各种角色和职责(尤其是在 Server 管理和治理领域)。他们还发现,为了支持自己的计划并倡导最佳做法,他们今后将需要更多人手。

Prianka 解释道,“在 Blueprint 的帮助下,我们确定了新的人员需求,我们需要安排人员来领导治理工作并帮助我们更改 Server 配置以增强其可靠性,包括对用户和管理员进行数据源发布及认证方面的培训。由于缺乏该领域的知识,我们收到了大量本可以避免的支持工单,这对我们的日常工作造成了很大的影响。”

目前,我们正在使数据成为组织内作用更大的资产,在内部将我们的数据提升到新的水平。以前,我们以一种线性思维来考虑每个途径,但是 Blueprint 改变了我们的观念 — 它们应该并行不悖。

提升社区参与热情

世界粮食计划署当时已经开始在其 VAM 部门的实际工作中使用 Tableau,因此他们已经为社区参与打下了坚实的基础。例如,该团队与 Tableau 专业大师合作,共同打造了“数据周”活动,鼓励人们学习和共享数据分析最佳做法。但在以前,这基本上是一个自然形成的社区,由一对一指导关系发展而来。

借助 Blueprint,该团队看到,他们有机会发掘这个自然社区的潜力,将其提升为一个结构更加完善的计划。首先,他们专注于内部用户 — 了解哪些人在使用产品,以及哪些人需要更多支持。这意味着建立一个 Tableau 推动者群组,这些推动者将代表整个组织中更广泛的用户群体进行宣传。Blueprint 充当了这些对话的起点,让该团队能够为每个必要的社区计划确定推动因素。

数据架构主管 Maria Christina 说,“Blueprint 有一个社区章节,该章节通过具体的示例来说明您可以发起哪些活动,以及如何吸引用户群。”

通过内部培训提高分析熟练度

世界粮食计划署分析团队决定利用其坚实的社区基础来启动员工培训计划。因为内容管理是 WFP 的关注点,因此他们的培训就从这个主题开始。在仅仅三堂培训课之后,该团队就看到参与的用户不断增加,他们现在开始计划新的课程,以帮助项目主管和发布者更好地了解自己在确保 Server 健康运行方面发挥的作用。举例来说,他们计划的一个主题是如何将仪表板发布到 Tableau Server,包括关于权限、沙盒使用方法,以及如何使视图获得认证和推广的详细信息。

社区参与活动持续激发与培训主题相关的新想法。Maria 解释道,“培训提高了参与度,而参与又为培训提供了思路。因此,从某种意义上说,这是一个循环往复的过程。这些事情相互促进,有助于推动我们的战略向前发展。”

在 Blueprint 的帮助下,我们确定了新的人员需求,我们需要安排人员来领导治理工作并帮助我们更改 Server 配置以增强其可靠性,包括对用户和管理员进行数据源发布及认证方面的培训。

规划未来

在规划未来的工作时,该团队希望使用 Blueprint 作为战略和人员决策指南,以便在他们开始就其他技术投资展开讨论时,让所有人保持一致。

Maria 说,“我有一种感觉,我们将延续这种循环式增长。我们将看到 Blueprint 地铁地图中每个分支各自的发展情况。同时,我们将进行调整,确保我们始终了解总体形势。

他们的下一步是评估 WFP 内的所有数据源,以便消除数据孤岛,着力提升数据质量。他们还需要在数据源级别进行更多治理工作,同时平衡对自助式商业智能的需求。

使用 Tableau Blueprint 营造数据文化

Tableau Blueprint 是循序渐进的指南,可帮助您构建在组织中建立成功的数据文化所需的功能。

探索 Blueprint

World Food Programme scales by 12x in 24 months with Tableau Blueprint


The United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) is a leading humanitarian organization that works with communities to improve nutrition, build resilience, and help deliver food assistance in emergencies. In the last year, WFP provided assistance to 91.4 million people in 83 countries.

WFP started using Tableau thanks to a partnership contribution from the Tableau Foundation, with early use supporting the Vulnerability Analysis and Mapping (VAM) unit— a network of 250 analysts around the world who collect, manage, and analyze data from a variety of sources, working closely with national governments, United Nations partners, and NGOs. With Tableau, analysts can identify food insecure populations to combat hunger. As more people got excited about the partnership and analyzing data, the Tableau community blossomed to over 3,000 users within WFP.

The data team at WFP realized that they needed to set teams up for success with a formal governance strategy to support and encourage future growth. “We had a lot of organic growth and we wanted to bring in some governance. But we didn’t have a very clear outline of the different components of what this structure could look like,” shared Rachel Costa, World Food Programme’s Tableau Product Manager and Data Visual Lead.

