使用 Tableau Prep 整理数据的最佳做法

生成、捕获和存储数据时,数据可能会采用各种令人眼花缭乱的结构,但对于分析而言,并非所有数据格式都是有效的。

数据准备是清理混乱数据、重构不规范数据及合并多个数据集以供分析的过程。它涉及转换行和列等数据结构,以及清理数据类型和值等内容。数据准备过程的速度和效率直接影响发现见解所花费的时间。了解要分析的数据范围、看到对数据的更改,可以加快整个流程。

全面考虑数据

开始之前,请务必思考人们会如何使用您准备的数据。了解这一上下文可帮助您确定要使用的数据集、放入数据准备工具的数据量以及最终构造和组织数据的方式。开始之前,您需要回答一些基本问题:

01

哪些人会进行分析?

思考最终数据集的最终用户。例如,您是将要全面访问和彻底理解数据以便进行深入分析的唯一用户吗?还是数据集会由担任另一角色的人使用,例如需要根据已选择和指定的指标了解特定活动执行效果的营销经理?如果答案是后者,那么您可能要缩减数据集内容,只留下相关度量值。

也可能某个数据表中有产品代码,而营销经理却需要知道产品名称。在这种情况下,需要联接数据表和事实表,以获取相关信息。在准备数据阶段,考虑受众非常重要,这与创建仪表板时类似。

02

需要提出或回答什么类型的问题?

在数据准备过程中,务必了解人们将如何使用最终数据集 - 是用于复杂分析还是用于快速总结。这个细节会显著影响数据准备过程,决定数据准备的工作量和详细程度。

通常可以根据自己对战略业务优先级的了解,预测人们会提出的最常见的数据问题,但很可能会出现意料之外的问题。准备数据集时,需在服务于即时问题和允许进一步探索之间保持平衡。例如,某人可以看到过去六个月的销售趋势,但若要深入挖掘某一周的销售激增情况,则需要进行更深入的分析并查看每天的具体数据。

03

数据存储在哪里?

考虑这个问题时,需留意一些基本的注意事项。例如,您是否具备适当的权限来访问给定数据源?数据源是否组织得井然有序?换句话说,当您将它放入 Tableau 时,您是否可以执行所需的分析?甚至在开始准备过程之前,就需要解决这些问题。

若要深入了解如何在 Tableau Desktop 中组织数据以供分析,请访问在线帮助页面

获得必要数据的访问权限后,您需要确定其存储位置。问问自己:是将数据存储在单个表中还是存储在单个数据库的多个表中?您可能需要合并多个数据库才能找到问题的根源,而如果您需要功能更强大的视图,还可能需要引入外部数据源。例如,要分析您所在地区的学生考试成绩并了解社会经济状况所发挥的作用,就要整合人口普查数据。通常需要拉取外部数据源,才能了解完整的情况。

了解数据的基本结构

现在您已了解数据的用途、使用者以及存储位置,但您还需了解数据的构造方式。如果您事先不知道承重墙的位置,那您永远无法进行房屋改造。同样,如果您不了解字段间的依赖或关联情况、数据的输入方式(即手动或自动)或详细级别,就没法开始数据准备。了解数据结构后,您可以先制定蓝图,然后再进入数据准备过程。

01

清楚眼前的内容

在将数据放入数据准备工具之前,请务必了解您将要处理的内容;您需知道眼前是整个数据集还是只有一个子集。在开始清理之前,您可能还需要进行一些数据探索。

02

调整样本大小

连接到大型数据集时,可能需要将其限制为数据样本,以提高数据准备过程的速度并优化性能。有时,您可能希望查看完整的数据集。使用 Tableau Prep,可以实现以上两种操作。如果样本无法帮助您解决数据准备任务,可尝试以下操作:

