MillerCoors 借助 Tableau Online 发现销售机会,向零售商销售更多产品


在 90 天内为整个企业部署解决方案
拉近零售商关系,销售更多产品
在 15 分钟内为零售商提供营销见解

MillerCoors 公司创立了 Miller、Coors 和 Blue Moon 等畅销啤酒品牌。该公司的零售人员经常四处奔走,与酒吧和餐馆洽谈业务。在短短 90 天内,MillerCoors 完成了从 Tableau 试点阶段到面向整个企业中的 300 名销售人员进行部署的过程。借助 Tableau Online,MillerCoors 销售人员可以通过手机或平板电脑调出销售仪表板,与零售商共享信息、巩固关系,与竞争对手拉开差距。在公司内部,该团队建立了销售报告的单一事实来源,增强了可见性,从而发现商机并销售更多产品。

[Tableau Online] 简直就是为我们的首次大型企业部署量身打造:既能满足我们销售人员机动灵活的工作需要,又有助于在较短时间内完成销售。

在 15 分钟内拉取自定义销售报告

MillerCoors 的销售团队会定期汇集数据,以确定对零售商而言利润最高的产品。在采用 Tableau 之前,MillerCoors 的销售团队必须从无数 Excel 报表中手动提取数据,而为了理解数据,他们经常需要在周末加班。

使用 Tableau Online 后,其客户解决方案总监 Jim Webb 说:“他们可以在会议开始前 15 分钟,在停车场坐在车里拉取完整的销售报告,找到需要与零售商解决的问题,整合重要商机,帮助零售商提升其啤酒品类的规模和价值。”

“我们的团队在客户的吧台前通过 iPad 完成销售,每个人都非常忙碌。如果没有可以在移动设备上拉取数据的云端解决方案,推介就非常困难。”Jim 解释道。

Tableau Online 满足了 MillerCoors 销售人员机动工作的特性,使其能够灵活地在日常对话中展示数据。

“对我们而言,要为客户带来这些见解,云端解决方案确实是最简便快捷的方法。”Jim 说,“特别是 Tableau Online,它是实现这一目标的绝佳方式,无论从我们销售人员机动灵活的工作性质还是从他们面对的销售周期来看,都是如此。”

在商品繁多的酒品市场中,我们需要数据来帮助吧台经理取得成功。我们看到了向零售商提供更有用信息的好机会。

在 90 天内从试点到企业全面部署

在短短 90 天内,MillerCoors 完成了从 Tableau 试点阶段到面向整个企业的零售人员进行部署的过程。

“云端是快速实施解决方案的绝佳方式,我们不用担心公司内产生高额的基础设施开支或累积费用。”Jim 表示,“我们非常迅速地抓住了机遇,然后在三个月内从小型试点群组扩展到整个销售团队。”

现在,该公司约有 300 名销售人员使用 Tableau Online 中的仪表板。这一云端解决方案让公司能够从小范围开始,根据需要扩大规模。

“在我们的首次大型企业部署中,我们非常顺利地实现了 Tableau 扩展。Tableau Online 让我们在 90 天内完成了从测试用例到试点群组,再到全面部署的转变,我想不出哪种其他解决方案能够实现这一点。”

利用单一事实来源发现新的商机

过去依靠 Excel 报表时,销售人员很难区分哪个报表是正确的。“每个销售人员都得使用五六份报表,而他们很大程度上都是按自己的喜好选择的。 他们对哪份报表最熟悉最了解,就会去关注哪份。”

因此,销售人员有时无法有效地发现更大的商机,从而失之交臂。现在,借助 Tableau,销售团队找到了销售仪表板的单一事实来源,使他们能够全方位了解客户,并在商机出现时及时采取行动。

“Tableau 让我们能够确保销售人员看到应该关注的全部内容,从而找到最大、最好的商机。这不仅能帮助我们发展自身业务,还能帮助零售商实现业务增长。”

该团队在 Tableau Online 上发布销售目标仪表板,从而提升可见性,激发团队成员间的协作和良性竞争:

