核对清单:高级分析的 6 个必备要素

概述

您的数据中隐藏着每日的商机以及让人恍然大悟的见解。发现它们是您的职责。而您的可视化分析工具应该帮助您为此进行探索。它应该强化您的智慧和好奇心。它应该让您能够提出更深入的数据问题 — 不再局限于标准 KPI,从更深层次发现有意义的新见解。

要让用户能够提出更深入的问题,可视化分析工具应该让功能强大的分析技术充满趣味,让人欲罢不能。通过易于访问且成熟健全的高级分析,启发您提出更加复杂的数据问题。

要发挥出高级分析的功效(使用或不使用编码),您的可视化分析工具应该能够帮助您:

1.保持流程连续性

可视化分析工具应该允许您在不中断分析流程的情况下,提出更深入的问题。如果您需要暂停自己的分析以便完成向导操作,在另一个应用程序中编写代码或者艰难地连接一个新的数据源,那么您将失去连贯思路蕴含的神奇能力。您停止探索。我们的大脑无法很好地应对中断,因此您应该选择能够最大限度减少中断的工具。

您的可视化分析工具应该包含无缝内置的高级分析,提供简易的拖放操作,让您保持流程连续性。数据探索过程应该能够让您自然而然地提出下一个问题。

保持流程连续性

在 Tableau 帮助中详细了解智能显示

改变视角

借助 Tableau 的直观界面保持流程连续性。“智能显示”等功能可以即时揭示数据中潜藏的丰富分析故事。此处,我们将各国的旅游数据可视化为并排和堆叠的条形图、双线图等。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

开始玩“选择自己的奇遇”

2.轻松分段

组、集和同期群可以揭示数据中的新线索。通过直接电子邮件活动获得的客户与通过 Google 广告获得的客户相比,前者的长期消费是否高于后者?各专业的毕业率有怎样的趋势?如果按专业和入学年份来查看数据,情况又是怎样的?您的可视化分析工具应该让您能够通过提出此类问题来创建组、对集进行逻辑定义、调整同期群 — 无需修改基础数据。

借助这种“切片和切块”可视化分析,人们可以在探索数据和测试假设的同时保持分析流程的连续性。分段操作应该直观、简单、易于访问,同时又功能强大。

组、集和同期群应该随基础数据无缝更新,无需手动运行脚本或刷新数据。

轻松分段

阅读使用 Tableau 进行高级分析,详细了解分段。

分组

通过在 Tableau 中创建组,可视化突出显示正确数据点的能力会得到巨大的价值提升,您需要做的只是点击一下而已。这里,我们通过分组和排序来突出显示旅游支出最高的国家。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

选择自己的奇遇

3.询问“如果...?”

探索数据时,您希望分析的输入易于更改。例如,在评估 Facebook 广告活动的效果时,您可能想更改点击率;进行成本效益分析时,您可能想更改价格基础;构建销售模型时,您可能想更改佣金百分比。这些“假设”分析可以揭示关键业务问题中的线索。

您可以通过更改参数来设置显示的变量,从而在同一个可视化或仪表板中执行和共享更多类型的分析。您的可视化分析工具应该提供一组灵活的输入控件,让您和您的受众能够调整数字、文本和日期,观察此类调整如何影响结果。

询问“如果...?”

阅读使用 Tableau 进行高级分析,详细了解假设分析。

给我参数

在 Tableau 中将自己数据集中的字段用作参数,您就可以让每个人都能够通过快速数据对比找到自己需要的视角。此处,我们在同一个地图上创建两个视图 — 一个是游客入境视图,一个是游客离境视图,这样,各国的旅游业形势立即变得一目了然。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

开始玩“选择自己的奇遇”

4.使用计算进行更深入的研究

数据源中并非总有您的分析需要的确切字段。您希望将计算和逻辑应用于自己的源数据,从而创建新字段 — 当然,同时还要保持分析流程的连续性。您的可视化分析工具应该提供具有表现力和灵活性的内置语言,从而帮助您轻松实现这个目标。

您不用编写复杂的 SQL“group-by”语句,您只需选择能够简化详细级别计算的工具。您还希望内置计算可以很好地处理表中的相对日期,从而可以轻松生成连续求和、排名和加权平均值。

