Mondelez International 在采购流程中进行数字化转型,藉此整合 160 多个数据字段、2.8 万个供应商,并节省数百万美元的成本


现在可以在几天内生成主要 KPI 报告(不再需要长达几周时间)
将预算和定价数据通信时间从 3 小时降低到短短几分钟
通过简化定量和定性采购流程,每年节省的时间总计达到约 7000 小时

MondelēzInternational, Inc. 是全球最大的饼干、巧克力和糖果产品生产商,净收入超过 200 亿美元,产品遍及 160 多个国家/地区,其中包括 Oreo、ChipsAhoy、BelVita、Toblerone、Lacta、Milka、Trident 等产品。

Mondelēz 的全球采购数据分析团队通过提高运营效率、增加现金创收以及节省成本来实现巨大的业务价值,节省规模超过数百万美元。作为全球采购分析和战略高级经理,Igor Vasquez 及其团队帮助全球采购组织在三年的时间内管理了超过 600 亿美元的支出和将近 28,000 家材料供应商(包括直接和间接供应商)。

他们之所以能够实现这项成就,是因为他们利用 Tableau 将传统采购转化为数字流程。过去,他们使用相互隔离的采购、风险和财务系统来处理 160 多个数据字段和 4200 万笔交易(包括采购订单、发票和付款)。该团队在开始推动这一数字采购战略时,他们有两个目标:1) 为所有采购订单和发票交易建立一个数据存储库,以及 2) 创建相关基础架构以使用 Tableau 来分析这些交易,并对其进行可视化。通过将所有数据整合到中央存储库,他们为复杂的供应链建立了标准的全球性可持续分析解决方案,从而简化了全球范围内的支出 KPI,改进了分析和客户满意度,并强化了业务实践的问责机制。

数字采购和分析平台可增强支出管理、提高效率并降低成本

信息系统部门的团队和主要合作伙伴开始探寻一种能够实现以下目标的数字化全球解决方案:实现单一数据存储库和单一分析平台,提高业务流程效率以降低成本,以及开发敏捷分析模型。旧系统中的财务和采购数据相互隔离,因此团队必须在系统之间构建接口才能提取数据。分析需要很长的时间,并且只能在电子表格中进行;因此,全球采购数据分析团队无法有效地为利益相关者提供服务,也无法自由地选择能够提高用户采用率和满意度的数据结构。

为了过渡到数字方法,该团队重点提出了以下方面的问题:利益相关者如何使用采购和支出数据,以及如何整合全球众多系统的数据。他们想要获得灵活性,以便为企业提供更大的价值:能够按区域和支出类别筛选数据,衡量付款周期的复杂性,更好地管理供应商,以及发现可能影响净收入的风险。

最终,全球采购数据分析团队采用 SAP HANA 来托管中央数据存储库,并决定选择 Tableau 作为其分析平台来支持支出分析。采购组织现在可以查看所有支出数据,并通过端到端的数据整合来建立可持续分析模型,同时减少依赖性和报告时间。

为了以高度准确和有效的方式了解供应商付款中的现金使用情况,他们需要建立一个全球流程来确保遵循相关标准。他们开发了“加权平均付款周期”报告,通过 Tableau 将以前需要八周时间的流程缩减至短短两周。全球采购数据分析团队及其他团队使用这个报告分析了数百万笔交易,并通过整合数据和使用 Tableau 节省了大量时间。Igor 和团队使采购职能部门能够专注于战略并主动降低风险。他们正在制定相关计划来使用 Tableau 仪表板全面监测供应链,这将使他们能够采取措施避免收入受到供应商风险的影响,例如某个供应商可能无法提供可可粉或小麦之类的物料。

此外,端到端数据整合的价值已经在付款周期管理领域得到证明。通过准确了解与 28,000 个供应商相关的支出情况,团队可以查看他们向哪些供应商支付的金额更多,并相应地调整付款周期 — 例如调整至 90 天或 120 天。这种可见性还可以让他们了解如何增加现有供应商的价值或制定缩小供应商群体的计划。