  • 增加数据的样本大小。返回输入步骤并调整样本的行数。您可以增加行数或包含所有数据,但请注意,这可能会导致性能下降。另一点需要注意的是,如果使用固定行数,将按基础数据库用作最快返回请求行的标准返回内容(比如,返回结果不一定是数据库中的前 1,000 行)。
  • 使用随机抽样。默认情况下,Tableau Prep 将根据数据集中的字段总数和这些字段的数据类型来计算返回的最佳行数。随机采样在数据库级别进行,并会返回请求的行数。数据库会查看每一行并返回样本。此选项并非适用于所有数据源,还可能会影响性能。
  • 添加输入步骤筛选器。通过在输入步骤添加筛选器,可确保拉入数据集的数据与分析相关。这可为您提供更具代表性的样本,同时还有助于提升性能。

03

探索您的数据

首先,可查看给定字段中值的特定数量。在下面的示例中,快速浏览列标题顶部可看到数据集中所显示州的数量。还要了解不同值之间的关系,以便发现数据异常值或问题。在 Tableau Prep 中,您可以使用突出显示来探索字段之间的关系。点击配置窗格中的值可缩小数据网格视图,显示指示字段中包含这些值的记录。Tableau Prep 会突出显示各个字段的值,并将相关值标注为蓝色。



蓝色显示所选值与其他字段中的值之间的关系分布情况。

04

删除不必要的数据

若要优化数据准备过程的整体性能,请仅在 Tableau Prep 中放入分析所需的字段。

假设您要准备的数据集需代表贵公司的销售和产品数据。您知道您稍后将在 Tableau 中使用此数据集,以分析该年度的销售业绩。在这种情况下,您可能不需要在数据集中包含每个产品的发货日期详细信息,因为它与销售情况或客户购买该产品的原因并无太大关系。此数据仅指示产品何时离开仓库,因此您可以将其从数据源中删除。在准备阶段的任何时间点,如果您认为不再需要某字段,只需在流程中将其删除即可。

提示:在准备过程中,您还可以开始拆分字段,将其拆分为多个列。您可能不需要刚才拆分的原始列,因此可以将其删除。

筛选数据还可节省数据准备过程的时间,并能确保执行正确的分析。例如,如果您知道只需查看最近两年的销售数据,则可使用范围或相对日期筛选器对日期字段进行筛选,仅显示该时间范围的数据。此外,还可能存不相关或不正确的数据,这些数据也需要删除。只需在数据窗格中点击值并将其排除即可。此操作可在流程中的任何时刻完成。

05

审阅和清理

在 Tableau 中,分析会受到数据类型的影响,因此在进行深入分析前请务必正确标识每个字段。虽然可以在 Tableau 中编辑别名、更改数据类型、拆分字段和编写计算,但在前期执行这些操作会更加容易,尤其是在为其他人创建数据集时。

了解每个字段的数据质量至关重要。例如,从调查中收集的电话号码可能有多种格式,如果此类数据来自全球不同人群,则情况更是如此。为了一致性而手动检查数千甚至数百万唯一值,通常非常乏味且容易出错。对于创建更整洁的数据集而言,识别模式并批量更新数据有着重大意义。使用 Tableau Prep 的内置功能(如可用于删除标点符号、数字、字母或修饰空格的快速清理步骤),您可以进行这些更改,从而节省时间和精力。

例如,如果州字段出现“加利福尼亚州”和“CA”,而其余值均为完整的州名称,那么您可直接更改值,这样,“加利福尼亚州”的记录便会包括“CA”的实例。

您可能还会注意到数据大部分都是正确的,但偶尔也会有例外。Tableau Prep 非常智能。它利用算法来完成一些繁重的工作,从而帮助建立标准的数据值。也许您有一列数据,客户在其中输入了他们来自的城市的名称。快速滚动浏览该列后,您发现阿尔布开克市的名称存在几处拼写错误。Tableau Prep 的内置功能会根据常用字符或发音进行分组和替换,而无需您手动更新每一处错误。这些选项使用算法来简化清理过程,因此您不必自己手动操作。或者,如果您预计缺少某一个值,则可手动添加该值,然后在流程中运行整个数据集时将其合并到数据集中。如果您知道需清理或筛选某个字段,但需要用户界面中未显示的功能,可使用计算