“我们现在会在 Tableau Online 上显示每位员工的销售目标,因此团队中出现了很好的良性竞争,确保每个人都在共同努力实现目标。”

云端是快速实施解决方案的绝佳方式,我们不用担心公司内产生高额的基础设施累积费用。 这种解决方案能让我们非常迅速地抓住机遇。于是,在不到三个月的时间里,我们就将部署范围从小型试点群组扩展到整个销售团队。

巩固客户关系并销售更多产品

除了发现销售机会外,MillerCoors 现场销售团队还使用 Tableau Online 与零售商共享数据。

“在商品繁多的酒品市场中,我们需要数据来帮助吧台经理取得成功。”Jim 解释道,“我们公司其他部门使用 Tableau 大约两年了。我们发现了一个好机会,可以大幅度减轻员工的日常工作负担,还能向零售商提供更有用的信息。”

借助 Tableau 仪表板,销售人员可以向零售商展示其业务的关键驱动因素,帮助他们了解消费者的统计信息,并确定他们与同行的对比情况。

“对于啤酒,每个人都有自己的感受,而且看重的方面也不尽相同,但我们却可以使用 Tableau Online 提供的数据进行分析,告诉他们市场上的真实情况。”

这些见解可以帮助零售商销售更多产品,巩固销售关系并增加利润。这种数据访问能力有助于将 MillerCoors 的销售代表与我们的竞争对手区分开来:“从来没有人为这些独立的酒吧和餐厅带来确凿的市场见解。 我们可以告诉他们,‘嘿,你的销售额与一年前相比升高了,或者降低了。’”

借助 Tableau 实现销售对话转型

Jim 说,销售代表们经常来电称赞“Tableau Online 让他们的生活更加轻快”。随着销售部门在公司内部发展壮大,他们要求引进 Tableau。

“我经常使用数据向零售商阐述情况,尽力帮他们发展业务。使用 Tableau Online 后,我公司的 250 名销售人员都能够参与进来阐述这些情况,这对我每天的工作和我们向客户推销的方式而言都是意义非凡的。”

“我们的工作是销售啤酒。啤酒是有趣的产品,我们是有趣的公司。但我们的确需要使用大量数据, 而数据并不总那么有趣。通过部署 Tableau Online,并把它提供给每个人使用,可在分析这种有趣的产品时也趣味十足。”

您可能还有兴趣了解...

MillerCoors discovers sales opportunities, selling more product to retailers with Tableau Online


Deployed enterprise-scale solution in 90 days
Sell more product with better retailer relationships
Pull market insights for retailers within 15 minutes

MillerCoors produces popular beer brands including Miller, Coors, and Blue Moon. Its retail sales force is always on the go, communicating with bars and restaurants. In just 90 days, MillerCoors went from pilot phase to enterprise deployment of Tableau across 300 salespeople. With Tableau Online, a MillerCoors sales person can pull up a sales dashboard to share with retailers over a mobile phone or tablet, strengthening relationships and differentiating them from competitors. Internally, the team established one source of truth for sales reporting, increasing visibility to spot opportunities and sell more product.

[Tableau Online] was a natural fit for our first really big enterprise deployment...based on the mobile nature of our sales force and based on the selling cycle that they deal with.

Pulling a custom sales report within 15 minutes

MillerCoors’ sales team regularly compiles data to identify the most profitable products for retailers. Before Tableau, MillerCoors’ sales team had to manually extract data from countless Excel reports—often working through the weekend to understand the data.

With Tableau Online, Jim Webb, Director of Customer Solutions explains: “In the car, in the parking lot, 15 minutes before their meeting, they can pull down the full sales report and see what they need to address with the retailer and pull together some key opportunities to help our retailer grow the size and value of their beer category.”

“When our team sells, they’re doing it with an iPad over the bar and everybody's busy. And without a cloud-based solution that they can pull down on a mobile device, it's a really difficult conversation to have,” explains Jim.

