推陈出新,不断突破

2003 年,Tableau 在斯坦福大学诞生,它脱胎于 VizQL™,一种彻底改变数据使用方式的技术,有了它,用户只需使用简单的拖放功能,即可创建复杂的可视化效果。这项重大的革新技术是一种获得专利的查询语言,它可将您的操作转换成数据库查询,然后以图形表示查询结果。

随后的突破性创新来自于 Tableau 的数据引擎技术 Hyper,它可以在几秒钟之内对几十亿行数据完成临时分析。Hyper 是 Tableau 平台的核心技术,它利用专有的动态代码生成机制和最先进的并行方法提高数据提取的生成速度及查询的执行速度。

Hyper

Hyper 是一种高性能的内存中数据引擎技术,它可以直接在事务处理型数据库中高效评估分析查询,从而帮助客户更快地分析大数据集和复杂数据集。Hyper 是 Tableau 平台的核心技术,它利用专有的动态代码生成机制和最先进的并行方法提高数据提取的生成速度及查询的执行速度。

Hyper 的独特设计

在过去十年,通过采用采样和摘要等方法,内存中数据引擎和分析数据库技术让查询性能得到了极大的提高。但此类性能提高是有代价的。为了优化分析工作负荷,许多系统牺牲了写入性能,而写入性能对于数据提取的快速生成和刷新至关重要。写入性能的不足会导致数据失去时效性和连接性。结果如何?人们无法及时获得他们想要分析的数据。 Hyper 的使命是提供快速的写入性能和分析工作负荷性能,从而让人们更加及时地获得数据。简单地说,Hyper 可以更快地提供最新数据,让您能够分析更大的数据集,获得更全面的信息。

重新思考系统架构:让事务处理和分析查询具有同样的状态

借助 Hyper,人们可以在相同的列存储中处理事务和分析查询,获取数据后无需进行后处理。这样可以减少陈旧数据,最大限度降低专用系统之间的连接差异。Hyper 的独特方法可以在同一个系统中真正兼顾频繁读取型工作负载和频繁写入型工作负载。这意味着您可以在不影响查询速度的情况下快速创建数据提取。(用我们的话说,这是“双赢”。)

执行查询的新方法:动态代码生成

Hyper 采用了一种新颖的即时编译执行模型。许多其他系统采用了传统的查询执行模型,这种模型并不能充分利用现代多核硬件的优势。而 Hyper 可以对查询进行优化并将其编译为自定义机器代码,从而更好地利用基础硬件。在接收到查询时,Hyper 会创建一个树结构,对其进行逻辑优化,将其用作蓝图来创建独特的程序,然后执行该程序。最终的结果是,现代硬件得到了更好的应用,查询执行速度大大提高。

更好地利用硬件:morsel-driven(碎屑驱动型)并行机制

Hyper 的设计始终着眼于大规模多核环境。我们的并行模型以很小的工作单元(碎屑)为基础。这些“碎屑”在所有可用的核之间进行高效分配,从而让 Hyper 可以更加高效地应对核的速度差异。这样便可以更加高效地利用硬件,获得更快的性能表现。

Hyper 最初是慕尼黑工业大学 (TUM) 在 2010 年启动的一个学术研究项目。2015 年,它发展为一个独立的组织,目标是实现 Hyper 的产业化,并提供这项技术的商业版本。Tableau 于 2016 年收购 Hyper;这就是 Tableau 数据引擎的核心技术。

VizQL™

原生可视化,天生更快捷

Tableau 的核心是一种专有技术,在这种技术的推动下,交互式数据可视化成为理解数据的过程中不可缺少的一环。传统的分析工具迫使您分析行列式数据,选择要显示的数据子集,将这些数据组织成表,然后才能根据此表创建图表。而 VizQL 跳过了这些繁琐步骤,直接为您的数据创建可视化表现形式,在您进行分析时提供可视化反馈。因此,与传统方法相比,您可以更深入地理解数据,显著提高工作速度——最高可提升至 100 倍。

VizQL 可以扩大可视化范围

新的数据语言意味着您有更多表达方式

这种全新的体系结构对可视化形式数据交互带来改变,其造成的影响正如 SQL 对文本形式数据交互所起的作用。VizQL 语句可以描述无限多的复杂多维可视化。有了 VizQL,人们就可以使用同一个分析界面和数据库可视化工具,生成各种各样的图形化汇总。 Tableau 可创建种类极为丰富的可视化图表,从条形图和折线图,到地图和复杂的链接视图,不一而足。这种灵活性可让您以全新的方式理解数据。它让您能够发现在将数据硬塞进死板的图表模板时可能错失的见解。

支持自然的思维模式

思考是一种自然的问答模式,它循序渐进,逐渐将新信息纳入考虑。在您开始某种分析时,您通常会不知道自己的确切目标。而传统 BI 工具却要求您事先确定目标。 现在有一种替代方法:VizQL 可让您以可视化方式探索数据,并找到数据的最佳表示形式。您边探索边学习,需要时添加更多数据,并最终获得更深入的见解。我们将其称为可视化分析循环。完成这样的循环后,您能够讲述更加精彩的数据故事。

创造出全世界上绝无仅有的数据故事

VizQL 让快速分析和可视化成为现实。即使培训极少,甚至未经培训,人们也能以前所未有的方式,比以往更快地查看并理解数据。这就是最大的不同。

Breakthrough after Breakthrough

In 2003 Tableau spun out of Stanford University with VizQL™, a technology that completely changes working with data by allowing simple drag and drop functions to create sophisticated visualizations. The fundamental innovation is a patented query language that translates your actions into a database query and then expresses the response graphically.

