学习

选择最适合的可视化

有多种方法可以在 Tableau 中可视化您的数据。根据您要分析的内容,某些图表类型要比其他图表的效果更好。通常情况下,您只需要一个简单的条形图就能传达您的发现

条形图将解答您的大部分问题

您通常无需用复杂的可视化来解答所有问题。条形图是 Tableau 中最受欢迎的图表类型,可用于轻松比较信息。在比较不同类别的数据(例如各个国家/地区的销售额)时,最好使用条形图。以下是条形图比其他图表类型更合适时的一些示例。

地图与条形图

哪个国家/地区的销售额位居第二?与试图比较地图上不同区域的颜色相比,用条形图比较更容易。各个国家/地区的位置对此分析而言并不重要。问题仅仅在于比较销售结果。当与地理特征相关时,地图会更有用。

折线图与条形图

有几个月的利润低于四月?虽然时间轴对于观察趋势而言非常合适,但它很难用来比较离散的时间点。条形图可以更快比较各个月份的差异,而不适合显示利润随时间的变化。

文本表与条形图

一级订单中哪个子类别的成本最高?文本表非常适用于揭示实际数字,但比较值(数学运算)要比比较条形长度(直观属性)更为困难。对于此类比较问题,文本不如条形图更有效。

筛选器 = 交互性

使用筛选器精确查看所需内容。向可视化中添加筛选器非常简单。只需右键单击胶囊并选择“显示筛选器”。筛选器同样也是为您的受众添加可视化交互性的最简单的方法。

筛选数据

试一试!挖掘以下数据集

使用您自己的数据或这些热门公共数据集,练习刚刚所学到的内容。


滚石 500 强专辑

浏览专辑进入前 500 名的时间。

拉斯维加斯 Yelp 评分

了解拉斯维加斯的哪些餐厅有最高(最低)的 Yelp 评分。

夏季奥运会奖牌榜

2012 年夏季奥运会奖牌榜上都有哪些有趣的事实?数据中包含代表国家/地区、项目、奖牌和性别等信息。由《卫报》提供。

哪一个图表或图形适合您?

您选择的图表或图表类型将取决于您试图展示的信息。在我们的白皮书哪一个图表或图形适合您?中, 我们深入探讨了 13 种图表类型及其适用时机。下面展示了部分最受欢迎的图表类型。


折线图

折线图连接各个数字数据点来构成一条线(是的,您懂的)。折线图最适用于查看一段时间内的趋势并做出预测。 快速提示:如何生成折线图

  1. 将“日期维度”拖动到“”中。
  2. 将“度量”拖动到“”中。
  3. 使用下拉箭头或单击胶囊上“年份”旁边的“+”号,将日期更改为不同的时间段

散点图

散点图非常适用于查看两个度量之间的关系,以及发现趋势和异常值。 快速提示:如何生成散点图

  1. 将“度量”拖动到“”中。
  2. 将“度量”拖动到“”中。

地图

在查看位置数据(例如国家/地区、邮政编码或自定义地理编码)时,请使用地图。 快速提示:如何生成地图

  1. 将任何类别为地理区域字段(地球图标)的维度拖动到视图上。

树状图

这些图表使用一系列嵌套矩形,显示分层结构数据在整体中所占的比例。正如该图表名称一样,将您的数据想象成像树一样相互关联:每个分支都是一个矩形,用于表示其所包含的数据量。 快速提示:如何生成树状图 在“标记卡”中:

  1. 将标记类型更改为“方形”
  2. 将“维度”拖动到“颜色
  3. 将“度量”拖动到“大小
  4. 将“维度”拖动到“标签”或“详细信息

图表类型专家指导



在“Desktop II:中级”课程中,让我们的专家讲师教您如何生成高级图表类型:

设置可视化格式使其更受欢迎

颜色

颜色是可视化最强大的特性之一。数据应该更多地使用颜色来表达观点,而不是表现个人喜好或品牌颜色。太多种颜色会造成视觉过载并妨碍分析,因此请在添加颜色有意义时才添加。

文本标签

在可视化中使用大量文本必定会妨碍分析。但是,巧妙地使用文本可以吸引人们关注关键信息。标签、注释和标题使用得当,有助于指示发生的情况以及关注的焦点。

工具提示

工具提示功能强大,可以简洁地传达大量信息。当鼠标悬停在标记上时,会自动显示工具提示,补充您讲述的故事。构建可视化时,请始终记得查看工具提示中的内容。

胶囊是什么?

胶囊是要分析的字段或数据列,在 Tableau 中拖放胶囊可构建可视化。了解各种胶囊类型。

维度与度量

维度”包含定性值(例如名称、日期或地理数据)。您可以使用维度对数据进行分类、分段并揭示其中的详细信息。维度会影响视图中的详细级别。

度量”包含您可以度量的定量数字值。您可以将计算应用到度量并对其进行聚合。将度量拖动到视图中时,Tableau 会将聚合应用到该度量(默认情况下)。

连续与离散

Tableau 在视图中以不同方式表示数据,离散字段显示为蓝色,连续字段显示为绿色。连续和离散是数学术语。连续指的是“形成一个不间断的完整整体”;离散指的是“各自分离且相异”。

更改默认胶囊类型

大多数情况下,维度是离散的,而度量是连续的。但也不总是这样。可以使数字维度连续,也可以将度量转换为离散。例如,右键单击“连续度量”将显示“转换为离散”和“转换为维度”选项。请注意,“转换为离散”和“转换为维度”这两个操作并不相同。

The Best Visualization for You

There are a lot of ways to visualize your data in Tableau. Depending on what you're analyzing, some chart types work better than others. Often, a simple bar chart is all you need to communicate your findings.

