商业统计课程使用 Tableau 和统计方法从数据中获得真知灼见


Deanna M. Kennedy 博士自 2011 年起就开始使用 Tableau 教学。  她在华盛顿大学教授运营和项目管理,以及定量方法和商业统计。她最早从项目主席那里得知 Tableau,那时候他们正在研究如何将商业分析融入其教学课程。Kennedy 博士使用 Tableau 教学版给学生分配任务,要求他们通过 Tableau 仪表板研究商业相关课题并探索数据。  以下是对教授的采访,着重点是如何使用 Tableau 教学。

主要学习目标:

  • 熟悉用于数据分析的可视化工具
  • 了解表示数据的多种方式,以及所有这些方式的优劣
  • 了解如何根据可视化得出推论、假设和形成问题
  • 熟悉并精通使用计算机来进行数据分析

问与答
您在课程中是如何运用 Tableau 的?
在定量方法和商业分析课程中,Tableau 是作为一种数据分析工具引入的。学生组成 3 至 5 人的小组来分析商业相关课题的数据。课题范围广泛,从手机市场,一直到电动车行业、电子书销售、全国工资和失业率,以及网上约会服务业务。学生使用 Tableau 来评估可视化结果,希望从中找到新的见解、假设以及未来的研究问题。
这个小组项目的目标是应用统计方法来形成有关业务、技术或行业的新知识。最终任务是搭建一个仪表板,然后引导观众查看仪表板的各个部分,进而说明一个经理如何使用信息来作出决策。

虽然很多学生承认他们的统计课很有用,但很少有人说,他们从这门课里感受到了乐趣 – 我希望我的统计课不仅有用,而且有趣 ...反应无比热烈 – 学生非常喜欢使用 Tableau 程序,很多人在小组项目之外还继续使用 Tableau。我对这样的结果满意得不能再满意。

为什么选用 Tableau?
虽然很多学生承认他们的统计课很有用,但很少有人说,他们从这门课里感受到了乐趣 – 我希望我的统计课不仅有用,而且有趣。我还有兴趣扩大数据分析的覆盖面。为学生引入数据分析程序是使课程变得有趣的好办法,这样课程就不只是在电子表格中计算数据那么枯燥。但是,因为课程要在短短 10 周内涉及很多课题,所以我觉得引入的新程序必须简单易学,这样学生才有时间使用。在我试用了 Tableau 后,我觉得它很容易上手。   我后来就在课堂上介绍了 Tableau,让学生在小组项目中使用。  反应无比热烈 – 学生非常喜欢使用 Tableau 程序,很多人在小组项目之外还继续使用 Tableau。我对这样的结果满意得不能再满意。

您是怎么学习 Tableau 的?
我是通过反复与 Tableau 交互后学会使用的。使用在首次下载程序时提供的样本数据,我创建了多个不同的工作表以及最终的仪表板。然后,我导入其他数据集并创建了多个工作表和仪表板。在我碰到问题,希望更多了解各个 Tableau 选项的时候(了解各种细节,这样我就能在课堂上讲解),我遇到了 Tableau 的学术研究计划团队。他们运行了多个演示,让我理解了程序,并可以向学生传授。

您是怎么给学生教授 Tableau 的?
我们会在 4 小时的上课时间里举办一场有条理的研讨会。我在课堂上使用计算机和投影仪,以及 Tableau 提供的样本数据(Superstore 数据)向学生一步步演示如何创建仪表板。当我在屏幕上演示操作时,学生在自己的计算机上跟着操作。因为整堂课重新生成相同的仪表板,所以学生可以在完成培训的过程中相互帮助。培训结束时,学生会有时间使用 Tableau 导入其小组项目的数据,然后可视化呈现出来。学生很快就不再满足于我在培训中演示的简单技术,他们开始创建复杂的交互式图形。

在教授 Tableau 时,最大的挑战是什么?
教授 Tableau 最大的挑战是使用 Apple 计算机的学生。另一个挑战是教学生如何将数据组织成适合 Tableau 的正确格式。组织数据是我遇到的最常见的问题。今后,我可能再用一个课时来指导和帮助学生组织数据。