The next breakthrough was the ability to do ad-hoc analysis of billions of rows of data in seconds with Hyper, Tableau's data engine technology. A core Tableau platform technology, Hyper uses proprietary dynamic code generation and cutting-edge parallelism techniques to achieve fast performance for extract creation and query execution.

Hyper

Hyper is a high-performance in-memory data engine technology that helps customers analyze large or complex data sets faster, by efficiently evaluating analytical queries directly in the transactional database. A core Tableau platform technology, Hyper uses proprietary dynamic code generation and cutting-edge parallelism techniques to achieve fast performance for extract creation and query execution.

Hyper's unique design

Over the past decade, in-memory data engines and analytical database technologies have delivered incredible query performance improvements through techniques such as sampling and summarization. These performance improvements come at a cost, however. Many systems sacrifice write performance—critical for fast extract creation and refresh performance—in favor of optimizing analytical workload performance. Poor write speeds lead to stale and disconnected data. The result? A lag between people and the data they want to analyze. Our mission with Hyper is to bring people closer to their data by giving you fast write speed and fast analytical workload performance. In short, Hyper delivers fresh data, faster—so you can analyze a larger, more complete view of your data.

Rethinking system architecture: one state for transactions and analytical queries

With Hyper, transactions and analytical queries are processed on the same column store, with no post-processing needed after data ingestion. This reduces stale data and minimizes the connection gap between specialized systems. Hyper's unique approach allows a true combination of read-and write-heavy workloads in a single system. This means you can have fast extract creation without sacrificing fast query performance. (We call that a win-win.)

A new approach to query execution: dynamic code generation

Hyper uses a novel just-in-time compilation execution model. Many other systems use a traditional query execution model that cannot take full advantage of modern multicore hardware. Instead, Hyper optimizes and compiles queries into custom machine code to make better use of the underlying hardware. When Hyper receives a query, it creates a tree, logically optimizes the tree, and then uses it as a blueprint to create a unique program, which is then executed. The end result is better utilization of modern hardware for faster query execution.

Leveraging more of your hardware: morsel-driven parallelization

We designed Hyper from the ground up with large, multi-core environments in mind. Our parallelization model is based on very small units of work (morsels.) These morsels are assigned efficiently across all available cores, allowing Hyper to more efficiently account for differences in core speed. This translates into a more efficient hardware utilization and faster performance.

Hyper began as an academic research project at the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in 2010. It spun off into an independent organization in 2015 with the goal of bringing Hyper to industry and shipping a commercial version of the technology. Hyper was acquired by Tableau in 2016; the core technology now powers the Tableau data engine.

VizQL™

Natively visual and therefore faster

At the heart of Tableau is a proprietary technology that makes interactive data visualization an integral part of understanding data. A traditional analysis tool forces you to analyze data in rows and columns, choose a subset of your data to present, organize that data into a table, then create a chart from that table. VizQL skips those steps and creates a visual representation of your data right away, giving you visual feedback as you analyze. As a result you get a much deeper understanding of your data and can work much faster than conventional methods–up to 100 times faster.

VizQL enables a broad range of visualization

A new language for data means you can say more

This fundamentally new architecture does for data interactions in visual form what SQL did for data interactions in text form. VizQL statements describe an infinite class of sophisticated multi-dimensional visualizations. With VizQL, people have a single analysis interface and database visualization tool to produce a broad range of graphical summaries. Tableau can create a shockingly broad range of visualizations, from bar and line charts to maps and sophisticated linked views. This flexibility allows you to understand data in an entirely new way. It allows you to find insights that would be lost if you had to shoehorn your data into rigid charting templates.

Supports natural patterns of thought

Thinking is naturally a pattern of questioning and answering, incrementally making progress and taking new information into account. It’s rare that you know exactly where you’re going when you begin an analysis. Yet that’s what traditional BI tools require. There’s an alternative: VizQL allows you to explore your data visually and find the best representation of it. You learn as you go, add more data if needed, and ultimately get deeper insights. We call this the cycle of visual analysis. When you’ve gone through this cycle you can communicate a much better story about your data.

It doesn’t exist anywhere else in the world

Because of VizQL, fast analytics and visualization are reality. People with little or no training can see and understand data faster than ever and in ways like never before. And that’s the biggest difference of all.