如何评估商业智能工具

如何评估商业智能工具


当今的组织正努力设法充分利用其最重要的两项资产:员工和数据。为此,组织需要能够为整个企业提供支持的现代分析平台。

一个真正为企业准备的平台应有助于提高业务敏捷性,同时不会影响管控或安全性。以下是评估现代分析平台需要考虑的五个事项。

1.您是否能以可视化方式查看数据?

使用 Tableau 商业智能工具以可视化方式查看数据。(将手放在计算机上,屏幕上显示图形)

可视化分析平台应能帮助您轻而易举地解决问题。此平台应支持以可视化方式查看数据、随操作实时提供可视化反馈并有助于发现见解。还应支持通过创建美观的可视化共享发现成果 - 所有操作均可在同一个直观界面上完成,无需为进行各类分析而切换使用不同的产品。

仅观看演示是不够的;不如立即注册免费试用版,亲自试试这一强大的工具。尝试找出一系列问题的答案,而不仅限于解决一个问题。看看在不具备编码或编程知识的情况下,是否能够进行深入分析和无限的探索。

2.部署选项是否支持现有数据策略?

商业智能部署

如果不能轻松连接到数据,那么即使最强大的分析工具也毫无使用价值。无论数据在哪儿,恰当的分析平台都可提供经过优化的数据本机连接,从而加快分析速度。此平台支持实时分析数据,无需将数据移至内存中。此平台还能以优化的性能对数据库进行查询,有助于组织充分利用对数据库的投资。

通过此平台,还可以选择在所需的任何位置(云端和/或本地)部署分析。此平台应与现有数据策略无缝集成,而不会强制组织更改或购买其他产品。还应轻松嵌入公司门户和其他企业应用程序,以便随时随地满足用户需求。

3.此平台是否可实现大规模受管控的自助式分析?

商业分析工具中受管控的自助服务

为了实现数据价值最大化,组织需要大规模部署受管控的自助式分析。若要为整个企业提供支持,需要使用受到业务部门欢迎和 IT 信赖的分析工具。

通过恰当的平台,组织可采用 IT 支持的业务导向型分析方法。借助此平台,IT 可建立受管控的安全环境,以保护数据并确保完整性,而不牺牲业务敏捷性和创新能力。

通过恰当的平台,每个人(甚至包括非分析人员)可围绕数据展开讨论并利用相关见解。这有助于组织形成分析文化,让数据成为每个人制定业务决策时需要考虑的核心因素。

4.什么是总拥有成本?

商业智能总拥有成本

评估平台时,请考虑总拥有成本。不要把价格作为制定决策的唯一参考因素;应进行综合比较。对于免费平台,应考虑在企业环境中运营所需的所有其他额外费用,包括现在和将来的费用。

免费工具可能会大大增加成本。此类工具往往需要使用更多产品、人员和基础结构才能满足企业级需求。您很可能必须自己摸索如何让一切正常运作。

5.该公司是否致力于帮助客户获得成功?

客户成功运用商业智能

购置解决方案时,应寻找一家努力促进客户成功的公司。所选公司应致力于通过分析平台为客户提供支持。该公司是否已对其分析平台进行了多年研究和开发?根据过往记录,该公司是否会继续创新?该公司是否注重提升用户能力,帮助客户提高采用率?

借鉴同行的经验。这些客户是否有使用热情?他们是否借助产品取得了成功?他们的激情和热情直接体现了其通过产品取得的成功及其对相关技能的需求。这还意味着他们已积累了丰富的知识,您可以借鉴这些知识,帮助自己采用相应产品并获得成功。

更多商业智能评估资源

商业智能评估指南

在向现代商业智能模型过渡的过程中,IT 必须采用能够让业务部门在所有层面参与整个项目的协作方式。本指南重点介绍平台的评估和选择。IT 部门应与业务部门用户和分析师协作,借助本指南评估每种平台的现代分析工作流执行能力,以及满足组织中用户的各种需求的能力。

Tableau 的独特之处

许多工具声称具有“媲美 Tableau”的功能,但您需要了解这些替代工具的实际效果。此简短视频将展示 Tableau 和其他商业智能工具的区别。这些差异非常重要,您会看到其他工具的缺陷会导致成本大幅增加。

客户案例
AmeriPride 客户案例

AmeriPride 是北美洲最大的制服租赁和亚麻供应公司之一,拥有超过 115 个制造厂和服务中心。AmeriPride 首席信息官介绍了在保持秩序和数据安全的情况下,公司如何通过平衡自助式分析和访问,从数据中获取更多价值。

Tableau 可能是我们用过的最简便的工具,因为它能在短短 14 天后,就带来投资回报。

查看 Gartner 对于 Tableau 的评价

了解促使 Tableau 成为商业智能和分析行业领先者的五大原因,然后获取报告。

获取报告

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

How to evaluate BI tools

How to evaluate BI tools


Today’s organizations are seeking to fully leverage their two greatest assets, their people and their data. To do so, they’re seeking a modern analytics platform that can empower the entire enterprise.

