Tableau 的大数据愿景


概述 | 本文内容: 

Tableau 的使命是帮助用户看清并理解其数据。 为了完成这一使命,我们的基本信念是数据民主化,也就是“谁知道数据,谁就应该有权回答数据问题。” 无论数据位于何处,日常知识工作者都应该能够轻松访问其数据。 同样是这些知识工作者,他们还应该无需少数精英(数据科学家和 IT 开发人员)的帮助,就能分析数据并从中得出见解。

无论数据大小如何,可视化呈现数据都非常重要,因为可视化将信息转变为见解和行动。 可视化呈现大数据的方法尤为重要,因为存储、准备和查询数据的成本要高得多。 因此,组织必须利用架构良好的数据源,并严格应用最佳做法,让知识工作者直接查询大数据。 近几年来,大数据孕育了大量创新 - 因此我们会有很多选择,每种选择都有不同的优势。 Tableau 的愿景是,支持与用户越来越息息相关的大数据平台,帮助他们促进与数据的实时对话。

我们还提供了本白皮书的前几页供您试阅。 下载右侧的 PDF 即可阅读全文。


Tableau 的(大)数据战略

Tableau 的使命是帮助用户看清并理解其数据。 为了完成这一使命,我们的基本信念是数据民主化,也就是“谁知道数据,谁就应该有权回答数据问题。” 无论数据位于何处,日常知识工作者都应该能够轻松访问其数据。 同样是这些知识工作者,他们还应该无需少数精英(数据科学家和 IT 开发人员)的帮助,就能分析数据并从中得出见解。

无论数据大小如何,可视化呈现数据都非常重要,因为可视化将信息转变为见解和行动。 可视化呈现大数据的方法尤为重要,因为存储、准备和查询数据的成本要高得多。 因此,组织必须利用架构良好的数据源,并严格应用最佳做法,让知识工作者直接查询大数据。 近几年来,大数据孕育了大量创新 - 因此我们会有很多选择,每种选择都有不同的优势。 Tableau 的愿景是,支持与用户越来越息息相关的大数据平台,帮助他们促进与数据的实时对话。

为了实现这一大数据愿景,Tableau 将重点放在“六大支柱”上:

  1. 广泛访问大数据平台 - 我们的部分愿景是,无论大数据位于何处,使大数据分析成为可能。 Tableau 目前支持 40 多种不同的数据源,通过我们的扩展性选项,还可以支持无数其他数据源。 随着新数据源不断涌现,对用户的价值持续变得日益重要,我们将把这些数据源不断融入产品之中,进而减少访问数据的阻碍。 我们适用于大数据生态系统的命名连接器包括:
    • Hadoop:Cloudera Impala 和 Hive、Hortonworks Hive、MapR Hive、支持 Impala 和
    • Hive 的 Amazon EMR、Pivotal HAWQ、IBM BigInsights
    • NoSQL:MarkLogic、Datastax
    • Spark:Apache Spark SQL
    • 云:Amazon Redshift、Google BigQuery
    • 运营数据:Splunk
    • 快速分析数据库:Actian Vectorwise 与 ParAccel、Teradata Aster、HP Vertica、SAP Hana、SAP Sybase、Pivotal Greenplum、EXASOL EXASolution
  2. 面向业务用户的大数据自助式可视化 - 业务用户可使用拖放操作可视化其数据,而无需编写复杂的 SQL、Java 代码或 MapReduce 作业。 Tableau 简化了分析数据的任务 - 用户可比以前更快地从数据中发现形象可见的见解。
  3. 优化查询性能的混合数据体系结构 - Tableau 可实时连接到数据源,或将其调入内存。 在连接到快速交互式查询引擎和大数据集时,实时连接作用很大。 但是,我们还可以扩大和加快较慢的数据源,方法是创建数据提取,并将其调入内存中数据引擎。
  4. 用于执行跨数据源分析的数据混合 - 分布式数据通常是比大数据更大的难题。 分析师的数据极少令人满意地打包在一个地方 - 实际上,数据散布在各处,使用各不相同的技术,处于各不相同的平台。 Tableau 将大数据与其他数据源(如 Salesforce、MySQL、Excel 文件)混合,使用户能够跨越各种数据源存取数据,从而让组织将其数据资产保留在它们所在的地方。
  5. 总体平台查询性能 - 随着数据量的增长,Tableau 将不断在核心查询性能改进上作出投入,这样的改进有助于促进与数据的实时对话。 最近,这包括在并行查询、查询混合以及外部查询缓存等功能上的投入。 Tableau 现在还在支持向量化的处理器上利用向量化。
  6. 强大而统一的数据可视化接口 - Tableau 有具备多种功能的分析工具,这些功能包括使用简单操作筛选数据、运行预测以及执行趋势线分析。 它还会解释用户操作,并根据可视化最佳做法选择呈现数据的最佳方式。 在连接到数据后,Tableau 还会提供跨所有数据源都一致的单一数据可视化接口。

我们的愿景非常符合数据总体格局的发展。 新的常态是,很多客户要应付多种多样的大数据技术。 Hadoop 和 Spark 之类的技术因其存储和处理数据的能力,已经成为与数据仓库相提并论的数据体系结构的一部分。 与此同时,客户正在基于其 Hadoop 部署精简其数据仓库的规模。 客户经常选择 NoSQL 数据库作为应用程序后端,而不是选择关系数据库,因为前者的数据模型灵活、延迟低,并且其设计专门针对应用程序。 最后,云数据源无所不在,因为云 CRM 和 ERP 系统已成为管理业务流程的优先选择,“按需付费”消费模型正成为云存储和数据处理的流行消费模型。 由于后端如此多样和灵活,因此用户需要 Tableau 这样的前端工具灵活连接到各种大数据平台、云数据源和关系数据库,赋予用户分析数据所需要的敏捷性。

希望阅读更多内容? 下载白皮书其余部分!