06

了解数据的最终输出

开始准备数据时,确定最终数据集的构造是一个棘手的问题。您可能需要将多个数据源合并在一起,或将数据从列转换为行,以便 Tableau 可以对它进行适当计算。

克服这项挑战的一种方法是,设想 Tableau Desktop 中数据窗格的外观应该是什么样子。是否存在多个具有相同值的列?是应让特定产品自成一列,并在下方列出销售交易数据,还是应该将每个产品放在单个字段中,并将销售数据放在单独的列中?后者很可能是更好的选择,这时就应该使用数据透视表

如果您需要合并两个表,则要对数据建立联接或并集。联接允许您向数据源添加更多字段,从而扩展可分析的字段数量。虽然可以在数据准备流程中的任何时候添加联接,但是越早应用,就能越早了解数据集并发现需要立即关注的方面。

同样,通过并集也可将两个数据集附加在一起。例如,您有一个 Excel 文件,其中每张工作表显示了不同年份的交易信息。不使用联合,而使用并集,可保留相同的结构,只是会增加行数。

对两个表建立联接或并集时,需考虑详细级别。要将它们适当合并在一起,可能需要更改详细级别。如果出现问题,请尝试聚合它们。

跟踪各个步骤

如果您需要重新访问准备过程中的某个步骤并进行更改,那么在整个准备过程中保持有条不紊至关重要。虽然您无需遵循一系列特定说明来清理数据(而应采用适合自己的方式来准备数据),但是如果知道自己对哪些内容进行了更改,就能更轻松地编辑和更新数据准备过程。

01
按照您的思路进行准备

从重整结构到重设格式再到清理,数据准备包含多个不同的组成部分,您不应局限于特定的顺序。借助 Tableau Prep,您可以按照自己的思路对数据进行更改和更新。有人可能会先透视数据,还有人可能会先清理拼写错误或缺失的数据。

02

把每一步分隔开

为一组特定操作创建新的步骤,使流程保持清晰简洁。将各个步骤想象成文件柜中的文件夹 - 按主题整理文件,从而更轻松地找到所需内容。同样,流程中的步骤应将执行某一特定任务的更改工作分为一组。例如,清理客户名称可能涉及拆分字段、重新映射一些值,以及在其他字段上应用筛选器以便为数据源输出获得正确的客户细分。将这些操作划分在同一步骤中后,您可以添加描述性名称,帮助您以后理解该流程。这不仅对您有所帮助,而且如果您与其他分析师共享该流程,它还可以让这些分析师找到并引用相同操作,方便他们轻松进行任何编辑。

跟踪任何给定步骤中发生的情况非常简单。如果您后悔执行了某项操作,可在更改窗格中快速删除或编辑该操作。

自始至终进行抽样检查

在清理和更改数据时,了解对数据产生的影响非常重要。您绝不希望在耗费大量时间精力执行此过程后,却发现只是联接了两个错误的字段。这会让您回到了解数据的阶段。如果您非常了解数据状况,抽样检查就更容易识别何时出现了错误。

01

使用可视化反馈

如果在开始分析之前可以了解数据相关性(如联接后数据集中的行数,或拼写问题等错误),那么数据准备就会容易得多。像 Tableau Desktop 一样,Tableau Prep 的构建也秉承着我们的使命:帮助人们查看并理解数据。



数据网格

在 Tableau Prep 中使用数据网格是了解数据的最佳方式。您可查看更改后的数据情况,一眼就能看出当前的异常情况。

数据网格
迷你地图

有时候,您认为自己的数据非常整洁且毫无问题,但使用迷你地图后,您会发现存在异常值或缺少某些记录。使用迷你地图可发现这些错误并进行必要的更改。

迷你地图
了解联接

人们很容易意外地将错误字段联接在一起,尤其是在联接多个字段时。Tableau Prep 使用可视化反馈向您展示联接结果,帮助您发现是否存在异常值、是否会返回过多数据以及数据是否正确。

了解联接

02

不断反复探究

数据准备是一个持续的过程。纠正所有拼写错误或联接后,此过程并未结束。数据集更新时,您的问题可能会发生变化,或者您可能会发现需要再添加一个字段。使用 Tableau Prep 的“在 Tableau Desktop 中打开样本”功能,可以轻松无缝地测试数据在分析过程中的呈现情况。

运行流程并开始分析

清理、重构并筛选数据后,即可分析数据并从中获取见解。与许多数据准备工具不同,Tableau Prep 可集成到您的整个商业智能平台。将数据提取发布到 Tableau Server 或 Tableau Online,以便其他人开始分析。将其放入 Tableau Desktop,即可开始提出并探索更深层次的问题。您刚刚完成了数据分析过程中最费力的部分。现在,可尽情收获您的劳动成果 - 见解!