您从学生那里收到了什么样的反馈?
很多学生表达了这样的观点:Tableau 是这门课宝贵的一部分,他们希望也能够在其他课上使用这款工具。另外,很多学生来问怎么将 Tableau 引入他们自己的业务,因为 Tableau 容易使用,而且互动性好。

学生项目示例:

单击此处查看项目报告。

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Business Statistics Course uses Tableau and Statistical Methods to Gain Insight from Data


While many students admit that their statistics class was useful, rarely does anyone ever say that they enjoyed the class – I wanted my statistics class to be useful and enjoyable ... The response was overwhelming – students did enjoy using the program and many continue to use it beyond the group project. I couldn't be happier with that outcome.

Dr. Deanna M. Kennedy has been teaching with Tableau since 2011.  She teaches in the areas of operations and project management as well as quantitative methods and business statistics at the University of Washington.  She first learned about Tableau through her Program Chair, when researching how to incorporate Business Analytics into her teaching curriculum.  Using Tableau for Teaching, Dr. Kennedy tasked her students with researching a business-related topic and exploring data through a Tableau dashboard.  Below is an interview with the professor, highlighting what it was like teaching with Tableau.

Main learning objectives:

  • To become familiar with a visualization tool for data analytics
  • To learn multiple ways of representing data and the pros/cons of all
  • To learn to draw inferences, hypotheses, and form questions based on visualizations
  • To become familiar and proficient at using the computer for data analyses

Q&A
Can you tell us how you used Tableau in your course?
In the Quantitative Methods and Business Statistics course, Tableau was introduced as a data analysis tool. Student formed groups of 3 to 5 members to analyze data on a business-related topic. Topics varied from the mobile telephone market, to the electric car industry, e-book sales, national salaries and unemployment, and the business of online dating services. Using Tableau, students assessed visualization results to find new insights, hypotheses, and future research questions.
The goal of this group project was to apply statistical methods to create new knowledge about a business, technology, or industry. The final task was to build a dashboard and walk an audience through the various pieces of the dashboard and explain how a manager might use the information to make a decision.

Why did you choose to use Tableau?
While many students admit that their statistics class was useful, rarely does anyone ever say that they enjoyed the class – I wanted my statistics class to be useful and enjoyable. I also had an interest in expanding the coverage of data analytics.  Bringing in a data analytics program for students was a great way of making the class enjoyable and not just about crunching numbers in a spreadsheet. But, since the class covers many topics in a short, 10-week, time frame, I knew that introducing a new program would have to be easy to learn in order to have time to use it. When I tried Tableau I thought it was easy to pick up.   So I introduced it to the class and had students use it during group projects.  The response was overwhelming – students did enjoy using the program and many continue to use it beyond the group project.  I couldn’t be happier with that outcome.

How did you learn Tableau?
I learned to use Tableau by interacting with it over and over. I used the sample data provided upon first downloading the program to create different sheets and a final dashboard. Then, I imported other datasets and created multiple sheets and dashboards. When I had questions and wanted to expand my understanding of Tableau options (and learn particulars so I could teach it in class) I met with Tableau’s Academic Program team.  They ran through multiple demonstrations so that I understood the program and could teach it to students.

How did you teach Tableau to your students?
A structured workshop was held during a 4-hour class period. Using the computer and projector in class, I walked the students through creating a dashboard using sample data (Superstore data) provided by Tableau. While I showed actions on the screen, students replicated the actions on their own computers. Because the entire class reproduced the same dashboard, students could help each other as we completed the training. At the end of training, students were given time to import data from their group project and visualize it using Tableau. Students quickly moved beyond the simple techniques I showed in the training and were creating sophisticated interactive graphics.

What were the biggest challenges in teaching Tableau?
The biggest challenge in teaching Tableau was with students using Apple computers. Another challenge was teaching students how to organize data into the right format for Tableau. Organizing data was the most common problem brought to me. In the future I might spend another class period instructing and helping students with data organization.

What type of feedback did you receive from your students?
Many of the students expressed the sentiment that Tableau was a valuable part of the class and a tool they will likely use it for other classes.  Also, many students asked about bringing Tableau into their businesses because of its ease of use and interactive qualities.

Example of student project:

Click here to see the project report.

You might also be interested in...