An enterprise-ready platform supports business agility without sacrificing governance or security. Here are five things to consider when evaluating a modern analytics platform.

1. Can you visually explore your data?

Visually explore data with Tableau's BI tools. (hands on computer with graphs on screen)

Choose a visual analytics platform that lets you naturally solve problems. This platform should let you visually explore your data, offering visual feedback as you go and helping you uncover insights. It should also enable you to share your findings by creating beautiful visualizations—all from the same intuitive interface and without the need to switch between different products for different types of analysis.

Don’t just watch a demo; sign up for a free trial and take the tool for a test-drive. Try to answer a set of questions, not just one. See if you can dive deep into your analysis and conduct limitless exploration without coding or programming knowledge.

2. Do the deployment options support your existing data strategy?

Business intelligence deployment

Even the most powerful analytics tool is useless if it can’t easily connect to your data. The right analytics platform offers optimized native connections to your data, no matter where it lives, so you can get to your analysis faster. It lets you analyze your data live without having to bring it in-memory. And it queries your databases with optimized performance to help you make the most of your database investments.

This platform should also give you the choice to deploy your analytics wherever you want—in the cloud, on-premises, or a hybrid of both. It should integrate seamlessly with your existing data strategy instead of forcing you to change or buy additional products. It should also embed easily into your company portals and other enterprise applications so you can meet your users where they are.

3. Does it enable governed self-service analytics at scale?

Governed self-service in business analytics tools

In order to maximize the value of your data, you need to deploy governed self-service analytics at scale. And in order to empower the entire organization, you need an analytics tool that the business loves and IT trusts.

The right platform empowers organizations to take an IT-enabled, business-led approach to analytics. It enables IT to establish a secure and governed environment that protects the data and ensures its integrity without compromising business agility and innovation.

The right platform enables everyone, even non-analysts, to have conversations around data and leverage insights. It helps organizations foster a culture of analytics and make data central to everyone’s business decisions.

4. What is the total cost of ownership?

BI total cost of ownership

When evaluating platforms, consider the total cost of ownership. Don’t just base your decision on the price tag; conduct a full comparison. Add in all the other extra components that you’d need to make that free platform work in your enterprise environment—both now and in the future.

Free tools can add up to a big cost. They often require more products, people, and infrastructure to meet your enterprise-grade requirements. And you’ll likely have to figure out how to make everything work on your own.

5. Is the company committed to the success of its customers?

Business intelligence success at the customer level

Invest in a company that is invested in your success. Choose a company with a mission to empower people with its analytics platform. Has the company invested years of research and development into its analytics platform? Does its history indicate the company will continue to innovate? Does it prioritize user enablement to help customers drive adoption?

Rely on the experience of your peers. Are the customers passionate? Have they had success with the product? Their passion and enthusiasm are a direct indication of the success they’ve have had with the product as well as the demand for the skill. It also means they’ve built up a rich knowledge base that you can then leverage to drive your own adoption and success.

More BI Evaluation Resources

Whitepapers
BI Evaluation Guide

The transition to a modern business intelligence model requires IT to adopt a collaborative approach that includes the business in all aspects of the overall program. This guide focuses on the platform evaluation and selection. It is intended for IT to use collaboratively with business users and analysts as they assess each platform’s ability to execute on the modern analytics workflow and address the diverse needs of users across the organization.

Product Video
How Tableau is different

Many tools claim “Tableau-like” capabilities, but it’s important to understand what you’re really getting with alternatives. This short video shows you what’s different about Tableau vs. other BI tools. Differences matter, and as you’ll see, they add up to a lot.

Customer Story
AmeriPride Customer Story

AmeriPride is one of the largest uniform rental and linen supply companies in North America, operating over 115 production facilities and service centers. AmeriPride’s Chief Information Officer explains how the company gets more value from its data by balancing self-service analytics and access, while maintaining order and data security.

Tableau was probably the easiest approval we've ever had because the ROI was already there after 14 days.

See what Gartner says about Tableau

Read the top five reasons Tableau is an industry leader in BI and analytics, then get the report.

Get the report

You might also be interested in...