Front Health 借助 Tableau 提高了临床医护质量,改善了患者健康状况并降低了总医疗费用


为超过 500,000 名患者提供全民健康计划方面的支持
每年节约的内部运营成本超过 1,000,000 美元
将客户每名会员每个月的支出趋势降低 3%

Front Health 的前身是美国中西部卫生合作会(简称 MHC,是由位于俄亥俄州的医疗系统组成的一个联合会),致力于培养数据驱动型临床转型能力,从而帮助医疗服务提供机构和医疗费用支付机构成功转向基于价值的医疗模式。Front Health 的一项目标是,创建和共享有助于降低总医疗费用和改善患者健康状况的分析。到目前为止,通过 Tableau 按需进行的自动化分析通过帮助医疗系统管理患者医护质量和医疗费用,已经惠益 45 家医院、1,900 个医疗站、17,000 所多专业医疗服务提供机构以及 500,000 多名患者。

Front Health 一开始只是提供有价值的临时分析,范围从财务和临床数据到医疗系统。为了扩大工作成果的应用范围,为更多用户提供更多分析洞见,Front Health 采用了 Tableau 作为其嵌入式分析平台。该组织通过结合运用临床专业知识与数据驱动型洞见,为医疗系统创造最大价值。Front Health 采用以用户为导向的设计思路来开发一套全面的资源,形成一个一站式资源中心,其中汇集了基于价值的医疗模式方面的各种洞见,对很多不同的利益相关方都很有用。

其用户涵盖医疗服务提供机构中担任各种职务的人员:从制定收入最大化策略的临床和财务高管,到通过与患者互动来执行这些策略的医生和医护管理人员,都包括在内。Tableau 通过将人工工作自动化以及让资源能够为更多人使用,帮助 Front Health 每年节约了超过 1,000,000 美元的运营成本。借助 Tableau,Front Health 使医疗服务提供机构更深入地参与多项全民健康计划。由于获得了以数据驱动的洞见,医疗服务提供机构现在可以做出能提高合同履行率,降低每位会员每月的支出趋势,以及提高患者医护质量及各项关键合同指标的决策。

Front Health 还通过 Tableau Public 展示各种仪表板,将其以用户为中心的设计流程推广到咨询工作及更多面向公众的工作。

摘自 Front Health 的“The Real Growth of US Healthcare Spending, 2000 – 2017”(2000 – 2017 年美国医疗支出的实际增长)仪表板。

以用户为导向的设计提高了分析技术的采用率

Front Health 公司的咨询人员以前是通过人工方式来访问临床和理赔信息,他们在 Excel 中进行数据准备和分析,通过 PowerPoint 向医疗系统提供结果。Front Health 分析部门的创意总监 Joshua Smith 解释道:“对于用户或者 Front Health 来说,这都不是顺畅的提供方式。”

Front Health 在开发多款分析产品时都采用了以用户为导向的方法,他们的部署方式受两个理念影响:一是要了解用户及用户的决策过程,二是共同构思和开发。其分析团队希望最终产品成为用户现有工作流程中的一个环节,并能提供集数据和洞见于一体的直观界面,从而使用户能够更加轻松地依据洞见采取行动。Josh 和他的团队采取了以下措施来了解用户的目标、障碍和行动空间(即他们可以通过哪些方式来达成目标),并请用户参与到仪表板的设计过程中来。这些措施包括:

  • 开展社会调研,通过分析 LinkedIn 中的个人资料、招聘启事和简历,来了解与医疗系统的职位相符的品质和要求。
  • 分析既往报告中包含的常见统计数据和可视化。
  • 进行访谈,因为这样可以了解大量的用户角色。
  • 制作决策图,以了解医疗服务提供机构在做决策时是如何使用信息的。
  • 在最终确定仪表板设计之前,邀请用户参与线框图白板演示会议,收集他们的反馈意见。

正如 Josh 所揭示的那样,“通过这种你来我往的精彩互动,我们得以更清楚地了解用户、他们的业务和痛点。同时,他们在我们这里也有所收获,了解到每项可视化都做出了哪些权衡取舍。”在一场设计会议中,有一位参会的利益相关方甚至用记号笔自行绘制了线框图,这种形式的互动“对设计人员来说也是大开眼界”。为此,他们利用 Tableau 从不同数据源提取数据和满足医疗系统不同需求(不论用户是临床医生还是经验丰富的分析人员)的灵活性,开发出了一款采用直观框架的精简数据分析产品。