Tableau Online fits in with the mobile nature of MillerCoors’ sales force, giving them the flexibility to bring data into daily conversations.

“A cloud-based solution for us was really the fastest and easiest way to bring some of this insight to our customers,” says Jim. “Tableau Online in particular was a really great way to deliver that based on the mobile nature of our sales force and based on the selling cycle that they deal with.”

In a world of hundreds of taps, we need data to help our bar managers succeed. We saw a great opportunity to present better information to our retailers.

From pilot to enterprise deployment in 90 days

In just 90 days, MillerCoors moved from pilot stages to a full enterprise deployment with their retail sales force.

“Cloud was a great way to quickly implement a solution, not have to worry about a big infrastructure spend or a big infrastructure ramp-up within our company,” shares Jim. “We were able to seize an opportunity very quickly and then scale it from a small pilot community into our entire sales team in less than three months.”

Today, around 300 sales people access dashboards with Tableau Online. This cloud solution allowed the company to start small and scale as needed.

“This was a natural fit for a Tableau evolution for us in our first really big enterprise deployment. I don't envision another solution where we could have gone from a test case to a pilot group to a full deployment in 90 days like we did with Tableau Online.”

Discovering new opportunities with one source of truth

With a culture of Excel reporting, salespeople had a hard time distinguishing which report was correct. “We had five or six different reports that each sales person was having to use and they all kind of picked their favorite. Whichever one they knew and understood the best, that's the one that they were going to focus on.”

As a result, salespeople sometimes missed bigger opportunities, simply because they didn’t have an efficient way of discovering them. With Tableau, the sales team now has one source of truth for sales dashboards—allowing them to see the full spectrum of customers and take action when opportunity arises.

“What we've been able to do with Tableau is make sure that sales sees the full universe of what they should be focusing on to find the biggest and best opportunity. In turn, this will help grow our business and help grow the retailer's business.”

The team publishes sales target dashboards on Tableau Online, creating better visibility and igniting collaboration and healthy competition between team members:

“We have everyone's sales targets on Tableau Online now, so we've got some great healthy competition amongst our team to make sure that everyone's working together to meet their goal.”

Cloud was a great way to quickly implement a solution and not have to worry about a big infrastructure ramp-up within our company. We were able to seize an opportunity very, very quickly and then scale it from a small pilot community into our entire sales team in less than three months.

Strengthening relationships and selling more product

In addition to discovering sales opportunities, the MillerCoors field sales team uses Tableau Online to share data with retailers.

“In a world of hundreds of taps, we need data to help our bar managers succeed,” explains Jim. “We used Tableau in other departments for around two years. We saw a great opportunity to really take a large workload out of their day and present better information to our retailers.”

With Tableau dashboards, sales people can show retailers the key drivers for their business, help them understand consumer demographics, and determine how they compare to similar establishments.

“Everyone has their own gut feel about beer and what's important to them, but we can really use the data available to us from Tableau Online to go in and tell them what’s actually happening in the market."

These insights help retailers sell more product, strengthening sales relationships and increase profits. This access to data helps differentiate MillerCoors sales representatives from competitors: “No one has ever brought these independent bars and restaurants a really conclusive market view. We're able to go in and tell them, ‘hey, you're selling more or less than you did a year ago.’”

Transforming sales conversations with Tableau

Jim shares how he often gets phone calls from sales representatives about “how it’s making their life faster and easier.” And as salespeople advance within the company, they’re requesting to bring Tableau with them.

“I've always been working with data to tell stories to retailers and try to help grow their business. And when I can see an entire sales force of 250 people who are able to engage and tell those stories, thanks to Tableau Online, that makes a big difference in my day and how we go to market with our customers.”

“We sell beer for a living. It's a fun product, it's a fun company. But we do use lots of data. And data's not always fun. So playing with Tableau, getting it online, getting it out into everybody's hands, it's a great way to take a fun product and make the analysis out of it fun as well.”

You might also be interested in...