营销机构 Tinuiti 在 Tableau Prep 中集中处理 100 多个数据源,为 500 家客户扩展营销分析平台


借助 Tableau Prep Builder 将花在数据准备上的时间减少了 60%
通过合并 100 多个数据源,使用单一视图即可查看数百家客户的营销数据
只用了不到 14 个月,便成功过渡到自动化且可扩展的营销分析平台

Tinuiti 是北美洲最大的以效果为导向的数据驱动型独立数字营销机构,所打理的广告支出逾 10 亿美元,并为超过 500 家客户制定战略性媒体计划。Tommy Bahama、Eddie Bauer 和 Brooks Running 等品牌均仰赖 Tinuiti 将渠道数据分析和营销科学与综合性的媒体策略融合起来。不过,由于营销技术和数据源的发展形势错综复杂,导致 Tinuiti 难以快速分析信息,进而不能充分优化媒体来开展一对一的客户营销。

于是,Tinuiti 采用了 Tableau 来帮助员工理解所有渠道级数据,从而将数据的报告、收集和准备时间减少了 60%。他们借助 Alight Analytics 提供的 ChannelMix 集中处理来自超过 100 个数据源的数据,并通过 Tableau 搭建了可扩展、可重复、经济实惠且自动化的报告基础架构,从而满足了客户需求、提高了员工效率和分析效率,并强化了与客户的关系。

利用包括 Tableau Prep 在内的 Tableau 平台,Tinuiti 分析团队可以快速从复杂的数字渠道组合中提取数据,为客户创建量身定制的灵活仪表板,让客户能够了解其品牌营销工作的全貌。他们还提供了量身定制的以及基于模板生成的各种报告,以便客户的营销部门能够自行探索数据、调查底层的详细信息,以及做出可提升品牌互动度的更明智决策。Tableau 连接到 Amazon Redshift 中托管在云端的营销数据,为客户和 Tinuiti 团队均提供了性能出色且安全的仪表板,使他们的问题和需求当即就能解决。这样,营销预算就会分配给能带来最高互动度的最佳媒体策略。

改进后的分析方法加快了数据报告速度

面对众多的营销数据源,Tinuiti 虽想方设法提取、清理、合并其中的数据并为客户提供可指导行动的数据报告,但仍感到力不从心。该机构采用极为细致繁琐的手动流程来提取和转换信息,但难以及时地将动态的营销报告交到客户手中,同时这也增加了分析员工的负担,导致他们每年在数据报告上花费逾 156,000 小时。客户需要的是近乎即时的分析,如不能做到这一点,营销资源就无法分配给及时的多渠道策略。

身为营销人员,我们需要依据太多的数据来采取行动;有了 Tableau 后,我们就能够连接到营销生态系统中的众多不同数据源。

Tinuiti 在采用 Tableau 后,发现 Tableau Prep 能够带来立竿见影的价值。Tableau Prep 使 Tinuiti 减少了花在清理、合并和整理其数据上的时间,同时还提高了渠道和分析团队的能力。Tinuiti 采用连接到 Amazon Redshift 且提取了近 600GB 云端营销数据的 API,创建了一个自动化的 Prep 报告流程;该流程使用来自各主要营销平台且井然有序的数据,实现了自动生成电子邮件附件、社交媒体宣传和数字广告等功能。Andrew Richardson 解释道:“对我们来说,在使用了 Tableau Prep 这样的工具后,我们能够更快地采取行动,跨多个渠道大规模展开宣传”。

现在,再加上 Tableau Prep Conductor 的助力,Tinuit 团队能够大规模地安排和管理自助式数据准备工作。对此,Andrew 透露:“我们非常兴奋地试用这款工具,期待它能帮助我们在整个公司范围内,进一步提高数据准备工作的自动化和规模化程度。”他们认识到,这款工具将会加快他们为客户生成广告系列报告的速度,从而使他们能够给客户带来更大的价值,而这也有助于提高他们的利润。

