Brown-Forman 变革营销策略,借助云端将 Tableau 的部署规模拓展到 1,000 名员工。


采用订阅价模型快速让 1,000 名用户上手使用
从 160 个国家/地区均可深入洞悉运营数据
确定在肯塔基赛马会期间投入的推广开支的投资回报

Brown-Forman 是最大的美资烈性酒和葡萄酒酿造企业之一,在 160 多个国家/地区销售杰克丹尼、老林头、渥福典藏等品牌的酒品。首席信息官 Tim Nall 起初在位于全球各地的 1,000 名员工范围内推广使用 Tableau,这些员工来自营销、财务、供应链、运营等各个部门。Tableau 的订阅价模型与 Brown-Forman 已经采用的运营模式不谋而合:以小规模起步,随着需求的增加快速扩展。如今,营销部门可以跟踪围绕肯塔基赛马会开展推广活动的效果,这有助于预测未来宣传活动的成效。在推出新品时,营销人员也能够了解宣传内容如何引起消费者共鸣,从而提高品牌知名度并最终帮助售出更多酒品。

从全球的角度来看,掌握所有这些信息并能够洞悉它们越发显得至关重要。现在,由于我们使用我们的逻辑数据仓库和 Tableau 制作出了仪表板,大家可以共同协作,所有这些信息也都可供访问了。

从 160 个国家/地区均可透彻了解 SKU 情况

Brown-Forman 是全球十大烈性酒酿造企业之一,在全球各地都设有办事处。由于业务覆盖全球,因此有效的沟通对于确定最佳做法和售出更多产品至关重要。

Tim 解释道:“我们在德国、法国和美国都销售杰克丹尼威士忌。我们希望相关人员能够了解各个国家的这些不同办事处如何看待各自的业务,以便我们能够比过去更好地利用最佳做法。”

这包括跨国贸易方面的最佳做法。在这类贸易中,团队需要深入洞悉定价和配送详情,以便有效管理货物品项 (SKU)。所有这些数据都存储在一个在 Microsoft Azure 云中运行的 Cloudera Hadoop 数据湖中,Brown-Forman 的 Tableau Server 也在此云中运行。得益于这种部署方式,Brown-Forman 的各个部门能够充分利用他们在技术上的现有投资,同时全球各个团队也能够通过 Tableau 协同确立和执行最佳做法并分享真知灼见。

Tim 表示:“从全球的角度来看,掌握所有这些信息并能够洞悉它们越发显得至关重要。现在,由于我们使用我们的逻辑数据仓库和 Tableau 制作出了仪表板,大家可以共同协作,所有这些信息也都可供访问了。”

我们的整体目标是先以推广活动打开市场,然后趁热打铁售出更多产品。Tableau 正在帮助我们达成这一目标。

提升新产品的品牌知名度

在 Brown-Forman 公司,品牌塑造是开展业务的基础:“我们对塑造品牌充满热情,甚至在提到我们的员工时,也是说我们拥有 4,500 名品牌塑造人员。 我们喜欢将每位员工的头衔都说成‘品牌塑造人员’”。

Brown-Forman 的产品系列十分全面,而且仍在不断扩大,比如,现在又新推出了 Coopers’ Craft 波旁酒、BenRiach 苏格兰威士忌和 Glenglassaugh 苏格兰威士忌等新品牌。当 Brown-Forman 推出一款新产品时,数据对于制定营销战略和决定如何有效地向消费者宣传起着关键作用。

Tim 透露:“营销部门已开始使用 Tableau 来确定推广活动的效果,以及我们应将营销资金投入到何处”。

借助 Tableau,Brown-Forman 可以跟踪营销开支的投资回报情况。有了这些分析洞见,营销团队就可以预测未来宣传活动的推广成效,同时还可以节省资金并提高品牌知名度。

“以往,推出新产品时,我们会在社交媒体上展开宣传攻势,可能还会投放一些电视广告,或许还会在某些地点的户外广告牌上进行宣传。 但现在,通过 Tableau,我们可以切实了解在这些不同宣传平台上投入的开支所带来的价值。”

