Uniper 使用自助式分析,将获取见解的速度提高了 70%,提升 500 余名员工的分析能力


超过 30 个部门使用 Tableau
每年节省费用超过一百万欧元
挖掘数据的潜在价值

Uniper 在全球范围内进行能源的开发、交易和营销。Uniper 的总部设在德国的杜塞尔多夫,是欧洲最大的开发和贸易公司之一,提供技术先进的大规模资产的均衡产品组合,具备出色的技术和商业经验。2018 年初,该公司完成了大型数据基础结构检修。在此期间,其将当时的数据仓库方法更换为新的 "Atonyx" 数据平台,进而实现了数据湖的灵活性与 Tableau 的强大分析功能相结合。如此一来,超过 500 名员工的分析能力得以提升。他们可以通过自助方式满足自己的日常分析需求,而获取见解的速度也提高了 70%,使得公司的商业智能更快、更准确。 Uniper 通过单个平台集中所有数据和分析,而无需使用多个不同数据库和工具,仅 2018 这一年就节省了超过一百万欧元费用。

我们花费了大量时间考察市场上的所有主流解决方案,相关供应商有 SAP、IBM 和 Oracle 等。最后,凭借强大的可视化能力、无缝集成和使用简易性,Tableau 成为几乎每个类别中的最佳选择。

为超过 500 名员工进行强大的自助式分析提供支持

在采用 Tableau 之前,数据密集型部门(如贸易和开发)的员工需要完全依赖 IT 部门来解决其所有分析和报告需求。这不仅费用高、费时,而且还在关键数据见解和最需要这些见解的人员之间产生了破坏性鸿沟。

“IT 部门是限制生产力的巨大瓶颈,”Uniper 数据集成副总裁 Rene Greiner 说,“报告返回所需的时间很长,当报告最终返回时,其中的许多报告肯定不那么准确,从而导致更多延迟,团队不得不重新申请报告,这令人感到失望。”

Rene 知道采用自助式分析方法也许可以解决这些问题,但在此之前,首先需要对公司中处理数据的方式进行全面的改变。于是在 2015 年,Rene 和他的团队开始了一项大型项目,着手将当时的数据仓库更换为新的数据湖。在经历了大范围竞争性评审流程后,Tableau 被甄选为唯一的与数据湖集成的可视化和分析解决方案,从而打造出新的 Atonyx 数据平台,该平台于 2018 年 1 月面向员工推出。

“我们花费了大量时间考察市场上的所有主流解决方案,相关供应商有 SAP、IBM 和 Oracle 等,”Rene 说道,“最后,凭借强大的可视化能力、无缝集成和使用简易性,Tableau 成为几乎每个类别中的最佳选择。”

采用 Tableau 后,现在超过 500 名员工可以通过自助方式满足自己的数据分析需求,无需依赖 IT 团队,数据牢牢地掌握在最需要它们的人手中。

“通过使用 Tableau,关键团队可以在适合他们的时间,拉取数据、执行高质量分析并创建可视化仪表板,无需依赖他人,”Rene 说道,“这样一来,商业智能和运营绩效实现了全面改善。”

通过使用 Tableau,关键团队可以在适合他们的时间,拉取数据、执行高质量分析并创建可视化仪表板,无需依赖他人。

关键业务领域获取见解的速度提高逾 70%

这种新的数据分析方法也对公司中获取见解的速度产生了巨大影响,据 Rene 估计,在某些领域,相关速度提高了超过 70%。

“在我们转换到新平台前,由于数据仓库非常复杂,我们很难在需要时快速生成综合报告和分析,”Rene 说道,“在贸易等关键业务领域,员工获得所需见解的速度越快,他们作出的决策越明智。即便是轻微的延迟也会让业务部门付出代价。”

现在,使用 Tableau 可以非常快地拉取和可视化数据,为交易者、资产经理和许多其他商业决策制定者提供他们所需的信息,帮助其在关键时刻作出正确决策。与以前相比,每个用户还可以更加及时地分析有关业务成功的数据。

“在过去,针对前一天的交易编制和交付报告,IT 部门需要花费几乎一整天时间,当交易者获得报告时,这些报告已经没什么用处了,”Rene 说道。“现在,在每天收市后不久,交易者即可通过 Tableau Mobile 生成自己的报告,获得即时反馈。”

2018 年,发电业务部门也实现了重大进展,员工可以通过该平台访问数据并使用 Tableau 快速获得见解。资产 IT 和数字化转型主管 Stephan van Aaken 说道:

“Tableau 让我们发电厂的同事能够切实地感受到数字化项目的好处。这就像一次变革,在 15 个月内,我们的用户群从 0 增加到超过 300 位用户。Tableau 也增强了我们的合规性,因为我们的 Tableau Server 实例提供对大量高度机密资产数据的访问。借助严格的授权功能,我们可确保并证明交易同事遵循内部和外部法规访问数据。”

借助 Tableau,每个交易者可通过 Tableau Mobile 在每天下午 5:30,生成自己的收入报告,从而在收市时获得近乎实时的反馈。

新的集中式数据和分析方法每年节省超过一百万欧元

转换到集中式数据和分析模型不仅简化了流程、提高了数据质量,还节省了大量费用。

“新方法帮助我们消除了跨业务部门中的数据孤岛,这些数据孤岛不仅增加了我们的费用,而且还让我们无法了解全局,”Rene 说道,“现在,所有数据存储在数据湖中,并通过 Tableau 进行可视化,我们可以淘汰五个不再需要的旧数据系统和工具,这会为我们节省一百万欧元。”

现在,Uniper 的 30 多个不同部门使用 Tableau 进行所有分析和报告工作,这些部门包括 IT、风险管理、贸易、开发、购买、销售和采购。

“仅过去一年,我们就将超过 120 个数据源连接到我们的数据湖,需要这些数据源的部门可以使用 Tableau 直接访问和分析这些数据源,”Rene 说道,“公司可以通过单个可扩展工具完成所有操作,这是数据的潜在价值第一次得到真正的释放,而这在几年前是无法实现的。”

您可能还有兴趣了解...

