Tableau 幫助人們
看見資料、理解資料




一項十分重要的使命

我們幫助人們看見資料、理解資料。這正是 Tableau 的核心理念,它具有劃時代的重要性。

到 2020 年,全球產生的資料量將是 2011 年的 50 倍,資訊來源數量將是 2011 年的 75 倍(IDC,2011 年)。這些資料蘊含著人類進步的巨大機遇。但是,要將機遇變為現實,人們必須隨手掌握資料的力量。Tableau 正在開發軟體來實現這一點。

我們的產品正在改變人們使用資料解決問題的方式。我們要使資料分析變得快速、簡便、優美且實用。因此我們創造了適合每一個人的軟體。

我們是 Tableau Software。


一切都出自史丹佛大學的三個人之手

一位傑出的電腦科學家、一位獲奧斯卡金像獎的教授以及一位對資料充滿熱情的精明商業領袖。他們聚集在一起,解決軟體中最具挑戰性的問題之一:使資料能被一般人理解。這就是構成 Tableau 的基本要素。



Chris Stolte

Chris Stolte
聯合創始人兼技術顧問

遇見促成者

美國國防部 (DOD) 曾在過去進行一項計畫,旨在提高人們分析資訊的能力。該專案被帶到史丹佛大學電腦科學系,並在 Chris Stolte 帶領下持續推展。Stolte 當時是博士生,正在研究視覺化技術,以探索和分析關聯式資料庫和多維資料集。他早期的資料庫程式設計師職業生涯,幫助他發現了現有資料分析工具的問題。他一直渴望能有一個計畫來改變世界,他知道這就是他要的。

每當我幫助人們直接接觸資料時,他們都會感到震驚和感激。我從來沒有忘記這一點。

Pat Hanrahan

Pat Hanrahan
Tableau 的首席科學家兼聯合創始人

皮克斯背後的思想

Pat Hanrahan 是皮克斯背後的創意來源,也是 Stolte 的博士班指導教授,他在當時也意識到這是一個可以改變世界的計畫。作為皮克斯的創始成員和 RenderMan 的首席建構師,Pat 早已改變動畫電影的世界。

我們製作可回答問題的圖片,但我們是為那些想要瞭解其資料的企業而做的。

Chris、Pat 和史丹佛大學的一個博士團隊意識到,電腦圖形學以大大地提高人們理解資料的能力。當他們第一次將兩個電腦科學學科(電腦圖形學和資料庫)結合在一起時,實現了突破。透過他們的發明 VizQL™,人們只要拖放一些圖片並加以彙整,就能分析資料。

Christian Chabot

Christian Chabot
聯合創始人兼董事長

「我看到了未來」

「我看到了未來」是 Christian Chabot 在看到他們的發明時的反應。在史丹佛大學商學院 (Stanford Business School) 學習創業學之前,Chabot 花了數年時間分析資料。Christian、Chris 和 Pat 共同創立了一間公司,並於 2003 年從史丹佛大學分離出來。在 Christian 擔任執行長之後,Tableau 迅速取得了一次又一次的成功:第一批客戶、多個獎項、國際擴張、第一個百萬收入、多項新發明。Tableau 正在徹底改變業務分析,而更精彩的還在後頭。

我們進入了世界上需求最大的領域之一,並成為一股大眾化的力量。

不斷取得突破

僅僅完成一項重要的使命是不夠的,更必須擁有與之相匹配的想法和技術。這些我們都已具備。



VizQL

原生視覺化,天生更快速

VizQL 是一種視覺化查詢語言,可將拖放操作轉化為資料查詢,然後以視覺化的方式表達這些資料。VizQL 將查詢和分析的底層複雜性加以抽象化,大大提高了人們看見資料和理解資料的能力。因此,它能提供直覺的使用者體驗,讓人們能跟上自己的思考速度並立即回答問題。我們相信,VizQL 代表了資料分析和視覺化領域的重要進展。

不只有我們這麼說。Jim Gray 是圖靈獎得主,也是資料庫領域的傳奇人物,他在某一次的研究亮點中提到了 VizQL。「如果你想用簡單的試算表繪製出一個有用的圖表,卻曾遇到挫折,你將體會到這樣一個系統的價值,這個系統允許使用者以互動方式輕鬆地利用大型多維資料集製作出令人驚嘆的圖形。」我們得到了最偉大的電腦科學家之一的高度讚揚。

