选择自己的奇遇

一款交互式分析游戏

智者,您已到达。

您将以智者分析师的角色开始玩 选择自己的奇遇。祝您好运!

每年前往各地旅行的游客人数超过十亿。他们在全球旅行中的消费总额超过 8850 亿美元。那么他们是什么人?地点又在哪里

哪个国家的游客消费最高?

您选择:

构建带有国家名称和旅游支出的散点图。然后在 Tableau 中按照支出将各国分配到不同群集,这样很容易看到 (1) 美国的游客消费极高,是一个异常值,(2) 德国和英国的游客消费也很高,构成了明显的第二组。

您发现:

来自美国的游客在旅游时花的钱最多,远高于其他国家。随后是来自德国和英国的游客。

高级分析技术:

您使用了聚类分析,或群集分析。聚类分析是一种用于对数据点进行分组的统计方法。它可以帮助您创建具有相似成员的组,而不同组的成员之间有明显区别。Tableau 使用 k-均值聚类分析算法和一种基于方差的分区方法,确保运行之间的一致性。详细了解 Tableau 中聚类分析的工作原理

现在,您想知道…

这种模式是否始终与事实一致?

您选择:

使用 Tableau 中的页面功能区来分析一段时间内的变化,您可以在该功能区点击查看一段时期内的各个数据视图。您根据高额游客消费创建了一个国家集。您注意到,来自美国、德国和英国的游客近年来的旅游消费一直位居前列,并且其领先地位已经保持了很长的时间。

您发现:

的确,自 1995 年以来,美国游客一直是花钱最多的游客。但在 2009 年,国际游客消费出现了有趣的情况…

分析技术:

您在几秒钟内执行了时间序列分析,在间隔相等的连续时间点绘制了一个项序列。这常常用于表示从过去的值到现在或将来的值的变化过程。您还创建了一个,一个包含不同但彼此相关的项的集合。

此操作引出了最终的问题:

每个国家/地区都在 2009 年回落。发生了什么事情?

您选择:

在 Tableau 中使用表计算,查看一段时间内的入境游客数量和游客支出的百分比差异。您可以借助表计算针对整个维度进行计算 — 这里的维度是时间。您在两个度量中都发现了自己预测的下滑。

您发现:

在 2008 年和 2009 年之间,全球各国都出现了入境总人数和游客消费同时下降的情况。2008 年的衰退对旅游业产生了很大影响 — 但在衰退之后,美国的旅游业恢复得比其他国家更好。

分析技术:

您通过单键操作,计算了整个数据集的百分比差异 — 两个值之差除以初始值。

祝贺您,智者分析师。


如果某人不能从过去吸取教训 — 您定然不屑与之为伍。您已经掌握了“告之诸往而知来者”的艺术。

Tweet: #HardcoreAnalytics: I can control the hands of time—I’m a Sage analyst! What type of analyst are you? https://ctt.ec/8cJ2N+

开始新的奇遇,角色为:

先知分析师

航行者分析师

总策划分析师



使用 Tableau 进行高级分析

探索 Tableau 高级分析功能的工作原理。



试用 Tableau Desktop

连接到自己的数据,在实践中体验纯正的分析。

Choose Your Own Adventure

An interactive analytics game

You've arrived, Sage.

You're playing Choose Your Own Adventure as the Sage analyst. Good luck!

Over one billion tourists travel each year. They spend over $885 billion on their trips worldwide. But who? And where?

Which country’s tourists spend the most money?

You choose to:

Build a scatterplot with country names and tourism expenditure. Then, you cluster countries by expenditure in Tableau, making it easy to see that (1) the United States is an outlier with high tourist spend, and (2) Germany and the UK form a distinct second group with high spending from their tourists as well.

You discover that:

Tourists from the U.S. spend the most money while traveling—by far. Tourists from Germany and the UK are runners up.

Advanced analytics technique:

You used clustering, or cluster analysis. Clustering is a statistical method for grouping data points. It helps you create groups with members similar to each other, and distinctly dissimilar from members of other groups. Tableau uses the k-means clustering algorithm with a variance-based partitioning method, which ensures consistency between runs. Learn more about how clustering works in Tableau.

Now you want to know…

Has this pattern always been the case?

You choose to:

Analyze the change over time by using the Pages shelf in Tableau, which allows you to click through views of your data over time. You create a set of countries based on high tourist spend. You note that tourists from the United States, Germany, and the UK, have led tourism spend in recent years, and haven’t changed position in quite some time.

You discover that:

Yes, since at least 1995, U.S. tourists have been the most spendy. But something funny happened to international tourist spend in 2009…

Analytics technique:

You conducted time series analysis in a few seconds, which plots a sequence of items at successive, equally spaced points in time. It’s often used to express the change of past values to current or future ones. You also created a set, a collection of distinct but related items.

This leads you to your final question:

Every country had a fallback in 2009. What was going on?

You choose to:

View the percent difference in number of arrivals and tourist expenditure over time, using table calculations in Tableau. Table calculations allow you to calculate across a dimension—in this case, time. You spot the dip you were looking for in both measures.

You discover that:

Between 2008 and 2009, countries worldwide saw a decline in both total number of tourist arrivals and tourist spend. The Recession of 2008 had a substantial impact on the tourism industry—though tourism in the United States bounced back more than other countries post-recession.

Analytics technique:

You calculated the percent difference for the entire dataset—the difference between two values divided by the initial value—in one click.

Congratulations, Sage analyst.

Those who do not learn the lessons of the past—are definitely not your kind of people. You’ve mastered the art of looking back to look forward.

Tweet: #HardcoreAnalytics: I can control the hands of time—I’m a Sage analyst! What type of analyst are you? https://ctt.ec/8cJ2N+

Start a new adventure as:

Prophet Analyst

Voyager Analyst

Mastermind Analyst



Advanced Analytics with Tableau

Discover how Tableau's advanced analytics features work.



Trial Tableau Desktop

Connect to your own data and discover hardcore analytics in action.