JPMorgan Chase 选择通过 Tableau 来实现自助式分析,时刻掌握瞬息万变的行业趋势


通过降低手动报告用时节省数千小时的工作时间
扩展 Tableau,为近 30,000 名用户提供服务
通过数据管控,在严格管制的环境中实现自助式分析

JPMorgan Chase & Co. (JPMC) 是一流的全球性金融服务公司,也是美国最大的银行之一。通过兼并与收购,该公司的规模不断扩大。数据对于这家公司的业务运营及战略制定都至关重要 — 降低风险、改善客户体验、提供能够影响战略走向的情报。

JPMC 实现了从 IT 主导到业务主导的自助式分析转型,这种转型使其能够时刻掌握瞬息万变的行业趋势,并通过更有效的优化措施实现业务成功。但在一个严格监管的环境中,IT 首先必须建立能够在数据访问和合规之间实现平衡的企业管控体系。在卓越中心的支持和 IT 部门的推动下,JPMC 采用了 Tableau,并且将 Tableau Server 用户的人数从 2011 年的 400 名扩展到当前的接近 30,000 名 — 提高了整个企业的数据准确性。

现在,超过 500 个团队使用 Tableau 来制定对该银行的健康运行至关重要的战略决策。举例来说,JPMC 的营销运营团队会分析客户历程,这种分析关系到各方面的设计决策,例如网站、营销材料,以及 Chase 移动应用程序等产品。财务和分行经理通过分析数据来改善客户的银行服务体验。众多角色 — 包括交易员、运营分析师、销售/风险和合规团队成员 — 都在受益于 Tableau 的 API 功能,这些功能支持现有业务程序,从而可以提供无缝分析体验。

我想,那就是 Tableau 能够在 JPMC 取得成功的最大原因...因为人们想使用它,它才能从无到有发展到现在的规模。

以业务为重点的 IT 培养现代分析文化,用户人数接近 30,000

业务部门希望自己能够自信地解决和回答与自己数据相关的问题,同时又遵守金融服务行业的合规和监管要求,以及内部数据管控标准。

业务部门长期以来一直依赖 Excel 和 SQL Server 之类的传统工具。但这种生态系统会降低效率并滋生多个版本的数据,造成混乱与误差。即便使用 Cognos 或 Business Objects 之类的商业智能解决方案,他们也需要数月的时间才能完成广告活动的有效性评估。他们需要一种既能在管控与数据访问之间实现平衡,又能够及时解决业务部门迫切需求的平台。

在团队领导进行调整后,IT 为业务用户清除了数据壁垒,并与合规、审计和风险部门合作,使用 Tableau 开发出一套管控解决方案。副总裁兼 BI 创新负责人 Steven Hittle 解释说,“我宁愿创建一个可以让业务部门解决业务问题的平台,因为我们 (IT) 根本不懂这些问题。这就是我们使用 Tableau 时的方针,因为 Tableau 可以让他们连接并分析自己的数据,这正是他们已经在做的事情。”

通过为希望尝试新事物的人提供 Tableau 访问,JPMC 在企业规模实现了受管控的自助式分析。卓越中心 (COE) 团队在推广和采用方面发挥了重要的作用,并且在继续为整个 JPMC 设定 Tableau 和分析使用愿景。在 2017 年全年,八名培训师为 1,200 名新开发人员和分析师进行了针对该平台的培训,壮大了基层支持力量,激发了人们的兴趣,最终实现了当前接近 30,000 名用户的规模。在 COE 的帮助下,他们通过教室培训和 Tableau Days(持续一整天的活动,Tableau 销售人员与银行职员在活动中开展 Tableau 相关协作)吸引和培训用户。这种方式让他们不断取得进展,并营造出一种积极的数据分析良性循环。

分析总监 Jason Mack 强调,“我想那就是 Tableau 在 JPMC 取得成功的最大原因...它之所以从无到有发展到今天的规模,是因为人们愿意使用它,而不是因为 IT 凭空消失。” 该银行建立了 18 个 Tableau Server 群集,通过这些群集监测使用情况、性能和关键指标,确保每个人的需求得到满足,防止数据容量缺口,并实现高效运行。