他们有 100 多个传统报告,其中仅有 20% 被使用,这促使该团队审查哪些报告的价值和可操作性最高。通过整合支出和供应商信息,他们创建了 10 个简单但功能强大的 Tableau 仪表板,为全球所有类别和所有区域的全部 475 个利益相关者提供服务。

通过实现这种数字化转型,Igor 和一个由 20 名成员组成并不断壮大的跨职能团队可以进行扩展并支持超过 475 名 Tableau 用户(更多用户已在规划中),同时保持与内部和外部利益相关者的持续协作。推出包含 Tableau 的数字解决方案后,他们获得了利益相关者的一致好评。人们喜欢这种易于发现见解的分析方式,他们说,“给我看 Tableau 就行了”,并且拒绝使用基于电子表格的传统报告。他们会问,“如何获得更多信息?”

Tableau 是一款非常强大的工具,它使我们可以在需要的层级看到需要的内容,而且可以很快地看到这些内容。

与利益相关者协作以设置 KPI,并更加有效地节省成本

Igor 的工作重点是与北美高级采购主管、欧洲财务团队以及亚洲和拉丁美洲的类别主管进行合作,了解他们要回答的业务问题。与利益相关者共同确定这些问题,这意味着要在“哪些指标最重要”的问题上达成一致,从而改善服务质量并提高采用率。为了降低成本并促进现金创收,该团队使用单个数据源和 Tableau 平台检查了各地区的支出 KPI 及现有的战略和运营流程。

通过使用 Tableau 在整个公司范围内达成一致,各部门可以了解其利益相关者需要关注哪些数据,并通过同一个渠道来传达这些见解。由于已经对 KPI 进行了定义和标准化,增强了人们对数据的信任。以前需要花一到两个小时进行解释的报告,现在已经被可视化取代,利益相关者可以使用这些可视化并在几分钟内理解其信息,从而简化了部门之间的沟通。

为了支持区域领导者,该团队提供了为各区域量身定制的策略和运营仪表板,帮助他们根据 KPI 目标解决各种挑战和不足。采购分析使领导者能够了解支出水平和物料采购量,从而在供应商谈判中掌握主动权,并节省成本。

Tableau 改善了与财务部门和整个企业的协作与协调

采购团队与财务部门的协作成果尤其丰硕。财务和采购团队共同考查以下支出 KPI,以消除不必要的成本并提高运营效率,并对每个 KPI 采取特定的方法:
1. 现金转换周期(供应链视角)– 专注于妥善管理适当的付款周期水平,旨在确保现金流的平衡
2. 应付账款周转天数 (DPO) – 特别关注高支出供应商的付款周期,旨在保留资金,充实现金流。
3. 简化供应链 – 着眼于供应链的复杂度并降低过多的供应商、原料等造成的运营成本。

通过协作,Mondelēz 财务和采购部门得以建立旧有报告中缺少的、至关重要的一致性。这两个小组开展合作,致力于通过共同的数据库和 Tableau 仪表板确保报告的一致性,并要求解释报告中的任何差异。在进行有关不一致性的讨论时,他们将重点放在如何在两个部门实现共同的目标:促进成本节约和支持投资工作。

由于成功开展了这种部门间协作,无论分析技能高低,Mondelēz 的所有同事都能够在创建仪表板的基础上进行更多操作,从而可以专注于使用数据见解来提升业务价值。

我们不仅将分析用于经营我们的业务,还将它用于关怀我们的世界。

创造更加美好的世界:咀嚼美味数据

借助中央数据存储库和 Tableau 分析平台,全球采购数据分析团队帮助 Mondelēz International 实现自己的使命:让人们能够以可持续和负责任的方式享用零食。Igor 说,“我们不仅将分析用于经营自己的业务,还将它用于关怀我们的世界。”Mondelēz 不但采用端到端方法来整合数据,还以相同的方式进行采购和生产:关注可持续农业并通过端到端的可持续发展目标来减少环境足迹。通过在功能强大的分析平台和中央数据存储库中管理所有供应链数据,让可持续发展目标变得不再遥远。

