奥胡斯大学利用 Tableau 完美兼顾技术方面和用户体验



奥胡斯大学创立于 1928 年,是一所久负盛名的公立大学,作为丹麦最大的高校,共有 43,600 名学生。在最富声望的各大全球高校排行榜中,奥胡斯大学均在百强之列。

Mads Brink Hansen 是丹麦奥胡斯大学商业和社会科学学院的外聘讲师,讲授商业智能课程。奥胡斯大学创立于 1928 年,是一所久负盛名的公立大学,作为丹麦最大的高校,共有 43,600 名学生。
Mads 主授一门本科生课程和两门研究生课程,同时他还是丹麦 IMS Health 公司的首席顾问和商业智能企业架构师。他主要在研究生课程中使用 Tableau,该课程的主要教学目标是让学生深入了解:

  • 用来支持决策的各种数据分析方法
  • 如何根据业务分析结果改进业务流程

奥胡斯大学商业智能和数据仓库系外聘讲师 Mads Brink Hansen 访谈实录

Tableau: 您最初是怎么听说 Tableau 的?

奥胡斯大学外聘讲师 Mads Brink Hansen : 如果我没记错的话,应该是在四五年前。当时我是兼职讲师,但在 IMS Health 公司全职担任首席顾问,我第一次应该是从公司营销部门的某位同事那里听说 Tableau 的,不过我在 Inspari 从事上一份工作期间也听说过 Tableau。我对很多商业智能工具都很熟悉,我在 Microsoft 任职期间了解到他们有一项称作“Excel for Teaching”(Excel 教学版)的计划,受此启发,我之后在 Google 上搜索了“Tableau 教学版” (Tableau for Teaching),发现 Tableau 也有学术研究计划。

Tableau: 您为何选择在课程中使用 Tableau?

我之所以使用 Tableau,主要原因是它在用户体验方面堪称最佳,能让学生更深刻地理解什么是商业智能。

Mads: 实际上在三四年前,我开始为如何形象地讲授商业智能应用程序开发而伤脑筋,于是我便开始考察可以采取的各种方案,也正是在那个时候,我了解到 Tableau 及其学术研究计划。之所以选择在我的课程中使用 Tableau,是综合考虑两方面后的结果。我开始讲授这门课程的时候,当时的想法是使用 Excel 和 PowerPivot,因为我更侧重于这门课程的建模部分,采取的是一种更偏重于技术的方法,而对用户体验方面就没有那么重视了。当我连接到 Tableau 教学版时,我意识到,建模部分和用户体验方面可以兼得。我之所以使用 Tableau,主要原因是它在用户体验方面堪称最佳,能让学生更深刻地理解什么是商业智能。事实上 Tableau 教学版非常灵活,学生们和我本人都可以获得免费的使用许可证,这对我来说十分省心。

Tableau: 现在您在课程中是如何使用 Tableau 的?

Mads: 首先,我在课堂上通常先介绍敏捷 Kimball 生命周期,这可以让学生更好地了解商业智能的完整概念。在这方面 Tableau 于我助益良多,因为专注于直观显示的部分十分重要,可以让学生更好地理解敏捷 Kimball 生命周期。我在课堂上将 Tableau 作为一款工具用于 3 种不同的用途。首先,我使用 Tableau 来向学生介绍数据审核,也就是说,学生需要了解他们将使用的数据、这些数据的分布情况,等等。

然后,学员会试验维度模型,维度模型是 Kimball 方法的基石。事实上 Tableau 已经开始支持这种维度建模理念,这有助于学生快速了解比如维度与度量之间的差别、在维度内包含层次结构是什么意思等。

最后,我会给学生们布置作业,让他们动手体验一下 Tableau。我所布置的作业基本上就是学习 Tableau 附带的 Superstore 数据集的起点。


Tableau: 您能否给我们详细说说这种作业,以及学生们是如何使用该数据集的?