试用 Tableau Prep

Tableau Prep 基础入门
Tableau Prep 在线帮助

Best practices for tidy data using Tableau Prep

Data can be generated, captured, and stored in a dizzying variety of structures, but when it comes to analysis, not all data formats are created equal.

Data preparation is the process of cleaning dirty data, restructuring ill-formed data, and combining multiple sets of data for analysis. It involves transforming the data structure, like rows and columns, and cleaning up things like data types and values. The speed and efficiency of your data prep process directly impacts the time it takes to discover insights. Understanding the scope of data you’re analyzing and seeing the changes you make to the data can accelerate the entire process.

Think about your data holistically

Before you get started, it’s important to think about how people will use the data that you’re preparing. Understanding this context will help you determine which data set to use, how much data to bring into your data prep tool, and how to ultimately structure and shape the data. To get started, you'll need to answer some basic questions:

01

Who is doing the analysis?

Consider the end users of your final data set. For example, are you the sole user that will access and understand all parts of the data for thorough analysis? Or will the data set be used by someone in a different role, like a marketing manager who needs to understand how a particular campaign is performing based on select, identified metrics? If it’s the latter, then you’ll likely want to trim down the data set to only those measures.

Or maybe there is a product code in one data table, but the marketing manager needs to know the product name. In this case, you would join the data and fact tables to get the information. Audience is critical when you're preparing data, similar to when you’re creating a dashboard.

02

What type of questions need to be asked or answered?

In the data prep process, it is important to understand how people will use the final data set—for complex analysis or for a quick summary. This detail influences the data preparation process significantly, determining both the amount of effort and detail.

You can typically predict the most common questions that people will ask of the data based on your understanding of strategic business priorities, but there will likely be unanticipated questions that pop up. When you're preparing a data set, there’s a balance between serving the immediate questions and allowing for further exploration. For example, someone may see a sales trend during the last six months, but digging into a spike during a particular week requires deeper analysis and a daily granularity of the data.

03

Where does the data live?

There are some basic considerations when it comes to this question. For example, do you even have the right permissions to access a given data source and is it in the right shape? In other words, when you bring it into Tableau, can you do the analysis you want? You’ll need to address both of these questions before you even start the preparation process.

To see more about how data should be structured for analysis in Tableau Desktop, visit the online help page.

Once you can access the necessary data, you'll need to determine where it all lives. Ask yourself: Is the data in a single table or in multiple tables in a single database? You may need to combine multiple databases to get to the root of your questions—or if you need a more robust view, you may need to bring in an external data source. For example, you might analyze student test scores in your district and want to see how socioeconomic statuses play a role, so you integrate census data. It is often necessary to pull in outside data sources to get the complete story.

Know the basic structure of your data

Now that you understand how the data will be used, who will use it, and where it lives, it’s essential to understand how it’s constructed. You would never do a home remodel without first knowing the location of your load-bearing walls. Similarly, you don’t want to start data prep without knowing which fields are dependent on or related to each other, how the data was input (i.e. manual versus automated), or the level of detail. Knowing your data structure lets you develop the blueprint before you move forward in the data prep process.

01

Know what you’re looking at

Before you bring data into a data prep tool, it’s important to understand what you’re working with; you need to know whether you’re looking at the entire data set or only a subset. You may also need to do some data exploration before you start cleaning.