以往,推出新产品时,我们会在社交媒体上展开宣传攻势,可能还会投放一些电视广告,或许还会在某些地点的户外广告牌上进行宣传。但现在,通过 Tableau,我们可以切实了解在这些不同宣传平台上投入的开支所带来的价值。

预测社交舆情以及在肯塔基赛马会期间的推广成效

Brown-Forman 的渥福典藏酒被誉为“肯塔基赛马会的官方波旁酒”。渥福典藏酒近期的一则广告中声称:“在肯塔基,除了马,也就只有波旁酒。”此言非虚。

在赛马会期间,参会者只需购买一瓶价值 1,000 美元的渥福典藏薄荷朱利酒,即可享受到特别的体验:可以参观肯塔基赛马博物馆的史迹陈列展,获得一个珍藏款薄荷朱利酒皇家酒杯,还可进入邱吉尔园马场的品牌酒吧。

“今年令我们十分兴奋的是,我们将能够获取远多于以往的社交信息,从而得以了解哪些群体在观看我们的宣传内容,哪些群体访问我们的网站,并且能确定他们观看的是什么内容。比如,他们观看的是否为价值 1,000 美元的薄荷朱利酒的视频?”

该团队还打算纳入天气数据以确定过去下雨或低温对赛马会推广活动有何影响,并据以预测在接下来的几年如何应对这类情况。

“在路易斯维尔这个地方,赛马会期间的天气有时比较炎热,有时也很冷。 我们以前遇到过在五月份赛马会期间下雪的情况。 所以让我们感到兴奋的是,今年我们将能够分析我们现在获得的所有信息,以确定今后应该怎么做。也就是说,我们可以分析出以前的哪些举措奏效,哪些则不得要领。”

“我们的整体目标是先以推广活动打开市场,然后趁热打铁售出更多产品。Tableau 正在帮助我们达成这一目标。”

我们已经习惯了订阅模式。我们使用的 Salesforce、G-Suite 和 Workday 都是采用这种模式。这就是我们的运营方式。我们之所以决定部署 Tableau 作为我们公司范围的可视化分析平台,订阅价模型功不可没。

首席信息官采用了具备灵活性且前期投资较低的 Tableau 订阅价模型

随着 Brown-Forman 对其数据基础架构进行现代化改造,他们下一步自然就需要找到一款可视化分析平台。

Tim 透露:“我们当时正在对我们的整个数据集进行现代化改造。我们选择了 Cloudera 作为我们的逻辑文件结构,此外还部署了一款 ETL(提取、变换和加载)工具,也就是 Talend。我们将所有这些信息都网罗了进来,并采取措施确保可以轻松访问它们。这时候就需要一款工具来分析所有这些精彩数据和信息,为我们带来真知灼见。”

高级副总裁兼首席信息官 Tim Nall 开始搜索可视化分析解决方案时,他更倾向于选择采用订阅模式的解决方案。

Tim 解释道:“我们已经习惯了订阅模式。我们使用的 Salesforce、G-Suite 和 Workday 都是采用这种模式。这就是我们的运营方式。我们之所以决定部署 Tableau 作为我们公司范围的可视化分析平台,订阅价模型功不可没。”

于是,Brown-Forman 在 2017 年 1 月采用了 Tableau Desktop 和 Tableau Server。得益于方便的订阅价模型,该公司的使用规模快速扩大到大约 1,000 名全球员工。而且,由于订阅价模型更加灵活,Brown-Forman 可以根据需求的变化扩大或缩减规模。

Tim 表示:“以任何规模起步都可以。可以选择一步到位的部署方式,让全体员工都开始使用;也可以先让少量员工使用,这样便于控制,之后再循序渐进地纵向扩展。”

“如果我们认定某员工需要成为 Tableau Desktop 用户,并且我们有比较成熟的能力来构建所需的分析模型时,我们就会打个电话将此人添加进来。”