采用率高得惊人。我们有一位用户在访问仪表板时真的高兴得手舞足蹈…在我们的帮助下,她的话语、想法和图纸在 Tableau 中都得到了生动呈现,切实满足了她的需求。

通过自动化的仪表板来评估医护和健康系统绩效,每年节省大约 100 万美元

借助由 Tableau 驱动的报告,Front Health 现在可以为客户提供做出重要决策所需的关键临床数据和理赔数据。在不同 Tableau 仪表板中分析和反映的三个主要方面为总医疗费用、质量和风险调整以及医护管理。对这些仪表板的说明以及它们满足的用例包括:

  • 绩效管理 — 高层通过查看每位会员每月的支出以及影响支出趋势的因素,快速发现高支出领域的改进机会并制定干预对策。
  • 质量和风险调整 — 财务和临床高层可以查看他们的绩效与不同合同的质量指标之间的对比情况,以便最大限度提高治疗质量和开展有针对性的患者外联。
  • 医护管理 — 高层通过综合运用预测性分析和统计建模,再加上医护管理绩效数据,可以更明智地决定是否应将医护计划扩大到其他人群。医护管理人员可以更好地评估他们的运营效率,从而给管理的更多患者带来更积极的影响。

Front Health 很快将进一步壮大其仪表板阵容,加入医生、药房和慢性病记分卡,绩效基准比较以及社会决定因素干预。这将提升 Front Health 为客户提供的价值,为临床和系统绩效改进提供支持,从而使为医疗服务提供机构及其治疗的患者降低成本并提高医护质量的目标变得可以实现。

为了根据最终用户的需求确定真正合适的产品,也就是最终结果,我们唯有借助 Tableau 才能做到,因为只有这个平台提供了我们所寻求的灵活性。

嵌入式 Tableau 分析技术提升了临床医生的绩效

如果报告和仪表板要求用户退出自己的自然工作流程才能使用,为他们提供的是手动且孤立的体验,那么就会妨碍高层和医疗服务提供机构的工作。这使得他们不能专注于重要的战略和战术决策,导致他们需要花费精力和时间来思考数据分析产品的使用方式。

对于 Front Health 管理并通过其全方位咨询服务向客户提供的所有 Tableau 驱动型仪表板,所采用的体系结构都契合该公司收集的决策图。这可确保用户能够直观地按照合乎其需求的工作流程操作。这样的框架在制定时是从战略而非战术的角度、临床而非财务的角度考量的,每个仪表板都有各自不同的位置和用途;这可以保证更新和新的仪表板契合全方位的框架,用户不会面对大量匆忙制作的分析而不知所措。而且,它还为用户提供了精简的工作流程,并且可作为确定访问权限时的参照图。

参照 Front Health 的解决方案体系结构,有助于在最终用户工作流程中为战略和战术决策过程提供合适的仪表板。

Joshua 表示:“每个仪表板都像汉瑟和葛丽特在穿越森林时那样,留下了面包屑作为线索 — 按照所有这些线索顺藤摸瓜,就可以提出终极问题并获得解答,从而更加靠近机会领域。”实际上,Front Health 已经看到了实实在在的成效,Tableau 中的自动化分析技术已经为超过 500,000 名患者提供全民健康计划方面的支持。

协力制作仪表板和共同改进用户体验的做法深化了 Front Health 与其客户的互动。从用户提供的积极反馈中可以明显看到这一点。用户在反馈中表示,他们能够发现医疗系统中存在浪费的领域,触发这些浪费的因素,并知道了该如何分析基于证据的度量指标来帮助消除这些浪费,所以感到兴奋不已。

Tableau 对 Front Health 的分析路线图和运营效率产生了积极影响

该组织看到 Tableau 在驱动 Front Health 分析平台来降低总医疗成本和改善患者健康状况方面的价值后,现在正在公司内外将分析技术应用到其他关键领域。它目前也在使用 Tableau Prep,组织效率因此显著提升。以前,复杂的数据管理工作由数据工程师们负责,导致他们超负荷工作。而现在,任何执行分析的人员都可以自行完成大部分数据准备工作,从而使数据工程师们有精力完成更多战略性工作,分析师们也更具创造性。

