如何构建自助式分析环境


概述 | 本文内容: 

过去十年间,科技发展突飞猛进。智能手机让我们能够昼夜不息地保持联系。我们可以随时随地与人交流、购买商品、解决问题。

我们很快适应了解决方案触手可及的状态,并日益期许在工作中实现同样的便利。这种期许部分来自于我们与生俱来的好奇心。遇见新生事物时,我们想要,并且需要一探究竟。知识的益处在于它能够“驱散无知和疑惑的不良状态”,研究者 Jonathan Litman 说。不明就里总让我们惊慌失措。我们希望了解事发原因,以便将来避免或重复相同结果。

这并不意味着我们只求最终答案或结果:我们还想亲身参与探索过程。好奇心的驱动力是对理解事物及其因由、原理和目的的需求。相比知其然,知其所以然更有益于理解。答案与过程结合形成透彻理解,可帮助我们舍糟粕而取精华,并发现新机遇。

在尝试理解事物和寻求答案的过程中,数据可助我们一臂之力。无论是在个人生活中还是在公司组织内,我们收集的数据越来越多。 这些数据透露着事实和真理,让我们能够客观看待既往。数据就是知识、知识就是力量,只要能够利用数据的力量进行求索和决策,就能找到我们寻求的真知灼见和机遇。

继续阅读...



您可能会感兴趣的内容…

How to Build a Culture of Self-Service Analytics

Overview | What you'll learn: 

Technology has seen a big leap in the past decade. We are all connected, day and night, via our smartphones. We can talk to anyone, make purchases, and find answers to our questions whenever we want, wherever we want.

We’ve quickly grown accustomed to having answers at our fingertips, and we’re increasingly expecting the same at our workplace. Part of our expectation comes from our innate curiosity. When we encounter something new, we want—and need—to know more. Knowledge is rewarding because it “dispels undesirable states of ignorance and uncertainty,” says researcher Jonathan Litman. It freaks us out when we can’t figure something out. We want to know why something happened so that we can avoid— or repeat—the same outcome in the future.

This doesn’t mean we simply want the final answer or outcome; we want to be a part of the discovery process. The driver of our curiosity is a need for understanding— the what, the why, the how, the what-for. And answers alone don’t help us understand as much as the discovery process leading up to the answers. Together, they provide a complete understanding with which we can avoid the bad, replicate the good, and find new opportunities.

As we try to gain understanding and find those answers, we have data to help. More and more data is being captured—in our personal lives and also within our organizations. This data gives us the facts, the truth, the objective view of what has happened. Data is knowledge, and when people are empowered to explore and ask questions using their data to make everyday decisions, they can find the understanding, insights, and opportunities they seek.

Continue Reading...

You might also be interested in...