随着越来越多的员工对 Tableau 爱不释手,Tim 打算为整个组织购买许可证:“我们计划继续扩展下去,运用 Tableau 深入分析各个方面,不论是我们的全球审计过程数据,还是监管和工厂问题,抑或是价格和推广效果,统统纳入分析范围,收获精辟的分析洞见。”

成立卓越中心,让 IT 部门成为单一事实来源

为了支持公司的分析战略,Brown-Forman 成立了一个分析卓越中心,由商业财务总监领导,首席信息官和首席财务官负责提供意见。

Tim 表示:“我们依照整体战略所做的工作,就是为了实现我们所说的‘让 IT 部门成为单一事实来源’这一目标。”

借助 Tableau Server,IT 部门可以有效进行管控并管理安全性,同时还能保证部署的灵活性。当某个部门希望引入一个新的数据源供整个公司使用时,卓越中心就会评估当前的基础架构并确定这笔投资所能带来的价值。

“战略需要有推动力量,数据科学家们也需要有一个基地。这个卓越中心就是这种不可或缺的砥柱。”

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Brown-Forman transforms marketing strategy, scaling Tableau to 1,000 users on the cloud


Quickly on-boarded 1,000 users with subscription
Visibility into operations data from 160 countries
Define ROI for promotional spend at Kentucky Derby

Brown-Forman is one of the largest American-owned spirits and wine companies, selling brands like Jack Daniel’s, Old Forester, and Woodford Reserve in more than 160 countries. Chief Information Officer, Tim Nall initially expanded Tableau across 1,000 global employees—from marketing and finance to supply chain and operations. Tableau’s subscription pricing fit with how Brown-Forman already operates, starting small and quickly scaling with demand. Today, marketing can track promotional effectiveness around the Kentucky Derby, helping forecast success for future campaigns. When launching new products, marketers understand how content resonates with consumers, increasing brand awareness and ultimately, helping ship more product.

From a global perspective, it becomes more and more paramount to have all of this information and be able to discern it. Now, with what we've created with our logical data warehouse and Tableau, people can collaborate and all of that information is accessible.

Gaining transparency into SKUs from 160 countries

Brown-Forman is among the top ten largest global spirits companies, with offices across the globe. With this global reach, communication is paramount to determining best practices and selling more product.

“We sell Jack Daniels in Germany, we sell Jack Daniels in France, we sell Jack Daniels in the U.S. We want people to be able to see how these different entities are looking at their business so that we can leverage best practices better than we have in the past,” explains Tim.

This includes best practices around trans-national trade, where teams need insight into pricing and shipping details so they can effectively manage stock keeping units (SKU). All of this data lands in a Cloudera Hadoop Data Lake, running in Microsoft’s Azure cloud, which is also where Brown-Forman runs Tableau Server. This allows Brown-Forman departments to leverage their existing technology investments and enables global teams to collaborate on best practices and share insights with Tableau.

“From a global perspective, it becomes more and more paramount to have all of this information and be able to discern it,” says Tim. “Now, with what we've created with our logical data warehouse and Tableau, people can collaborate and all of that information is accessible.”

Our whole goal is to promote and then ship more product following these promotions. Tableau is helping us reach that goal.

Driving brand awareness for new products

At Brown-Forman, brand building is a foundation of the business: “We're passionate about building brands and when we refer to our employees, we say we had 4,500 brand builders. We’d love to have everybody's title be ‘brand builder.’"

Brown-Forman’s product family is extensive and continues to grow with new brands like Coopers’ Craft bourbon, BenRiach scotch, and Glenglassaugh scotch. When Brown-Forman launches a new product, data is crucial to drive marketing strategy and to determine how to effectively connect with consumers.

“Marketing is starting to use Tableau to determine promotional effectiveness and where we should be spending our marketing dollars,” shares Tim.

With Tableau, Brown-Forman can track return on investment for marketing spend. With these insights, the marketing team can forecast promotion success for future campaigns—simultaneously saving money and increasing brand awareness.