VizQL

即時查詢引擎

掌握資料

Tableau 的即時查詢引擎是第一種不需要任何程式設計或高階開發程序就能以原生方式查詢資料庫、多維資料、資料倉庫、雲端資料來源甚至 Hadoop 的技術。它讓人們透過簡單易用的點選式介面查詢不同的資料來源。

人們只需點選幾下即可連接到任何規模的資料,並即時添加另一層的資料來源。即使是資料庫新手,也能輕鬆進行資料的連接和組合。

即時查詢引擎

記憶體內資料引擎

速度極快

當資料來源速度很慢或者不適用時,Tableau 的資料引擎就是答案。這是一個突破性的記憶體內分析資料庫,旨在克服現有資料庫和資料孤島的局限性。它能夠在普通電腦上執行,充分利用從磁碟到 L1 快取的完整記憶體分層結構。它改變了巨量資料和快速分析之間的曲線。此外,它更將這樣的力量交到每個人手中。

記憶體內資料引擎


我們相信力量
應為大家所用

要創立一家公司,來徹底改變人們看見和理解資料的方式,需要一種不同的理念。因此,Tableau 的創始人向他們的公司灌輸了顛覆性的觀點。



釋放數據

我們認為資料分析的重點應該是提出問題,而不是學習如何使用軟體。我們創造具啟發性且易於使用的產品,幫助人們成功地掌控資料。這樣資料就可以充分發揮其潛力,對世界產生積極影響。

資料渴望自由,以向所有關心真相的人講述它的故事。發現和分享這些故事應該很容易,但事實並非如此。為什麼?用來幫助人們存取和理解資料的軟體大多很難使用。長期以來,資料都被困在指令碼、精靈和程式碼之後。

今天,一切都改變了。今天,人們可以選擇另一種方式。請和我們一起釋放資料,將資料交到每個人手中。

釋放資料

賦予人們權力

當一家公司為人們提供自助分析工具時,他們會感到與眾不同。受人尊敬。精明能幹。強而有力。人們開始以前所未有的方式推動他們的組織。他們充分發揮了自己的聰明才智和創造力。

遺憾的是,大多數業務分析產品都是為集中和控制資料而建構的,而不是將其大眾化。因此,大多數公司的人只依靠專家來回答基本問題。他們跌跌撞撞地透過類似於 Escher 的試算表來處理不靈活的業務系統。或者,他們被企業範圍的商業智慧平台所阻礙,這些平台花在開發上的時間比幫助人的時間還要長。

這種方法沒有力量。人們必須獲得思考、行動和交付的能力,才能擁有力量。

賦予人們力量

Tableau Desktop 是一款直覺的拖放式工具,可讓您立即看見您所做的每一項改變。觀看影片

為每個人而設計

我們的產品以人為本。例如為大小企業工作、在政府部門任職以及創立非營利組織的人,或是部落客、學生,以及任何人、每個人。

我們從頭開始設計我們的產品,把使用者放在第一位,其他一切都放在第二位。我們正在徹底擺脫過去,採取顛覆性的新方法進行分析。產品設計是我們所做的一切的核心。

我們已有了豐碩的成果。每個行業的人都喜歡它。因為您看到的就是您所理解的。


與眾不同的公司型態

如果我們擁有的是典型公司的文化,那麼我們就無法改變世界。所以我們創造了不一樣的文化。

我們肩負神聖的使命

我們相信,幫助人們看見並理解資料是 21 世紀最重要的使命之一。我們自豪地披上「資料怪才」的外衣。

我們使用自己的產品

「我們使用自己的產品」是公司的核心價值觀。我們不只是傾聽客戶的需求,客戶的需求就是我們的一切。我們永遠不會停止傾聽客戶的意見,也永遠不會停止從客戶的角度看世界。

資料幫助我們做決定

我們將資料付諸行動。我們的研發團隊分析了我們產品中數十億條記錄,以對它們進行改進。我們的人力資源團隊研究了我們的僱用趨勢,以將設施最佳化,因此得以讓員工持續成長,並創造自在的工作環境。我們的支援團隊追蹤客戶案例,以儘早解決新出現的問題。


可靠科學

開發優秀的軟體是一門科學。我們以它為生。研究和實驗為我們的產品設計選擇提供了重要參考資訊。

以下是 Tableau 做出重大貢獻的其中幾個領域:



整合電腦繪圖和資料庫

我們的核心技術 VizQL 不僅是電腦圖形學和資料庫的突破性統一,這也是如何利用最佳實行方式來促進人類理解的案例研究。拖放操作會成為資料庫查詢,並自動顯示為美麗的視覺化效果。