To broaden, deepen, and scale their use of data, World Food Programme leveraged Tableau Blueprint to guide them through the process of building out capabilities that supported a flourishing, organization-wide Data Culture.

Increasing agility with data strategy and content governance

WFP’s analytics team started with what they call a “server reboot,” focusing on content management within their Tableau Server environment. As a result of rapid growth—about 12 times the size within 24 months—there was an abundance of published dashboards on their Tableau Server, with very little organization, impacting discoverability. This also led to unnecessary work, since people were recreating dashboards and data sources that already served a specific purpose.

“We found that some people were publishing multiple versions of the same data source, so we wanted to consolidate and bring some order to the chaos,” shared Rachel.

The team set out to create a sandbox environment so administrators could monitor server content and end users could have more clarity about what are ready-to-use products. This meant tracking high-profile content that could then be certified for widespread use or flagged for potential deletion if the content was stale.

Tableau Blueprint helped the team bring structure to some of the questions they were getting from employees around data access—for example, “where is the data I need?” or “why can’t I access this data source?” Blueprint’s governance framework helped them identify gaps in their data strategy, particularly around data quality and content management. They now understand the steps they needed to take to ensure data is fresh and trusted, as well as used responsibly across the organization. It also came in a good moment, since WFP is launching a new data strategy this November that will allow the organization to increase the amount of data available for analysis.

“In this moment, we’re making data a more powerful asset within the organization, bringing our data to a new level internally,” shared Rachel. “Previously we thought of each track linearly, but Blueprint changed our perspective—that they need to run in parallel.”

As part of these strategic discussions, they found clarity around roles and responsibilities, particularly around server management and governance. They also found that they needed additional headcount to support their plan and to help advocate for best practices moving forward.

“Blueprint helped us to identify the need for a new headcount to head up governance and help with the robust server configuration change we needed, including training our users and administrators on how to publish and certify data sources. The lack of knowledge on this has been generating a huge number of avoidable tickets and really impacting our daily work,” explained Rachel.

In this moment, we’re making data a more powerful asset within the organization, bringing our data to a new level internally. Previously we thought of each track linearly, but Blueprint changed our perspective—that they need to run in parallel.

Fanning the flame of community engagement

Since WFP started using Tableau in the field with their VAM unit, they already had a solid foundation of community engagement. For example, the team had partnered with Tableau Zen Masters to build out a Data Week to encourage learning and sharing data analytics best practices. But previously, this community was largely organic, growing from one-on-one mentor relationships.

With Blueprint, the team saw an opportunity to channel the power of this organic community into a more structured program. To start, they focused on the internal users—understanding who is using the product and who could use more support. This meant establishing a Tableau Champions Group that advocates on behalf of the wider group of users across the organization. Blueprint acted as a starting point for these conversations so the team could establish drivers for each of the necessary community initiatives.

“Blueprint has a community chapter that gives specific examples of activities you can start, as well as how to engage your user base,” said Maria Christina, Head of Data Architecture.

Increasing analytics proficiency with internal training

The World Food Programme analytics team decided to use their solid community foundation to kickstart a training program for employees. Because of their focus on content management, WFP spearheaded trainings on this topic. After just three training sessions, the team already saw increased involvement from users and they’re now planning new sessions to help project leaders and publishers to better understand the role they play on server health. An example of topic planned for these sessions is how to publish a dashboard to Tableau Server—including details around permissions, how to use sandboxes, and how to get a view certified for wider use.

Community engagement activities continue to spark new ideas around training topics. Maria explained how “training is generating engagement and the engagement is generating ideas for the training. So the process has been very circular in a sense. These things grow on each other and help to move our strategy forward.”

Blueprint helped us identify the need for a new headcount to head up governance and help with the robust server configuration change we needed, including training our users and administrators on how to publish and certify data sources.

Planning for the future

As the team plans for the future, they want to use Blueprint as a guide for strategy and headcount decisions and to keep everyone on the same page as they kick-start conversations about additional technology investments.

“I have a feeling that we’re going to keep on iterating in the cycle of growth. We are going to see each branch in the Blueprint subway map develop on its own. At the same time, we are making sure that we adjust to ensure that we don’t lose sight of the bigger picture,” shared Maria.

The next step in their journey is to assess all of the disparate data sources within WFP to break down silos and prioritize data quality. There is also more work to be done around governance at the data source level, while balancing the need for self-service business intelligence.