云端数据简报

获取报告

关于向云端迁移数据的最新统计信息

The Economist Intelligence Unit 最近发现,大多数商业领袖都认为数据对其企业的盈利能力至关重要。因此,如今大多数企业都在致力于捕获和分析数据就变得不足为奇了。

但为何会出现这种现象?其原因在于有大量的技术和部署类型可供我们使用。从仓库和 Hadoop 工具,到云端、本地和混合部署,数据格局呈现出多样化的特点,并且还在快速演变。《云端数据简报》探索数千家公司如何存储和分析自己的数据,揭示云端迁移领域的最新趋势。

获得《云端数据简报》,查看关于 2016 年数据动向的独家分析和最新统计数据,同时请关注下次更新。

下载报告

云端数据日趋流行

就我们样本中的组织而言,其云端数据源连接数量在最近 15 个月增加了 28%。2015 年 1 月,云端部署和本地部署的数据源连接数量之比为 55:45。到 2015 年末,该比例已经变为 70:30。

数据呈多样化格局

排除 Excel 等基于文件的数据源以及 Salesforce 和 Google Analytics(分析)等 Web 应用程序,我们数据集中的客户共使用 32 种不同的数据库和 Hadoop 产品。就其中三分之二的数据源类型而言,云端部署比本地部署更常见

云端原生数据源呈增长态势,但混合部署仍然占统治地位

Amazon Redshift 和 Google BigQuery 之类云端原生数据源的连接正在获得更多市场份额。2014 年初,此类连接仅占我们样本中连接总数的 12%。到 2016 年第一季度,其比重已增长到 28%。然而,既能部署在本地、又能部署在云端的混合数据源仍然是最常见的连接类型。自 2014 年起,混合数据源在所有连接中的比例从未低于 60%。

本报告的其他发现

数据正在扩展到数据库之外
如果算上基于文件的数据源和 Web 应用程序,Tableau Online 支持的数据源超过 40 种。而且这个数字还在不断增长。为了利用当前高度多样性的产品,企业纷纷开始以灵活性和选择性作为最重要的指标来构建工作流。

数据重心正在向云端偏移
现在,Tableau Online 客户使用的数据源中有 70% 部署在云端。使用趋势表明,数据还会进一步集中到云端。使用数据进行分析的组织正在迅速采取行动,将云服务集成到分析工作流中,确保自己能从数据重心的这种转移中获益。

混合数据源对业务非常关键
虽然云端是我们前进的方向,但对于许多企业,特别是正在向云端过渡的那些企业,混合数据源仍然是最实用的解决方案。混合数据源在所有 Tableau Online 连接中的占比超过一半,这表明大多数组织都兼有分布在云端和本地环境中的数据。

我们的方法

《云端数据简报》是一个持续性项目,目标是对数据格局的演化进行定量分析。该简报探索 4,000 多个客户在 Tableau Online 上发布的一百多万个匿名数据源连接的使用模式。通过分析这些连接,可以窥见企业当前以何种方式在何处捕获和存储自己的数据。

本报告中的数据集提取自一款云端托管工具,因此其使用模式可能在总体上侧重于云端使用情形。尽管如此,Tableau Online 客户既有小公司,也有大企业,并且几乎覆盖了所有行业。我们的分析囊括了所有这些客户,并认为分析结果可以准确地指示市场大趋势。

我们邀请您获取报告,更深入地观察这些发现。

深入探索数据

阅读《云端数据简报》,查看关于当前数据格局的更深入分析。同时请关注下一次更新,其内容将包括 Amazon Web Services、Microsoft Azure 和 Google Cloud Platform 等云端平台。

The Cloud Data Brief

Get the report

The Freshest Stats on Data's Migration to the Cloud

The Economist’s Intelligence Unit recently found the majority of business leaders believe data is “vital” to their organization’s profitability. So it comes as no surprise that most businesses today strive to capture and analyze data.

But how is this happening? A wide array of technologies and deployment types are available. From warehouses and Hadoop tools, to cloud, on-premise, and hybrid deployments, the landscape is diverse and quickly evolving. The Cloud Data Brief explores how thousands of companies are storing and analyzing their data, and reveals the latest trends in the move to the cloud.

Get the Cloud Data Brief for an exclusive look—and the freshest stats—on where data is headed in 2016, and stay tuned for the next update.

Download the report

Cloud Data Is Trending

Over the past 15 months, organizations in our sample increased connections to cloud-deployed data sources by 28%. In January 2015, data source connections were split 55-45 cloud to on-premise deployment. By the end of 2015, that split had shifted to 70-30.

The Data Landscape Is Diverse

When excluding file-based sources like Excel and web applications like Salesforce and Google Analytics, there are 32 distinct types of databases and Hadoop products used by customers in our data set. Two-thirds of these data source types are more frequently deployed in the cloud than on-premise.

Cloud-Native Grows, But Hybrid Still Dominates

Connections to cloud-native data sources like Amazon Redshift and Google BigQuery are gaining market share. At the beginning of 2014, they represented just 12% of all connections in our sample. By the first quarter of 2016, they had grown to 28%. But hybrid data sources—those that can be deployed on-premise or in the cloud—remain the most common type of connection. Since 2014, hybrid sources have never dropped below 60% of all connections.

More Findings from the Report

Data is expanding beyond the database
Including file-based sources and web applications, there are over 40 types of data sources represented in Tableau Online. And that number is constantly growing. To capitalize on the wide variety of products available today, businesses are building workflows that focus on flexibility and choice above all else.

Data gravity is shifting to the cloud
70% of the data sources used by Tableau Online customers are now deployed in the cloud. And usage trends suggest the focus on cloud will continue to grow. Organizations using data for analysis are quickly moving to integrate cloud services into their analytics workflows to ensure they benefit from the shift in data gravity.

Hybrid data sources are business-critical
We may be headed towards cloud, but hybrid data sources remain the most practical solution for many businesses, especially those transitioning to the cloud. Hybrid represents over half of all connections in Tableau Online, signifying that the majority of organizations are distributing data across cloud and on-premise environments.

Our Methodology

The Cloud Data Brief is an ongoing project aimed at quantifying the evolution of the data landscape. It explores usage patterns across more than one million anonymous data source connections published to Tableau Online by over 4,000 customers. Analyzing these connections offers a glimpse into how and where businesses are capturing and storing their data today.

The data set in this report is drawn from a cloud-hosted tool, and the usage patterns may represent a bias towards cloud overall. That said, Tableau Online customers span nearly every industry and vary from small businesses to enterprises. Our analysis includes them all, and we believe it serves as an accurate indicator of broad trends in the market.

We invite you to get the report for a deeper look at the findings.

Dig into the Data

Read the Cloud Data Brief for more in-depth analysis of today’s data landscape, and stay tuned for the next update including cloud platforms like Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, and Google Cloud Platform.