通过让业务团队的所有分析师都能使用 Tableau 提出数据问题,JPMC 还将手动报告所需的时间从几个月缩短到几周,从而节省了数千小时的工时,提高了整个企业的决策水平以及透明度。从分析师到最高层管理人员,每个人都获得了更多的时间和访问权限,从而能够思考数据对业务的影响,发挥出更大的创新能力,同时也因此设定了一致性更高的指标定义,更好地了解客户使用银行服务的历程。

JPMC img one
JPMC img two

我们使用 Tableau 来分析我们的强大的客户数据集...以便快速提出各种问题,例如“多少名客户同时拥有一张 Freedom 卡和一个活期账户,并使用移动钱包?”

借助渠道级别的营销指标打造客户体验

在查看分析(例如具体账户数据和零售数据的测评)时,业务团队很难对完整的客户信息及其每日历程进行全方位观察。现在,Tableau 可以充当客户分析前端,而营销部门已经构建了强大的数据集,将业务线关系(例如产品、营销和服务联系点)与客户数据关联起来,以便对客户关系价值进行总体评估。

Jason 解释,“我们为自己强大的客户数据集提供了 Tableau 前端,以便分析师快速提出各种问题,例如‘多少名客户同时拥有一张 Freedom 卡和一个活期账户,并使用移动钱包?’”此举让 JPMC 获得了重要见解,使其能够在扩大客户群的同时提高客户满意度。

发起广告活动时,营销部门会在 Tableau 中分析人口数据,确定最佳投放方式。而运营部门可以通过查看客户历程分析来了解流程中的中断点。要对产品进行改进,必须能够看到客户在哪些环节放弃了银行服务,以及他们这样做的原因,或者看到渠道中达到关键数量的位置。Steven 说,“我们有呼叫中心指标。有网站分析。在您能想到的每一个客户体验环节,我们都在努力改善客户满意度。”结果,他们或者在短期内迅速取得成效,或者将某些项目放到路线图中,使其在日后得到最终解决。

营销团队还使用 Tableau 仪表板支持 JPMC 的零售分行,帮助他们更好地了解自己的市场。例如,某些仪表板有助于更好地对小企业进行前景分析。他们还提供更加详细的房产销售和房产经纪人活动信息,以便更有针对性地选择项目和客户。我们正在通过一个试点项目,向私人客户银行经理和房贷顾问等分行职员推广 Tableau,该项目最终将覆盖全部 5,300 多家分行。

我宁愿创建一个可以让业务部门解决业务问题的平台,因为我们 (IT) 根本不懂这些问题。这就是我们使用 Tableau 时的方针,因为 Tableau 可以让他们连接并分析自己的数据,这正是他们已经在做的事情。

风险管理部门采用 Tableau 通过支持数据标准化实现合规

2012 年经济危机引发行业动荡,并使人们更多地关注如何加强对银行的控制。更加严格的监管导致 IT 和业务部门之间的关系、协作和信任都趋于紧张。由于无法获得透明并且完全可信的业务线数据,JPMC 的成本和风险都在增加,但他们必须证明自己在遵守政府的监管要求。该银行过去一直使用 Excel、Access 等工具进行大量风险分析。因此很难确保数据源的准确性,也很难达到监管要求。为了改变这种局面,IT 与风险和合规部门的利益相关者合作,以便获得他们的支持,进一步推广 Tableau。

IT 为他们提供 Tableau 和数据模型培训,培养更加健康的协作式工作关系。此举最终让数百名风险部门用户受益于 Tableau,同时也建立了有效的管控框架。该团队使用 Tableau Desktop 或 Tableau Online 创建基于受控合规数据的仪表板,并将这些仪表板发布到 Tableau Server 上供业务团队、经理和高管使用。