“Historically with a new product, we would have gone to social media, probably some TV advertising, or maybe a billboard here and there. But now, with Tableau, we're able to really look at the value of that spend in those various arenas.”

Historically with a new product, we would have gone to social media, probably some TV advertising, or maybe a billboard here and there. But now, with Tableau, we're able to really look at the value of that spend in those various arenas.

Predicting social sentiment and promotion success at the Kentucky Derby

Brown-Forman’s Woodford Reserve is known as the “official bourbon of the Kentucky Derby.” As professed in a recent Woodford Reserve advertisement, “In Kentucky, horses are everything, and bourbon is everything else.”

During the Derby, attendees can purchase a $1,000 Woodford Reserve mint julep, giving them access to a special experience, complete with a historical display from the Kentucky Derby Museum, a collectable Mint Julep Royal Cup, and access to a branded bar at Churchill Downs.

“This year, we're pretty excited that we'll be able to pull in a lot more social information to understand who's looking at content, who's going to our websites, and determine what they’re viewing. For example, are they viewing the video of the $1,000 mint julep?”

The team also plans to overlay weather data to determine how rain or cold affected Derby promotions in the past and to predict how to approach these scenarios in future years.

“Here in Louisville, Derby can be hot, Derby can be cold. We've had snow on Derby in May before. So we're very excited that this year, we're going to be able to look at all the information that we now have to determine what we should do in the future—what worked, what didn't work.”

“Our whole goal is to promote and then ship more product following these promotions. Tableau is helping us reach that goal.”

We were very comfortable with a subscription model. We’re with Salesforce, we're with G-Suite, and we’re with Workday. This is how we operate. The subscription pricing model was a major factor in our decision to deploy Tableau as our enterprise-wide visual analytics platform.

CIO adopts Tableau subscription model for flexibility and lower up-front investment

As Brown-Forman modernized its data infrastructure, finding a visual analytics platform was the next logical step.

“We were modernizing our whole data set. We landed on Cloudera as our logical file structure and we have an ETL tool, which is Talend,” shares Tim. “We're bringing all this information in, we're putting it where it's readily accessible. We needed a tool that could take all of that great data and information and allow us to turn it into an insight.”

When Tim Nall, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer started searching for a visual analytics solution, he preferred a subscription model.

“We were very comfortable with a subscription model. We’re with Salesforce, we're with G-Suite, and we’re with Workday. This is how we operate,” explains Tim. “The subscription pricing model was a major factor in our decision to deploy Tableau as our enterprise-wide visual analytics platform.”

Brown-Forman adopted Tableau Desktop and Server in January of 2017. With subscription pricing, the company could quickly scale to around 1,000 global employees. And the added flexibility of a subscription model allows Brown-Forman to scale up or down as needs change.

“You can start at any size you want. You can start with a big bang and go all out with your entire employee population if you so choose or you can start with a manageable number of people and allow it to scale up,” says Tim.

“If we determine that somebody needs to be a Tableau Desktop user and have that full-blown capability to build the models that we're after, then we can make a phone call and add that person.”

As more employees get excited about Tableau, Tim plans to expand licenses across the organization: “We plan to continue expanding Tableau to glean insights from everything from our global auditing process data to regulatory and plant issues to pricing and promotional effectiveness.”

Creating a center of excellence with IT as the one source of truth

To support their analytics strategy, Brown-Forman established an analytics center of excellence, headed by Commercial Finance with input from the CIO and CFO.

“What we've done with our whole strategy is we've said IT will be the one source of the truth,” says Tim.

With Tableau Server, IT can manage governance and security, while securing deployment flexibility. When a department wants to bring in a new data source for company-wide use, the center of excellence assesses the current infrastructure and determines the value of the investment.

“Somewhere there has to be a driver for the strategy and there has to be a home for your data scientists. You could say that this center of excellence was a block in our pyramid that always needed to be there.”

You might also be interested in...