A bar chart will answer most of your questions

You usually won't need a complex viz to answer all your questions. Bar charts—the most popular chart type in Tableau—make it easy to compare information at a glance. It's best to use a bar chart when comparing data across categories like sales per country. Below are a few examples of when a bar chart works better than other chart types.

Map vs. Bar

Which country has the second most sales? Rather than trying to compare colors across dissimilar areas on a map, the bar chart makes comparison easy. The location of each country is not important to this analysis. The question is solely about comparing sales results. Maps are more useful when geographic features are relevant.

Line vs. Bar

How many months had lower profit than April? Although timelines are wonderful for looking at trends, it can be difficult to compare discrete points in time. A bar chart allows for faster comparison across the months themselves instead of showing profit changing over time.

Text Table vs. Bar

Which sub-category has the highest cost for First Class orders? Text tables are great for exposing the actual numbers, but it’s harder to compare values (a mathematical operation) than it is to compare the length of bars (a preattentive attribute). For comparative questions like this, text isn’t as effective as a bar chart.

Filters = Interactivity

See exactly what you’re looking for with filters. Adding a filter to your viz is simple. Just right-click on a pill and select "show filter." Filters are also the easiest way to add interactivity to your viz for your audience.

Filter your data

Give it a try! Dig in with these data sets

Use your own data or these popular public datasets to practice what you've learned.

Rolling Stone Top 500 Albums

Explore when albums hit the top 500.

Las Vegas Yelp Reviews

Discover what restaurants in Las Vegas have the highest (and lowest) Yelp reviews.

Summer Olympic Medalists

What fun facts will you find about the 2012 summer Olympic medalists? Criteria such as home country, event, medal, and gender are included in the data. Courtesy of The Guardian.

What chart or graph is right for you?

The chart or graph type you choose will depend on the information you’re trying to show. In our Whitepaper, Which Chart or Graph is Right For You? we dig into 13 chart types and when to use them. Here are a couple of the most popular chart types.

Line Chart

Line charts connect individual numeric data points to form a (yep, you got it) line. They are best used for looking at trends over time and forecasting. Quick tip: How to build a line chart

  1. Drag a Date Dimension to Columns.
  2. Drag a Measure to Rows
  3. Change date to a different period by using the drop-down arrow or clicking the "+" next to Year on the pill

Scatter Plot

Scatter plots are great for seeing the relationship between two measures and spotting trends and outliers. Quick tip: How to build a scatter plot

  1. Drag a Measure to Rows
  2. Drag a Measure to Columns


Use a map when you're looking at location data like country, postal codes, or your own custom geocoding. Quick tip: How to build a map

  1. Drag any Dimension that is categorized as a geographic field (globe icon) onto the view.


These charts use a series of rectangles, nested within other rectangles, to show hierarchical data as a proportion to the whole. As the name of the chart suggests, think of your data as related like a tree: each branch is given a rectangle which represents how much data it comprises. Quick tip: How to build a tree map Within the Marks Card:

  1. Change mark type to square
  2. Drag a Dimension to color
  3. Drag a Measure to size
  4. Drag a Dimension to label or detail

Chart types taught by the experts

Let our expert instructors teach you how to build advanced chart types in our Desktop II: Intermediate course.

Formatting to make your viz pop


Color is one of the most powerful aspects of a viz. The data should drive the use of color to make a point, not personal favorites or brand colors. Too many colors can create visual overload and impede analysis, so add color when meaningful.

Text Labels

Packing text into a viz is a sure way to overwhelm the analysis. However, a strategic use of text can draw attention to key information. When used carefully, labels, annotations, and titles help indicate what’s going on and where to focus.


Tooltips are powerful and can convey a lot of information compactly. They automatically appear when a mouse hovers over a mark, and can reinforce the story you're telling. Always consider what is in your tooltip when building a viz.

What are pills?

A pill is a field or column of data you want to analyze that you drag-and-drop in Tableau to build your viz. Learn about different pill types.

Dimensions vs. Measures

Dimensions contain qualitative values (such as names, dates, or geographical data). You can use dimensions to categorize, segment, and reveal the details in your data. Dimensions affect the level of detail in the view.

Measures contain numeric, quantitative values that you can measure. You can apply calculations to them and aggregate them. When you drag a measure into the view, Tableau applies an aggregation to that measure (by default).

Continuous vs. Discrete

Tableau represents data differently in the view depending on whether the field is discrete (blue), or continuous (green). Continuous and discrete are mathematical terms. Continuous means "forming an unbroken whole, without interruption;" discrete means "individually separate and distinct."

Changing default pill types

Most of the time, dimensions are discrete and measures are continuous. However, this isn’t always true. It’s possible to have a numerical dimension be continuous, or to convert a measure to be discrete. For example, right-clicking on a continuous measure brings up the options “Convert to discrete” and “Convert to dimension.” Note that those two operations—converting to discrete and converting to a dimension—are not synonymous.