白皮书

为使用“数据问答”以自然语言交互准备数据

Tableau 的自然语言功能“数据问答”适用于 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 上的所有已发布数据源。但是,若要充分利用“数据问答”的所有优势,您需要整理优化数据源,为实现最佳分析对话提供支持。

为了帮助您在组织中部署“数据问答”,我们编汇制作了本指南,介绍如何整理数据源以打造成功的用户体验。

理解用户提出的问题

“数据问答”利用上下文来确定相关数据类型的属性,将话语分解为令牌(即包含时间、空间或数字表达式的短语),从而理解其意图。然后,它使用可视化最佳做法来确定最合适的可视化,满足用户意图。

假设某人想要就已发布数据源(包含今年迄今为止销售额)提问。他们可以在“数据问答”输入框中输入“一段时间内的利润是多少?”之类的问题。在这种情况下,“数据问答”将“利润”聚合为总和(默认聚合),从而解析用户意图。 它还将“时间”解析为数据源中的“订单日期”属性,按其年份进行聚合(图 1)。

图 1: “一段时间内的利润是多少?”的可视化输出

当所有属性都是预期的数据类型时,“数据问答”的推理算法最有效。在此示例中,预期数据类型为“日期”,可生成时间序列可视化(一段时间内的趋势)。应使用预期的默认聚合和数字格式指定度量。

借助“数据问答”功能,您可以就已发布数据源中的计算字段、列字段、组字段和数据桶字段进行英文提问。“数据问答”目前不支持集、参数、合并字段、合并集或分层结构。Tableau 正在努力研发,以便在以后的版本中添加对这些字段类型的支持。


“数据问答”中支持的分析表达式

目前存在五种基本类型的分析表达式。话语便是由这些表达式中的一个或多个组成。

“数据问答”支持以下分析表达式:

聚合表达式:将多行值组合在一起,根据数学函数形成单值。例如,“Sum of Sales”(销售总额)、“Average Profit”(平均利润)或“Count of Customers”(客户数量)。

分组表达式:此类表达式将数据划分为数据可视化中显示的不同类别,如“by Region”(按区域)或“by Sales”(按销售额)。

排序表达式:此类表达式将数据行按特定顺序(如升序、降序或字母顺序)排列。例如,“sort Products in ascending order by sum of Profit”(按利润总和的升序对产品进行排序)或“sort Customer Name in alphabetical order”(按字母顺序对客户名称进行排序)。

筛选表达式:此类表达式将返回所选字段域的子集。它们可以是数值筛选器,如“sum of Sales at least $2,000”(销售总额至少为 2,000 美元),也可以是类别筛选器,如“Customer Name starts with John”(客户名称以 John 开头”)或“Category contains Manufacturing”(类别包含制造)。

限制表达式:此类表达式与返回所选字段域子集的筛选表达式类似,但还会限制子集行数。例如,“”(销售总额排名前 5 的酿酒厂)或“bottom Category by average Profit”(平均利润最低的类别)。

了解更多有关支持的分析函数的信息。

“数据问答”为这些概念提供了一些常见的内置同义词,例如“from largest”(从最大值)表示降序,“mean”(均值)表示平均值。它还提供了一些缩写,如“cnt”表示计数、“avg”表示平均值等。请跳转下文了解如何向“数据问答”添加用户同义词。

此外,“数据问答”以绝对时间或相对时间的形式来体现时间表达式(与时间相关的表达式)。“数据问答”支持绝对时间概念,表达式如“starts in”(开始于)、“ends in”(结束于)和“between”(介于)。它还支持相对时间概念,例如“last 3 years”(过去 3 年)、“next quarter”(后一个季度)、“this month”(本月)、“today”(今天)和“yesterday”(昨天)等表达式。

准备数据源以实现最佳分析对话

“数据问答”专为与 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 上的任何已发布数据源配合使用而设计。为了提供实用默认值以便使用筛选表达式,“数据问答”利用字段的相关元数据丰富了语义模型。对于连续的数值型度量,这些元数据包括“最小值”、“最大值”和“平均值”等统计信息。对于文本字段,元数据则包含最常出现的值。