这种数字采购策略使 Igor 和全球采购数据分析团队能够提高运营效率、节省更多成本,并为整个 Mondelēz International 创造卓越的业务价值。

在使用 Tableau 之前的情况是怎样的?非常棘手。

Mondelez International transforms procurement digitally to integrate 160+ data fields, 28K suppliers, and drive millions in cost savings


Reports of top KPIs now produced in days instead of weeks
Reduced budget & pricing data communication time from 3 hours to just minutes
Overall a total of ~7,000 hours saved per year as a result of simplifying quantitative and qualitative procurement processes

Mondelēz International, Inc. is the largest producer of biscuits, chocolate, and candy products in the world, with a net revenue of over $20 billion and products in more than 160 countries, including Oreo, ChipsAhoy, BelVita, Toblerone, Lacta, Milka, Trident, etc.

Mondelēz’s Global Procurement Data Analytics team delivers superior business value by driving operational efficiencies, cash generation, and cost savings upwards of several million dollars. As Senior Manager of Global Procurement Analytics and Strategy, Igor Vasquez and his team help the Global Procurement Organization manage over $60 billion dollars of spend and nearly 28,000 including direct and indirect materials suppliers over a three-year period.

This success was made possible by leveraging Tableau to transform traditional procurement into a digital process. In the past, procurement, risk, and finance systems were disconnected across more than 160 data fields and 42 million transactions—including purchase orders, invoices, and payments. The team began driving this digital procurement strategy with two goals in mind: 1) establish one data repository for all purchase order and invoice transactions and 2) create an infrastructure to support and visualize analysis of these transactions with Tableau. By integrating all data to a central repository, they established a standard, global solution of sustainable analytics for a complex supply chain, leading to simplified spend KPIs worldwide, improved analytics and customer satisfaction, and more responsible business practices.

Digital procurement and analytics platform enhances spend management driving efficiency and cost avoidance

The team and key partners in the Information Systems department embarked on a journey to find a digital, global solution to enable one repository of data and one analytics platform, improve business process efficiencies for cost savings, and develop an agile analytics model. Financial and procurement data were siloed in legacy systems, requiring the team to implement interfaces between systems to extract data. Analysis was time-consuming and stuck in spreadsheets, preventing the Global Procurement Data Analytics team from effectively serving stakeholders or structuring data with end user adoption and satisfaction in mind.

To transition to a digital approach, the team focused on asking questions about how procurement and spend data were consumed by stakeholders and how procurement data integrated across global systems. They wanted flexibility in order to provide greater value to the business: the ability to filter data by region, spend categories, measure complexity of payment terms, better manage suppliers, and identify risks that impact net revenue.

Ultimately, the Global Procurement Data Analytics team adopted SAP HANA to host the central data repository and decided on Tableau as their analytics platform to support spend analysis. The procurement organization now have complete spend visibility, integrating data end-to-end for a sustainable analytics model and reducing dependencies and reporting times.

In order to understand with high level of accuracy and effectiveness the use of cash in supplier payments, a global process needed to be put in place to ensure standards were followed. The Weighted Average Payment Terms report was developed allowing a process that used to take eight weeks, now takes only two weeks with Tableau. Across this report, among others, the Global Procurement Data Analytics team has analyzed millions of transactions and seen significant time savings by integrating data and using Tableau. Igor and team have enabled the procurement function to focus on strategy and proactively mitigate risk. With plans in progress to use Tableau dashboards to have full visibility into their supply chain, they will be able to take future action avoid revenue impacts when a supplier is at risk of not having an item like cocoa or wheat, for example, to prevent negative impacts to revenue.