這個全新的架構以視覺形式進行資料互動,就像 SQL 以文字形式進行資料互動一樣。VizQL 語句可用來描述無限類別的視覺化效果,並具有精巧且實用的特性。人們可透過單一使用者介面來回答無限範圍的問題。

Fusing computer graphics and databases

閱讀 VizQL 上的原創性論文《Polaris:A System for Query, Analysis, and Visualization of Multidimensional Databases》
下載文章

視覺理解原則

感知和認知因素推動了我們的產品設計。我們煞費苦心地研究視覺分析的各個方面。

在考慮色彩選擇時,我們聘請了世界上最著名的色彩認知專家之一來設計 Tableau 的調色板。為了對形狀的表示法進行編碼,我們研究了人們對重疊形狀的理解。我們自行設計了地圖,因為一般線上地圖用於行車路線,而非資料分析。

為何如此煞費苦心?因為資料的正確視覺化表示法會激發正確的洞察力。當人們一一閱讀每個視覺摘時,故事就會展開視覺化分析為想要快速回答問題的大眾創造了所需的探索體驗。

Principles of visual understanding

閱讀我們開發部總監 Chris Stolte、Pat Hanrahan 和 Jock Mackinlay 撰寫的視覺分析相關文章《Visual Analysis for Everyone》
下載白皮書

視覺分析循環

我們研究人們如何提出問題、分析資料以獲得答案,然後提出他們的下一個問題。我們稱之為「視覺分析循環」:一個反覆的非線性過程,在這個過程中,人們提出問題、搜尋資料、製作圖形並發現可提出的新問題。

這個過程很少是依序進行的。特定的資料觀察角度通常會產生更多問題。這可能表示需要更多資料。洞察力可能暗示一項新任務。要傳達一項發現,可能需要新的視覺化方式。

我們設計產品以支援視覺分析的循環,並引導人們完成循環。我們的 Show Me™ 專利技術可推薦資料視覺化的最佳方式。基於多年來經過驗證的啟發式模型,Tableau 根據資料類型和手頭的問題定義了正確的視覺化類型。

我們知道,利用資料來思考很困難。我們的目標是幫助人們盡可能快地回答問題。

The cycle of visual analysis

您可透過 Jock Mackinlay 的技術論文瞭解 Tableau 的專利技術「Show Me」。
下載白皮書


幫助人們回答
他們的問題

我們相信事實的力量。 一組資料就是一組事實,事實是人類進步的基礎。 您可在此瞭解客戶如何使用 Tableau 來釋放資料的力量。

培養積極合作的同事和更快樂的員工

更好的工作場所讓員工更快樂,而且也能讓他們充分發揮自己的聰明才智和創造力。

我們的目標是釋放人們與生俱來的好奇心和創造性能量,這些能量儲存於世界各地的人們身上,由於沒有合適的釋放管道,這些能量經常被壓抑。

Marchex

將每年 5 億次的通話資料轉變為手機廣告的洞察資料

瞭解詳情


HotelQuickly

在一家旅遊初創公司,高階管理階層持續向業務決策者分享資料的故事

瞭解詳情

用資料改變世界

由於資料得到更好的運用,我們每天都有數以百萬計的機會改善人們的生活。疾病研究、教育模式、工業效率、病患照護、政府支出——機會是無止境的。

灣區的聯合之路

使用 Tableau Online 減少貧困,同時保護非營利資源

瞭解詳情

哈蒂斯堡公立學區

幫助教育工作者瞭解學生的真實特質

瞭解詳情

Tableau helps people see and understand their data




A mission that matters

We help people see and understand their data. Eight words that drive everything we do. And they’ve never been more important.

In 2020 the world will generate 50 times the amount of data as in 2011 and 75 times the number of information sources (IDC, 2011). Within these data are huge opportunities for human advancement. But to turn opportunities into reality, people need the power of data at their fingertips. Tableau is building software to deliver exactly that.

Our products are transforming the way people use data to solve problems. We make analyzing data fast and easy, beautiful and useful. It’s software for anyone and everyone.

We are Tableau Software.


It began with three guys from Stanford

It started with a brilliant computer scientist, an Academy-Award winning professor and a savvy business leader with a passion for data. They came together to solve one of the most challenging problems in software – making data understandable to ordinary people. These were the fundamental ingredients for Tableau.



Chris Stolte

Chris Stolte
Tableau’s Chief Development Officer and Co-founder

The Catalyst?

A Department of Defense (DOD) project aimed at increasing people’s ability to analyze information. Brought to the Stanford University Computer Science department, the project took flight with Chris Stolte. Stolte, then a Ph.D. candidate, was researching visualization techniques for exploring and analyzing relational databases and data cubes. His early career as a database programmer helped him see the problems with existing data analysis tools. Hungering for a project to change the world, he knew this was it.