当用户在“数据问答”中键入筛选表达式时,系统就可以根据这些元数据来推荐相应的值。例如在下图中,由于元数据中“Price”(价格)属性的最小值为“$4”,系统会据此建议使用筛选词“at least”(至少)搭配“$4”。

图 2:由于元数据中“Price”(价格)属性的最小值为“$4”,系统会据此建议使用筛选词“at least”(至少)搭配“$4”。

对于采用行级安全保护机制的数据源,“数据问答”不会对字段的元数据进行特征分析、编制索引,也不会将它们存储在语义模型中。由于缺少元数据,“数据问答”无法提供默认筛选词(如图 2 所示)、识别诸如“cheap”(便宜)或“high”(高)这样的对比概念,也无法在数据窗格内的工具提示中显示配置文件数据。

不过,我们知道有些数据源确实有行级安全性方面的要求。在这类情况下,“数据问答”无法为数据源编制索引,但您仍然可以利用“数据问答”的优势,只需指定要作为筛选条件的确切值并用引号将这些值引起来即可。

例如,假设您想查看“wineries in california that have pinot noir”(加州酿造黑皮诺酒的葡萄酒厂)。如果数据源采用的是行级安全保护机制,那么您需要按如下所示输入查询内容:

Wineries filter State to “California” filter Variety to “Pinot Noir”

对于日期、布尔值和数字,无需加引号,这是因为“数据问答”可以自动解读这些类型的值,并将它们与相应的字段进行匹配。

如果您在组织中发布了已认证数据源,团队便可在“数据问答”中利用这些源。但您可能希望为最终用户开放其他源或重新整理现有源,以便能在“数据问答”中更轻松地进行分析。若要充分利用“数据问答”功能,请在整理数据时谨记以下几个方面。



整理数据时需考虑最终用户

如果数据管理员或分析师既了解如何准备数据以供分析,又能预测用户将使用自然语言询问哪些数据数据,那么使用经他们精心整理的数据,“数据问答”用户便能更好地回答问题。

阅读有关整理已发布数据源的最佳做法的更多内容。

为“数据问答”整理数据时,首先要尽可能简化已发布数据源。这意味着仅保留最小字段集供用户在“数据问答”中交互查询,并删除(或隐藏)数据源中不必要的字段。“数据问答”支持包含多达 1,000 个字段的数据源,但数据应越明确越好。这有助于提升整体系统性能,从而缩短初始化时间并加快解析自然语言话语。如果数据源运行较慢,可使用带有数据源筛选器(如果需要)的数据提取来提高性能。

整理数据源以便在“数据问答”中查询时,请考虑以下因素:

准备数据。尝试预测用户希望使用数据源回答哪些类型的问题。可能需要使用数据整理、联接操作和相关的数据准备功能来整理数据,以使其适用于回答这些预测问题。

设置适当的字段默认值。为每个字段指定正确的数据类型(例如字符串、数字、地理位置、日期、日期时间、布尔值)和数据字段角色(例如离散与连续、度量与维度)。为每个度量指定默认聚合函数。例如,“销售额”的适当默认值是 SUM,而对于“测试分数”,AVERAGE 或许是更合适的默认值。

设置百分比和货币数字格式。为了支持人们询问数据时惯于使用的常见口语概念,“数据问答”囊括了“low”(低)、“high”(高)、“lowest”(最低)、“highest”(最高)等基本概念和基于货币的概念,如“cheap”(便宜)和“expensive”(昂贵)及其相应的同义词。为了方便解析“show me the cheapest wineries in France”(显示法国最便宜的葡萄酒厂)等话语,需将数据源中的度量设置为适当的货币格式(如图 3 和图 4 所示)。

图 3:将数据源中的度量设置为适当的货币格式。

图 4:对于话语“cheapest wineries in France”(法国最便宜的葡萄酒厂),系统推断货币属性“Price”(价格)可表达“cheapest”(最便宜)概念。“数据问答”从“Price”(价格)的元数据中推断出一个数值范围。点击“cheapest”(最便宜)可以优化推断的数值。

