白皮书

管理组织中的数据准备混乱情况

随着自助式分析成为数据驱动型组织的新趋势,为确保有效使用数据,许多人将利用可用的工具和功能尽其所能做好准备(例如剪切和粘贴或编写大量对服务器而言并非最佳的计算)。甚至连分析师也报告说,实际上,他们的主要工作不是分析,而是按照 ETL(提取、转换和加载)流程,使用自助式数据准备工具,甚至是 Excel 等电子表格工具来清理和重整数据。

数据准备历来是 IT 的职能,但如今数据格局已进一步发展。自助式数据准备工具不仅使最了解数据的人员能够自行准备数据,同时也减轻了 IT 在这方面的工作负担。但自助式数据准备仍然是一项全新的技能组合,有待进一步开发和推广,以便用户能够有效地理解和使用准备功能,确立可重复的流程并将其自动化以提高效率,并最终建立对数据的信任和信心,实现更广泛地数据使用。

Tableau 曾为可视化分析提供助力,现在也将为数据准备提供支持。借助 2018 年春季发布的 Tableau Prep Builder,通过可视化的智能型直接数据准备,能够更轻松地访问数据。现在,请了解如何使用 Tableau Prep Conductor 计划 Tableau Prep Builder 流程,使其在可扩展且可靠的集中式服务器环境中运行,以便数据始终保持最新状态。借助它,管理员还可以了解整个组织内的自助式数据准备情况。通过 Tableau Prep Conductor,您可以使用 Tableau 服务器环境管理、监视和保护流程。Tableau Prep Conductor 与 Tableau Server 和 Tableau Online 集成,利用现有的计划、跟踪和安全性功能。

本白皮书面向 IT 专业人员和 IT 决策者,帮助他们更深刻理解大规模自助式数据准备的注意事项,以及 Tableau Prep Conductor 如何帮助管理受管控的数据准备环境。

继续阅读...

Whitepaper

Managing the data prep chaos in your organization

With self-service analysis the new norm for data-driven organizations, many people will do what prep they can with the available tools and capabilities to make the data work for them—whether it’s cutting and pasting or writing huge calculations that aren’t optimal for the server. Even analysts report that the majority of their job is not analysis, but actually cleaning and reshaping data—with an ETL process, in self-service data prep tools, or even in spreadsheet tools like Excel.

Data preparation has historically been an IT function, but the data landscape has evolved. Self-service data preparation tools put the power in hands of the people who know the data the best while reducing the burden on IT to prepare it. But self-service data prep is still a brand new skill set; it needs to be developed and rolled out to enable users to understand and perform prep functions effectively, establish repeatable processes, automate them for efficiency, and ultimately build trust and confidence in the data for wider use.

What Tableau did for visual analysis, we are now doing for data preparation. With Tableau Prep Builder, released in the spring of 2018, data is even more accessible with visual, smart, and direct data prep. Now meet Tableau Prep Conductor—schedule your Tableau Prep Builder flows to run in a centralized, scalable, and reliable server environment so your data is always up to date. It also gives administrators visibility into self-service data preparation across their organization. With Tableau Prep Conductor, you can manage, monitor, and secure flows using your Tableau server environment. Tableau Prep Conductor is integrated to Tableau Server and Tableau Online, leveraging existing scheduling, tracking, and security functionality.

This paper is intended for IT professionals and IT decision makers to more deeply understand the considerations for self-service data preparation at scale and how Tableau Prep Conductor can help manage a governed data prep environment.

Continue Reading...

You might also be interested in...