莱克县卫生局使用 Tableau Data Management 来简化报告流程,从而彻底改变了其数据策略并扩大了覆盖范围


使整个企业的 900 多名员工都能更快地进行自助式分析
减轻了报告维护负担,现在几乎不需要做任何维护工作
在数据驱动型决策方面达到了新的水准,包括针对缺医少药社区的决策

莱克县卫生局与社区卫生中心既是一个法定公共卫生实体,同时也是一家医疗服务提供机构,服务于莱克县超过 70 万居民。莱克县位于芝加哥近郊,是伊利诺斯州人口排第三位的县。该卫生局在 2017 年部署 Tableau Online 之初,采用率很低,这主要是因为存在数据方面的限制:当时该卫生局通过 20 多个异构数据源和 36 个不同应用程序来跟踪患者数据、社区活动、行为健康、传染病等各个方面的情况,因此 Tableau 用户难以获取所需的数据,进而无法做出可推动该组织向前发展的战略性和战术性决策。

该卫生局于是制定了一项战略计划,要求集中开展其各项分析活动,推进自助式分析以便所有员工都能根据相关的数据做出明智决策,并精心编制一些显而易见的报告来帮助推动组织改进。若按照以往的方法来制作这些报告,则需要分配大量的工程、计算和规划资源。该卫生局部署了 Tableau Server,同时还使用 Tableau Data Management Add-on 中包含的 Tableau Prep Conductor 来自动安排数据流程并简化流程监视和管理,从而减轻了这些报告的创建和管理负担,以至于他们现在几乎不需要分配任何资源来完成维护工作。这为患者医护团队节省了时间,使他们有机会帮助所服务社区内的更多患者。

这种精简的报告流程有一项关键优势,那就是它有助于更快地做出决策和开发数据项目。由于缩短了制作时间,并且可以快速交付新的解决方案来满足用户的请求,这使得用户对该流程树立了信心,并相信利用数据有助于他们完成自己的工作。这继而又有助于提高工作效率,并让用户对分析技术产生持续不减的兴奋劲头,从而在该组织内培养起强大的数据文化。

在两年时间里,莱克县卫生局内采用 Tableau 的用户人数从 35 名增长到 450 多名,而且还在继续增长。诸如效率仪表板、机构财务仪表板、临床医护质量仪表板等一些关键的 Tableau 可视化为该卫生局内的各个岗位提供日常决策支持。例如,有一个流程是为服务低收入居民和社区的计划分配有限的资源,完成该流程就需要获取清楚明确的数据。通过与 Tableau 和 Prep Conductor 对接,该卫生局可以从其各种数据管道中提取合适的洞见,然后以可视化的形式呈现其解决问题的各个选项。这样,在该卫生局内建立一个值得信赖、敬业的数据社区,就相当于在整个社区内推进实质性的变革。

借助 Tableau 和 Prep Conductor,我们将整个 ETL 流程都交到了分析师的手中。这让我们得以完全重新构思数据体系结构的设计思路,即摒弃数据仓库策略,更偏重于即时分析。这样,分析师们就能以更加灵活敏捷的方式操作和准备数据,从而更快、更有效地响应业务需求。

更新(2020 年 5 月)自新冠肺炎疫情开始以来,莱克县卫生局一直在孜孜不倦地通过 Tableau 仪表板为当地医疗系统和政府官员提供最新、可靠的数据。他们使用 Tableau 仪表板来确保了解最新形势,做出社区干预决策以及与公众沟通。如需了解详情和查看示例,请访问 Tableau Public 上莱克县卫生局的配置文件

将卫生信息可视化

Lake County Health Department

Lake County Health revolutionizes its data strategy and expands reach by using Tableau Data Management to streamline reporting


Empowers faster self-service analytics for 900+ employees enterprise wide

Reduces report maintenance burdens to practically no effort required at all

Enables new levels of data-driven decision making, including for underserved communities

The Lake County Health Department and Community Health Center is a combined statutory public health entity and health service provider serving more than 700,000 residents of Lake County, a suburban area of Chicago and the third most populated county in Illinois. When the Health Department implemented Tableau Online in 2017, adoption was slow, mostly due to data limitations: With more than 20 disparate data sources and 36 different applications tracking everything from patient data and community events to behavioral health and infectious disease, Tableau users struggled to access the data required for making strategic and tactical decisions that would drive the organization forward.

The department came up with a strategic plan to centralize its analytics activities, drive self-service analytics so all employees could make informed decisions based on relevant data, and curate highly visible reports that would help drive organizational improvement. Previous methods for producing these reports required intensive allocation of engineering, computing, and planning resources. By implementing Tableau Server and using Tableau Prep Conductor, part of Tableau's Data Management Add-on that automates data flow scheduling and enables easy flow monitoring and administration, the department reduced the burden of creating and managing the reports to the point that they now require almost no resources to maintain. This frees up time for patient care teams, creating opportunities for them to help more patients in the communities they serve.

A key advantage of this streamlined reporting process is that it enables faster decision-making and data project development. Shrinking production time and rapidly delivering new solutions to user requests builds user confidence in the process and in utilizing data to help them do their job. This, in turn, helps fuel productivity and generate excitement and momentum around analytics that fosters a robust data culture within the organization.

Over two years, Tableau adoption at the Lake County Health Department has expanded from 35 to more than 450 users and continues to grow. Critical Tableau visualizations like the productivity dashboard, agency financial dashboard, and clinical quality dashboard support daily decision making across a variety of roles. For example, the process of allocating limited resources for programs serving low-income residents and communities requires clear access to data. By interfacing with Tableau and Prep Conductor, the department can extract the right insights from its various data pipelines and visualize its options for how to approach the problem. In this way, building a trusted, committed data community within the health department translates into meaningful change within the community as a whole.

With Tableau and Prep Conductor, we're putting the whole ETL process into the analysts' hands. It's made us completely rethink how we design our data architecture—moving away from a warehouse strategy and more toward ad hoc, where the analysts can manipulate and prepare the data in more agile ways that respond to business needs more quickly and effectively.

Update (May 2020): Since the start of the Coronavirus pandemic, the Lake County Health Department has worked tirelessly to provide up-to-date, reliable data, via Tableau dashboards, to local healthcare systems and government officials. They have used Tableau dashboards to maintain situational awareness, make decisions on community interventions, and communicate with the public. To learn more and see examples, visit the Lake County Health Department profile on Tableau Public.