A.S.Watson 在發展快速的零售產業中打造資料的競爭優勢


產生報告所需的時間從數日縮短為數小時
進行跨類別的績效分析
嵌入 Tableau 以打造功能強大的內部平台

A.S.Watson 集團 (ASW) 是全球最大的國際健康美容產品零售商,旗下有包括 Watsons、Superdrug 和 Savers 等在內的 12 個品牌。該集團在 24 個市場有超過 14,400 家店面,每年服務的客戶人數超過 40 億。

集團營運長倪文玲女士分享指出,A.S.Watson 部署了 Tableau,在多個零售類別中執行複雜的分析作業,並且透過資料分享強化部門之間的協作。該集團也打算透過即時的資料與見解,在快速發展的零售產業中取得競爭優勢,進而及時做出商業決策。

零售是一個發展快速的產業,業者必須精準且及時做出商業決策,才能提供高品質的顧客服務。Tableau 加速了我們做商業決策的過程。

產生見解的程序大幅簡化

Tableau 的互動式功能讓 A.S. Watson 的企業使用者能夠輕鬆篩選並更深入下鑽查詢大量的資料、擷取重要的資訊來回答問題,更特別的,是 Tableau Server 可以協助他們簡化產生見解的程序。資料擷取重新整理功能可以讓使用者立即在 Tableau Server 上檢視最新的見解,而在以前,他們必須透過更加耗時的方式 (例如電子郵件通訊群組) 才能共享及討論及見解。

A.S.Watson 才剛開始採用 Tableau,不過文玲證實該集團在產生報告這方面,已經省下大量的時間。透過對自動化資料擷取重新整理進行資料採礦,集團已經建立每月類別儀表板,將類別績效、客戶行為與銷售趨勢等資料以視覺化圖表呈現。在以前,光是為了針對少數幾個產品類別產生報告就必須耗費幾天的時間,而現在,只要幾個小時,就可以為所有產品類別產生報告。

企業中全面採用 Tableau 後,透過擷取即時資料及見解,並且將耗時的人力作業自動化等方式,企業流程的效率已經明顯獲得改善。

跨多個零售類別進行複雜的分析

身為全球最大國際健康美容產品零售商且旗下擁有多種不同品牌的 A.S.Watson,其主要業務挑戰就是部署一套彈性的分析工具,藉此處理不同部門既廣泛又深入的企業分析資料。在採用 Tableau 之前,ASW 使用的是一般的報告,但是這種報告無法讓他們深入分析資料。舉例來說,在以產品為主的分析中,使用者無法透過類別報告查看子類別的績效,而必須另外建立個別的報告。此外,這些報告之前是使用 Excel 電子表格這類傳統平台所建立,而且使用者必費力須檢視所有充滿密密麻麻數字的頁面才能找出相關見解與模式,這不但困難重重而且相當耗時。

藉由 Tableau 的資料視覺化功能,企業使用者現在可以操作資料並和資料互動,進而取得相關的企業見解。透過能夠同時用在多個資料集上的單一使用者介面,Tableau 協助 A.S.Watson 以更周詳的方式瞭解資料,並且在發展快速的產業中及時做出商業決策。

有了 Tableau,我們可以針對既廣泛又深入的常見分析流程提供支援服務,完全不用建立許多大型的報告。

功能強大的內嵌式分析平台

將 Tableau 嵌入 A.S.Watson 的內部平台後,企業內部現在已經能夠充分利用 Tableau 儀表板。在一年內,有將近 600 位員工已經成為 WatsonView 這個由 Tableau 提供支援的平台的活躍使用者。使用者喜歡企業見解以視覺化方式清楚呈現在儀表板上所帶來的便利性,完全不必手動執行報告並等待結果出爐。

WatsonView 同時也塑造了企業中以協作為主的資料驅動文化。使用者可以共享他們與經理及團隊共同建立之儀表板的連結,這些儀表板會以清楚且吸引人的方式呈現視覺化的資料,讓資料易於理解。

透過資料打造競爭優勢

為了不斷前進,A.S.Watson 計劃擴大 Tableau 的使用率,為更多的零售功能或企業單位提供支援。他們的首要目標,就是透過將內部與外部資料來源加以整合以打造全新且可供存取的企業見解,取得勝於其他零售商的競爭優勢。

