中国东方航空公司利用 Tableau 增加营收


使用 Tableau 之后,去年我们的收入增加了 2 亿美元,增幅达到了 2%。要想在航空业或者运输业赚到钱,就得用 Tableau。

中国东方航空公司为中国骨干航空运输公司之一,运营航线包括国际、国内以及地区线路。它在载客量方面为中国第二大航空运输公司,在市场价值方面为世界第三大航空运输公司。在 2011 年美国 Tableau 客户会议上,该公司网络与营收部高级主管 James Pu 向我们介绍了他们是如何使用 Tableau 分析市场调研、优化直飞航线并增加营收的。

Tableau 中国东方航空公司已经使用 Tableau 多久了?
James: 我们大概是一年半之前发现 Tableau 这款软件的。我们需要向整个航空领域的管理人员、销售渠道、定价人群等等展示大量数据。由于航空公司的数据非常庞大,因此与大家共享起来比较困难。我们使用 Oracle 数据库和 IE 浏览器来演示数据。但是运行起来很慢。要想轻松使用这些数据,简直是太难了。所以,我们就开始考察各种其他工具,最后发现了 Tableau,我们非常惊喜,因为 Tableau 使用起来很简单,不仅 IT 人士可以用,业务人员也能用。
   
Tableau 你们都在哪些类型的项目中使用 Tableau?
James: 我们在六个月的时间里开发了九个控制面板,分别用于不同用途。所以现在我们有 500 人在使用这些控制面板分析营销数据、竞争对手、其他航空运输公司以及我们各路航线的营收情况。由此可见,Tableau 为我们提供了极大的帮助。Tableau 使用起来非常简单,任何人都能用它来进行深入分析。
   
Tableau: 你们使用哪种数据?
James: 我们从 ARC 购买整个航空行业的市场营销数据。这样,我们就能分析一些直飞航线的市场份额,比如美国到中国的航线。其中,纽约肯尼迪国际机场 (JFK) 直飞上海这条航线的市场份额最大。每个直飞航线的市场份额都不太一样。因此,我们可以在市场份额较大的航线新增一些航班,提高客流量,进而提高营收。
   
Tableau 你们利用 Tableau 来分析市场数据,并制定增加营收的决策?
James: 是的。使用 Tableau 之后,去年我们的收入增加了 2 亿美元,增幅达到了 2%。
   
Tableau: 使用 Tableau 是否也帮助你们节省了时间?
James: 是的,我们以前用的是 Sun 的 Oracle 数据库。那时候我们一般做 Excel 报告,成百上千的报告,要花两到四个星期,才能做出来很多张表格。现在,只需要半小时或 20 分钟就搞定了。这样,我们就可以迅速回应市场动向,更快地制定所有决策。更快地制定营销和销售决策。
   
Tableau: Tableau 跟其他商业智能工具比起来怎么样?
James: Tableau 很实用。使用也很简单。而且相比其他商业智能工具来说,反应非常快。要想在航空业或者运输业赚到钱,就得用 Tableau。
   

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

China Eastern Airlines Increases Revenue with Tableau


Using Tableau, last year we owned a 2 percent increase in revenue, that’s $200 million U.S. dollars. If you want to own the money in the aviation or transportation industry, you're using Tableau.

China Eastern Airlines is a major Chinese airline operating international, domestic and regional routes. It is China's second-largest carrier by passenger numbers and the world’s third-biggest carrier by market value. At the 2011 U.S. Tableau Customer Conference, James Pu, senior executive of networking and revenue spoke with us about how the airlines uses Tableau to analyze market research, optimize its “Origin-to-Destination” routes, and increase revenue.

Tableau: How long has China Eastern been using Tableau?
James: We found Tableau, maybe one-half a year ago. We have much data to show to management, the sales channel, the pricing people, and others across the airline business. Because the airlines data is very large, it’s difficult to share with everyone. We have an Oracle database and the IE browser to show the data. But it goes so slowly. It’s so difficult to easily utilize the data. So, we searched the world of tools, and were excited to find Tableau, because Tableau is easy for not only IT to use, but for business people to use as well.
   
Tableau: On what type of projects do you use Tableau?
James: In six months, we’ve developed nine dashboards for separate uses. So, now we have 500 people who use the dashboards to analyze marketing, our competition, the other carriers, and our flights-to-revenues. So, the Tableau gives us powerful help. It’s easy for everyone who uses Tableau to drill down, past the peel of the orange and to the core.
   
Tableau: What sort of data are you using?
James: We buy marketing data from the ARC for the entire aviation industry. So, we can analyze the market shares of some ODs (origin-to-destination routes), like the United States to China. Like the JFK to Shanghai is the biggest one. The market share is different for any OD. So, we can open new flights to where the market share is bigger, so we can pick up the passengers for increased revenues.
   
Tableau: You use Tableau to analyze the market and make decisions that increase revenue?
James: Yes. Using Tableau, last year we owned 2 percent increase in revenue, that’s $200 million U.S. dollars.
   
Tableau: Do you also save TIME using Tableau?
James: Yes, we were using the Sun Oracle database. We were making Excel reports… hundreds of reports which took two to four weeks to make with multiple tables. Now, it’s half an hour or 20 minutes. We have quick response to the market, faster decisions for everything. Faster decisions for marketing and sales.
   
Tableau: How does Tableau compare to other business intelligence tools?
James: Tableau is useful. It is easy to use. And the response is fast, quick, fast, compared to other business intelligence tools. If you want to own the money in the aviation industry, or the transportation, you're using Tableau.
   

You might also be interested in...