Front Health 目前还正在运用其成功的设计策略流程和框架改进咨询工作,以便帮助客户充分发挥 Tableau 价值。Front Health 提供了一种极富创造力且以用户为中心的路径,客户可以按照这种路径结合运用自己的 IT 策略和业务策略来实现易于解读且用户友好的分析。

摘自 Front Health 的“The Health Risk of Where You Live, Ohio, 2017”(2017 年俄亥俄州各居住地的健康风险)仪表板。

该公司的一部分工作成果展示在 Tableau Public 上的一系列仪表板中。Front Health 通过其在 Tableau Public 上的作品阵容,赢得了强烈的反响和更高的信誉,其 The Health Risk of Where You Live(各居住地的健康风险)仪表板甚至还被选入“每日 Viz 精选”。这些作品涵盖了各种领域的分析(包括机器学习、预测性分析和数据获取),因为 Front Health 会针对有全球影响的主题提供洞见。此外,由于它采用简洁的设计,也使得用户更容易理解与健康状况的社会决定因素有关的复杂数据。

Front Health improves clinical quality, patient health, and total cost of care with Tableau


Supported population health initiatives for more than 500,000 patients
Achieved internal annual operational savings of over $1,000,000
Decreased client per member per month spending trend by 3 percent

Front Health was born out of Midwest Health Collaborative (MHC), a consortium of Ohio-based health systems, to offer data-driven clinical transformation capabilities that help providers and payers succeed in value-based care. Front Health has a goal of creating and sharing analytics that will help lower total cost of care and improve the health of patients. To date, automated, on-demand analytics through Tableau have helped health systems manage patient quality and cost across 45 hospitals, 1,900 care sites, 17,000 multi-specialty providers, and more than 500,000 patients.

Front Health began by providing valuable ad hoc analyses from financial and clinical data to health systems. In order to scale their work and provide more insights to more users, Front Health adopted Tableau as its embedded analytics platform. The organization paired clinical expertise with data-driven insights to create maximum value for health systems. Appplying user-driven design to the development of a holistic suite of resources, Front Health provided a one-stop shop for value-based care insights, which are useful to many different stakeholders.

Users encompass the entire spectrum of provider roles—from clinical and financial executives creating revenue-maximizing strategies to physicians and care managers executing those strategies through patient interaction. Tableau has assisted in generating more than $1,000,000 in annual operation savings for Front Health by automating manual efforts and expanding resource bandwidth. Using Tableau, Front Health has deepened provider engagement across a number of population health initiatives. With data-driven insights in hand, providers now make decisions that boost contract performance, decrease per member per month spending trends, and improve patient quality and key contract metrics.

Front Health has also extended its user-focused design process to its consultancy and more public-facing work, showcasing dashboards through Tableau Public.

Excerpt from Front Health’s dashboard “The Real Growth of US Healthcare Spending, 2000 – 2017.”

User-driven design increases analytics adoption

Front Health consultants previously accessed clinical and claims information manually, performing data preparation and analysis in Excel and delivering results to health systems in PowerPoint. “This delivery method wasn’t streamlined for users or Front Health,” explained Joshua Smith, Creative Director, Analytics at Front Health.

Front Health employed a user-driven approach as it created several analytics products and two philosophies influenced their deployment: understanding users and their decision-making, and joint ideation and development. The analytics team wanted the end product to be part of the user’s existing workflow and to offer an intuitive interface that combines data and insights, making it easier for them to act on the insights. Josh and his team took these steps to understand users’ goals, obstacles, and the action space—meaning the levers they can pull to achieve their goals—and involved them in the dashboard design process. This included:

  • Conducting social research, looking at LinkedIn profiles, job postings, and resumes to understand qualities and requirements that align with positions at health systems.
  • Looking at common statistics and visualizations included in previous reports.
  • Holding interviews as they created a library of user personas.
  • Developing a decision-making map to see how information was used by providers when making decisions.
  • Inviting users to wireframe whiteboarding sessions and collecting feedback before finalizing dashboard designs.

As Josh explained, “There’s this beautiful back and forth where we learn more about them, their business, and pain points. But they also learn from us, and what the tradeoffs are for each visual.” One design session even involved a stakeholder jumping in with a marker and creating their own wireframes, and having that level of engagement “is an eye-opening moment as a designer.” To that end, Tableau’s flexibility to pull from different data sources and mold to health systems’ different needs—whether the user is a clinician or experienced analyst—resulted in a streamlined data analytics product with an intuitive framework.

