Abercrombie & Fitch 对地区产品库存进行预测并改善网店及实体店客户服务


在整个企业实现自助式分析文化
将来自 865 个门店的客户和商品数据整合在一起
通过覆盖所有门店和线上渠道的统一库存视图来满足客户需求

Abercrombie & Fitch 是世界一流的零售商,通过三个知名品牌为全球的男士、女士和儿童提供服装和饰品。商品陈列计划对 Abercrombie 非常关键;它既是艺术也是科学,涉及如何购买产品并决定将这些产品摆放在全球 865 多个门店和专卖店中的什么位置。要确定商品的陈列位置,就必须准确解读客户需求。Abercrombie 将客户和客户的需求作为所有工作的中心;在 Tableau 的帮助下,他们确定了一系列关键指标,并利用这些指标来确保客户可以看到他们希望购买的产品。要提供客户想要获得的高质量个性化服务,首先必须在实体店和网店之间实现无缝体验。

及时性是零售行业的关键竞争力,而 Abercrombie 现在可以更好地了解自己的商品销售结果,因为每周至少有 600 人可以通过 Tableau Server 进行接近 6,000 次查询。

通过转为使用 Tableau,该公司正在取代至少 80% 用作分析的 Excel 电子表格,并且能够以更快的速度获得产品和客户见解。现在,他们可以按销售位置更快地确定客户的购物偏好。基于这种明确性和可见性,Abercrombie 得以减少信息孤岛并从战略上逐渐过渡到一种可以实现一流的个性化客户体验的整体式商品陈列方法。

现在,我们的一切工作都必须以客户服务为中心,并且我们必须在客户意识到某种需求之前提前行动。我们之所以能够实现这个目标,Tableau 起到了巨大的作用。

全渠道分析可以实现更好的客户服务和体验

Abercrombie 在数百家实体门店和专卖店中开展直接面向消费者的工作。提前陈列符合需求的库存对于任何零售商而言都是一个难题。零售商必须能够在客户看到产品之前,准确预测每个季节受欢迎的款式和特点。 如果预测有误,货架上和配送中心的商品就可能供大于求,或者商品不符合客户的偏好。

要营造无缝的客户体验,所有渠道必须协调一致:产品解决方案高级经理 Daniel Trimmer 解释说:“我们试图通过一种完整、统一的全渠道平台来与客户互动,让他们能够在任何地点购买我们的任何商品。我们发现,通过多个渠道购买商品的客户是我们购买力最强的客户。”

商品陈列团队能够使用 Tableau 有效跟踪销售(尺寸、颜色、款式),并借助这些信息来规划库存陈列位置,了解哪些商品有货,哪些商品脱销。销售可以分为发货销售和需求销售,前者在完成交易时发生,后者在客户表明自己有在线购买的意愿时,伴随需求的产生而出现。Tableau 让产品团队能够掌握动态反馈并在发货和需求销售之间切换。

Tableau 让商品陈列规划团队能够看到销售和需求趋势,而过去,他们很难按客户细分群对各时段的趋势进行可视化。

因为可以更清楚地了解交易情况和客户行为,该公司可以即时执行库存操作而无需进行等待。在采用 Tableau 之前,销售信息是孤立的,而获得全面的信息意味着能更快获取见解、更快实施行动,让公司获得竞争优势。

现在,该团队通过结合产品和客户数据,确定产品和位置之间的常见关联方式,从而让自己的品牌能够根据客户所在的位置调整产品选项和搭配。Daniel 说:“Tableau 让我们能够观察和了解各个时段的趋势,收集大量数据,在实施商品陈列方案的过程中,发现有重要提示作用的异常值并快速采取行动。

我们正在减少公司人员对 Excel 电子表格的使用。在整个公司范围内,我们获取见解和制定决策的速度显著提高。

Abercrombie 的牛仔装团队使用 Tableau 来实现产品陈列的改进和本地化

随着 Abercrombie 牛仔装团队业务的不断增长,库存急剧变化,需要分析的数据也不断增多;Tableau 在商品分析方面为该团队提供了帮助。客户喜欢不同的贴合度和色调,并且适合在不同场合穿着的牛仔装。他们观察到,客户对牛仔装的喜好程度因门店而异,即便这些门店相隔不过几英里。但要确定这种喜好程度却并非易事。

使用 Tableau,牛仔装团队可以更好地决定如何向各个门店分配商品,更准确地预测每个地点最受欢迎的商品类型。借助数据,团队得以证实了过去只能根据信息对牛仔装购买所进行的猜测。牛仔装和商品陈列团队现在可以使用 Tableau 可视化看到每个门店中的局部活动。通过将这些可视化与客户数据相结合,他们可以更加准确地按照门店和属性跟踪记录(例如,是否较为休闲、较为放松)来定义客户。“这令人兴奋。我想,这会在整个企业起到巨大的启发作用,让我们能够推广这种牛仔装模型,将其应用到组织内的其他部门中。”