包含复杂内置计算的工具可以让您无需编写 SQL 代码,从而节省数小时的时间,还可以为不熟悉 SQL 和其他编码语言的人员开辟出一片广阔的高级分析天地。

计算

阅读我们的博客文章 15 大详细级别表达式,详细了解 LOD 计算。

编写计算

Tableau 具有强大的内置计算语言,这意味着您总是可以在分析历程中找到前进的道路。这里,我们编写一个计算来得出各国的旅游支出总额百分比,然后在填充地图中对结果进行可视化。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

开始玩“选择自己的奇遇”

5.跟踪趋势和预测未来

您选择的可视化分析工具应该让您能够对时间序列进行历史分析,然后预测接下来将会发生的事情。无论您跟踪的是销售趋势、毕业率,还是温度分布模式,趋势线及预测功能都可以为您提供有意义的数据见解。

您应该能够以直观形象的方式分解时间和日期字段,然后针对您关注的趋势,创建合理的组和同期群。应该以自然的方式探索季节性变化及模式。您应该能够通过单键操作对数据进行聚合和解聚 — 以及更改聚合频率,从而按月份、季度、年份等探索趋势。此外,您应该能够借助相对日期筛选器回答“商品成本在过去一年发生了怎样的变化?”之类的问题。

您的可视化分析工具应该突破线性趋势线的局限,让用户可以探索对数、多项式和指数拟合。每个人都应该可以使用此工具来轻松确定趋势线是否构成良好拟合,并通过单键操作获得 p 值和 R 平方值。您还应该能够在需要的情况下,对时间序列执行连续汇总或连续平均值计算,获得更加深入的见解。

跟踪趋势

阅读使用 Tableau 进行高级分析,了解 Tableau 的所有趋势和预测分析方法。

趋势如此明显

在 Tableau 中,您总是可以在需要的位置找到趋势线,从而能够验证 p 值是否具有统计学显著性,以便开始后续步骤。此处,我们对国内游客消费进行趋势分析,以便了解各地区的旅游业走向。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

开始玩“选择自己的奇遇”

6.与 R 和 Python 集成

虽然普通用户也可以借助良好的可视化分析工具进行复杂的分析,但值得注意的是,很多组织同样购置了 R、SAS 和 SPSS 等高级统计平台。这些平台可以创造自己的分析价值 — 并且因为它们已经在许多组织内存在了很多年,因而包含了很有价值的现有工作内容。您的可视化分析工具应该能够利用这些投资。

通过与 R 集成,您可以利用更大范围的统计社区内出现的进步成果,还可以为使用 R 完成的工作扩展受众群。选择可以快速对高级统计工具的输出进行可视化的工具,您就营造了一个环境,非技术用户可以在其中进行决策,对数据科学家和统计员的工作成果加以利用。

您喜欢 R 和 Python?

在 Tableau 中直接与 R 和 Python 集成,充分利用现有模型和应用内脚本。此处,我们通过执行多个线性回归来确定达到特定收入目标所需的游客数量。在交互式分析游戏中更深入地研究旅游数据:

开始玩“选择自己的奇遇”

借助 Tableau 找到真正的价值

标准 KPI 和指标可以回答您的一些问题,但在一个瞬息万变的世界中,您需要一款能够启发用户进行深层次数据探索的工具。您需要寻找的工具可以帮助用户从第一个问题前进到下一个问题,依次类推,让人们不断体验顿悟时刻。您需要的解决方案对于数据科学家而言足够先进,对于业务用户来说易于访问且直观易懂,因此每个人都能够保持分析流程的连续性,通过提问,以随想随答的速度取得进展。

从很多方面来说,Tableau 都在分析平台中独树一帜。我们以扩充人类智能为使命,从业务用户和数据科学家的需求出发设计了 Tableau。我们始终专注于自己的使命 — 让用户能够以最快的速度针对自己的数据提出有趣的问题,构建出了能够为不同水平的用户提供有用功能的平台。