ASW 也希望推廣自助式分析文化。Tableau 是一款簡單易用的軟體,學習曲線平緩,即使是具備些微 (或完全沒有) 技術知識的企業使用者,也能夠透過 WatsonView 及時取得見解,不必等待資料分析師或 IT 部門提供支援服務。

藉由有效率地使用資料視覺化功能,使用者可以識別並突出顯示需要立即處理的部分,以更具回應性的方式對市場現況及競爭對手的行動做出反應。

資料視覺化可以協助我們的企業突出顯示需要立即進行處理的部分,讓相關人員以更具回應性的方式對市場現況及競爭對手的行動做出反應。

A.S. Watson builds competitive edge with data in fast-moving retail industry


Reduced report generation time from days to hours
Enabled cross-category performance analysis
Embedded Tableau to build a powerful in-house platform

A.S. Watson Group (ASW) is the world’s largest international health and beauty retailer with 12 brands including Watsons, Superdrug and Savers. With over 14,400 stores in 24 markets, they serve over 4 billion customers every year.

Group Chief Operating Officer Ms. Malina Ngai shares that A.S. Watson deployed Tableau to perform complex analysis across multiple retail categories, and strengthen collaboration between departments through sharing data. They also aim to gain competitive advantage in the fast-moving retail industry with live data and insights, to drive timely business decisions.

Retail is a fast-moving industry that needs to make precise and timely business decisions to provide high-quality customer service. Tableau accelerated our business decision-making process.

Streamlined insights generation

Tableau’s interactive capabilities made it easy for A.S. Watson’s business users to filter and drill down deeper in a sea of data, extracting critical information to answer questions. In particular, Tableau Server helped them streamline their insights generation process. The data extract refresh function allowed users to view the latest insights instantly on the Server, when previously they would have to go through more time-consuming methods like email distribution to share and discuss insights.

A.S. Watson is only at the beginning stage of adopting Tableau, but Malina affirms that they have already seen significant time savings in report generation. With live data mined from automated data extract refresh, they have created a monthly category dashboard visualising category performance, customer behaviour and sales trends. While previously it took a few days just to generate a report for a few selected product categories, they can now complete dashboard reporting for all product categories within a few hours.

Across the board, adoption of Tableau in the business has improved the efficiency of business processes by extracting live data and insights, and automating time-consuming manual work.

Complex analysis across multiple retail categories

As the world’s largest international health and beauty retailer with an umbrella of different brands under it, A.S. Watson’s main business challenge was to deploy a flexible analytical tool that could handle the breadth and depth of their business analysis across various departments. Prior to Tableau, ASW used standard reports that did not allow them to slice and dice data. For example, in product-centric analysis, a category report did not allow users to see the performance of sub-categories – they had to create separate reports instead. Furthermore, these reports were previously created on traditional platforms such as Excel spreadsheets, and users had to plough through full pages of figures to identify relevant insights and patterns, which was difficult and time-consuming.

With Tableau’s data visualisation, business users can now obtain relevant business insights by manipulating and interacting with their data. With a single user interface to overlay multiple data sets, Tableau helps A.S. Watson understand their data better and make timely business decisions in a fast-moving industry landscape.

With Tableau, we are able to support the breadth and depth of common analysis flows without the need to create huge numbers of reports.

Powerful embedded analytics platform

Embedding Tableau into A.S. Watson’s internal platform also optimised the use of Tableau dashboards within the business. Within a year, nearly 600 employees have become active users of their Tableau-powered platform, WatsonView. People like the convenience of having business insights visualised clearly on the dashboards without having to run the reports manually and waiting for results.

WatsonView has also fostered a data-driven culture centered on collaboration within the business. Users can share links to the dashboards they have created with their managers and teams, and these dashboards tell clear and engaging visual stories of data, easing comprehension across the board.

Building competitive advantage with data

Moving forward, A.S. Watson plans to extend the usage of Tableau to support more retail functions and business units. Their main goal is to gain a competitive edge over other retailers, by integrating internal and external data sources to build new and accessible insights.

ASW also hopes to promote a culture of self-service analytics. As Tableau is an easy-to-use software with a shallow learning curve, business users with little or even no technical knowledge would be able to retrieve timely insights from WatsonView, eliminating the need to wait for support from data analysts or the IT department.

With effective use of data visualisation, users can identify and highlight areas that require immediate focus, to react more responsively to market situations and competitors’ actions.

Data visualisation can help our businesses highlight areas that require immediate focus, so they can react more responsively to market situations and competitors’ actions.

You might also be interested in...