团队已经从以构建报告为主转变为以制定决策为主。

自助式分析让人们可以在 IT 支持下自由探索数据

产品解决方案(现在称为“企业业务解决方案”)部门很早就采用了 Tableau,并且是卓越中心成员,在 IT 和业务部门之间起到了中间人的作用。他们促进有效沟通,推动 Tableau 的采用和推广,同时与数据科学家合作,通过高级分析将数据转化为业务成效。凭借数据驱动型决策和 Tableau 提供的全面企业解决方案,这种跨群组的合作关系正在改变着公司的文化。IT 部门内有一个团队专门为他们提供支持,该团队会清理数据,确保所有数据均符合标准。Daniel 说:“在某个层面上,我们对管控以及数据查看方式的定义发生了改变。这种定义曾经是“自助的” — 获取你想要的任何数据,但我们无法保证数据的来源,而现在我们要围绕数据建立标准并保持一致性。”

通过让使用 Tableau 和其他补充工具的 Abercrombie 数据科学家分析数据并生成见解,他们得以完成一些已经启动但需要更多详细信息的项目。Daniel 说,“我们能够对已经完成的质量不错的核心工作内容进行一定的润色,然后将其返还给业务部门,让他们可以轻松、直观地了解他们需要为自己的群组做些什么事情。”

借助 Tableau 的数据可视化及详细信息钻取功能,Abercrombie 可以全面掌握情况,从而能够采取必要的行动,并明确制定后续步骤。

数据文化的发展可以加强产品开发

该公司有一个商品线审议流程,高管、业务组领导和产品团队在这个每季度一次的会议上开展协作,以便明确目标、理解战略意图并确定流行商品。过去,领导们会在会议上使用一组产品绩效分析报告。但是,他们依赖于使用其他商业智能工具生成这些报告,将数据拉取到 Excel 中,让很多人员制作长达数百页的资料。而这些报告无法反映最新信息。为了参加这个一小时的会议,他们需要花无数个小时进行准备,而且他们无法现场回答问题,因此报告效果欠佳。

后来 Abercrombie 改用 Tableau 来准备自己的商品线审议会。领导层会议过去需要数天时间准备,现在只需要一天半就可以准备妥当,并且不需要在最后一刻进行改动。借助这些实时的标准化报告,需要了解总体情况的高管和业务领导可以有效地根据数据采取行动,提高业务经营效率。Daniel 解释说,“团队已经从以构建表格为主转变为以制定决策为主。”

领导层对 Tableau 以及商品线审议会上的可视化反应良好。仪表板中包含大量的可用信息,使用户无需再依赖于零敲碎打的数据;仅此一点就激发起人们的兴趣和热情。保持竞争力是一个最为紧要的事项。借助更加明确的见解,领导层可以制定正确的战略决策,让品牌不断取得成功。

Daniel 说,“我们正在让自己的员工从 Excel 电子表格转移到能够显著提高见解获取速度的工具,整个企业都能够凭借基于这些见解的决策加快产品上市速度。”

您可能还有兴趣了解...

Abercrombie & Fitch forecasts regional product inventory and improves customer service from screen to store


Achieving self-service analytics culture across the enterprise
Integrating customer and merchandise data from 865 stores
Fulfilling customer demand with unified inventory view across stores and online

Abercrombie & Fitch is a leading global apparel and accessories retailer for men, women, and kids through three renowned brands. Merchandise planning for Abercrombie is critical; it’s the art and science of buying product and deciding where to place it across more than 865 global stores and outlets. To determine where to place merchandise, it’s important to accurately interpret customer demand. Abercrombie puts customers and their needs at the center of all they do, and with help from Tableau, they identify key metrics to make sure the right product is available when someone wishes to buy it. Providing a seamless experience between the store and online is first priority to deliver the quality, personal service that customers want.

Timeliness is critical to compete in retail and Abercrombie now better understands its merchandise product sales results, as Tableau Server facilitates nearly 6,000 queries across at least 600 people weekly.

Shifting to Tableau, the company is working to replace at least 80 percent of Excel spreadsheets used for analysis and arrive at product and customer insights faster. The company can now more quickly identify customer purchasing preferences by selling location. With this clarity and visibility, Abercrombie is reducing information silos and strategically moving to a holistic merchandising approach that supports a personalized, top-notch customer experience.

Customer service now has to be the center of everything we do, and we’ve got to be ahead of it before the customer even knows it. And Tableau is really making a difference in getting us there.

Omni-channel analytics enables stronger customer service and experience

Abercrombie works in the direct-to-consumer space with its hundreds of brick-and-mortar stores and outlets. For any retailer, placing inventory before demand is tricky. Retailers must accurately predict seasonal desired styles and features before a customer sees the product. If they predict incorrectly, it may mean overstock on shelves and in distribution centers or having product that doesn’t match customer preferences.