设置逻辑分层结构。这允许用户在使用“数据问答”生成的可视化中上钻和下钻查询。这适用于地理维度(例如城市、省/市/自治区、国家/地区)、日期和时间(例如年、季度、月)以及功能相关维度(例如类别和子类别)。

在以下方案中,为定量变量创建有意义的分桶字段(数据桶大小适当):

  • 查看数据源中非度量字段的分桶版本。
    例如,“Age”(年龄)是一个数值维度,在 Tableau 中不能以直方图表示,因此使用“数据问答”。但是,在数据源中为“Age”(年龄)创建分桶字段后,用户可以使用其分桶版本提问(如图 5 所示)。

图 5:用户可以键入“by Age (bin)”(按年龄(数据桶))以条形图查看该维度的分桶形式。

  • 使用自定义数据桶设置在“数据问答”中引发直方图响应。
    使用自定义数据桶大小创建度量的分桶字段,可以更好地控制这些字段在“数据问答”中的显示方式。在下面的示例中(图 7),用户可以键入“Fare as a histogram”(票价直方图),“数据问答”将使用分桶字段“Fare (bin)”(票价(数据桶))中的自定义数据桶设置生成直方图。

图 6:在“数据”窗格中,右键点击(在 Mac 上按住 Control 键并点击)并选择“创建”>“数据桶”。

图 7:“Fare as a histogram”(票价直方图)表达式的可视化输出(自定义数据桶大小)

为字段指定唯一且有意义的名称

为了使最终用户更容易理解您的数据源,并增大人们通过“数据问答”获取所需答案的可能性,您应该审核数据源中的字段名称。

采取以下步骤,打造理想的用户体验:

为字段值创建有意义的别名。在 Tableau Desktop 中,您可以使用别名创建简单易用的字段名称(例如使用“CustID”表示“Customer ID”(客户 ID))。这是数据整理的标准建议。对于“数据问答”,您可以通过添加同义词获得更优体验。例如,人们也可以在内部使用“Customer Number”(客户编号)指代“Customer ID”(客户 ID)。在这些情况下,您可以将这些额外的同义词添加到“数据问答”以支持用户提问。

区分属性。为数据源中的属性分配唯一名称可以优化“数据问答”中的用户体验。如果表达不明确,则“数据问答”会查找与数据中的模式大致匹配的字符串(最多有一个字符差异),这也称为模糊字符串匹配。“数据问答”随后显示多个匹配项以供用户选择。在下面的示例中(图 8),数据源中存在多个包含“Sales”(销售额)一词的属性。但是,输入“sales”(销售额)仅出现三个匹配属性,因为输入的单词“sales”(销售额)和属性“Sales Foo”(销售额 Foo)相差不止一个字符。

图 8

此外,若属性对数据源的域有语义意义,则建议为这些属性命名,以便分析任务可以直观理解“数据问答”中提出的问题。例如,数据源中的每条记录都表示地震,则将“Number of Records”(记录数)重命名为“Number of Earthquakes”(地震次数)(图 9)。

图 9

检查字段名称。“数据问答”根据数据源中的字段筛选值。避免将字段命名为值,以防“数据问答”将数据字段误解为值(例如数字、日期或布尔值,如“true”或“false”)。此外,出于性能原因,“数据问答”不会对与支持的分析表达式重叠的字段进行索引。例如,避免使用“平均”、“2015 年销售额”或“最畅销产品”等字段名称。

对地理区域字段进行地理编码。对于具有地理角色的字段,请确保数据值已成功进行地理编码。对字段值成功进行地理编码后,该字段在“数据问答”中将被识别为地理属性,且数据窗格中将使用图标指示(图 10)。这类属性支持诸如“where are the highest fire fatalities?”(哪个地区的火灾死亡率最高?)之类的话语,系统识别令牌“where”(哪个地区)指示地图,并推断出“County”(县/市)等有效的地理属性。

