学习

使数据可直接用于 Tableau

结构完善的数据有助于您使用 Tableau。我们将向您展示如何以最佳方式组织数据,以便在 Tableau 中轻松进行分析

如果您拥有数据文件,则可以使用这些提示将文件调整为可直接用于 Tableau。如果您的数据存在于数据库中,而您无法访问数据库,请查看我们的驱动程序页面,或与您的内部数据专家联系,以获取访问权限。

数据格式应如下图所示

整洁数据 = 轻松分析

为了使用 Tableau 得出最佳分析结果,您的数据应采用表或电子表格等格式,如此处所示。如果需要在使用数据之前进行准备,请继续阅读,了解 Tableau 内置工具的详细信息以获取帮助。

如何清理数据

数据解释器

数据解释器内置于 Tableau Desktop 中。连接到数据后,如果 Tableau 检测到您的数据中的子表,您将看到启用数据解释器的选项。数据解释器将绘制子表并排除任何无关信息。

使用数据解释器

数据透视表

分析以交叉表格式存储的数据可能很困难。当一种类型的信息存储在多个列中时,将数据从列透视到行可让数据更易于处理。通过 Tableau 的本机透视选项,可轻松实现此操作。

透视数据

数据类型

每个字段都有一个表示其数据类型的图标。这有助于 Tableau 了解如何格式化、解释和使用数据。例如,地理区域字段可用于绘制地图,布尔值字段只包含两个可能的值:true 或 false。您可以通过单击图标来更改数据类型。

更改数据类型

将字段拆分为多个字段

您的数据可能在单个字段中包含多个信息单元。该情况的一种常见示例是客户的名字和姓氏位于一列中。 在这类情况下,如果每条信息各占一列,那么分析数据通常会变得更容易。您可以在 Tableau 中使用拆分或自定义拆分功能,将值分隔为多列。

拆分字段

更多数据结构故障排除

其他常见格式问题也可能会令您在 Tableau 中分析数据时遭遇挑战,敬请查看相关建议。


完善您的数据

探索以下数据集

使用这些受欢迎的公共数据集在 Tableau 中进行探索,查看结构良好的数据的更多示例。


滚石 500 强专辑

浏览专辑进入前 500 名的专辑。

拉斯维加斯 Yelp 评分

了解拉斯维加斯的哪些餐厅有最高(最低)的 Yelp 评分。

夏季奥运会奖牌榜

2012 年夏季奥运会奖牌榜上都有哪些有趣的细节?数据中包含代表国家/地区、项目、奖牌和性别等信息。由《卫报》提供。

将调查数据设置为适用于 Tableau 的格式

原始调查数据可能会很难处理。我们的 Tableau Zen 专业大师之一,Steve Wexler 将通过这些详细说明让这一过程变得更容易。


准备调查数据

Learning

Get Your Data Tableau-Ready

Tableau loves well-structured data. We'll show you how to best organize your data to make analysis in Tableau a breeze.

If you have data files, you can use these tips to get them ready for Tableau. If your data lives in a database and you're having trouble accessing it, check out our drivers page or contact your internal data expert for access.

This is what your data should look like

Tidy data = easy analysis

For best success with Tableau, your data should be formatted like a table or spreadsheet as seen here. If your data needs to be prepped before you use it, read on for details on Tableau’s built-in tools to help.

How to clean up your data

Tableau Prep

Tableau Prep will get your data analysis-ready by helping you quickly and confidently combine, shape, and clean your data. The flexible, visual experience of Tableau Prep gives you a deeper understanding of your data. It makes common, yet complex tasks like joins, unions, pivots and aggregations simple and visual. With your Creator license, you get access to Tableau Prep.

Use Tableau Prep

Pivot

Analyzing data stored in a crosstab format can be difficult. When one type of information is stored in multiple columns, pivoting the data from columns to rows makes the data much easier to work with. Tableau's native pivot option makes this operation easy.

Pivot your data

Data types

Each field has an icon that represents its data type. This helps Tableau understand how the data should be formatted, interpreted, and used. For example, geographic fields can be mapped and Boolean fields contain only two possible values: true or false. You can change the data type by clicking on the icon.

Change data types

Split fields into multiple fields

Your data may contain multiple units of information in a single field. A common example of this is the first and last name of a customer in one column. In these cases, it’s often easier to analyze the data if you have a column for each piece of information. You can use split or custom split capabilities in Tableau to separate the values into multiple columns.

Split fields

Simple data prep in Tableau Desktop

Use Tableau Desktop to tidy up your data

Data Interpreter

The Data Interpreter lives within Tableau Desktop. After connecting to data, if Tableau detects sub-tables in your data, you'll be presented with the option to turn on Data Interpreter. The Data Interpreter will draw out sub-tables and exclude any extraneous information.

Use the Data Interpreter

More data structure troubleshooting

Check out suggestions for other common formatting issues that can make analyzing your data in Tableau challenging.


Fix your data

Dig in with these data sets

Use these popular public datasets to explore in Tableau and to see more examples of well structured data.


Rolling Stone Top 500 Albums

Explore when albums hit the top 500.

Las Vegas Yelp Reviews

Discover what restaurants in Las Vegas have the highest (and lowest) Yelp reviews.

Summer Olympic Medalists

What fun facts will you find about the 2012 summer Olympic medalists? Criteria such as home country, event, medal, and gender are included in the data. Courtesy of The Guardian.

Format your survey data for Tableau

Raw survey data can be tricky to handle. One of our Tableau Zen Masters, Steve Wexler, makes it easier with these detailed instructions.


Prep your survey data

Speed up your learning at Tableau Conference

Attend Tableau Conference 2018 in New Orleans October 22-25 and learn more than you thought possible in just four days. Take your pick of over 600 hours of sessions with valuable learning opportunities organized by track, level, and type.

Join us at Tableau Conference