阿克伦大学教高中生使用 Tableau 分析社交媒体数据


我们 Tableau 教学版的讲师大部分是为大学生授课。偶尔,我们也会别出心裁地将数据分析技能提早介绍给高中生。今年夏天,William McHenry 教授为 26 名高中生组织了一次使用 Tableau 的信息技术职业训练营。

这次 IT 训练营课程的目标是帮助学生“理解企业分析(大)量数据的各种方式”。为了吸引学生,McHenry 制作了卡夫食品公司的新产品 MiO(一种水增味剂产品)的仿制品和案例研究。在练习中,学生使用 Tableau 来分析 368 条有关 MiO 的真实推文、Facebook 评论以及其他博客评论。他们还亲自对此产品进行口味测试,每个人都记下各自对 MiO 的感受(评分范围 -10 到 10)。

在放手让学生亲自探索可视化和工具之前,学生听取了对 Tableau 的简要介绍。在练习结束时,每个团队都给出一份报告,展示各自的可视化成果。这些成果体现出对 MiO 民意的最佳见解。

McHenry 教授还与 Data Revelations 的 Steve Wexler 合作,后者帮助他准备分析结果的仪表板,如下面的“MiO 民意得分分布”可视化图表。

然后学生学习如何使用 IBM SPSS Modeler 和 Tableau 的组合,将同样的数据用于构造预测分析模型。McHenry 教授打算在今后的研究生和本科生水平的课程中,将这节课用作类似练习的基础。

问与答

对于 Tableau 教学,我最喜欢的是,我可以在如此之短的时间里,从数据中获得如此多的真知灼见。

对于 Tableau 教学,您最喜欢的是什么?
对于 Tableau 教学,我最喜欢的是,我可以在如此之短的时间里,从数据中获得如此多的真知灼见。如果使用其他工具,例如 Excel,我就不得不单独设置每个图,与 Tableau 相比,可用的视图有限。还有,看到学生能够在如此之短的时间里掌握 Tableau,获得有意义的结果,这也算是一种莫大的荣幸。学生可以复制选项卡,然后对副本进行更改来尝试其他东西,这样他们就能掌握自己尝试过的不同分析。我喜欢看到这样的情况。

您是怎么给学生教授 Tableau 的?
我们花时间介绍基础知识,然后让他们尽情尝试。

为什么选择 Tableau?
功能强,而且容易使用。

您对同行讲师有什么建议?
确保学生分析的问题是与他们息息相关的问题,确保为学生快速介绍维度和度量之类的关键概念,以及各种拖放选项的如何作用。然后我会放手,让他们试验能发现的任何问题。

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

University of Akron Teaches High School Students to Analyze Social Media Data with Tableau


The majority of our Tableau for Teaching instructors work with university students. On occasion, we see innovative examples of data analysis skills being introduced early on, to high school students. This summer, Professor William McHenry led an information technology career camp using Tableau, for 26 high school students.

The objective of the IT camp course was to help students “understand the various ways in which businesses are analyzing (large) amounts of data”. To engage his students, McHenry created a simulation and case study on a new product from Kraft Foods called MiO, a water enhancement flavoring product. As part of the exercise, students used Tableau to analyze 368 real tweets, facebook comments, and other blog comments on MiO. They also taste-tested the product themselves, and each recorded their own sentiments on MiO (on a scale of -10 to 10).

The students were given a brief introduction to Tableau before being turned loose to explore the visuals and tools for themselves. Each team gave a report at the end of the exercise, showcasing their visualizations that provided the best insight on public sentiment towards MiO.

Prof. McHenry also partnered with Steve Wexler of Data Revelations, who helped him prepare dashboards of the analyzed results, such as the MiO Sentiment Score Distribution viz below.

Students then learned how the same data could be used to construct a predictive analytics model using a combination of both IBM SPSS Modeler and Tableau. Prof. McHenry plans to use this lesson as a basis for a similar exercise in his upcoming undergraduate and graduate level courses.

Q&A

What I enjoy most about teaching Tableau is the fact that you can generate so many insights from the data in such a short period of time.

What do you enjoy most about teaching with Tableau?
What I enjoy most about teaching Tableau is the fact that you can generate so many insights from the data in such a short period of time. With Excel, for example, you have to set up each graph separately, and the available views are limited compared to Tableau. It was a great pleasure, as well, to see how the students were able to catch on to Tableau and get meaningful results in such a short period of time. I like that the students can keep track of different analyses they have tried by duplicating tabs and then altering the copy to try something else.

How did you teach Tableau to your students?
We spent time introducing the basics, and then let them go for it.

Why did you choose Tableau?
Power plus ease of use.

What would you recommend to fellow instructors?
Make sure that the problems students analyze are something the students can relate to, and that they give the students a quick introduction to the key concepts, such as the dimensions and measures, and how the various drag and drop options work. Then I would turn them loose and let them experiment with all the things they can find.

You might also be interested in...