Mads:他们需要使用 Tableau 来大致呈现 Superstore 的全貌。实际上,Superstore 数据集本身采用的是 Excel 格式,我一直都允许学生使用 Excel 和 Tableau 来进行这种练习,但迄今为止他们无一使用 Excel。我并不想强行要求学生做任何事情,而是允许他们灵活选择自己喜欢的工具来完成作业,到目前为止他们用的一直是 Tableau。

除了大致呈现全貌之外,他们还需要进行演示,这种演示是与业务相关的,例如,可能是需要面向董事会进行的演示。学生需要对数据进行处理,从中分析出一些洞见,然后在仪表板中加以显示。他们需要通过这种方式吸引管理层关注特定的方面,即管理层在近期应侧重的方面。从这个意义上讲,我是在尝试从单纯的商业智能课程改换到一种更偏向业务的思维方式,这也正是学生们毕业后必须要形成的一种思维方式。

“Tableau 很容易让人投入其中深入钻研。Tableau 在适合所有受众的层面提供可视化数据发现和分析技术,它展现了可视化分析领域的所有可能。”

“Tableau 拥有直观的设计和在吸引力方面恰到好处的可视化主题,因而很容易掌握,用户可以轻松开始将手上数据最相关、最有趣的方面可视化。”

Tableau: 一般来讲,在您的课程中使用 Tableau 会给学生带来什么好处?

Mads: 学生们主要的收获是,他们可以亲眼看到和切身感受商业智能前端,并且可以更好地了解当代商业智能工具的使用体验。他们还可以大致了解商业智能体系结构的内部工作原理,商业智能体系结构基本上也就是我现在所讲授的标准 Kimball 体系结构。最后但同样重要的是,他们可以很好地了解快速便捷式或自助式商业智能是什么,这一点非常重要。

Tableau: 整个学习过程持续多长时间?您将 Tableau 整合到您的课程中用了多长时间?

Mads: 当我第一次使用 Tableau 时,我大概花了一下午的时间来大致了解这款工具,然后我就确信这是适合我的工具。之后,我可能花了两天多时间来体验这款工具,然后就确信它非常适合在我的课程中使用。将它整合到我的教学大纲中并不难,我认为主要原因是,我不需要制作任何数据表,只需使用 Tableau 提供的样本即可。

Tableau: 您在讲授 Tableau 方面遇到的最大挑战是什么?

Mads: 实际上我曾经试过邀请 Tableau 公司的人来向我的学生介绍这款产品,这样做的主要原因是,我就不用再做这项耗时费力的工作了。因此,我在讲授 Tableau 方面还真没有什么困难可言,我的使用过程非常轻松。有了 Tableau,我在介绍维度和度量时远比使用教科书轻松。

Tableau: 您从学生那里收到了什么样的反馈?

Mads: 学生们的反馈非常积极,实际上有几个学生一直在申请延长他们许可证密钥的有效期。一些学生非常希望能在自己的简历中填写一些实用的技能,而动手体验 Tableau 正好可以让他们学到这样的技能。事实上,教师和学生们都给出了积极的总体反馈,这款工具学习起来并不费时。我认为,由于能够请到 Tableau 公司的人通过直播式网络讲座来介绍这款产品,因此学生们也感到更为有趣。

“一些学生非常希望能在自己的简历中填写一些实用的技能,而动手体验 Tableau 正好可以让他们学到这样的技能。”

Tableau: 对于以前从未用过 Tableau 但又希望将它整合到教学大纲中的讲师,您可以给他们一些什么样的建议?

Mads: 我会建议他们使用 Tableau 中提供的样本作为起点。这些样本设计得非常好,从这些样本着手,应该可以满足和商业智能或可视化有关的任何需要。对于其他科目,我认为他们可以使用样本数据集,或直接提供学生们容易使用的数据。他们应该设法开始让学生们容易上手使用,等到学生们习惯了这款产品,便可以扩展到其他方面,例如数据混合。从自助式商业智能的角度来看,数据混合非常重要。实际上我自己也正打算今年向我的硕士生们介绍数据混合。

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Aarhus University uses Tableau to combine technical aspects and user experience



Aarhus University, founded in 1928, is a prestigious public university and is Denmark’s the largest university, with a total of 43,600. In most prestigious ranking lists of the world´s best universities, Aarhus University is placed in the top 100.

Mads Brink Hansen is an external lecturer in charge of Business Intelligence courses at the School of Business and Social Sciences at Aarhus University in Denmark. Aarhus University, founded in 1928, is a prestigious public university and Denmark’s largest university, with a total of 43,600 students.
Mads, who is also a Principal Consultant and BI Enterprise Architect at IMS Health in Denmark, is responsible for one undergraduate class and two postgraduate classes. He is using Tableau mainly in his graduate classes where the main learning objectives of the programme is to provide students with an in-depth knowledge about:

  • Methods for analysing data to support decision making
  • How to improve business processes on the basis of business analytics

The main reason I’m using Tableau is that it does the best from a user experience perspective and it allows the students to get a better understanding of what Business Intelligence is.