为了支持这项工作,IT 部门创建了名为“经认证的自助式服务”的新群集,并对该群集实施更加严格的流程,确保 SQL 数据正确无误,使这些数据的权威性得到人们的认可。它由 18 个 Tableau Server 群集组成,包含 90 个不同站点。经认证的自助式服务让他们能够通过数据词典将每条信息记录在案,让人们能够使用可信数据源自信地进行动态决策。IT 部门验证数据是否有效,是否符合安全控制准则。

商业智能实施中心负责人 Sriram Belur 说,“在一个监管极为严格的环境中实现自助式分析 – 在一款能够捕获元数据并在 Tableau 中提供元数据谱系的工具中建立标准平台、正确的数据控制措施、正确的管控体系 – 用户喜欢它,因为他们无需等待 IT;IT 也喜欢它,因为用户满意了。”

您可能还有兴趣了解...

JPMorgan Chase chooses Tableau to enable self-service analytics, keeping up with rapid industry changes


Saved thousands of work hours by reducing manual reporting time
Scaled Tableau to nearly 30,000 users
Enabled self-service analytics in a highly regulated space with data governance

JPMorgan Chase & Co. (JPMC), is a leading global financial services firm and one of the largest U.S. banks. The company has grown through mergers and acquisitions with data becoming vital to business operations and strategy—reducing risk, enhancing the customer experience, and offering intelligence to shape future strategy.

JPMC made a shift from IT-owned to business-owned self-service analytics to keep up with rapid industry changes and better optimize for business success. But in a highly-regulated environment, IT needed to first establish enterprise governance that balanced data access and compliance. Championed by the Center of Excellence and with IT as enablers, JPMC adopted Tableau, expanding from 400 Tableau Server users in 2011 and approaching 30,000 today—driving enterprise-wide data accuracy.

Today, over 500 teams use Tableau to make strategic decisions that are important to the bank’s health. For example, JPMC’s Marketing Operations team analyzes the customer journey, which influences design decisions for the website, promotional materials, and products like the Chase mobile application. Finance and Branch Managers analyze data to support a stronger customer banking experience. And a variety of roles—from Traders, Operations Analysts, Sales, or Risk and Compliance team members—benefit from Tableau’s API capabilities, which support a seamless analytics experience with existing business applications.

I think that’s been the biggest contributor to Tableau’s success at JPMC...it evolved from nothing to where we are today because people want to use it.

Business-focused IT fosters modern analytics culture approaching 30,000 users

Business groups wanted to feel empowered to solve problems and answer questions of their own data, while adhering to financial services industry compliance and regulations, along with internal data governance standards.

For a long time, the business relied on legacy tools like Excel and SQL Server. However, this ecosystem created inefficiencies and replication of data, resulting in confusion and inaccuracies. With business intelligence solutions like Cognos or Business Objects, it also took months to assess campaigns for effectiveness. A platform balancing IT governance and data access, but addressing business priorities with immediacy, was needed.

With new team leadership, IT removed data barriers for business groups and worked with Compliance, Audit, and Risk to develop a governance solution using Tableau. “I would rather create a platform that allows the business to solve their own problems, because we (IT) will never know them all. That’s how I’ve approached our Tableau usage, simply because it allows them to connect to and analyze their own data, which they were already doing,” explained Steven Hittle, Vice President and BI Innovation Leader.

Providing Tableau access when people had the desire to try something new, JPMC enabled governed self-service at enterprise scale. The Center of Excellence (COE) team played an important role with adoption and continues to set the vision for Tableau and analytics use across JPMC. Eight individuals trained 1,200 new developers and analysts on the platform throughout all of 2017, creating grassroots momentum and sparking interest that’s led to nearly 30,000 current users. With the COE’s help to motivate and train users with classroom learning and Tableau Days (a full-day session with Tableau sales and bank staff collaborating on Tableau), steady wins occurred and created a positive, virtuous cycle of data analytics.