02

Adjust your sample size

When you connect to a large data set, you’ll probably want to limit it to a sample of the data to increase the speed of your data prep process and to optimize performance. There may be times where you want to see the full data set and Tableau Prep lets you do either. If a sample doesn’t help you solve your data prep task, here are some things you can try:

  • Increase the sample size of your data. Go back to the input step and adjust the number of rows for the sample. You can increase the number of rows or include all the data, but be aware this could slow down the performance. Another caveat is that using a fixed number of rows will return what the underlying database uses as criteria for the fastest way to return the rows requested (i.e. this does not necessarily mean the top 1,000 rows in the database).
  • Use random sampling. By default, Tableau Prep will calculate the optimal number of rows to return depending on the total number of fields in the set and the data types of those fields. The random sampling happens on the database level, returning the number of rows requested. The database looks at every row and returns a sample. This option is not available for all data sources and may also impact performance.
  • Add an input step filter. By adding a filter at the input step, you ensure that the data that is pulled into your data set is relevant to your analysis. This gives you a more representative sample, while helping with performance.
03

Explore your data

First, you’ll likely want to see the unique number of values in a given field. In the example below, a quick glance at the top of the column header reveals the amount of states represented in the data set. You’ll also want to know how different values relate so that you can spot data outliers or issues. In Tableau Prep, you can use highlighting to discover relationships across fields. When you click on a value in the profile pane, it narrows the data grid view to show the records that have those values in the indicated field. Tableau Prep highlights the values across fields and turns the related values blue.

The blue color shows the relationship distribution between the value you selected and the values in the other fields.


04

Remove unnecessary data

To optimize the overall performance of your data prep process, limit the fields you bring into Tableau Prep to the ones you'll need for your analysis.

Let’s say you’re preparing a data set that represents your company’s sales and product data. You know that you’ll later bring this data set into Tableau to analyze sales performance for the year. In this case, you may not need to include details around the ship date for every product because it won’t tell you much about the sale or why a customer bought the product. It’s only an indication of when the product left the warehouse—so you can likely remove it from the data source. If at any point during your preparation, there is a field you realize you no longer need, you can simply remove the field during your flow.

Hint: While you’re going through your preparation process, you may also start splitting fields, breaking them into multiple columns. You probably don’t need the original column you just split, so go ahead and delete it.

Filtering your data also saves time in the process and ensures you’re doing the right analysis. For example, if you know you only need to look at sales data from the last two years, filter your date field to that time frame with the range or relative date filter. There may be irrelevant or incorrect data that you want to remove. You can simply click on a value in the data pane and exclude it. This can be done at any point in your flow.

05

Review and clean

In Tableau, your analysis will be impacted by data types—and it is important to appropriately identify each field before diving in. While you can edit aliases, change data types, split fields, and write calculations in Tableau, it’s a lot easier to perform these actions upfront, especially when creating the data set for someone else.

It is essential to understand the data quality for every field. For example, telephone numbers collected from a survey may have various formats—especially if it was from a global pool of people. Manually inspecting thousands to millions of unique values for the sake of consistency is often tedious and error-prone. Identifying patterns and updating the data in bulk has major implications for a cleaner data set. And using Tableau Prep’s built-in functions—like quick clean steps that allow removal of punctuation, numbers, letters, or trim spaces—give you the ability to make these changes, saving you time and sanity.

For instance, if your state field has “California” and “CA” when the rest of the values have the full state names you can change the values directly and voila, the “California” records now include instances of “CA.”

You may also notice your data is mostly right with an occasional exception. Tableau Prep is smart. It helps standardize data values by leveraging algorithms to do some of the heavy lifting. Perhaps you have a column of data where customers input the name of the city they’re from. After quickly scrolling through the column, you notice there are several misspellings for the city of Albuquerque. Rather than update each one manually, Tableau Prep has built-in functionality to group and replace by common characters or pronunciation. These options use algorithms to simplify the cleaning process so you don’t have to. Or, if you anticipate a missing value, you can manually add it for incorporation when running the entire data set through the flow. If you know a field needs to be cleaned or filtered, but requires something beyond what’s in the user interface, you can use a calculation.

06

Know the ultimate output of your data

When you start preparing your data, it can be daunting to determine how the final data set should look. You may need to combine multiple data sources together or pivot your data from columns to rows so that Tableau can evaluate it properly.