图 10

添加相关计算字段

“数据问答”无法创建动态计算,因此您需要提前将预期的计算添加到数据源中。例如,创建一个名为“Total Compensation”(总薪酬)的计算字段,该字段的值由“Base (Variable)”(基本薪资(变量))中的最低基本薪资与“Commission (Variable)”(佣金(变量))中的总佣金相加所得,如此,用户即可输入“what is the total compensation for each sales person?”(每个销售人员的总薪酬是多少?)等问题。(图 11 和图 12)。

图 11:要创建计算字段,请选择“分析”>“创建计算字段”。要编辑计算字段,请右键点击“数据”窗格中的计算字段,然后选择“编辑”。

图 12:创建一个名为“Total Compensation”(总薪酬)的计算字段,该字段的值由“Base (Variable)”(基本薪资(变量))中的最低基本薪资与“Commission (Variable)”(佣金(变量))中的总佣金相加所得,如此,用户即可输入“what is the total compensation for each sales person?”(每个销售人员的总薪酬是多少?)等问题。

使用用户同义词丰富数据

您可以通过“数据问答”字段窗格为数据源中的字段定义同义词。例如,假设您有一个关于汽车购买情况的数据源,其中一个字段是“New Vehicle Model”(新车车型)。添加“vehicle purchased”(购买的车辆)和“car”(汽车)作为“New Vehicle Model”(新车车型)字段的同义词,即可支持“vehicles purchased by city”(各城市购买的车辆)(图 13)等自然语言话语。

图 13:要为特定数据字段添加同义词,请将鼠标悬停在数据源字段上,点击向下箭头,然后选择“编辑同义词”。输入该字段名称的同义词,以逗号分隔。

启用数据访问权限和治理

“数据问答”的安全和治理措施与您熟悉的 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 中的相关措施完全相同。以下部分将更加详细的介绍如何在“数据问答”中使用已认证数据源,以及如何控制整个组织对“数据问答”访问。


设置角色和权限

针对“数据问答”进行数据整理后,您就可以控制谁有权访问该功能。要使用“数据问答”,用户需要 Creator 或 Explorer 角色,并且还需具有 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 上的 Web 制作访问权限。Tableau Server 管理员可以指定站点级别权限,以确定有权访问 Web 制作功能的人员(如图 14 所示)。分析师和业务用户都会发现“数据问答”的价值,通过这种方式,他们可以快速、轻松地浏览数据源并即时发现有意义的见解。

深入了解 Web 制作权限

图 14:指定站点级别权限以确定有权访问 Web 制作功能(包括“数据问答”)的人员。

检查认证数据源

用户可以在 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 上认证数据源,表明它是受信任的优化数据源。这不是特定于功能的认证;没有“数据问答”特定认证。但是,如果用户想要特意对某数据源禁用“数据问答”,可以在 Tableau Server 用户界面的数据源设置中执行此操作(如图 15 和 16 所示)。

图 15

图 16:如果需要,在 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online 的数据源详细信息部分,您可以对某些数据源禁用“数据问答”。

“数据问答”让您组织中的每个人都能提出与其数据相关的问题。遵循这些数据整理指南可帮助您准备数据,从而使用自然语言获得最佳用户体验。

Whitepaper

Preparing data for natural language interaction in Ask Data

Ask Data, Tableau’s natural language capability, is built to work with all your published data sources on Tableau Server or Online. But in order to take advantage of all the benefits of Ask Data, your data sources need to be curated to support an optimal analytical conversation.

To help you deploy Ask Data in your organization, we’ve put together this guide on how to curate data sources for a successful user experience.

Understand people's questions

Ask Data leverages context to determine the attributes of the relevant data type, breaking utterances into tokens—phrases containing temporal, spatial, or numerical expressions—to understand intent. It then uses visual best practices to determine the most appropriate visualization to satisfy the user’s intent.