Furthermore, managing payment terms is an area where end-to-end data integration proves its value. Having accurate visibility into spend across 28,000 suppliers allows the team to see which suppliers they're spending more with and adjust payment terms accordingly—to 90 days or 120 days, for example. This visibility also informs how to increase value from existing suppliers or plan for supplier base reduction.

Having more than 100 traditional reports, 20% of which were used, pushed the team to review which reports were most valuable and actionable. By consolidating spend and supplier information, they created 10 simple, yet powerful Tableau dashboards to serve all 475 stakeholders, across all categories and regions globally.

By enabling this digital transformation, Igor and a multifunctional team of 20 members—and growing—can scale and support over 475 Tableau users, with more planned, while maintaining continual collaboration with both internal and external stakeholders. After having launched their digital solution with Tableau, the feedback from stakeholders has been unanimously positive. People love the insightful analysis, saying, "Just show me Tableau," rejecting traditional spreadsheet-based reporting. They ask, "How can we get more?"

Tableau is a very powerful tool that gives us visibility into the things we want to see, at the level that we want–and allows us to see it very quickly.

Collaborating with stakeholders to set KPIs and improve cost savings

Igor makes a point of collaborating with senior procurement leadership in North America, the finance team in Europe, and category leads in Asia and Latin America, to understand the business questions they're trying to answer. Involving stakeholders in the process to establish these questions means alignment on which metrics matter, resulting in better service and increased adoption. The team examine spend KPIs by region and existing Strategic and Operational processes with the single data source and Tableau platform in order to drive cost savings and generate cash.

By using Tableau to enable alignment across the entire company, departments can understand what data their stakeholders need to focus on, and have one channel to communicate these insights. Confidence in the data is increased because KPIs have been defined and standardized. Reports that previously took one to two hours of explanation are now visualizations that can be consumed and understood by stakeholders in minutes, simplifying communication across departments.

To support regional leaders, the team addresses challenges or gaps regions have in meeting their KPIs with tailored strategies and operational dashboards. Procurement analytics enables leaders to understand levels of spend and volume of materials purchased, which informs supplier negotiations and increases cost savings.

Tableau improves collaboration and alignment with finance and the enterprise

An especially fruitful collaboration for the procurement team has been with the finance department. Together, finance and procurement look at the following spend KPIs to eliminate unnecessary costs and improve operational efficiency, taking a specific approach for each:
1. Cash conversion cycle from the supply chain perspective – focus on managing appropriate payment term levels well to balance cash flow
2. Days paid outstanding (DPO) – pay special attention to payment terms of suppliers with higher spend to hold onto funds, generating cash.
3. Simplification of supply chain – looking at complexity of supply chain and reducing operational cost of maintaining too many suppliers, ingredients, etc.

By collaborating, both the Mondelēz finance and procurement departments have been able to establish a crucial, yet previously lacking aspect in legacy reporting: consistency. As a joint effort, these two groups committed to consistent reporting through common databases and Tableau dashboards, requiring that any differences in reporting be explained. Discussions around inconsistencies are focused on the common goal of supporting cost savings and investment efforts across both departments.

The success of such interdepartmental collaborations has enabled Mondelēz colleagues of all analytical skill levels to go beyond creating dashboards in order to focus on driving business value with data insights.

We use analytics not only for running our business, but for caring about our world.

Creating a better world—one delicious data bite—at a time

With a central data repository and the Tableau analytics platform, the Global Procurement Data Analytics team supports Mondelēz International’s mission to empower people to snack right in a sustainable and responsible way. Igor said, "We use analytics not only for our business, but also for caring about our world." It’s not just data that is integrated with an end-to-end approach—Mondelēz also approaches sourcing and production the same way: by focusing on sustainable agriculture and reducing their environmental footprint through end-to-end sustainability goals. Achieving sustainability goals is possible with all supply chain data managed in a powerful analytics platform and central data repository.

This digital procurement strategy has allowed Igor and Global Procurement Data Analytics team to drive operational efficiencies, increase cost savings, and deliver superior business value across at Mondelēz International.

What was life like before Tableau? Impossible.