利用大数据取得成功的 7 条建议


概述 | 本文内容: 

大数据的规模和实用性正日益提升。一些公司在能够掌控数据前先托管数据,现在他们获得了回报。

事实上,大数据将不断变大。无论数据是在电子表格、数据库、数据仓库、类似 Hadoop 的开放式源文件系统中,还是以上都有,您都需要能够灵活快速地连接到数据并进行整合。不用担心实际大小,收集和(尤其是)利用数据的原则才是关键。

本白皮书将介绍如何着手。其中包含有关如何处理和尽可能充分利用大数据的 7 大最佳实践。

我们还显示了本白皮书的前几页供您试阅。下载右侧的 PDF 即可阅读全文。


就在您认为大数据不可能再变大时,它还在不断变大。无论其实际大小,大数据正在显示价值。各个地方的组织都有各种形态与大小的大数据。这些组织意识到其重要性、机遇以及给予关注的迫切需要。很显然,无论忽略与否,大数据都会不断发展。

已掌控大数据(在明了其价值前储存的多结构混乱数据)的组织正在提升组织效率、提高收益,并发展新的业务模式。

他们是怎样做到的? 这些机构成功的方法可以总结为七条建议。

1. 以短期考虑促进长期考虑。

担心能否跟上大数据的潮流的人,不止您一个。一切都瞬息万变,因此无从知道今年或明年哪些工具、平台或方法是最好的。

放宽心。这种快速演变的形势可以为您服务。

每年,供应商都在大数据使用方面不断提高。关系与在线交易系统(OLTP)会越来越高效、越来越智能,无论是在内部还是云中运行。技术的发展将会缓和 Hadoop 及数据仓库之间的关系。而且,始终会有产品上市,更精准地满足您的具体需求。

因此,敬请宽心。对采纳新产品保持开放心态,只要这些产品能提供足够价值,就能名正言顺地融入您的现有环境。保持能够直连多种格式的商业智能平台。您现已准备好应对市场变化。

2. 看清错误选择。

贵机构需要什么,Hadoop 还是数据仓库? 别说,这还真是个有陷阱的问题。不光是 Hadoop 与数据仓库能够很好地协同工作,机构实际上还能从两者的协作获益。

数据仓库用来压缩重要结构化数据再适合不过,还能把数据存储在商业智能工具和仪表板能够轻松找到的地方。但其弱势是,分析过程与某些类型的转换较弱且慢。

这一点正好由 Hadoop 补充。此外,尽管 Hadoop 在交互式查询与数据管理方面较为弱势,但其善于快速容纳原始、未结构化的复杂数据。

这两者合而构成共生关系。例如,想象一下高层管理用来预测下一年库存需求的数据。数据集可能很大,几乎没有时间给数据建模、重新结构化,也没有时间以其他方式预处理好数据,供数据仓库使用。高层管理人员用完以后,可能仅一周时间,就会丢弃。这就是 Hadoop 该出来发挥作用,细化数据并把样本发送到数据仓库的时候。

“大数据并不是数据仓库的替代品,”Third Nature CEO Mark Madsen 在其“大数据的真实含义”一文中写道,“也不是单独维护的孤岛。大数据是新 IT 环境的一部分。”

不要在选择 Hadoop 还是数据仓库这个问题上不知所从。您可以,也应该使用两者。

3. 浓缩大数据,使之一目了然。

大数据可视化之后,浓缩到一目了然的程度。Aberdeen Group 2013 年的一份报告发现:“在使用可视化发现工具的机构中,48% 的商业智能用户,无需 IT 人员的帮助,即可找到需要的信息。”如果没有可视化发现工具,这个比例降到了 23%。

此外,根据这份研究,使用可视化数据发现的经理较之没有可视化数据的经理找到及时信息的可能性,要高出 28%。

或许,最为重要的是,在涉及到大数据的情况下,报告发现可视化还能促进与大数据的互动。较之其他经理,使用可视化数据的经理与数据广泛互动的可能性要高出一倍多(33% 比 15%)。另外,这些经理还更有可能即兴提问,往往是受到前一刻洞见启发的问题。

以可视化的方式探索数据,使得数据生动呈现,让大脑能够瞬间理解。富国银行战略规划副总裁达纳·朱伯称:“会有一些萌生的想法,这是电子表格无法带来的。”

借助可视化分析,您还可以随时做两件事:

  • 改变正在查看的数据,因为不同的问题往往需要不同的数据。
  • 改变查看数据的方式,因为每种视角都可以回答不同问题。

利用这些简易步骤,您就进入了名为“可视化分析循环”的状态:获取数据、查看数据、提问并回答问题,然后周而复始。每一次,您的问询都会随洞见深化。您可以向下搜索、向上搜索,或者横向搜索。您可以把新数据添加进来。随着可视化加速并扩展您的思维,您会创建一个接一个的视图。

准备就绪后,就可以分享。同事提出并回答自己的问题,加速整个团队的洞见、行动和业务成果。

希望阅读更多内容? 下载白皮书其余部分!