Whenever I helped people get direct access to data, they were shocked and grateful. I’ve never forgotten that.

Pat Hanrahan

Pat Hanrahan
Tableau’s Chief Scientist and Co-founder

The mind behind Pixar

The mind behind Pixar, and Stolte’s Ph.D. advisor, Professor Pat Hanrahan realized too it was a project that could change the world. A founding member of Pixar and chief architect for RenderMan, Pat had already transformed the world of animated film.

We create pictures that answer questions, but we do it for businesses that want to know things about their data.

Chris, Pat and a team of Stanford Ph.D.s realized that computer graphics could deliver huge gains in people’s ability to understand data. The breakthrough arose when they brought together two computer science disciplines for the first time: computer graphics and databases. Their invention VizQL™ let people analyze data just by building drag & drop pictures of what they wanted to see.

Christian Chabot

Christian Chabot
Tableau's Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder

“I see the future”

“I see the future” was Christian Chabot’s reaction when he saw what they invented. Chabot had spent years analyzing data before studying entrepreneurship at Stanford Business School. Together, Christian, Chris and Pat formed a company and spun out of Stanford in 2003. With Christian on board as CEO, Tableau rapidly hit one success after another: first customers, multiple awards, international expansion, the first million in revenue, multiple new inventions. Tableau is revolutionizing business analytics. And this is only the beginning.

We’ve become a democratizing force in one of the world’s greatest areas of need.

Breakthrough after breakthrough

It’s not enough to be on a mission that matters. You must have the ideas and technologies to match. We do.



VizQL

Natively visual, naturally faster

VizQL is a visual query language that translates drag-and-drop actions into data queries and then expresses that data visually. VizQL delivers dramatic gains in people’s ability to see and understand data by abstracting the underlying complexities of query and analysis. The result is an intuitive user experience that lets people answer questions as fast as they can think of them. We believe that VizQL represents a foundational advancement in the area of data analysis and visualization.

Don’t take our word for it. Jim Gray, a Turing Award winner and a legendary figure in the field of databases, wrote about VizQL in a research highlight: “If you have ever been frustrated when trying to plot a useful graph from a simple spreadsheet, you would appreciate the value of a system that allows users to create stunning graphs interactively and easily from large multidimensional datasets.” High praise from one of the greatest minds of computer science.

VizQL

Live Query Engine

Data in your hands

Tableau’s Live Query Engine is the first technology to let people natively query databases, cubes, warehouses, Cloud sources, even Hadoop, without any programming or advance development. It lets people query diverse data sources with a point-and-click interface anyone can use.

People connect to data of any size with a few clicks. Layer in additional data sources on the fly. Connecting to and combining data are easy enough for database novices to achieve.

Live Query Engine

In-Memory Data Engine

Blazing speed

When data sources are slow or just not right for the job, Tableau’s Data Engine is the answer. It’s a breakthrough in-memory analytics database designed to overcome the limitations of existing databases and data silos. Capable of being run on ordinary computers, it leverages the complete memory hierarchy from disk to L1 cache. It shifts the curve between big data and fast analysis. And it puts that power into the hands of everyone.

In-Memory Data Engine


We believe in power
for the people

Building a company that fundamentally changes how people see and understand data requires a different philosophy. So Tableau founders imbued their company with disruptive points of view.



Liberate data

We believe data analysis should be about asking questions, not about learning software. We make inspiring, easy-to-use products that help people achieve greatness with data. So that data can reach its full potential and positively impact the world.

Data yearns to be free, to tell its stories to all those who care about its revelations. Discovering and sharing those stories should be easy. But it’s not. Why? Most software intended to help people access and understand data is hard to use. For too long, data has been trapped behind scripts, wizards and code.

Today, all that changes. Today, people can choose another way. Join us in the cause to liberate data for everyone.

Liberate Data

Empower people

When a company gives people self-service analysis tools, they feel different. Respected. Capable. Powerful. People start to drive their organization forward in ways that could never have been anticipated. They express their full ingenuity and creativity.

Unfortunately, most business analytics products are built to centralize and control data, not democratize it. As a result, people at most companies are reliant on specialists just to answer basic questions. They stumble through Escher-like spreadsheets to work around inflexible business systems. Or they’re being stonewalled by enterprise-wide business intelligence platforms that spend more time in development than helping anyone.

There's no power in that approach. The power is in giving people the ability to think, act and deliver.