Uniper cuts speed to insight by 70% and empowers over 500 employees with self-service analytics


30+ departments using Tableau
Over €1 million saved per year
Hidden value of data unlocked

Uniper generates, trades, and markets energy on a global scale. Based in Düsseldorf, Germany it ranks among the largest generation and trading companies in Europe, combining a balanced portfolio of technologically advanced large-scale assets with outstanding technical and commercial expertise. At the beginning of 2018 the company completed a major data infrastructure overhaul, which saw the existing data warehouse approach replaced by its new ‘Atonyx’ data platform that combines the flexibility of a data lake with the powerful analytics capabilities of Tableau. As a result, over 500 employees have been empowered to self-serve their own day-to-day analytics needs, while time to insight has been cut by 70%, leading to faster and more accurate business intelligence across the company. Centralizing all data and analytics through a single platform has also allowed Uniper to eliminate the use of multiple different databases and tools, saving over €1 million in 2018 alone.

We spent a lot of time looking at all the leading solutions on the market from vendors such as SAP, IBM and Oracle. In the end, Tableau’s powerful visualization capabilities, seamless integration and ease of use made it the top choice in nearly every category.

Enabling powerful self-service analytics for over 500 employees

Prior to Tableau, employees in data heavy departments such as trading and generation were completely reliant on the IT department for all their analysis and reporting needs. Not only was this both expensive and time consuming, but it created a damaging disconnect between key data insights and those that needed them the most.

“The IT department was a big bottleneck to productivity,” said Rene Greiner, VP of data integration at Uniper. “Reports took a long time to come back and when they eventually did, many of them were invariably ‘not quite right’, causing even more delays and frustration as teams had to go back and ask for them to be done again.”

Rene knew that adopting a self-service approach to analytics had the potential to eliminate these issues but doing so first required a major overhaul to the way data was handled within the company. So, in 2015 Rene and his team began a major project to replace the existing data warehouse with a new data lake. Then, following an extensive competitive review process, Tableau was chosen as the sole visualization and analytics solution to integrate with the data lake, forming the new Atonyx data platform, which was opened to employees in January 2018.

“We spent a lot of time looking at all the leading solutions on the market from vendors such as SAP, IBM and Oracle,” said Rene. “In the end, Tableau’s powerful visualization capabilities, seamless integration and ease of use made it the top choice in nearly every category.”

With Tableau in place, over 600 employees can now self-serve their data analytics needs, eliminating reliance on the IT team and keeping data firmly in the hands of those that need it.

“Using Tableau, key teams can pull data, conduct high quality analytics and create visual dashboards in the timeframe that suits them, not somebody else,” says Rene. “As a result, business intelligence and operational performance have improved across the board.”

Using Tableau, key teams can pull data, conduct high quality analytics and create visual dashboards in the timeframe that suits them, not somebody else.

Time to insight in key business areas cut by over 70%

This new approach to data has also had a significant impact on time to insight across the business, which Rene estimates has been cut by over 70% in some areas.

“Before we transitioned to the new platform, the complex nature of our data warehouse was making it very difficult to produce comprehensive reports and analysis as quickly as needed,” says Rene. “In key business areas like trading, the faster they can get the insights they need, the more informed their decision making can be. Even small delays can cost the business money.”

Now, data can be pulled up and visualized incredibly quickly in Tableau, giving traders, asset managers and many other commercial decision makers the information they need to make the right decisions at pivotal moments. Every user is also able to analyze their data about business success much more closely than was previously possible.

“In the past, it would take almost a full day for the IT department to compile and deliver reports for the previous day’s trading, so by the time the traders got them, they were pretty much redundant,” says Rene. “Now, traders can generate their own report shortly after markets close every day via Tableau Mobile, giving them immediate feedback.”

In 2018, massive progress has been also achieved in the Power Generation business, with employees able to access their data through the platform and gain fast insights using Tableau. Stephan van Aaken, Head of Asset IT & Digital Transformation said:

“Tableau made the benefits of a digitalization program tangible to our colleagues in our power plants. It feels like a revolution, our userbase grew from 0 to more than 300 users within 15 months. Tableau strengthens our compliance as well, as our Tableau server instance provides access to a vast amount of highly confidential asset data. The strict authorization capabilities ensure we can prove that our trading colleagues can only access data in accordance with internal and external regulations.”

With Tableau, every trader can generate their own earnings report at 5:30pm each day via Tableau Mobile, giving them near real-time feedback as soon as the markets close.

New centralized approach to data and analytics saving over €1 million per year

Moving to a centralized data and analytics model has not only simplified processes and improved data quality, it has also created significant cost savings.

“Our new approach has helped us eliminate data silos from across the business, which were costing us money and preventing us from seeing the full picture,” says Rene. “With all data now stored in our data lake and visualized in Tableau, we’ve already been able to eliminate five legacy data systems and tools that we no longer need, saving us €1 million.”

Over 30 different departments within Uniper now use Tableau for all of their analytics and reporting, including IT, risk management, trading, generation, purchasing, selling and procurement.

“In the last year alone, we’ve connected more than 120 data sources to our lake, all of which can now be accessed and analyzed directly in Tableau by the departments that need them,” says Rene. “The ability to do everything via a single, scalable tool has enabled the company to truly unlock the hidden value in their data for the first time, which was impossible to do just a few years ago.”