继续阅读...

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

7 Tips to Succeed with Big Data

Overview | What you'll learn: 

Big data just keeps getting bigger and more useful. Some companies housed data before they could harness it, and now they are reaping the rewards.

The reality is that big data will continue to grow. Whether your data is in a spreadsheet, a database, a data warehouse, open source file systems like Hadoop, or in all of those, you need the flexibility to quickly connect to data and consolidate it. Never mind the actual size—it's the principles of collecting, and especially leveraging your data that are important.

This paper will teach you where to start. These are 7 best practices for approaching your big data, and how to utilize it to its fullest potential.

We've also pulled out the first several pages of the whitepaper for you to read. Download the PDF on the right to read the rest.

Just when you thought big data couldn’t get any bigger, it got bigger still. Regardless of its actual size, big data is showing its value. Organizations everywhere have big data of all shapes and sizes. They recognize the importance, the opportunity, and even the imperative to pay attention. It has become clear that big data will outlive those who ignore it.

Organizations that have already tamed big data — the multi-structured mass they stored before they knew its worth — are improving their operational efficiency, growing their revenues, and empowering new business models.

How do they do it? Their techniques for success can be summarized in seven tips.

1. Think long term by thinking short term

If you worry about staying current with big data technology, you’re not alone. Everything is evolving so fast that it’s impossible to know which tools, platforms, and methodologies will be best this year or next.

Relax. This rapid evolution can work for you.

Every year, vendors will get better and better at using big data. Relational and online transactions systems (OLTP) will become more efficient and smarter, whether running on-premise or on the cloud. Techniques will develop to ease relations between Hadoop and data warehouses. And all the time, products will come to market to meet your particular needs ever more exactly.

So stay loose. Stay open to the possibilities of new products, as long as they deliver enough value to justify bringing them into your existing environment. Maintain a business intelligence platform that directly connects to a wide variety of formats. You’re now ready for anything the market can provide.

2. See through the false choice

Which will your organization need, Hadoop or a data warehouse? Ah, but this is a trick question. Not only can Hadoop and data warehouses work well alongside each other, organizations actually benefit from their collegiality.

The data warehouse is best to crunch your important, structured data and to store it where BI tools and dashboards can find it easily. But it’s weaker and slower for analytic processing and some types of transformation.

Let Hadoop do that. Also, though Hadoop is weak in interactive queries and data management, it’s good at gulping down your raw, unstructured, and complex data.

Together, they form a symbiotic relationship. Imagine, for example, the data that executives use to project their inventory needs for next year. The data set is probably massive, and there’s too little time to model it, restructure it, or otherwise prepare it for the data warehouse. When executives are done with it, perhaps in only a week, they’ll dispose of it. That’s when Hadoop steps up to store and refine the data and send a sample to the data warehouse.

“Big data isn’t a replacement for data warehousing,” writes Third Nature CEO Mark Madsen in his article “What big data is Really About.” “Nor is it an island to be maintained separately. It’s part of the new IT environment.”

Don’t fall for the Hadoop-or-data warehouse trick. You can and should use both.

3. Bring big data down to eye level

Big data comes down to eye level when you visualize it. A 2013 report by Aberdeen Group found that “at organizations that use visual discovery tools, 48 percent of BI users are able to find the information they need without the help of IT staff.” Without visual discovery, the rate drops to a mere 23 percent.

Also, managers using visual data discovery were 28 percent more likely than peers without visualized data to find timely information, according to the study.

Perhaps most important when it comes to big data, the report found that visualization also encourages interaction with the data. Managers using visualized data are more than twice as likely as their peers to interact extensively with it (33 percent vs. 15 percent). They’re also much more likely to ask questions on a whim, questions that are often inspired by insights that arose a moment before.

Exploring data visually lets the data’s story unfold vividly in a way the brain can grasp in a flash. ”A light bulb goes off,” says Wells Fargo Vice President of Strategic Planning Dana Zuber says, “You just don’t get that with a spreadsheet.”

Visual analysis allows you to do two things at any moment:

  • Change the data you’re looking at — because different questions often require different data.
  • Change the way you look at it — because each view may answer different questions.

With these simple steps, you enter what’s called the Cycle of Visual Analysis: you get data, view the data, ask and an-swer questions, and repeat. Each time, your inquiry deepens along with your insights. You may drill down, drill up, or drill across. You may bring in new data. You may create view after view as your visualization speeds and extends your thinking.

When you’re ready, you share. Colleagues ask and answer their own questions — accelerating the whole team’s in-sight, action, and business results.

Want to read more? Download the rest of the whitepaper!

Continue Reading...

You might also be interested in...