“I think that’s been the biggest contributor to Tableau’s success at JPMC...it evolved from nothing to where we are today because people want to use it, and not because IT went off in a bubble,” reinforced Jason Mack, Director of Analytics. The bank has 18 Tableau Server clusters where they monitor usage, performance, and key metrics to make sure everyone is satisfied, there is sufficient data capacity and efficiencies are realized.

By allowing analysts across business teams to question data with Tableau, JPMC has also reduced manual reporting time from months to weeks, which saved thousands of hours and created better enterprise-wide decision-making with elevated transparency. Analysts to C-level executives have gained more time and access to think about data’s impact on the business, have more capacity to innovate and have set more consistent definition of metrics to better understand the journey that customers take with the bank.

JPMC img one
JPMC img two

We put Tableau on our robust customer data sets...to quickly ask questions like 'how many customers have a Freedom and a checking account and use the mobile wallet?'

Shaping the customer experience with channel-level marketing metrics

While business teams reviewed analytics (i.e. measuring account-specific data and retail data), they struggled with viewing the whole customer and their end-to-end journey. Tableau now acts as the front-end for customer analytics and Marketing has built robust data sets tying the line of business relationships like products, marketing, and service touch points with customer data to evaluate overall customer relationship worth.

“We put a Tableau front-end on our robust customer data sets that enable analysts to quickly ask questions like ‘how many customers have a Freedom and a checking account and use the mobile wallet,’” explained Jason. This arms JPMC with insights to improve customer satisfaction while growing its customer base.

When launching campaigns, the Marketing team analyzes population data in Tableau to determine optimal targeting. And the operations side looks at customer journey analytics to understand process breaks. It’s important to see why and where customers abandon an action with the bank or where there are key volumes on channels so product improvements can be made. “There are call center metrics. There are website analytics. Everything you can think of from a customer experience where we’re trying to improve customer satisfaction,” added Steven. The outcome is quick wins versus putting items on a roadmap to eventually be addressed.

Marketing also supports JPMC’s retail branches with Tableau dashboards to better understand their market. For instance, certain dashboards help better prospect small businesses. And they’re delivering greater detail on home sales and realtor activity to inform select programs and customer targeting. There’s now a piloted rollout of Tableau to branch staff such as Private Client Bankers and Home Lending Advisors that will eventually include all 5,300+ branches.

I would rather create a platform that allows the business to solve their own problems, because we (IT) will never know them all. That’s how I’ve approached our Tableau usage, simply because it allows them to connect to and analyze their own data, which they were already doing.

Tableau adoption by Risk supports data standardization to maintain compliance

When the 2012 economic crisis triggered industry upheaval, focus shifted to increased controls for banks. This tighter regulation strained the relationship, collaboration, and trust between IT and Business. By not having transparent and full trust with line of business data, the cost and risk to JPMC grew, but showing compliance with government regulations was required. The bank’s risk analysis had been done in bulk with Excel, Access, and other tools. This made it difficult to ensure accuracy of the data source and adherence to regulations. To shift this pattern, IT brought along stakeholders from Risk and Compliance to gain support and further spread Tableau.

IT trained them on Tableau and data models to foster a healthier, collaborative working relationship. This eventually opened up Tableau for hundreds of Risk users’ benefit with the right governance framework in place. The team uses Tableau Desktop or Tableau Online to create dashboards with controlled, compliant data that’s served up on Tableau Server to business teams, managers and executives.

In support of the effort, IT created a new cluster called certified self-service, which goes through a more rigorous process to ensure the SQL is correct, and that people are confident the data is authoritative. It’s made up of 18 Tableau Server clusters with 90 distinct sites. With certified self-service, everything is documented with a data dictionary, so on-the-fly decisions can be made knowing it’s a trusted source. IT verifies the data is performing and it meets security control guidelines.

“Allowing self-service in one of the most highly regulated spaces – having the standard platform, the right data controls and the right governance in the tool that captures meta data and provides lineage of it in Tableau – users love it because they don’t have to wait for IT and IT loves it because they have happy users,” stated Sriram Belur, Head of Business Intelligence Delivery Center.

You might also be interested in...