这种新方法结合使用 ChannelMix 与 Tableau 来实现自动化、灵活且可扩展的数据分析,使 Tinuiti 能够提供战略价值,从而培养牢固、长久的客户关系。Big 5 Sporting Goods 等客户认识到,有了这种能够洞悉其渠道营销数据的全方位视图,会给他们的业务带来极大影响,使他们能够更合理地支出营销预算。

Tinuiti 团队在 Tableau 中运用他们的专业分析技能,为我们的营销计划制作了一个极佳的全方位仪表板。 我们全公司的多个数据源都实现了自动化并综合到一起,这完全颠覆了以往的模式。

通过自助式报告跟踪数字广告预算

在营销广告系列和数据报告方面,有非常多的细微之处。每一项营销策略的 KPI 和目标都不尽相同,需要慎重考虑和仔细规划。Tinuiti 知道,并非每一家客户都有分析思维和懂得运用数据,但仅靠该机构规模较小的分析团队,也很难满足不同渠道团队的需求和轻松解答客户的问题。其中的一些复杂问题包括:我们客户的生命周期价值是多少?我应该争取哪些细分客户群?我习惯于根据直觉来做决策,这种情况下怎样才能对未来的情况做出前瞻性预测?

借助 Tableau 的拖放功能和多种数据筛选器,Tinuiti 的分析团队能够更轻松地在一些领域加快工作;而在以前,这根本就不可能做到。由于有大量电子商务客户,Tinuiti 为这些客户以及自己的内部团队制作了一个灵活的仪表板,任何人都可以在这个仪表板中调整配置文件、报告名称、图表类型、时间范围及其他参数来比较数据;客户开始与 Tinuiti 合作后,往往马上就可以使用该仪表板。该机构的分析团队还创建了一个花费进度报告,供渠道团队用来监视各品牌的数字广告预算,这样他们就可以监视每天的预算花费速度,跟踪超额支出和支出不足情况。

即使是那些算不上数据专家的 Tinuiti 员工,现在也纷纷要求获取 Tableau 来自行执行分析,而不是依靠分析团队。此外,由于所有仪表板都托管在云端、始终开放且全天候可供使用,因此该机构的内部员工及其客户的员工(包括高管)随时都可以查看他们的数字营销数据。正如 Andrew 所言:“如果没有 Tableau,我们不会有现在的进展,那样就会需要更多员工才能完成同样的工作。”这些可供使用的动态仪表板“对我们及我们的客户大有帮助”。

现在,Tinuiti 可以将更多精力放在讲述客户多渠道数据背后的有趣故事上,从而给客户带来更多价值。由于营销形势的变化太快,客户以及为客户服务的 Tinuiti 团队都等不及每季一次的更新出炉,便需要做出更明智的业务决策。Andrew 表示:“我们最终选择 Tableau,是因为它可以帮助我们高效地制作仪表板,而且在数据探索方面也很有价值。”事实上,无论是在为客户会议做准备时还是在客户会议期间,Tinuiti 都可以当场生成分析结果,从而能够更有效地与客户协作和影响客户。而这要归功于 Tinuiti 建立了易于理解、管理且能给客户带来更出色成效的单一事实来源。

Tinuiti 的另一家客户,Brooks Running 对 Tinuiti 如何使用 Tableau 给他们创造业务价值也表示称赞:“Tinuiti 团队真是超出了我们的期望,他们制作的仪表板不仅能够指导行动,而且在设计上也美观大方!在整个过程中我们与他们的分析团队合作得都很愉快,该团队甚至还帮助我们学习 Tableau 知识,增长了我们自己的知识水平。在这些仪表板的助力下,我们的业务又上了一个新台阶;对于他们的辛苦付出以及传授的专业知识,我们十分感激。”