Let’s say someone wants to ask questions of a published data source containing year-to-date sales. They can type a question like “what is the profit over time?” into the Ask Data input box. In this case, Ask Data resolves the user’s intent by aggregating “Profit” as a sum—the default aggregation. It also resolves the intent of “time” to the attribute “Order Date” in the data source, aggregated at its year level (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Visualization output from the expression “what is the profit over time?”

Ask Data’s inference algorithm is most effective when all the attributes are of the expected data type. In this example, the expected data type would be Date, which produces the time-series visualization (trend over time). Measures should be specified with the expected default aggregation and numerical formatting.

With the Ask Data feature, you can ask questions in English about calculated fields, column fields, group fields, and bin fields in your published data sources. Ask Data does not currently support sets, parameters, combined fields, combined sets, or hierarchies. Tableau is working on adding support for these field types in later releases.


Supported analytical expressions in Ask Data

There are five basic types of analytical expressions. An utterance is made up of one or more of these expressions.

The following analytical expressions are supported in Ask Data:

Aggregation expressions: The values of multiple rows are grouped together to form a single value based on a mathematical function. For example, “Sum of Sales,” “Average Profit,” or “Count of Customers.”

Group expressions: Expressions that partition the data into categories shown in a data visualization, like “by Region” or “by Sales.”

Sort expressions: Expressions that arrange data rows in an order, like ascending, descending, or alphabetical. For example, “sort Products in ascending order by sum of Profit” or “sort Customer Name in alphabetical order.”

Filter expressions: Expressions that return a subset of the field’s domain. They can be numerical filters like “sum of Sales at least $2,000” or categorical filters like “Customer Name starts with John” or “Category contains Manufacturing.”

Limit expressions: Expressions akin to Filters that return a subset of the field’s domain, restricting up to a subset of rows. For example, “top 5 Wineries by sum of Sales” or “bottom Category by average Profit.”

Learn more about supported analytical functions.

Ask Data provides some common built-in synonyms for these concepts, like “from largest” for descending order and “mean” for average. It also provides some abbreviations like “cnt” for count, “avg” for average, etc. Skip ahead to learn how to add user synonyms to Ask Data.

Additionally, Ask Data represents temporal expressions—expressions relating to time—as either absolute or relative. Ask Data supports absolute time concepts, with expressions like “starts in,” “‘ends in,” and “between.” It also supports relative time concepts for expressions like “last 3 years,” “next quarter,” “this month,” “today,” and “yesterday.”

Prepare data sources for an optimal analytical conversation

Ask Data is designed to work with any published data source on Tableau Server or Online. To provide convenient defaults for filter expressions, Ask Data enriches the semantic model with metadata about the fields. For continuous numerical measures, this metadata includes statistical information such as “minimum,” “maximum,” and “average.” For text fields, metadata contains the most commonly occurring values.

As a user types a filter expression in Ask Data, this metadata allows the system to provide suggestions for values. For example, in the figure below, “$4” is provided as the minimum value in the metadata for the attribute “Price” and the filter “at least.”

Figure 2: “$4” is provided as the minimum value in the metadata for the attribute “Price” and the filter “at least.”

For data sources with row-level security, Ask Data does not profile, index, or store metadata for the fields in the semantic model. With the absence of metadata, Ask Data cannot provide filter defaults (as shown in Figure 2), recognize comparative concepts such as “cheap” or “high,” or show profile data in tooltips in the data pane.

However, we understand that row-level security requirements exist for some data sources. In these circumstances, Ask Data can’t index your data sources, but you can still take advantage of the benefits of Ask Data by specifying the exact values you want to filter on and surrounding those values in quotes.

For example, let’s say you wanted to see “wineries in california that have pinot noir”. If the data source had row-level security, you would need to input your query as:

Wineries filter State to “California” filter Variety to “Pinot Noir”

No need to use quotes for dates, booleans, or numbers, since Ask Data can automatically interpret values of those types and match them to appropriate fields.

If you already publish certified data sources for your organization, teams can leverage these sources in Ask Data. But you may want to open up additional sources to your end users or reshape existing sources for easier analysis in Ask Data. To get the most out of the Ask Data feature, curate your data with the following factors in mind.