继续阅读...

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Tableau’s Vision on Big Data


Overview | What you'll learn: 

Tableau is on a mission to help users see and understand their data. To accomplish this mission, our fundamental belief is in the democratization of data, meaning “the people who know the data should be the ones empowered to ask questions of the data.” Everyday knowledge workers should have the ability to easily access their data wherever it may reside. These same knowledge workers should also have the ability to analyze and discover insights about their data without assistance from the elite few - the data scientists and IT developers.

Visualizing data is important regardless of the size of the data because it translates information into insight and action. The approach to visualizing Big Data is especially important because the cost of storing, preparing and querying data is much higher. Therefore, organizations must leverage well-architected datasources and rigorously apply best practices to allow knowledge workers to query Big Data directly. Big Data has been home to a great deal of innovation in recent years - thus there are many options available, each with their different strengths. Tableau’s vision is to support any Big Data platform that becomes relevant to our users, and help them facilitate a real-time conversation with their data.

We've also pulled out the first several pages of the whitepaper for you to read. Download the PDF on the right to read the rest.


Tableau’s (Big) Data Strategy

Tableau is on a mission to help users see and understand their data. To accomplish this mission, our fundamental belief is in the democratization of data, meaning “the people who know the data should be the ones empowered to ask questions of the data.” Everyday knowledge workers should have the ability to easily access their data wherever it may reside. These same knowledge workers should also have the ability to analyze and discover insights about their data without assistance from the elite few - the data scientists and IT developers.

Visualizing data is important regardless of the size of the data because it translates information into insight and action. The approach to visualizing Big Data is especially important because the cost of storing, preparing and querying data is much higher. Therefore, organizations must leverage wellarchitected datasources and rigorously apply best practices to allow knowledge workers to query Big Data directly. Big Data has been home to a great deal of innovation in recent years - thus there are many options available, each with their different strengths. Tableau’s vision is to support any Big Data platform that becomes relevant to our users, and help them facilitate a real-time conversation with their data.

To achieve this Big Data vision, Tableau has focused on six pillars:

  1. Broad access to Big Data platforms - Part of our vision is to enable analysis of Big Data, wherever it lives. Tableau supports over 40 different data sources today as well as countless others through our extensibility options. As new data sources emerge and become valuable to our users, we will continue to incorporate them into our product to lower the friction for accessing data. Our named connectors for the Big Data ecosystem include:
    • Hadoop: Cloudera Impala & Hive, Hortonworks Hive, MapR Hive, Amazon EMR with Impala & Hive, Pivotal HAWQ, IBM BigInsights
    • NoSQL: MarkLogic, Datastax
    • Spark: Apache Spark SQL
    • Cloud: Amazon Redshift, Google BigQuery
    • Operational Data: Splunk
    • Fast Analytical Databases: Actian Vectorwise & ParAccel, Teradata Aster, HP Vertica, SAP Hana, SAP Sybase, Pivotal Greenplum, EXASOL EXASolution
  2. Self-service visualization of Big Data for business users - Business users can visualize their data using drag-and-drop operations without writing complex SQL, Java code or MapReduce jobs. Tableau simplifies the task of analyzing data - users can discover visual insights about their data faster than they ever could before.
  3. Hybrid data architecture for optimizing query performance - Tableau can connect live to data sources or bring it in-memory. Live connectivity works great when connecting to fast interactive query engines and large datasets. However, we can also augment and accelerate slower data sources by creating an extract of the data and bringing it into our in-memory Data Engine.
  4. Data blending for performing analytics across data sources - Distributed Data is often times an even bigger challenge than Big Data. It is rare an analyst’s data is nicely packaged in a single place - instead, data is all over the place residing in disparate technologies and platforms. Tableau enables users to traverse across data sources by blending Big Data with other data sources (e.g. Salesforce, MySQL, Excel files), allowing organizations to keep their data assets where they reside.
  5. Overall platform query performance - As data volumes grow, Tableau continues to invest in core query performance improvements that help facilitate real-time conversations with data. Most recently, this includes capabilities such as parallel queries, query fusion, and external query caching. Tableau also now leverages vectorization for processors that support it.
  6. Powerful and homogenous visual interface to data - Tableau has analytical tools such as the ability to filter data, run forecasts and perform trend line analysis using simple actions. It also interprets a user’s actions and selects the best way to represent the data based on visual best practices. Tableau also provides a single visual interface to data that is consistent across all data sources once you connect to data.

Our vision aligns well with how the overall data landscape is evolving. The new normal is that many customers are dealing with a diverse set of Big Data technologies. Technologies such as Hadoop and Spark have become a part of the data architecture alongside data warehouses for their ability to store and process data. In parallel, customers are rights-sizing their data warehouses based on their Hadoop deployments. NoSQL databases are frequently chosen over relational databases as the backend for applications because of their flexible data models, low latency and application-specific design. Lastly, cloud data sources are ubiquitous as cloud CRM & ERP systems have become the preferred choice to manage business processes and the “pay-as-you-go consumption model is becoming popular for cloud storage and data processing. With back-ends so diverse and flexible, a user needs a front-end tool like Tableau to flexibly connect across Big Data platforms, cloud data sources and relational databases to give users the agility they need for analyzing data.

Want to read more? Download the rest of the whitepaper!

Continue Reading...

You might also be interested in...