借助 Tableau 的灵活前端,分析师可以提出复杂程度不同的问题。利用复杂计算、R 和 Python 集成、快速同期群分析以及预测功能,数据科学家可以在 Tableau 中完成复杂分析并轻松共享可视化结果。无论您使用 Tableau 的目的是进行数据探索和质量控制,还是进行模型设计和测试,该平台的灵活性都可以让您在整个项目周期节省大量时间。Tableau 可以让各级别的分析更加易于访问并缩短分析所需时间,从而在整个企业推动关键协作,提高决策质量。



选择自己的奇遇

通过关于全球旅游业的交互式游戏来体验 Tableau 的高级分析。



试用 Tableau Desktop

连接到自己的数据,在实践中体验纯正的分析。

Checklist: 6 Must-Haves for Your Advanced Analytics

Overview

Your data holds the key to everyday business opportunities and eureka moments alike. It’s your job to uncover them. And it’s the job of your visual analytics tool to facilitate the exploration that leads you there. It should augment your intellect and curiosity. It should equip you with the ability to ask deeper questions of your data—to go beyond the standard KPIs and unearth new meaningful insights.

To empower users to ask deeper questions, a visual analytics tool should make powerful analytic techniques addictive. You should be inspired to ask sophisticated questions of your data with advanced analytics that are both accessible and mature.

To uncover the power of advanced analytics—with or without coding—here’s what your visual analytics tool should allow you to do:

1. Stay in the Flow

A visual analytics tool should allow you to ask deeper questions while staying in the flow of your analysis. When you leave your analysis to work in a wizard, write code in another application, or painstakingly connect to a new data source, you lose the magic of your train of thought. You stop exploring. Our brains don’t deal well with interruptions, so you want to select a tool that minimizes them.

Your visual analytics tool should have advanced analytics built in seamlessly, with drag-and-drop ease, so you stay in the flow. Asking the next question should be a natural part of your data exploration.

Stay in the flow

Learn more about Show Me in the Tableau Help.

Change your perspective

Stay in the flow with Tableau's intuitive interface. Features like Show Me instantaneously reveal the rich analytical stories in your data. Here, we visualize tourism by country as side-by-side and stacked bar charts, dual lines, and more. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Play Choose Your Own Adventure

2. Segment with Ease

Groups, sets, and cohorts can shed new light on data. Do customers who were acquired through a direct mail campaign spend more over time than customers who were acquired through a Google ad? How do graduation rates trend by major? What if you look at the data by major and the year they started school? Your visual analytics tool should allow you to ask these types of questions to create groups, define sets with logic, and adjust cohorts—without needing to modify the underlying data.

This kind of slice-and-dice visual analysis allows people to explore data and test hypotheses while staying in the analytical flow. Segmenting should be intuitive, simple, and accessible, while remaining powerful.

Groups, sets, and cohorts should update seamlessly along with the underlying data, without manually running scripts or data refreshes.

Segment with ease

Learn more about segmentation in Advanced Analytics with Tableau.

Group it up

Creating groups in Tableau adds incredible value to your viz's ability to highlight the right data points, and they're just one click away. Here, we highlight the top-performing countries in terms of tourism expenditure by grouping them and sorting. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Choose Your Own Adventure

3. Ask "What If?"

When you’re exploring data, you want it to be easy to change the inputs of your analysis. For instance, you may want to change a click-through rate while assessing the performance of a Facebook ad campaign, the price basis in a cost-benefit analysis, or the commission percentage in a sales model. These “what if” analyses shed light on key business questions.

Changing the parameters for what variables are displayed allows you to conduct and share more types of analyses in one visualization or dashboard easily. Your visual analytics tool should offer a flexible set of input controls that allow you and your audience to adjust numbers, text and dates to see how they influence results.

Ask what if

Learn more about what-if analysis in Advanced Analytics with Tableau.

Give me the parameters

By using fields from your data set as parameters in Tableau, you empower everyone to find the angle they're looking for with rapid data comparisons. Here, we create two views—one for tourist arrivals and one for departures—on the same map, so it's immediately obvious how tourism compares by country. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Play Choose Your Own Adventure

4. Dive Deeper with Calculations

Your data source doesn’t always contain exactly the fields you need to do your analysis. You’ll want to be able to apply calculations and logic to your source data to create new fields—while staying in the flow of your analysis, of course. Your visual analysis tool should make this easy, providing a built-in language that’s expressive and flexible.