Curate your data with the end user in mind

Ask Data users are far more successful at answering questions when the data has been carefully curated by a data steward or analyst who both understands how to prepare data for analysis and can anticipate the kinds of questions users will ask of the data using natural language.

Read more about best practices for curating a Published Data Source.

When curating data for Ask Data, start by simplifying your published data sources as much as possible. That means keeping a minimal set of fields that users will query in their interaction with Ask Data and removing (or hiding) unnecessary fields from the data source. Ask Data supports data sources with up to 1,000 fields, but the less ambiguity, the better. This helps with the overall system performance for faster initialization time and parsing of the natural language utterances. If the data source is slow, use a data extract with datasource filters (if needed) to improve performance.

Consider the following factors when curating data sources for querying in Ask Data:

Prepare your data. Try to anticipate the types of questions users will want to answer with the data source. Data shaping, join operations, and related data prep functions may be needed to get the data into a suitable shape for answering these anticipated questions.

Set up appropriate field defaults. Give each field the correct data type (e.g. string, number, geographic, date, datetime, boolean) and data field role (e.g. discrete vs. continuous, measure vs. dimension). For each measure, assign default aggregation functions. For example, SUM may be an appropriate default for “Sales,” but AVERAGE might be a better default for “Test Score.”

Set up percent and currency number formats. To support common, colloquial concepts that people tend to ask of their data, Ask Data includes concepts such as “low,” “high,” “lowest,” “highest,” and currency-based concepts such as “cheap” and “expensive,” along with their corresponding synonyms. To facilitate utterances like “show me the cheapest wineries in France,” set up measures in the data source with the appropriate currency format (as shown in Figure 3 and 4).

Figure 3: Set up measures in the data source with the appropriate currency format.

Figure 4: For the utterance “cheapest wineries in France,” the system infers a currency attribute ‘Price’ for the concept ‘cheapest.’ Ask Data infers a numeric range from the metadata for ‘Price’. Clicking on ‘cheapest’ refines the inferred numerical values.

Set up logical hierarchies. This allows users to drill up and down within visualizations produced using Ask Data. This applies to geographic dimensions (e.g. City, State, Country), dates and time (e.g. year, quarter, month), and functionally dependent dimensions (e.g. Category and Sub-category).

Create meaningful binned fields (with appropriate bin sizes) for quantitative variables in the following scenarios:

  • Viewing a binned version of a field that is not a measure in the data source.
    For example, “Age” is a numerical dimension that cannot be represented as a histogram in Tableau, and therefore Ask Data. However, creating a binned field for Age in the data source allows a user to ask a question using its binned version (as shown in Figure 5).

Figure 5: A user can type “by Age (bin)” to view a binned form of the dimension as a bar chart.

  • Eliciting histogram responses in Ask Data with custom bin settings.
    Creating binned fields of measures with custom bin sizes allows for more control over how these fields are displayed in Ask Data. In the example below (Figure 7), the user can type “Fare as a histogram” and Ask Data will use the custom bin settings from the binned field “Fare (bin)” to generate a histogram.

Figure 6: In the Data pane, right-click (control-click on Mac) and select Create > Bins.

Figure 7: Visualization output of the expression, “Fare as a histogram” with custom bin sizes.

Give fields unique and meaningful names

To make your data source more understandable by end users—and increase the chances that people get the answers they need from Ask Data—you should audit the field names in your data source.

Take the following steps for an ideal user experience:

Create meaningful aliases for field values. In Tableau Desktop, you can create user-friendly field names with aliases (e.g. “CustID” is “Customer ID”). This is a standard recommendation for data curation. For Ask Data, you can take this a step further by adding synonyms. For example, people may also use “Customer Number” to refer to “Customer ID” internally. In these circumstances, you could add these additional synonyms to Ask Data to support users’ questions.