Adoption has been awesome. We had one user who literally danced when she accessed the dashboard… We helped her put words, ideas, and drawings to life in Tableau that meet her needs.

Automated dashboards assess care and health system performance, resulting in ~$1M annual savings

With Tableau-driven reporting, Front Health now provides clients with the key clinical and claims data they need to make valuable decisions. The three key areas analyzed and reflected in different Tableau dashboards are total cost of care, quality and risk adjustment, and care management. Explanations for these dashboards, and the use cases they solve for include:

  • Performance improvement — Executives can quickly uncover opportunities and strategize interventions in high-spend areas by looking at per member per month spend and drivers of trends.
  • Quality and risk adjustment — Finance and clinical executives see their performance versus quality metrics across different contracts, so they can maximize treatment quality and conduct targeted patient outreach.
  • Care management — Executives can better decide if they should expand care programs to other populations through the combination of predictive analytics and statistical modeling paired with care management performance data. Care managers can better assess the efficiency of their operations, bringing stronger impact to more managed patients.

Front Health will soon grow its dashboard collection to include physician, pharmacy, and chronic condition scorecards, performance benchmarking, and social determinants intervention. This will enhance the value Front Health delivers clients and support clinical and system performance improvements that make the goals of lower cost and better quality of care attainable for providers and the patients they treat.

To really align the product—the end result—with what the end users needed, Tableau was the only thing that would offer the flexibility we were looking for.

Embedded Tableau analytics enhance performance of clinicians

Reports and dashboards that require the users to exit their natural workflows for a manual and isolated experience is disruptive to executives and providers. It removes them from the moment where they should focus on important strategic and tactical decisions and requires them to spend energy and time thinking about how the data analytics product works.

All Tableau-powered dashboards that Front Health manages and provides clients through its comprehensive consulting services are organized in an architecture that aligns with the decision map it collected. This ensures users intuitively follow a workflow aligned with their needs. That framework is mapped along strategic versus tactical and clinical versus financial axes, and each dashboard has its own distinct spot and purpose; this guarantees updates and new dashboards fit within a holistic framework and users aren’t overwhelmed with hastily developed analytics. Furthermore, it provides users with a streamlined workflow and serves as a map for access rights.

Front Health’s Solution Architecture helps map dashboards to strategic and tactical decision-making within end-user workflows.

“Each dashboard provides those crumbs, like Hansel and Gretel going through the forest—all of them providing steps that get you to those final questions and answers that move you closer to areas of opportunity,” said Joshua. And Front Health has seen the impact that automated analytics in Tableau created in supporting population health initiatives for more than 500,000 patients.

Collaboration in developing dashboards and the improved user experience collectively created deeper engagements with Front Health clients. This is apparent in positive user feedback where they express excitement in seeing areas of waste for their health system, what triggers it, and how they can analyze evidence-based measures to help get rid of it.

Tableau influences Front Health’s analytics roadmap and operational efficiencies

Seeing Tableau’s value in powering the Front Health analytics platform to lower total cost of care and improve patient health, the organization is now applying analytics internally and externally to other key areas. It’s also using Tableau Prep and seeing significant organizational efficiencies. Before, complicated data management was handled by data engineers who juggled too much work. But now, anyone performing analysis can do most data prep work themselves, which frees up data engineers to do more strategic work and allows analysts to be more innovative.

Front Health is also elevating its consultancy work with its successful design strategy process and framework to help clients maximize their Tableau value. Front Health brings a creative, user-focused path that pairs clients’ IT and business strategies for easily interpreted, user-friendly analytics.

Excerpt from Front Health’s dashboard "The Health Risk of Where You Live, Ohio, 2017."

Some of the company’s work is showcased in a collection of dashboards on Tableau Public. Front Health has seen strong reception and enhanced credibility through its Tableau Public portfolio, and even won Visualization of the Day with The Health Risk of Where You Live. It covers a wide spectrum of analytics—machine learning, predictive analytics, and data sourcing—as Front Health shines light on a topic with global impact. Plus, using a simple design made complex data about social determinants of health easier to understand.