Tableau: How are you using Tableau in your course today?
Mads: First of all, in my classes, I usually start by giving an introduction of the Agile Kimball Lifecycle, which gives a better understanding of the whole concept of Business Intelligence. Tableau helps me a lot for this because the focus on the visual part is very important and allows the students to get a better understanding of the Agile Kimball Lifecycle.

I’m using Tableau in my class as a vehicle for 3 different aspects. First I’m using Tableau to introduce my students to data audits, meaning that they need to know the data they will be working on, how they are distributed and so on.

Then the students are experimenting the Dimensional Model, which is the cornerstone of the Kimball Methodology. The fact that Tableau is already supporting this dimensional modelling concept helps my students to quickly understand the difference between dimensions and measures, and what does it mean to have a hierarchy within a dimension for example.

Finally, I give the students a hands-on experience with Tableau by giving them an assignment. The assignment I’m giving is basically the starting point in the Superstore dataset that comes with Tableau.

Tableau: Could you tell us more about this assignment and how the students are working with the dataset?
Mads: They are required to use Tableau to give state of the union of the superstore. Actually the superstore dataset itself is in an Excel format and I’ve been allowing the students to use both Excel and Tableau for this exercise, but none of them has been using Excel so far. I don’t want to impose anything on my students and I give them the freedom to choose the tool they would like for the assignment and so far they have been using Tableau.

In addition to the state of the union, they are also required to do a presentation which is business related and which could be something they would have to present in front of a board of directors, for example. They work with the data, get some insights out of it and then show them on a dashboard where they draw the attention of the management on specific areas where they should focus on in the near future. In that sense, I’m trying to switch from a pure Business Intelligence course to a more Business way of looking at things, which is what the students will have to deal with once they graduate.

Tableau: What are the benefits to your students, in general terms, of using Tableau in your course?
Mads: The main learning points for the students are that they can have a look and feel of what Business Intelligence front-end is and they can have a better understanding of how it is to work with a contemporary Business Intelligence tool. They also get an overview of how it works within a Business Intelligence architecture, which is basically a standard Kimball architecture that I’m teaching, and last but not least they get a good idea of what rapid-fire or self-service Business Intelligence is, which is very important.

Tableau: How long was the learning process and how long did it take you to integrate Tableau in your course?
Mads: When I first used Tableau, I think I spent an afternoon to get an idea of the tool and after that I was convinced this was the right tool for me. Then I might have spent a couple more days playing with the tool and got to the point where I was convinced that it would fit perfectly in my courses. Integrating it in my syllabus was not hard and I think the main reason for that was that I did not have to prepare any datasets and I was simply using the samples provided by Tableau.

Tableau: What has been your biggest challenge in teaching Tableau?
Mads: Actually what I’ve tried to do, is to invite someone from Tableau to introduce the product to my students and the main reason behind that is to break the long stream of work from me. So I can’t say that I’ve had any difficulties teaching Tableau and I’m using it in a very easy way. Tableau allows me to introduce the concept of dimensions and measures in a far easier way than it’s done in a textbook.

Tableau is very easy to just dig in to. Tableau demonstrates visual data discovery & analytics on a level suitable for all audiences and showcases all the possibilities within visual analytics.

Tableau: What type of feedback do you receive from your students?
Mads: I have received very good feedbacks from my students and actually I’ve had a few students who have been requesting extension of their license keys. Some students have been keen on having some practical skills on their CV and that is provided by having hands-on experience with Tableau. In fact the general feedback is positive as both for the teacher and the students, you don’t have to spend much time learning the tool. I believe that having the possibility to have someone from Tableau introducing the product via a live webinar has made it more interesting for the students as well.

Tableau: What would be your recommendations to an instructor who has never used Tableau before and who would like to integrate it in a syllabus?
Mads: What I would encourage them to do is to use the provided samples in Tableau as a starting point. They are quite good and for anything related to Business Intelligence or visualisation, these samples should be sufficient to start with. Otherwise, for other subjects, I would say that they can either use the sample datasets or simply provide data that are easy to consume by the students. They should keep it simple for the students as a starting point and once the students are used to the product, they can then extend to things like data blending, which from a self-service Business Intelligence perspective, is very important. I’m actually planning myself to introduce data blending to my Masters students this year.



You might also be interested in...