Chipotle 打造了一个统一视图来呈现 2400 多家餐厅的运营情况,每个月节省了 10000 小时


制作出一个全方位视图,让用户能够洞悉 2400 多家餐厅的运营状况
通过整合 100 多个数据源,每个月节省了超过 10000 小时
使公司领导层和门店经理能够加快报告交付速度

Chipotle Mexican Grill 是一家美国连锁餐厅,在全球拥有 2400 多家分店。对该企业来说,保持运营效益至关重要,这就需要采集和分析海量的数据。

Chipotle 分析部门的领导者们希望运用现代商业智能 (BI) 来做出战略决策。这就需要淘汰掉旧有的 BI 解决方案,比如 MicroStrategy 和数百种 Excel 报告。这些报告中有很多都包含来自不同来源的相同信息,导致难以评估该企业是达到了、超出了还是未达到企业绩效指标。

经过三个月的试用,在企业领导层的支持下,该企业有 1000 名员工正式开始使用 Tableau 仪表板来全面了解运营情况。公司 CEO 也欣然接受了 Tableau,并在董事会会议上使用它来展示公司业绩的明细情况。由于员工们十分渴望查询到运营数据并理解这些数据背后的内涵,战略项目的报告交付周期从每季度一次缩短至原来的三分之一,即每月一次。此外,采用精简的现代分析流程后,该公司的员工还可以更快地分析出真知灼见并加以分享,在短短几个月的时间里就节省了数千小时。

如今,Chipotle 在整个公司范围内都建立起了数据驱动文化,这使各项工作都得到了改进,给门店、顾客以及整个公司都带来了切实改观。

在短短三个月时间里,我们不仅制作出了各种仪表板,员工也开始积极使用这些数据、发掘数据内涵并采取相应的行动,使我们每一家餐厅里的顾客所享受到的体验都大为改观。

看到能够分析餐厅的运营效益,领导层也踊跃参与

在修改了成功指标后,该公司希望将各个不同的数据源整合到同一个仪表板中,以确保大家的理解不会有分歧。“我们意识到需要做出改变。我们需要将数据集于一处,让大家都能以相同的方式查看全部数据,并始终获得一致的理解。”Chipotle 商业智能总监 Zach Sippl 表示。为了采用这种不同以往的方法,他们需要使用 Tableau 来查看数据全貌,而且还要简化各个数据源。

Chipotle 的 BI 团队在 Tableau 中创建了一个报告原型来显示这家餐厅的运营效益,这也是他们最重要的成功指标之一。他们只用了 40 个小时,就将一种全新的数据查看方式呈现了在执行管理层面前,同时也证明了完全可以在宏观层面和微观层面了解该企业的运营状况。得益于 Tableau 所带来的极快交付速度,Chipotle 打造出了一种引导式的数据分析体验,能够精准地揭示哪些方面颇有成效,哪些方面应做出改进。结果,从 CEO 办公室和董事会会议室,一直到具体的餐厅,全都在使用。Zach 解释说:“我们有 2400 多家餐厅,所以必须能够很快地分析出结果并加以呈现。”他接着补充道:“而有了 Tableau,就可以非常轻松地提供所有这些动态功能了。”

自从采用 Tableau 后,我在 Chipotle 的团队在工作中更有干劲了。

借助 Tableau 在全公司范围推动形成数据文化

BI 团队首先为数据管控奠定了坚实的基础,以确保每个人始终都能查询到最重要的指标。然后,他们就仪表板制作方式制定并实施了一套标准,同时对员工进行以实操为主的前期培训,这样大家对所有仪表板的使用方式就都一清二楚了。Zach 解释道:“得益于这些措施,用户使用完一个仪表板后,就很容易知道接下来该选择哪个仪表板来发掘关键的洞见,这是因为我们制定了合适的标准,确保今后我们采取完全一致的方式向用户提供数据和洞见。”

为了确保大家的理解一致,他们还在整个公司范围内全部使用 Tableau 作为首选的仪表板工具。Zach 透露:“所选的必须是一款成功的工具,而且必须能让我们整个公司拧成一股绳,也就是说,我们必须专心致志、常备不懈,朝着正确的方向前进,而不至于因工具的不同而分心。”他们不断地监视所有仪表板与执行管理团队的优先要务的契合情况、Chipotle 公司的整体前进方向,以及各项公司举措和战略举措。这样,相关人员就可以根据数据可视化所揭示的洞见采取行动,从而确保绝不会偏离核心的战略目标。

在 Tableau 部署期间领导层与 BI 团队之间的密切协同,也是确保成功采用的一个关键因素。现在,执行管理层能够以不同以往的全新方式查看和体验数据,令他们感到十分满意,也兴奋不已。Zach 补充道:“Chipotle 的执行管理团队对 Tableau 极为满意;看到我们整个公司都能获得比以往更出色的报告,而且能比以往更快、更有效地分析出更深刻的洞见,他们也极为兴奋。”

所有指标都再上新台阶,我们对数据也有了更深层次的理解,这一切都要归功于 Tableau。

Chipotle 咨询委员会为 Tableau 的采用和仪表板的制作提供有力支持

在 Tableau 部署期间,Chipotle 在全公司利益相关者的支持下,成立了一个强有力的咨询委员会。该委员会定期提供反馈意见,以确保该公司引入数据分析技术的这项新举措朝着正确方向推进,且符合公司的战略。