Differentiate your attributes. Assigning unique names to attributes in your data source can provide a better user experience in Ask Data. If there is ambiguity in the expression, Ask Data finds strings that approximately match a pattern in your data up to one character difference, also known as fuzzy string matching. Ask Data then shows these multiple matches as options. In the example below (Figure 8), multiple attributes containing the word “Sales” exist in the data source. However, just typing “sales” only matches three attributes as the input word “sales” and the attribute “Sales Foo” differ by more than one character.

Figure 8

It is also recommended to name attributes that are semantically meaningful to the domain of the data source so that the questions posed in Ask Data are intuitive to the analytical task. For example, “Number of Records” is renamed as “Number of Earthquakes,” where each record is an earthquake in the data source (Figure 9).

Figure 9

Check field names. Ask Data filters values by the fields in the data source. Avoid naming fields as values to prevent Ask Data from misinterpreting data fields as values (e.g. numbers, dates, or boolean values such as “true” or “false”). Also, for performance reasons, Ask Data doesn’t index fields that overlap with the supported analytical expressions. For example, avoid using field names like “Average,” “Sales in 2015,” or “Most Products Sold.”

Geocode geographic fields. For fields with geographic roles, be sure that the data values are successfully geocoded. Fields whose values are successfully geocoded are recognized as geographic attributes in Ask Data, indicated by an icon in the data pane (Figure 10). Such attributes support utterances like “where are the highest fire fatalities?” with the system recognizing the token “where” to indicate a map and inferring a valid geographic attribute like “County.”

Figure 10

Add relevant calculated fields

Ask Data cannot create on-the-fly calculations, so you need to add anticipated calculations to the data source in advance. For example, creating a calculated field called “Total Compensation” that adds the minimum base salary from “Base (Variable)” with the total commission from “Commission (Variable)” allows users to type questions like “what is the total compensation for each sales person?” (Figure 11 and 12).

Figure 11: To create a calculated field, select Analysis > Create Calculated Field. To edit a calculated field, right-click the calculated field in the Data pane and select Edit.

Figure 12: Creating a calculated field called “Total Compensation” that adds the minimum base salary from “Base (Variable)” with the total commission from “Commission (Variable)” allows users to type questions like “what is the total compensation for each sales person?”

Enrich data with user synonyms

You can define synonyms for fields within a data source through the Ask Data fields pane. For example, let’s assume you have a data source on car purchases and one of the fields is “New Vehicle Model.” Adding “vehicle purchased” and “car” as synonyms for the “New Vehicle Model” field, can support natural language utterances such as “vehicles purchased by city” (Figure 13).

Figure 13: To add synonyms for specific data fields, hover over a data source field, click the down arrow, and choose Edit synonyms. Enter synonyms for the field name, separated by commas.

Enable data access and governance

Ask Data has the same security and governance measures you are familiar with in Tableau Server or Online. The following sections provide more information on using certified data sources with Ask Data and controlling access to Ask Data throughout your organization.


Set roles and permissions

Once you’ve curated your data for Ask Data, you can control who has access to the feature. To use Ask Data, users need Creator or Explorer roles and have web authoring access on Tableau Server or Online. Tableau Server administrators can specify permissions at the site level to determine who has access to web authoring capabilities (as shown in Figure 14). Both analysts and business users will find value from Ask Data as a quick and easy way to explore a data source and find meaningful insights on the fly.

Learn more about web authoring permissions.

Figure 14: Specify permissions at the site level to determine who has access to web authoring capabilities (including Ask Data).

Check certified data sources

Users can certify a data source on Tableau Server or Online to indicate that it is trusted and curated. This certification is not feature-specific; there is no Ask Data specific certification. However, if a user wants to specifically disable Ask Data for a data source, they can do so in the data source settings in the Tableau Server user interface (as shown in Figures 15 and 16).

Figure 15

Figure 16: If needed, you can disable Ask Data for certain data sources in the data source details section of Tableau Server or Online.

Ask Data offers the potential for everyone in your organization to ask questions of their data. Following these data curation guidelines will help you prepare your data for an ideal user experience using natural language.

You might also be interested in...