Rather than writing complex SQL group-by statements, choose a tool that makes level-of-detail calculations simple. You’ll also want the built-in calculations to work well with relative data in a table, making it easy to create running sums, rankings and weighted averages.

A tool that offers sophisticated built-in calculations will save you hours of writing SQL code—and it can open up a world of advanced analytics to people who aren’t familiar with SQL or other coding languages.

Calculations

Learn more about LOD calculations in our blog post Top 15 Level of Detail expressions.

Write a calc

Tableau's robust built-in calculation language means you can always find a path forward in your analytic journey. Here, we write a calc for percent of total tourism expenditure by country, and visualize the results in a filled map. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Play Choose Your Own Adventure

5. Track a Trend and Predict the Future

Choose a visual analytics tool that allows you to analyze the history of a time series and predict what will happen moving forward. Whether you’re tracking sales trends, graduation rates, or temperature patterns, trend lines and forecasts provide meaningful insight into your data.

You should be able to break down time and date fields intuitively and visually, and to create groups and cohorts that make sense for trends that interest you. It should be natural to explore seasonality and patterns. You should be able to aggregate and disaggregate data with a click—as well as change aggregation frequencies, allowing you to explore trends by month, quarter, year and more. Plus, relative date filters should allow you to answer questions like, “How has the cost of goods changed in the past year?”

Your visual analytics tool should go beyond linear trend lines, allowing users to explore logarithmic, polynomial, and exponential fits. And it should be easy for anyone to determine whether the trend line is a good fit, with p-values and R-squared available with a click. If you want to apply running total or running average calculations to your time series, you should be able to do that, too, to get even deeper insights.

Track a trend

Discover all Tableau's methods for trend and predictive analyses in Advanced Analytics with Tableau.

So trendy

In Tableau, trend lines are right where you need them, so you can verify that your p-value is statistically significant and get to next steps. Here, we perform trend analysis on in-country tourist spend to understand the trajectory for the tourism industry by region. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Play Choose Your Own Adventure

6. Integrate with R and Python

While a good visual analytics tool makes sophisticated analytics accessible to an everyday user, it’s worth noting that many organizations also invest in advanced statistics platforms like R, SAS and SPSS. These create their own analytical value—and since they’ve been around many organizations for years, they can contain valuable existing work. Your visual analytics tool should be able to leverage these investments.

Integration with R provides access to advancements in the wider statistical community, and it also creates a wider audience for work done in R. When you select a tool that can quickly visualize the output of advanced statistical tools, you create an environment in which non-technical users can make decisions and leverage the work done by data scientists and statisticians.

R u into Python?

Integrate with R and Python directly in Tableau so you can leverage preexisting models or script in-app. Here, we perform multiple linear regression to discover how many tourists are required to reach a specific income goal. Dig deeper into the tourism data in an interactive analytics game:

Play Choose Your Own Adventure

Get to the Good Stuff with Tableau

Standard KPIs and metrics answer some of your questions, but in a fast-changing world you need a tool that inspires deeper exploration of data. Look for one that empowers users to go beyond the first question and ask the next one, and then the one after that, inspiring “a-ha!” moments again and again. You want a solution that is both sophisticated enough for a data scientist and accessible and intuitive for a business user, so everyone can stay in the flow of their analysis, moving with their questions at the speed of thought.

In many ways, Tableau stands alone among analytics platforms. Because of our mission to augment human intelligence, we designed Tableau with both the business user and data scientist in mind. By staying focused on our mission to empower users to ask interesting questions of their data as quickly as possible, we built a platform that has valuable functionality for users of all levels.

Tableau’s flexible front-end allows analysts to ask questions of varying complexity. By leveraging sophisticated calculations, R and Python integration, rapid cohort analysis, and predictive capabilities, data scientists can complete complex analyses in Tableau and easily share the visual results. Whether you use Tableau for data exploration and quality control, or model design and testing, the interactive nature of the platform saves countless hours across the lifetime of a project. By making analysis more accessible and faster to complete at all levels, Tableau drives critical collaboration and better decision-making throughout the enterprise.



Choose Your Own Adventure

Experience Tableau's advanced analytics in an interactive game about global tourism.



Trial Tableau Desktop

Connect to your own data and discover hardcore analytics in action.