其中一项优先要务是,在整个制作周期的每一步都要保证各项关键指标是一致的。在仪表板制作的早期阶段,利益相关者们纷纷参与进来,以确保数据准确无误且仪表板能够对症解决业务问题。他们制定了一套统筹有序的仪表板交付流程,用以保障及时交付优质、一致的仪表板。“更值得欣慰的是,这些仪表板一经推出,马上就有人赞叹到:‘哇,真是恰合所需啊。所需要的分析洞见一目了然,需采取的行动也一清二楚。’”Zach 强调说。

这个委员会小组来自于 Chipotle 的第一线,他们是餐厅的直接经营人员,经常与顾客交流互动,负责确保顾客每一次就餐都能享受到最惬意的体验。之所以选择这些人员,是因为他们直接代表着整个公司内最需要数据的最终用户。建立了以数据驱动的全新视角后,他们现在掌握了所需的详细信息,能够据以在餐厅内采取合理的措施,来改进经营业绩和客户服务。

Chipotle creates unified view of operations across 2,400 restaurants, saving 10,000 hours per month


Developed a comprehensive view of operations across 2,400+ restaurants
Saved over 10,000 hours per month by consolidating 100+ data sources
Enabled company leaders and store managers to speed report delivery

Chipotle Mexican Grill is an American restaurant chain with more than 2,400 locations worldwide. Maintaining operational effectiveness is key, which means capturing and analyzing significant amounts of data.

Analytics leaders at Chipotle wanted to adopt modern business intelligence (BI) to make strategic decisions. This meant retiring legacy BI solutions such as MicroStrategy and hundreds of Excel reports—many that had identical information coming from different sources—that made it difficult to gauge if they met, surpassed or fell short of corporate performance measures.

After a trial period of three months, and with leadership buy-in, 1,000 people were utilizing Tableau dashboards to see a full view of operations. The company CEO has even embraced Tableau and uses it to present details of company performance at board meetings. With staff hungrier to seek and make sense of operations data, the speed of report delivery for strategic projects has tripled from quarterly to monthly. Embracing a modern, streamlined analytics process has also saved staff thousands of hours in a few months as they arrive and share insights more quickly.

Now, with an enterprise-wide, data-driven culture, Chipotle is making improvements that create a real difference in stores, with customers, and across the business.

In three months, we not only had dashboards, but we had staff actively using this data, actively getting insights, actively taking action, and really making a difference for customers in each of our restaurants.

Analyzing restaurants’ operational effectiveness encourages leadership engagement

After revamping their success metrics, the company wanted to consolidate disparate data sources into one dashboard to ensure that everyone was on the same page. “We knew we needed to do something different. We needed to get data to one place where everyone can see it together in the same way, and with the same understanding at all times,” said Zach Sippl, Director of Business Intelligence. This different approach meant adopting Tableau to see the complete picture of their data and streamlining their data sources.

Chipotle’s BI team created a reporting prototype in Tableau that displayed the restaurant’s operational effectiveness—one of the top measures of success. It took just 40 hours to show executives a new way of looking at data and to demonstrate the possibility of understanding the enterprise at macro and micro-levels. Given the speed of delivery with Tableau, Chipotle had a guided data analytic experience that went from the CEO’s office and boardroom down to individual restaurants, as they pinpointed where they were successful and where changes should be made. “When you have 2,400-plus restaurants, that’s something that you have to do quickly,” explained Zach. “And Tableau makes it really easy to provide all those dynamic capabilities,” he added.

Tableau has given my team at Chipotle a whole new level of excitement around their work.

Driving company-wide data culture with Tableau

The BI team put a solid foundation of data governance in place first to make sure they got the most important metrics in everybody’s hands all the time. Putting standards in place for how dashboards would be developed and pairing that with hands-on, upfront training meant people were clear on how all the dashboards worked. “It was very easy then to pick up the next dashboard with the next key insights because we developed the right standards that were aligned for all the ways we provided data and insights to them in the future,” explained Zach.

To ensure consistency of understanding also meant using Tableau as their dashboard tool of choice for the whole company. “It had to be successful and had to align as the way we were going to get together as a company, which meant we had to be focused and vigilant so we did it the right way and weren’t distracted,” shared Zach. They constantly monitor how all dashboards align with executive team priorities, where Chipotle is headed as a company, and corporate and strategic initiatives. In doing so, the right people can take action and never lose focus of core strategic objectives by using data visualization.

Close synchronization between leadership and the BI team during Tableau rollout was another key factor for successful adoption. Now, satisfied and excited executives are seeing and experiencing data in new and different ways. Zach adds: “The Chipotle executive team has been extremely happy with Tableau and extremely excited about how we’ve been able to have better reporting than ever as a company—and getting better insights faster and more effectively than ever.”

Tableau was the ticket to take all metrics and understanding to that next level.

Chipotle advisory committee supports Tableau development and adoption

During the Tableau rollout, Chipotle put in place a strong advisory committee that was supported by stakeholders across the company. They offered regular feedback to ensure the new foray into data analytics headed in the right direction and paired with company strategies.

One of the priorities was to align on critical metrics throughout every step of the development lifecycle. Durings the early stages of dashboard development, stakeholders were involved to ensure that the data was accurate and that they were addressing the right business questions. They created a structured delivery process for dashboards to promote timeliness, quality and consistency. “And even that, once we rolled it out, they were the ones that said, ‘Yes, we got it. Yes the right insights are out there and we’re seeing the action we want,’” reinforced Zach.

This group came from the frontlines at Chipotle—they ran the restaurants, engaged with customers, and made sure customers enjoyed the best experience each time they visited. They were chosen because they directly aligned to the end users that needed data most across the company. With a new data-driven perspective, they now had details to support the appropriate actions in restaurants that improved operations performance and customer service.

You might also be interested in...