新加坡义安理工学院学生通过 Tableau 获得实践分析经验


我们发现,学生们对分析数据集更有自信了。 由于可将 OLAP 与 Tableau Desktop 的用户界面相关联,所以他们可以更好地掌握 OLAP 的相关理论概念。

义安理工学院商业与会计学院开设商业信息技术文凭课程,以业务分析为重点研究领域。该课程旨在帮助学生掌握关键商业知识,并充分理解会计学与经济学概念。学生还学习信息处理与设计、数据分析、移动应用程序和数据库系统。

义安理工学院将学生描述为“充满激情的学习者,心胸开阔的全球化人才”。

为了更好地激励学生并以更加生动有效的方式将业务分析引入课堂,义安理工学院商业与会计学院的高级讲师 Jamie Teo 选择将 Tableau 作为课堂教学工具。她认为 Tableau 非常适合学生使用,因为它为初学者提供了简单的数据分析介绍。她希望帮助学生获得数据分析和可视化的实践经验。Tableau 的易用功能也改变了课程结构,现在,学生们可以亲身体验数据分析了。

引导学生了解数据

Jamie 和义安理工学院的其他老师意识到,让学生尽早掌握数据分析非常关键,因为各行各业对拥有数据分析技能的人才需求与日俱增。他们知道,必须要让自己的数据分析课程趣味盎然,从而确保学生专心听讲。同时,学生们需要获得实际工作中用得上的数据分析技能。

但是,首次开设业务分析模块时,团队遇到了一些困难。分析工具过于复杂,不适合在课堂上使用。一些工具无法与学生的计算机兼容,导致教学进程受阻。

这意味着 80% 的课程均以理论学习为基础,老师们不得不依靠案例研究来解释业务分析中的概念。学生的实践经验有限,实际操作数据分析工具的机会不足。

将 Tableau 作为教学工具

位于新加坡中心的义安理工学院拥有超过 16,000 名学生。

2010 年,Jamie 从高德纳魔力象限中得知了 Tableau。她下载了免费试用版软件,并借助 Tableau 网站上的众多在线资源熟悉了软件操作。通过这样做,她发现 Tableau 易于学习并且非常适合她正在教授的业务分析模块。

Tableau 为学术研究应用提供的免费许可对 Jamie 颇具吸引力。另一个原因是,Tableau 可以直接安装到台式计算机上,无需其他硬件或软件。

她觉得,Tableau 的直观设计和方便的拖放操作定会让学生充满自信地处理数据。此外,Tableau 网站上丰富的学习资源和仪表板样本也可立即投入课程使用。

来自学生的正面反馈

Jamie 班上的学生目前正在学习使用 Tableau Desktop。他们成立了项目小组并使用 Tableau 分析来源于 www.data.gov.sg 的数据,该门户网站提供了新加坡政府发布的公开数据。每个小组的任务是,利用该网站提供的选定数据集,创建可帮助解答业务问题或突显业务机会的仪表板。

Jamie 说: “由于 Tableau 非常易于使用且清晰易懂,所以我们能够调整教学大纲,让学生们利用 Tableau 获得更多实践经验。将 Tableau 介绍给学生后,我们发现他们对分析数据集更有自信了。由于可将在线分析处理 (OLAP) 与 Tableau Desktop 的用户界面相关联,所以他们可以更好地掌握 OLAP 的相关理论概念。”

“许多学生请求我们开设更多课程来帮助他们加深 Tableau 操作技能,因为他们将 Tableau 视为未来数据分析职业中的关键工具。”

从反馈可以看出,学生们认为 Tableau 充满乐趣并且易于使用。Tableau 帮助他们探索挖掘、分析和理解数据的各种方式,这一点颇受学生们的欢迎。多数学生认为,使用 Tableau 获得的分析技能与他们今后的职业息息相关,并且非常实用。

“学生们还表示,他们看到了可视化对于帮助理解大量数据的重要意义。实际上,许多学生请求我们开设更多课程来帮助他们加深 Tableau 软件操作技能,因为他们将 Tableau 视为未来数据分析职业中的关键工具。”她补充道。

对数据的兴趣日益浓厚

随着学生们对数据分析的兴趣日益浓厚,Ngee Ann 进一步将业务分析模块引入商业研究文凭课程,让这些商科学生也能尽早接触数据分析。2015 学年共有超过 500 名学生学习了这一模块, 人数是 2014 年的两倍有余。教学人员人数也相应增加,以满足学习该模块的学生人数增长的需求。

最后,Jamie 向数据分析人员和学生推荐了 Tableau。她建议初次使用的用户充分利用 Tableau 网站上现成的在线资源。她相信,由于 Tableau 设计直观,并提供有丰富实用且现成的在线教程,因此任何人都能掌握软件使用方法。

您可能会感兴趣的内容…

Ngee Ann Polytechnic students get hands-on analytics experience with Tableau

Ngee Ann Polytechnic is one of Singapore’s leading institutions of higher learning with more than 16,000 full time students. At Ngee Ann, students in the School of Business & Accountancy’s Business Information Technology diploma learn about business intelligence, web marketing, and many business-oriented IT concepts and skills. They are also immersing themselves into the world of rapid-fire data visualization using Tableau.