预测性分析为客户规划和预测提供支持

Tinuiti 有一个营销科学团队,该团队使用 Tableau 预测功能为客户进行预测性分析,从而提前至少六个月为客户提供前瞻指引。当客户着手进行年度规划时,该机构已经准备好一份根据历史分析结果显示未来一年情况的报告。报告中的数据可以用于展示广告、电子邮件营销、付费媒体和搜索广告等。最终,Tinuiti 制定了大规模嵌入预测性分析的计划,以便制作出来的每一个客户仪表板都包含预测功能。

随着 Tinuiti 不断扩展自己的功能,假设分析也成为了 Tinuiti 的一个侧重点。通过利用 Tableau 的强大功能以及与 R 的集成,该机构还能结合这些假设分析更好地进行时序分析和媒体预测。在 Tableau 中,该机构能够解答诸如“如果我交给你们更多资金,效果会如何”等客户问题。此外,由于分析中体现了既往的数据,客户和 Tinuiti 员工可以选择将实际销售额与预测的销售额进行对比,并根据不断变化的新业务增长情况和预计的客户流失率来相应地调整结果。

Marketing agency Tinuiti centralizes 100+ data sources in Tableau Prep, scales marketing analytics for 500 clients


Reduced time spent on data preparation by 60 percent with Tableau Prep Builder
Combined 100+ sources into a single view for hundreds of clients’ marketing data
Transitioned to automated, scalable marketing analytics in less than 14 months

Tinuiti, North America’s largest independent performance and data-driven digital marketing agency with more than $1 billion in managed ad spend, develops strategic media plans for more than 500 clients. Brands such as Tommy Bahama, Eddie Bauer, and Brooks Running rely on Tinuiti to combine channel data analytics and marketing science with an integrated media strategy. However, a complicated landscape of marketing technologies and data sources made it difficult for Tinuiti to quickly analyze information so that media is fully optimized for one-to-one client marketing.

Tinuiti adopted Tableau, helping staff make sense of all channel-level data and reducing time spent on data reporting, collection, and preparation by 60 percent. They centralized data from more than 100 sources with the help of ChannelMix by Alight Analytics and created a scalable, repeatable, cost-effective, and automated reporting infrastructure through Tableau, which satisfies customer needs, increases staff and analytics effectiveness, and enhances client relationships.

With the Tableau platform, including Tableau Prep, the Tinuiti analytics team quickly pulls data from a complex mix of digital channels and creates custom, flexible dashboards for customers so they see the full story of their brand efforts. They also deliver bespoke and templated reports so clients’ marketing departments can self-explore data, investigate underlying details, and make better decisions that improve brand engagement. Tableau connects to cloud-hosted marketing data in Amazon Redshift, and provides performant, secure dashboards for both customers and Tinuiti teams so questions and needs are addressed immediately. In-turn, marketing budget is allocated to the best media tactics that create the strongest engagement.

Revamped analytics approach enables faster data reporting

With so many marketing sources, Tinuiti was overwhelmed trying to ingest, clean, combine, and provide actionable data reports to its customers. The agency used a painstaking manual process to pull and transform information, but struggled to put timely, dynamic marketing reports in customers’ hands, which also increased the burden to analytics staff, resulting in over 156,000 hours spent on data reporting annually. Customers wanted near real-time analytics, and without it, marketing resources couldn’t be directed at timely multi-channel tactics.

As marketers, we have so much data we need to act upon and Tableau gives us the ability to connect to many different data sources in the marketing ecosystem.

Tinuiti adopted Tableau and found instant value with Tableau Prep. Tableau Prep cut the time Tinuiti spent cleaning, combining, and shaping their data all while increasing capacity of the channel and analytics teams. Powered by APIs connected to Amazon Redshift that extract almost 600GB of cloud-hosted marketing data, Tinuiti has created an automated reporting Prep flow that uses clean data from major marketing platforms for functions such as automated email attachments, social media, and digital advertising. “For us to have access to a tool like Tableau Prep has given us the ability to go faster and do it at scale across multiple channels,” explained Andrew Richardson.