One way to overcome this challenge is to envision what the data pane in Tableau Desktop should look like. Do you have multiple columns with the same value? Should a specific product be its own column with the sales transactions listed below or should all of the products be in single fields and the sales in a separate column? It’s likely the latter, and in this case, a pivot is in order.

If you need to combine two tables, you’ll either be joining or unioning the data. A join allows you to add more fields to your data source—expanding the number of fields that you can analyze. While it’s possible to add a join at any time during your data preparation flow, the earlier you apply it, the sooner you’ll understand the data set and expose areas that need immediate attention.

Similarly, a union will allow you to append two data sets together. For example, you may have an Excel file where each sheet shows transactions for different years. Rather than join the tables together, a union allows you to keep the same structure, but with more rows.

When joining or unioning two tables, consider the level of detail. To properly bring them together, you may need to change the level of detail. If something seems off, try aggregating them.

Keep track of your steps

Staying organized throughout your preparation process is essential when you need to revisit and make a change to some step in the process. While you don’t need to follow a specific set of instructions to clean your data (in fact, you should prepare the data in a way that makes sense to you), your data prep process will be a lot easier to edit and update if you know where you made changes.

01
Prepare the way you think

Data preparation has a lot of different components, from restructuring to reformatting to cleaning, and you should not be constrained by a specific order. Tableau Prep lets you make changes and updates to your data in a way that fits how you think. While some people may start with pivoting the data first, others may start with cleaning up misspellings or missing data.

02

Compartmentalize each step

Creating new steps for a specific set of actions keeps your flow nice and tidy. Think of your steps as folders in your filing cabinet—you organize files by their subject, making it easier to find what you’re looking for. Similarly, the steps in the flow should group a set of changes that capture a particular task. For example, cleaning up customer names might involve splitting a field, remapping a bunch of values, and applying filters on other fields to get the right customer segmentation for the output of the data source. When you keep these actions in the same step, you can add a descriptive name to help you understand the flow later on. Not only does this help you, but if you’re sharing the flow with fellow analysts, it lets them find and reference the same actions, giving them a way to easily make any edits.

Keeping track of what happened in any given step is easy. If you make an action that you regret, you can quickly remove or edit it in the change pane.

Spot check throughout

It’s important that you’re cognizant of what is happening to the data as you clean and make changes to it. You don’t want to get too far down the process only to realize you joined the wrong two fields. This goes back to knowing your data. If you have a good sense of what the data should look like, these spot checks will be easier to recognize when something isn't right.

01

Use visual feedback

It’s much easier to prepare the data if you can see how it relates before starting your analysis—like the number of rows in a set after a join, or errors like misspellings. Much like Tableau Desktop, Tableau Prep has been built with our mission in mind: Help people see and understand their data.


Data grid

Using the data grid in Tableau Prep is perfect for finding your way around the data. You can see what the data looks like after a change is made and get a glimpse into existing anomalies.

data grid
Mini maps

There are times when you think your data is as clean as a whistle, but using the mini map, you notice an outlier or a few missed records. Use the mini map to spot these and make necessary changes.

mini maps
Understand the join

It can be easy to accidentally join the wrong fields together, especially when you're joining on multiple fields. Tableau Prep uses visual feedback to show you the results of a join, helping you discover if there are any outliers, if there is too much data being returned, and whether or not the data is correct.

understand the join
02

Keep iterating

Data preparation is an ongoing process. It’s not over once you have corrected all the misspellings or joins. When the data set updates, your questions may change or you may find that you need to add another field. With Tableau Prep’s “Open sample in Tableau Desktop” feature, it’s easy and seamless to test how the data appears down the line in the analysis portion of your journey.

Run the flow and start the analysis

Now that you’ve cleaned, restructured, and filtered your data, it’s time to make sense of what it's telling you. Unlike many data prep tools, Tableau Prep integrates into your full business intelligence platform. Publish the extract to Tableau Server or Tableau Online so that others can start their analysis. Bring it into Tableau Desktop to start asking and exploring deeper questions. You’ve just finished the most laborious part of the data analysis process. Now it's time to unleash the fruits of your labor—the insights!

Try Tableau Prep

Getting Started with Tableau Prep
Tableau Prep Online Help