We noticed that our students are more confident in analyzing data sets. Their ability to grasp theoretical concepts on OLAP has also improved because they can relate it to the user interface of the Tableau Desktop.

The Diploma in Business Information Technology, offered under Ngee Ann Polytechnic’s School of Business & Accountancy, has a strong focus in business analytics. The course is designed to equip students with essential business knowledge, and a good grasp of accounting and economics concepts. Students also learn about information processing and design, data analytics, mobile applications and database systems.

Ngee Ann Polytechnic describes their students as "passionate learners, big-hearted, and global-smart."

To better engage students and introduce business analytics in a more lively and relevant manner, Jamie Teo, Senior Lecturer at Ngee Ann Polytechnic’s School of Business & Accountancy, has adopted Tableau as a classroom tool. She believes Tableau is ideal for her students as it provides a simple introduction to data analytics for beginners. She wants to offer her students practical experience in data analytics and visualization. Tableau’s easy-to-use features have also changed the way her course is structured, as it now allows students to have a more hands-on approach to analysis.

Introducing students to data

Jamie and her fellow instructors at Ngee Ann Polytechnic realize that it is crucial for their students to get a good grasp of data analytics early as there is a growing demand for talents with data analytic skills across industries. They also know that they have to make their data analytics classes interesting to keep students engaged. At the same time, students need to be able to gain real-world data analytics skills that they can use in the workplace.

However, the team faced some difficulties when they first started the business analytics module. The analytics tools were complex and not suitable for classroom use. Some tools also had incompatibility issues with students’ computers, hindering the teaching process.

This meant that 80 percent of the lessons were theory-based, and the instructors had to rely on case studies to explain concepts in business analytics. Students got limited hands-on experience and insufficient practical exposure to data analytics tools.

Tableau as a teaching tool

Ngee Ann Polytechnic serves over 16,000 students on its campus in central Singapore.

In 2010, Jamie learned about Tableau through Gartner’s Magic Quadrant. She downloaded the free trial and familiarized herself with the software using the many online resources available on the Tableau website. Through these, she found Tableau easy to learn and quite suitable for the Business Analytics module that she was teaching.

The fact that Tableau offered free licensing for academic use was a huge draw for Jamie. Another reason was that Tableau can be installed directly onto a desktop computer without any need for additional hardware or software.

She felt that Tableau’s intuitive design and drag-and-drop usability allow students to work with data with confidence. Furthermore, the rich learning resources and sample dashboards available on Tableau’s website can be used immediately in the classroom.

Positive feedback from students

Currently, students in Jamie’s classes learn to use Tableau Desktop. They form project groups and use Tableau to analyze data from, a portal that provides access to publicly available data published by the Singapore Government. Each group is tasked to create dashboards that can help to answer a business question or highlight a business opportunity working with a selected dataset from the site.

Jamie said: “We have been able to adjust the syllabus to allow for a more practical approach using Tableau as it is easy to use and understand. Since introducing our students to Tableau, we have noticed that they are more confident in analyzing data sets. Their ability to grasp theoretical concepts on Online Analytical Processing (OLAP) has also improved as they can now relate them to the user interface of Tableau Desktop.”

"We have gotten requests from students asking for more lessons to help them deepen their skills in Tableau, as they see it as an essential tool for careers in data analytics."

According to feedback, students find Tableau fun and easy to use. They like the fact that Tableau allows them to explore the many ways in which data can be mined, analyzed, and understood. Most feel that the analytics skills they have acquired from using Tableau will be relevant and useful in their careers in the future.

“The students have also said that they see the importance of visualizations in helping them understand large amounts of data. In fact, we have gotten requests from students asking for more lessons to help them deepen their skills in Tableau software, as they see it as an essential tool for careers in data analytics,” she added.

Growing interest in data

With growing interest in data analytics, Ngee Ann has further extended the Business Analytics module to students in the Diploma in Business Studies course, making it possible for these business students to get an early exposure to data analytics. The module has been made available to over 500 students for the 2015 academic year. This is more than double the number in 2014. The number of teaching staff has also increased to cater to the rise in number of students taking the module.

Finally, Jamie recommends Tableau to aspiring data analysts and students. She suggests that first-time users make full use of the readily available online resources on the Tableau website. She believes that anyone will be able to learn how to use the software as its design is intuitive, and there are many helpful and readily available tutorials online.

You might also be interested in...