罗格斯大学学生使用 Tableau 分析几十年间歌曲的“可起舞性”


Tableau 教学版 (TfT) 是一项供教师在课堂上免费使用 Tableau 的计划,其用意是帮助学生更好地分析和可视化数据。参与者来自各种学科,有工商管理、计算机科学,还有公众健康。最近,罗格斯大学通信和信息学院的学生们与我们分享了他们的课堂计划。他们的导师 Anselm Spoerri 教授给全班布置了一项任务:评估和设计创新的可视化。

收到这项任务后,两名学生 Shaun Ellis 和 Thomas Engelhardt 决定创建一个可按可起舞性搜索歌曲的仪表板。可起舞性?是的。那哪些因素可以让一首歌令人闻歌起舞呢?听听 Shaun 和 Thomas 有什么要说的:

你们如何定义可起舞性?
可起舞性是使用一系列歌曲特征来评定的,如节奏强度、节拍稳定性和整体节拍。返回的值决定了在整首歌的播放过程中,一个人可能随歌而舞的容易程度。

你们项目的想法从何而来?
面对 21 世纪出现的所有这些神奇技术,以及保存在全世界服务器上的巨量数据,我们想知道能不能使用可视化软件分析美国的热门流行歌曲,看看有没有公式、最佳做法或其他很酷的东西与创作热门歌曲产生关联。

你们分析了多少首歌?
根据销量和电台播放量,Billboard 百强单曲榜数据在上世纪六十年代开始大致稳定下来,所以我们决定获取在百强榜上最高达到 1 至 10 名的任何歌曲的数据,从 1960 年 1 月开始,一直到我们开始项目的那一周结束,也就是 2010 年 10 月 2 日。结果达到了 4200 多首歌曲!

我喜欢无意中找到有趣的可视化。这款软件功能非常丰富...我发现自己本来只是想测试一下什么功能,结果偶然发现了并不是我专门要找的某种数据关系,这时我会喜出望外,这都是因为动态可视化会出现。

对于使用 Tableau,您最喜欢的是什么?
我喜欢无意中找到有趣的可视化。这款软件功能非常丰富,所以我们没有很多时间真正深入其中,在整个学期里学习我们想要的所有内容。我发现自己本来只是想测试一下什么功能,结果偶然发现了并不是我专门要找的某种数据关系,这时我会喜出望外,这都是因为动态可视化会出现。对于探索抽象数据集来说,这个程序太棒了。

对于使用 Tableau,您最不喜欢的是什么?
在我们设法展示成果时,我们能做的就只有获取屏幕截图和鼓动别人下载 Tableau Reader(可能性不大)。不过现在,我看到了通过 Tableau Public 可以达到什么效果!

单击此处查看研究成果 - 如按年的平均可起舞性。
单击此处查看 Tableau 自己的数据分析结果。

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Rutgers University Students Analyze the "Danceability" of Songs Over the Decades Using Tableau


Tableau for Teaching (TfT) is a program that offers free classroom use of Tableau for instructors aiming to help their students better analyze and visualize data. Participants vary in discipline, from business administration, computer science, to public health. Recently, students at the Rutgers University School of Communication and Information shared their class project with us. Their instructor, Professor Anselm Spoerri assigned the class to evaluate and design innovative visualizations.

Tasked with this assignment, two students, Shaun Ellis and Thomas Engelhardt decided to create a dashboard where you can search songs by danceability. Danceability? Yes. Now what makes a particular song danceable? See what Shaun and Thomas had to say:

How do you define danceability?
Danceability is measured using a mixture of song features such as beat strength, tempo stability, and overall tempo. The value returned determines the ease with which a person could dance to a song over the course of the whole song.

Where did the idea for your project come from?
With all this wonderful technology present in the 21st century, and boatloads of data sitting on servers all around the world, we wondered if we could analyze hit U.S. pop songs using visualization software and see if there are any formulas/best practices/other cool stuff associated with creating a hit song.

How many songs did you analyze?
Based on sales and radio play, Billboard's Hot 100 chart data generally started to stabilize around the 1960s, so we decided that we would pull data for any song that peaked on the Hot 100 between positions 1 through 10 starting in January of 1960 and ending until the week we started this project, which was October 2, 2010. This turned out to be over 4,200 songs!

I enjoyed accidentally finding interesting visualizations. The software is so feature-rich... I would find myself just trying things out and getting surprisingly excited when stumbling upon a data relationship that I wasn't particularly looking for, all because a dynamic visualization would appear.

What did you enjoy most about using Tableau?
I enjoyed accidentally finding interesting visualizations. The software is so feature-rich, and we didn't have much time to really dive into it and learn as much as we wanted to during the semester. I would find myself just trying things out and getting surprisingly excited when stumbling upon a data relationship that I wasn't particularly looking for, all because a dynamic visualization would appear. It's a great program for exploring abstract data sets.

What did you enjoy least about using Tableau?
When we were looking for exposure, the best we could do was take screenshots and urge people to download Tableau Reader (unlikely). Now, however, I have seen what people are able to achieve through Tableau Public!

Click here to see the results of the study - such as average danceability by year.
Click here to see Tableau's own analysis of the data.

You might also be interested in...