Empower people

Tableau Desktop is an intuitive, drag-and-drop tool that lets you see every change as you make it. Watch the video.

Design for people

We design our products to focus on people. People working for big and small businesses, serving in government and building not-for-profit organizations. Bloggers. Students. Anyone. Everyone.

We architect our products from the ground up, to put the user first and everything else second. We are making a clean break from the past and taking a disruptive new approach to analytics. Product design is at the heart of everything we do.

The result so far? People in every industry love it. Because what you see is what you understand.


A different kind of company

We can’t change the world if we have the culture of a typical corporation. So we don’t.

We are on a mission

We believe helping people to see and understand data is one of the most important missions of the 21st century. We proudly wear the mantle of “data geek.”

We use our products

“We Use Our Products” is a core company value. We’re not just listening to our customers’ needs. We’re living them. We’ll never stop listening to customers and we’ll never stop seeing the world from their point of view.

Data informs our decisions

We put data into action. Our R&D team analyzes billions of log records from our products to improve them. Our HR team studies our hiring trends to optimize facilities for growth and employee comfort. Our support team tracks customer cases to solve emerging issues early.


Sound science

There’s a science to building great software. We live by it. Research and experimentation inform our product design choices.

Here are a few examples of areas Tableau is making big contributions:



Fusing computer graphics and databases

Our core technology VizQL is not only a breakthrough unification of computer graphics and databases. It’s also a case study in how to leverage best practices for human comprehension. Drag-and-drop actions become database queries that automatically display as beautiful visualizations.

This fundamentally new architecture does for data interactions in visual form what SQL did for data interactions in text form. VizQL statements describe an infinite class of sophisticated and useful visualizations. People have a single user interface to answer an infinite range of questions.

Fusing computer graphics and databases

Read the seminal paper on VizQL, “Polaris: A System for Query, Analysis, and Visualization of Multidimensional Databases"
Download Article

Principles of visual understanding

Perceptual and cognitive factors drive our product design. We painstakingly deliberate over every aspect of visual analytics.

When we considered color selection, we hired one of the world’s foremost color cognition experts to engineer Tableau’s color palettes. To encode how shapes are represented, we studied people’s comprehension of shapes when they overlap. We custom-designed our maps because the usual online maps are meant for driving directions, not for data analysis.

Why all the effort? Because the right visual representation of data sparks just the right insights. A story unfolds as people navigate from one visual summary to another. Visual analytics creates the exploratory experience necessary for ordinary people to answer questions quickly.

Principles of visual understanding

Read about visual analytics in the paper from our development leaders Chris Stolte, Pat Hanrahan and Jock Mackinlay, “Visual Analysis for Everyone”
Download Whitepaper

The cycle of visual analysis

We study how people ask a question, analyze data to get an answer, and then ask their next question. We call this the “cycle of visual analysis:” an iterative, non-linear process where people ask questions, forage for data, create pictures and discover new questions to ask.

The process is rarely sequential. A specific view of data typically generates more questions. It might suggest the need for more data. An insight might suggest a new task. The act of communicating a finding may require a new visualization.

We design our products to support the cycle of visual analysis. And to guide people through it. Our patented Show Me™ technology recommends the best way to visualize data. Based on heuristic models from years of proven research, Tableau defines the right kind of visualization based on the data types and the problem at hand.

We know that thinking with data is hard. Our goal is to help people answer questions as fast as they can think of them.

The cycle of visual analysis

Learn about Tableau’s patented technology “Show Me” from Jock Mackinlay’s technical paper.
Download Whitepaper


Helping people answer
their questions

We believe in the triumph of facts. A collection of data is a collection of facts, and facts are the foundation of human progress. Hear first-hand how our customers are using Tableau to harness the power of data.

Fostering collaborative colleagues and happier workers

Better workplaces mean happier employees empowered to express their fullest ingenuity and creativity.

Our goal is to liberate the natural curiosity and creative energy stored in people everywhere, energy which is too often suppressed because it hasn't had a proper channel for activity.

Marchex

Turning data from 500 million calls a year into mobile advertising insight

Learn More


HotelQuickly

Sharing data stories from the C-suite to the business decision maker at a travel start-up

Learn More

Using data to make a difference in the world

Every day there are millions of opportunities to improve people’s lives by making better use of data. Disease research, education patterns, industrial efficiency, patient care, government spending – the opportunities are endless.

United Way of the Bay Area

Reducing poverty while conserving non-profit resources with Tableau Online

Learn More

Hattiesburg Public School District

Helping educators see who the student really is

Learn More