And now with Tableau Prep Conductor, the Tinuiti teams are able to schedule and manage self-service data preparation at scale, Andrew shared: “We’re thrilled to try it and expect it will help us automate and scale data prep across the company even more than we have today.” They recognize it will speed up their ability to report on campaigns for clients, increasing the value provided, which also helps their bottom line.

The new approach using a combination of ChannelMix and Tableau for automated, flexible, and scalable data analysis allows Tinuiti to deliver strategic value that nurtures strong, lasting client relationships. Clients such as Big 5 Sporting Goods recognize that having this comprehensive view of their channel marketing data greatly impacts their business and enables better spend of their marketing dollars.

The Tinuiti team has applied their analytical expertise in Tableau to create an exceptional comprehensive dashboard for our marketing programs. It’s been a gamechanger to have multiple data sources from across our business automated and synthesized all in one place.

Tracking digital advertising budgets with self-service reporting

There’s considerable nuance to marketing campaigns and data reporting. Each marketing tactic requires careful consideration and planning with varying KPIs and goals. Tinuiti understands that not every customer is analytically-minded and data savvy, but it was also challenging with a smaller analytics staff to serve the different channel teams and easily answer customers’ questions. Some of their complex questions included: what’s the lifetime value of our customers, what segments should I go after, or how can I predictively forecast for the future when I’m used to making decisions with gut feel?

Tableau’s drag-and-drop functionality and multiple data filters made it easier for Tinuiti’s analytics team to accelerate work in areas that weren’t possible before. With a vast number of ecommerce clients, Tinuiti created a flexible dashboard for them and its internal teams where anyone can adjust the profile, report name, type of chart, timeframes, and other parameters to compare data; it’s often available right after they start with Tinuiti. The analytics team also created a pacing report where channel teams monitor digital advertising budgets for brands so they can monitor daily spending rates and track over and under-spending.

Even Tinuiti staff who weren’t considered data experts now clamor to get Tableau and perform their own analysis instead of relying on the analytics team. And with all dashboards hosted in the cloud, always on and available 24/7, internal and client staff (including executives) can check on their digital marketing data whenever they choose. As Andrew explained, “If we didn’t have Tableau, we would be behind where we are today and need more staff to do the same amount of work.” These consumable, dynamic dashboards are “making a really big difference for us and our customers.”

Now, Tinuiti can focus more on telling the interesting stories behind clients’ multi-channel data and deliver more value. The marketing landscape changes too quickly and both customers and the Tinuiti teams that serve them can’t wait on quarterly updates to make better business decisions. “We ended up choosing Tableau because of the efficiency that we gained with dashboarding as well as what we were going to see in data exploration,” said Andrew. In fact, generating analytics on the spot—both in preparation for and during client meetings—means Tinuiti can better collaborate with and influence clients by having one source of truth that’s easy to understand, manage, and leads to better customer outcomes.

Brooks Running, another Tinuiti customer, lauded how their use of Tableau creates business value for them: "The Tinuiti team has gone above and beyond to create dashboards that are not only actionable but also beautiful by design! The analytics team has been a pleasure to work with throughout the process and even helped us learn and grow in our own Tableau knowledge. We very much appreciate their hard work and expertise as the dashboards have helped take our business to the next level.”

Predictive analytics supports client planning and forecasts

Tinuiti has a marketing science team that uses Tableau forecasting to perform predictive analytics for clients, looking out at least six months. When clients head into annual planning, the agency is prepared with a report showing the year ahead based on historical analysis. This can be applied to display, email marketing, paid social and search, and more. Eventually, Tinuiti has plans to build in predictive analytics at scale so forecasting is part of every client dashboard built.

What-if analyses are another concentration for Tinuiti as they expand their capabilities. Leveraging the power of Tableau and integration with R has also allowed for better, time series analysis and media forecasting in conjunction with these what-if analyses. In Tableau, they can answer client questions like “If I had more money to give you, what would that look like?” Plus, with past data reflected in the analytics, clients and Tinuiti staff have the option to compare actual sales with forecasted sales and adjust results by changing new business growth and expected customer churn rates.