To create a seamless customer experience, all channels must act in unison: “We try to reach our customer through a full, omni-channel, unified platform so that they can shop who we are, anywhere that they are. We find that the customer who shops through multiple channels is our strongest customer,” explains Daniel Trimmer, Senior Manager of Product Facing Solutions.

Using Tableau, merchandising product teams can effectively track sales (size, color, and style), which helps in planning where to place inventory, as well as see what product is in or out of stock. There are shipped sales—sales that occur when a transaction is accounted for—and then there are demand sales—when a customer indicates their intent to buy online and creates demand. Tableau empowers the product teams to take a rear-facing view and alternate between ship or demand sales.

Tableau empowers the merchandise planning team to see sales and demand trends that were hard to previously visualize over time and by customer segment.

With a clearer picture of transactions and customer behavior, the company can take action on inventory immediately instead of waiting. Before Tableau, sales information was siloed, but having a complete view means faster time to insights and action, giving the company a competitive edge.

Today, the team combines product and customer data to determine common links between product and location, allowing the brand to skew product choice and assortments depending on the location of the customer. “To be able to see trends across time, look at them, and just the sheer amount of data, Tableau allows us to capture it, and as we place merchandising bets, find the anomalies that pop and react to them quickly,” adds Daniel.

We're moving people off Excel spreadsheets. We can create insights much faster and quickly make decisions across the business.

Abercrombie’s denim team uses Tableau to improve and localize product placement

With a growing business, flexing inventory levels, and more data to explore, the denim team at Abercrombie benefits from Tableau in their merchandising analysis. Customers like different fits, washes, and wear denim for varied occasions. They’ve observed that customer affinity for denim differs from store to store—even when they’re a few miles apart. But capturing that affinity is difficult.

Using Tableau, the denim team is making better decisions about the product sent to stores to anticipate what types of products would be most successful in each location. What used to be an informed guess about denim purchases is proven and validated with data. The denim and merchandising teams now see localized activity across all stores using Tableau visualizations. Combining this with customer data, they’re more accurately defining customers by store and attribute tracking (e.g. if they’re more causal, more relaxed). “It’s exciting. I think it’s creating a huge unlock across our business to take this denim model and fit it in with the rest of the organization.”

Teams have gone from report building to decision making.

Self-service analytics unlocks data exploration with IT support

As early Tableau adopters and Center of Excellence members, Product Facing Solutions (now Enterprise Business Solutions) serves as middlemen between IT and the business. They facilitate effective communication, help drive Tableau adoption and momentum, and work with data scientists to translate data through advanced analytics to achieve business outcomes. Their partnership across groups is shifting the company culture with data-driven decision making and Tableau as a complete enterprise solution. And they’re supported by a devoted team in IT who cleanse the data and ensure it’s consistently up to standards. “Our definition of governance, of how we look at data, has altered in a way. It used to be self-service—get whatever data you want, but we can’t guarantee where it came from—to now building standards and consistency around it,” shares Daniel.

Having data scientists at Abercrombie who also use Tableau with other complementary tools to analyze data and generate insights has enabled projects that started, but needed extra detail, to be completed. “We’ve been able to take good, core work that was done and polish it off in a way to deliver back to the business, so they can easily, intuitively understand what they need to do for their group” notes Daniel.

With data visualization in Tableau and the ability to drill into details, Abercrombie is bringing things full circle so action can be taken and next steps become clearer.

Evolving data culture enhances product development

The company has a line review process that involves collaboration between executives, business group leaders and product teams during a quarterly meeting to map out goals, understand strategic intent, and determine which products are on trend. Leaders used a set of reports during the meeting that analyzed product performance, but they hinged on using other business intelligence tools, pulling data into Excel, and having many people develop packets that were hundreds of pages long. They didn’t reflect up-to-the-minute information. This one-hour meeting required countless hours of preparation and reports proved ineffective when questions asked couldn’t be answered on the spot.

Abercrombie shifted their line review process reports to Tableau. They now prepare for leadership meetings in one-and-a-half days instead of several, and no longer make last-minute changes. With real-time, standard reports, executives and business leaders who want a top-level understanding can effectively act on the data and run the business more efficiently. “Teams have gone from report building to decision making,” explained Daniel.

Response by leadership to Tableau and the line review visualizations has been very positive. Just the amount of information that can be consumed in dashboards versus working in small slices of data created interest and enthusiasm. Staying competitive is a top priority, and with clearer insights in hand, leaders make strategic decisions to keep the brand moving forward successfully.

“We’re moving people off Excel spreadsheets on to things where you can actually create insights much faster and get speed to market on the decisions we’re making across the business,” says Daniel.

You might also be interested in...